Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hindraf sympathisers delaying release: Samy

Hindraf sympathisers delaying release: Samy PDF Print
Friday, 03 October 2008 17:42

IPOH: The action of Hindraf supporters who protested at the Prime Minister’s Hari Raya open house will only jeopardise the early release of the their leaders.

MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu said the group acted as if they did not want the detainees, who are being held under the Internal Security Act to be released, he said.

“The MIC has taken several actions (to secure their release) but what the sympathisers did would jeopardise them,” he said Friday.

Speaking to reporters after opening the Jaya Balan Women’s Health and Fertility Clinic at Hospital Pantai Putri here, Samy Vellu said he had spoken on the matter to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

Samy Vellu said what the MIC did was talk to the Government, work and argue with it internally to secure the release of the five.

The five - M. Manoharan, P. Uthayakumar, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kenghadharan and K. Vasanthakumar - have been detained under the ISA for organising a protest rally last November.

On progress in getting the five released, Samy Vellu said he had had many discussions with the Government and was optimistic of securing their release.

“You can’t talk to anyone higher than the Prime Minister. If he says he will look into the matter and talk to the Home Minister, we must listen to him,” he said.

“If we don’t want to listen to the Prime Minister, there is no way we can get anything done,” he added.

On whether he was calling for the sympathisers to stop their actions, Samy Vellu said:

“I don’t want to advise them on what they should do. They can continue to beat their drums but their drums will not make a difference,” he said, adding that the longer the detainees were being held, the more someone was gaining from it.

“They are afraid if the five come out, everything will be peaceful. They don’t want that to happen,” he added.

- The Star

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by Krepot, October 03, 2008 17:56:32
Samy - we waited for your actions till all our hair dropped.
You are NO LONGER in power, so cut the crap!

This is no longer an MIC or Hindraf issue.
ISA has been abused by BN and it must be abolished, for ALL.
Malaysians will not be threatened by ISA anymore.
written by Atheist, October 03, 2008 18:03:25
Whatever samy vellu says has been useless and wortless. If everyone with power goes about abusing it, then it only increases the possibility of chaos.

With power comes responsibility, and this is what the present Government has been surviving on so far but it seems to be going out of fashion.

samy vellu abused his power so much that the people took it away from him. I see no wrong in Hindraf stating thier strong feelings in a peaceful manner. This has been and must be encouraged.
written by sjs, October 03, 2008 18:08:29
RELEASE RAJA PETRA FROM THE DUNGEON OF CRUELTY!
RELEASE THE HINDRAF 5 FROM THE ANIMAL CAGE!

Comrades and Countrymen, Let us not waste time with what Samy Velu is trying to do, with his baboon politics! They are used to misleading the Malaysian public by their rhetorics! Always remember our catch phrase " THEY ARE AT THEIR BEST WHEN THEY ENGINEER THE WORST!

PEACEFUL DEMONSTRATION (Edited)

Firstly let us apologize for making some of the MT readers scapegoats for research of this article, but everything we do has a reason. We needed materials for our research activities in many areas. It is painful sometimes; we have to sit for hours in one location, waiting for new information from MT readers and from others elsewhere! Let us remain united in our cause, even if there are differing opinions at times. We received an email from KualaLumpur News. Net on 22nd. September 2008 under the heading “Demand to free Hindraf leaders gains momentum in Malaysia!”

While we were asking many questions, how we can contribute effectively towards this cause, we decided to feature a posting on how to get maximum mileage from peaceful demonstration? How to outsmart the government which constantly denies us the freedom to peaceful assembly? Is there a need to change our focus on our strategies to peaceful assembly? Unfortunately the internet search engines were not kind to us. They don’t teach all these “bad” things on the internet, we suppose! We guess there are no revenues to be derived by these efforts, hence their focus on more lucrative stuff like pornography!

We have to really crack our heads, since all forms of demonstrations in Malaysia are considered unlawful, current Malaysian law bans public gatherings of more than five persons without a permit. The government has routinely used the specter of ethnic violence to deter peaceful public demonstrations and silence government critics. When opposition leaders and civil society groups critical of the government try to organize rallies, they are blocked at every turn. But the usual excuses about unruly protesters and blocked traffic are never mentioned when the ruling coalition wants to get its supporters out on the streets. The brutal police force use excessive means, including tear gas and chemical-laced water on peaceful protesters. True characteristics of an evil regime!

LET US ALL FAIL IN OUR AIM! LET US NOT SUCCEED IN OUR PURSUITS! IF THIS IS THE MEAN TO ACHIEVE OUR OBJECTIVE!

As these writings are edited stringently for public reading in this domain, we will only provide the conclusion, as the body copy and the rest have been deleted under advice!
The conclusion is sufficient for you to derive your own inference!

