Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Breach of M'sia Agreement: Yong

Breach of M'sia Agreement: Yong PDF Print
Friday, 03 October 2008 00:28

Kota Kinabalu: Placing the National Registration Department (NRD) under the State Government will be a long-term solution to the many problems affecting the people like Yong Lee Hua, said Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) President Datuk Seri Yong Teck Lee.

"The State Government should initiate discussions with the Federal Government to make the NRD a State department," he said in a statement, Tuesday.

Yong said it has to be reminded to the NRD that under the terms of the 1963 Malaysia Agreement every resident of Sabah (North Borneo) on the formation of Malaysia was automatically accepted as a citizen of the federation (of Malaysia).

"By virtue of her being a Sabah native in 1963, it is clear that she qualified as a Malaysian citizen. What the NRD had done to Yong Lee Hua @ Piang Lin is a breach of the Malaysia Agreement and could be taken to a court of law.

"How can a genuine Sabahan Malaysian lose her citizenship so casually whereas foreigners can become citizens so easily?," he asked.

"This is why the case of Yong Lee Hua@Piang Lin has infuriated many people to the extent that even the Chief Minister has to tell the authorities to rectify the problems," he said.

"With the media coverage and immense pressure from Upko and the intervention of the Chief Minister, I believe that the case of Yong Lee Hua @ Piang Lin will be resolved."

Yong said if Upko, whose President is the most senior in the Federal Cabinet after the Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister and the Sabah Chief Minister cannot resolve this case, then nothing will.

"But what is more worrying is whether there are other cases of genuine Sabahans losing their Malaysian citizenships without the due process of law," he said.

He said what has happened in the recent decade is that many foreigners were able to obtain citizenship documents whether through legal or dubious means.

"These new citizens have become not only Malaysians but Sabahans with right of abode and employment in Sabah. These new citizens in Sabah have therefore acquired rights that surpass that of other Malaysians in Peninsular Malaysia and Sarawak," he said.

These people could enter and remain in Sabah whereas other genuine Malaysians (from Peninsular Malaysia and Sarawak) are still subject to immigration controls and work passes.

He claimed that by joining Umno, many of these new citizens have also acquired political privileges and positions of influence in many districts.

"Some have even been successfully considered as bumiputeras and can own native lands and enjoy other rights and privileges that surpass millions of other Malaysian non-bumiputeras," he said.

He reminded that under the terms of the formation of Malaysia in 1963, entry in Sabah and Sarawak comes under the respective State Governments and that the only persons the State authority cannot prohibit from entering the State are federal civil servants on official duties in the State concerned.

"The spirit and intent of the Malaysia Agreement was to protect the Borneo states (Sabah and Sarawak)," he said.

He recalled a time in the 1980s when even a Member of Parliament from peninsula was put on a wheelchair and forcibly evicted from Sabah at the old Kota Kinabalu airport in Tanjong Aru.

"Although many people did not agree with the abuse of the State's immigration powers in such manner, that power remains intact because the Director of Immigration complied with a State directive, he said.

"But there is no assurance that the director will comply with State directives if his superiors and (federal) Minister were to disagree with a directive of the State.

"After all, some directives are administrative and discretionary in nature and not a matter of strict law that an officer of the government must comply with," he said.

- Daily Express, Sabah

written by pokokmangga, October 03, 2008 01:29:03
Our fellow Malaysians from sabah and Sarawak should stand shoulder to shoulder with fellow Malaysians and dislodge this evil UMNO/BN regime brfore its took late and beyond regret.
written by lampard, October 03, 2008 01:44:25
What is new? UMNO's antics at play!!! Biasala... Pandai berpolitik, cari pasal pandai, kerja tak betul, lemah agama, korup, kuat sex, buli,etc... Masa kerja, zzzzzzzz
written by rajaphillips, October 03, 2008 02:34:53
ASK THAT FELLOW MAHATHIR A/L MOHAMED ISKANDAR KUTTY, THE "STATESMAN" WHAT PROJECT IC IS ALL ABOUT
written by cubi76, October 03, 2008 07:15:30
The Project IC, the immigration legislation, etc affects not only Sabah. It in fact has long term effect on Malaysia as a whole. By becoming Malaysians and enjoying Bumi status, these illegal immigrants are actually becoming burden to our nation economy. All the health benefit and hospital facilities, education, government services, everything. And who's paying all these?

If one can learn from the consequences of Project IC in Sabah, one will foresee that there's indeed a bigger problem coming our way. I really hope the government sees it coming too. The one I am talking about is the low-skilled migrants from all sort of countries, legally or illegally.

Currently there are about 5 million migrant workers, and the population of Malaysia is only about 23-25mill, ratio of 1:5 to 1:4 (illegal ones unknown). Remember the migrant worker legislation is so relax that their background was never thoroughly checked. I believe there are indeed some criminals or ex-convicts among these migrant workers as well.