First Conclusion (Anger): The Hindraf rally in November 2007 was not successful, as it did not reach its intended destination, the High Commission, but this rally which failed to reach the destination, has created the biggest impact to the Malaysian and the international community! Why? Police brutality! Another word, the police brutality did help advance the cause of Hindraf! It was police brutality that exposed the plight of Malaysian Indians worldwide! Do we need this brutality?

If the rally has reached its intended destination, the High Commission, without police brutality, and accompanied by the police peacefully, would it have created a very big impact to the world community? The answer is NO! Do we need to have a peaceful police force accompanying us? Do we need police brutality to champion our cause? Do we want a peaceful police force or a brutal police force? Do we need to fight their anger by our peaceful means?

Let us all ask the above questions once again, this time bearing in mind that the Badawi government will only act upon strong condemnation of the world community!

Did the anger reach its destination? Did the anger travel beyond its destination?
written by sjs, October 03, 2008 18:09:02
ALWAYS REMEMBER, IN MALAYSIA WE NEED TO FAIL TO ACHIEVE OUR OBJECTIVE! WE NEED TO FAIL BECAUSE ALL FORCES ARE AGAINST US! FAILURE IS NOT THE FOUNDATION TO SUCCESS TO US! FAILURE IS SUCCESS TO US!

Second Conclusion (Hatred): The Hindraf rose campaign in February 2008 was not successful, as it did not reach its intended destination, the Parliament House, but this campaign which failed to reach the destination, has created the biggest impact to the Malaysian and the international community! Why? Police brutality! Another word, the police brutality did help advance the cause of Hindraf! It was police brutality that exposed the Hindraf leaders’ wrongful captivity, worldwide! It was this brutality that created hatred amongst all, towards this evil regime! Do we need this brutality?

If the rally has reached its intended destination, the Parliament House, peacefully, without police brutality, and accompanied by the police peacefully, would it have created a very big impact to the world community? The answer is NO! Do we need to have a peaceful police force accompanying us? Do we need the police brutality to champion our cause? Do we want a peaceful police force or a brutal police force? Do we need to fight their anger by our peaceful means?

Did the hatred reach its destination? Did the hatred travel beyond its destination?

We too, like the entire world community, took note on the existence of Hindraf, the plight of the community, the wrongful detention of the leaders, the evils of the regime! All because of that two brutal events. This anger and hatred have seeped into every discerning mind, regardless of affiliations, in Malaysia and abroad.

Hindraf, the meaning of which, many do not understand, the cause of whom, the world unite! Was Hindraf successful? A foolish question for the fools!

We can stop this article here, for our cause too will be appreciated by all. But our principle would have been compromised! The cause of Hindraf would have been compromised! The anger and hatred of all would have been compromised!

But the actions of a lot of our friends to attend the open house gathering at the open invitation of the prime minister have attracted a lot of attention, locally and worldwide! Do we condemn them for their noble cause? Aren’t they, our comrades too, championing a cause that have seemingly slowed down? Should we belittle this act of nobility, when we are so used to failures as our success? Let everyone decide for themselves!

It pains us to reverse the order of this article, but if that is the mean of our struggle now, SO BE IT!

LET US ALL SUCCEED IN OUR AIM! LET US NOT FAIL IN OUR PURSUITS! IF THIS IS THE MEAN TO ACHIEVE OUR OBJECTIVE!

Third Conclusion (Happiness): The Hindraf peaceful protest a few days ago was successful, as it reached its intended destination, the PWTC, but this protest which succeeded to reach the destination,……………… ………….please complete the missing text by yourself, in any which way you want, so that it gives some form of happiness to all, in the way they want to read it!
We will not complete those texts for you, with due respect to the noble cause undertaken by our comrades!

We will not condemn their actions, as time will tell whether they were right or wrong!

Let us end this posting with words from one gentleman…Hindraf does not need your input! To him we say, WE NEED HINDRAF!

written by densemy, October 03, 2008 18:09:18
More threats and fear tactics

Governance the UMNO way
written by chezzter, October 03, 2008 18:17:43
What Sammy is trying to say is puzzling. Whatever it is, there seems to be a special way to get through to the correct person, special way to appeal and nobody except Sammy knows the way. So whatever anyone else does to get the detainees released will only make somebody angry and get the detainees get detained longer. Better do nothing and wait for Sammy to do it. Be very very patient, slowly wait, ah.
written by Lim Lim, October 03, 2008 18:25:16
semi value,u are uttering nonsense again!we are not talking about tic for tac down here, but u are applying the intimidation tacic again!we should be talking about freedom of expression in peaceful manner,we are talking about the proper rule of law in this country,we are talking about fairness n real justice,we are talking about basic human right,we are talking about equility to all,we are talking about social conscience!!!
written by Fuminari, October 03, 2008 18:32:59
semy vellu with his latest usual nonsensical logic again proved that he has in fact became unbecomingly irrelevant!n the platform where he is standing on n making this sort of 'tic for tac' intimidation is sending MIC to nowhere but free fall!
written by carribeanking7, October 03, 2008 18:33:55
Samy Samy,

After years of fraternizing with UMNO, your political spin has become just as lame.

You no longer hold the mandate, in fact you are just a cyberclown that everyone takes pot shots at.

BTW, your cybertroopers are also of low quality, send more I look forward to bashing them.

written by ahmadneil, October 03, 2008 19:07:53
Samy,you are only adding salt to wound.Bull shit! How long have we all been waiting.You purposely use this tactic to blame others what you can't do for so many months.Now I dare you to release them immediately and I will crawl in between your legs.
written by Stupid me, October 03, 2008 19:15:53
Samy, Did you go to the open house. Wish you were there to kneel down to the hosts and hopefully the detainees would be released.Did you ?
written by krising1, October 03, 2008 19:20:21
Toll Samy, we know that you have screwed us for too long. So just stay out of this. The Hindraf 5 will be released without your help. No one asked for your help. Your are an opportunist making noise about the temple being knocked down. The same temple was knocked thrice under your watch. We never heard anything from you! We cannot be fooled anymore.
written by avj, October 03, 2008 19:23:07
Samy, first you wanted them put away,now you want them released, whats in it for you? Any way the government didn't care for your opinions when you were part of the cabinet,what makes you think they will listen to now,when you are no longer relavent? Poor Samy.
written by smeagrooo, October 03, 2008 19:32:18
u afraid hindraf could get the PM's approval for the release of hindraf boys and u the arse-hole would lose the opportunity to rise from your political demise?

If u really wanted to help, just sumbat some RM u made all these years and am sure it speaks volume with these goons!
written by ahmadneil, October 03, 2008 19:38:13
This Samy must be eating too much curry this Hari Raya so I think one of his blood vessel must be block.That why he says thing like this.
written by macaufan, October 03, 2008 19:52:38
SemiValue,
u've been chicken out all ur life BUT in return wat did d indians get fr d corrupted racist rejim umnoso far? temple demolition, tamil school transfered into cow yard, indian being torture to death in lokap/prison, body being snacth by umno &......
due to Hindraf, indians now can lift up their head & be a MAN !!!!
written by Joe, October 03, 2008 20:07:16
Samy Vellu said " ... they can continue to beat their drums, but their drums will not make a difference."

What he is really saying is "... The govt will release Hindraf, and I must be in a position to tell the public that I was the one who orchestrated it. However if Hindraf supporters are making so much noise at the same time that the Hindraf 5 are released, then I can get the credit!"
written by Joe, October 03, 2008 20:08:34
sorry.. typo.. I meant to say " then I CANT get the credit!" smilies/grin.gif
written by ChanRaj, October 03, 2008 20:16:14
Samy the Bafoon...u are still around? You are one sick animal. Why dont you just get lost. If the Indian community had a chance to spit at you, you'd probably drown in it. Gross!
written by Francis, October 03, 2008 20:17:02
Hello Samy,

You were the one who put the Hindraf 5 in. You did not have the power then as a minister. Now, you are irrevelant - BN has no respect for you and all your attempts are futile.

Don't shout about what is beyond you.
written by Francis, October 03, 2008 20:30:17
Aiyo Samy,

You were the one who orchestrated the demolition of many temples in Selangor and elsewhere with the Toyol - the coward pondan who has no courage to fight the men. He chooses to fight with a woman and that too for a fictitious reason.

You are shouting aloud on the demolition of the Ampang Jaya Temple. It is your own group BN-UMNO cronies who demolished the temple not PKR. That is why the officers have been reprimanded. How is that you are so stupid as not to understand that? Please save you breathlah Samy.

written by johntyc, October 03, 2008 20:46:13
Hey Samy! You're the one who is holding Hindraf5 as your bargaining chips with the Indians. Indians despise you! smilies/angry.gif
written by asguard, October 03, 2008 20:59:53
So many complains about Semi-no more - value.. its time for him to go retirement...
written by penangboi, October 03, 2008 21:18:06
There are 2 things I want to highlight:

1. Samy Vellu is one hell of an arrogant bastard. What he is implying here is that there is nobody who can get the ISA detainees released EXCEPT him. And any other attempts by people other than him is jeopardising his 'efforts'.

2. The biggest joke is that he still thinks he CAN influence UMNO in releasing the detainees. He is so deluded in thinking that he is still in power. He has completely forgotten that MIC in general and he himself in particular are absolutely non-relevant after GE12. He refuses to accept the fact that MIC is completely obliterated after GE 12.

I actually feel embarassed for him that he thinks UMNO would even give a grain of thought to what he has to say. His actions and words are made even more pathetic because of his illusion that he can still make a difference.

My advice to Samy Vellu: Don't be what the hokkiens call 'gong bin'. Whatever you say now only further belittle your person. And my advice to all Malaysians: Just ignore this has-been who still lives in the clouds.
written by Sabahfan, October 03, 2008 21:23:18
MIC dont even have a voice in parliament. whoever is left as MIC MP must be just a pussycat.
written by Motherchell, October 03, 2008 21:54:03
You make ME FUME , sEMIvALUE!!Are you living in a Pariah State for you to say this Samy??????? Oh Yes !I believe so ---- the grey matter of all the BN gang could be sold to the Smithsonian for posterity --- for the reasoning given !!

Malaysia has become a joke, the Diplomatic Corps must be having a whale of a time when they get to speak about our Leaders!!
written by ChrisLim, October 03, 2008 22:03:22
Samy, you must learn to keep your mouth shut. When you are the minister, you suck the people dry. Haleluyah to see you loose like shit in the GE8. Since you already lost, get lost. You cann't even help the Indians before and I don't see you can help them in the future. So just SHUT YOUR BIG FAT ARS.
written by cillipepper, October 03, 2008 22:22:53
...podah mutal!
written by cheekhiaw, October 03, 2008 22:27:14
“If we don’t want to listen to the Prime Minister, there is no way we can get anything done”

So that's the case hah samy.

So, dey, did the Prime Minister tell you to steal all those money from Maika and MIC or not?

written by Alice, October 03, 2008 22:39:14
Great work Hindraf. You've got guts and that's what's lacking in Malaysia. NO GUTS NO GLORY!!

buzz off Samy - its a headache watching u speak on tv- crapppp

RELEASE RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN - HE IS INNOCENT AND HE SPOKE THE TRUTH
DETAIN THE TRUE MURDERERS AND SWINDLERS OF THE NATION'S WEALTH- THAT SHOULD BE YOUR TRUE ISLAMIC DUTY PAK LAH(BUT THEN AGAIN YOU ARE SO CORRUPTED YOURSELF HOW WOULD YOU KNOW...WHAT'S HALAL AND WHAT'S HARAM??) smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Alice, October 03, 2008 22:40:52
THE MALAYS SHOULD DEMAND THAT ALL MALAYS DETAINED UNDER ISA FOR YEARSSSSSSSS SHOULD BE RELEASED. DO YOUR JOB MALAYS. DO YOUR ISLAMIC DUTY!
written by oct, October 03, 2008 22:56:43
Hei Samy, Please don't tell cock and bull story. If you said that PM is the highest person whom you have discussed with, then why are you discussing with DPM and Botak. Aren't you wasting your time. If you have discussed with PM, where is the result? Will it take many moons for PM to decide or will we wait until he is awake after his long sleep?

One more important question. When did the last time UMNO listen and act upon the advice of his component party? You can talk and discuss all you want. In the end, you will not get any response. If UMNO is sincere and have listened to you, then action will be taken to release Hindraf 5. Before March 8, when you were a Minister, you didn't utter a word. Now you are not in the Cabinet, what muscle do you have? So please please don't come and bullshit us. Try tell it to the Spartans and maybe they will be convinced on what you have said. No Malaysians will believe your story anymore. Go take a rest and keep your discussion private. Talk to us when you have result.
written by Kathy, October 03, 2008 23:05:25
Look who's talking! What did Vellu do when the Hindraf 5 were detained in Nov. 2007? Why is he "doing something" now?
written by cheekhiaw, October 03, 2008 23:06:35
HOW SAMY GOT THINGS DONE

Samy did discuss with the PM.
The PM told him 'Samy, podah'.
Samy said 'done!' and podahed.

written by temenggong, October 03, 2008 23:27:31
The MIC and BN still does not appreciate how far things have deteriorated. They are in for a rude shock in the next few weeks. Nothing can save BN.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 04, 2008 00:44:46
Alice,

dah lama dah orang melayu berjuang untuk anti-ISA..

I think u still slepping with our PM.. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Kuda Belang, October 04, 2008 01:04:14
MIC has become irrelevant because of Hindraf.
The Hindraf association exist today because of Samy Vellu
The Hindraf leaders were detained because of Samy Vellu.
The detention of the Hindraf leaders continue because of Samy Vellu.
The Hindraf is getting stronger because of Samy Vellu.
Either Samy Vellu didn't get it or is a fool.