Also, as it's certain that our economy is slowing down, if not recession, what will happen to all these migrant workers? If there's a big time layoff and unemployment, will they be sent off back to their countries? And are they willing to go back? Most importantly, if they are not willing to go back, does our government have the capability and willingness to deport them?

Assume that most of them stay back in our country. What are the consequences? Without job, what will they do? Already burden with high deficit, can our government take on extra cost and responsibility?

And let's not worry about the government. Let's worry about ourselves rakyat because our government never gives a shit about us. With our economy going into recession or stagnant, what will happen to us if there are a few millions of unemployed migrant workers? What is the effect on society?

So the Project IC, the illegal migrants, and even the migrant workers must be dealt with NOW. If our government is slow in responding to it, I am worried that the effect and consequences will be far reaching and irrepairable.
written by Beezee_Beezee, October 03, 2008 07:42:01
Dear Datuk Seri Yong TL. You have said ittime and time again. There is something wrong with all the Authoritys' Governance. They seems to be deviating from the National Integrity based on the points you made. I wish to also highlight the WEAKNESS of one of the Department in the country lead byt the Federal Government.

IMMIGRATION DEPARTMENT:
Quite recently the said departnment had upgraded their system by Only producing the MYKAD one can applied for a TRAVEL DOC. In one of the process field to that system was the MYKAD Middle TWO Digit Number to determined the of the place of Birth of the Applicant.

This is totally a TOTAL NEGLIGENT for those who approved this used of this field. Why??? Back in the Seventies a Malaysian that moves from other states and live in SABAH after applying a PR would get PR through the Process hence their SABAH IC would be given a BLUE one with letter [H] whic is rightfully coorrect. However when they apply for a TRAVEL DOC. they would have their Travel Doc Number starting with the STATE's Initial Letters Example SARAWAKIAN would have their TRAVEL Doc number starting with [K] and followed by the numbers series.
I think this is totally not acceptable as with the current system the MYKAD would have the Number e.g [12] for SABAH then the Passtort would be made automatically PLACE of BIRTH AS SABAH.

How would they spend the amount of TAXPayer money to implement HALF PAST SIX System.
written by ahmadneil, October 03, 2008 08:15:23
Yong, When this agreement was sign,there was no total yes.Only the minority was consulted..This agreement is robbery in broad daylight.Remember what happen to Tun Fuad!
written by Mr Smith, October 03, 2008 09:18:24
When all these abuses were happening where were the BN component party leaders? Remember, they WERE the government and they allowed the Federal Government to do as it pleased and bring in foreigners to outnumber the non-Bumiputras in the state so as to gain political power.
Yong was once Chief Minister when this was happening?
The problem with BN parties, is they were prepared to close their eyes to all abuses by UMNO as long as they enjoyed the perks of office. Gerakan was prepared to be 'beggars' and MCA slave to UMNO master'. MIC was almost non-existent.
So whom do you blame for all this mess. Why didn't you nip it in the bud then?
written by Mr Smith, October 03, 2008 09:20:41
My prediction: Abdullah will defend his post because he (and the 4th floor boys)think he has the support.
written by Panglima Gantang, October 03, 2008 09:53:10
Like Sarawak, Sabah should also control its records on citizenship. Why is Sarawak peaceful, free from illegal immigrants? Because they control their immigration and Sabah should rightly revert to this practice. It was Stupi Harris who ceded this control to Federal and he should therefore undo his mistakes instead of merely talking about what should be done?
Kudos to Reformasi for we now have this chance to really put our voice. But the demand for Sabah to be rid of those illegal immigrant, the fake Mykads must be acted by KL immediately. It is time to show action and not mere words.
written by slash n burn, October 03, 2008 10:00:00
Dear Yong Teck Lee, the idea of merging Sabah Sarawak with Malaya is total disregard of the evil collonialist British to the fate of the people in these two states. The real evil is Sir Cobbold who come up with the idea of formation despite his full knowledge of the racist nature of the Muslim UMNO Malaya that will eventually discriminate these people which exactly happen today, economically, socially and politically. (Project IC is one of them. 20 point Agreement is total garbage!) The so called ‘pungutan suara’ is easily suppressed and manipulated from the illiterate Sabahan and Sarawakian at that time. Of course the Democracy block is very important to stop the Communist influences in Southeast Asia at that time but ironically what happen today is a new form of communist which is far more deadly which uses religion to justify their whatever causes and sure enough detonating right in front of Queen’s and Yankees’ yard. Padan muka!
written by asguard, October 03, 2008 10:11:21
Blame it on UMNO for their ruckus... thinking of wining every Sabah election and don't of impaction of there illegals brings social problems.. like bringing their families over here... and then later may cause more kinds of problem for malaysia. malaysians have enough problems with economy.... these illegals will add more even worse unseem problems ...not only in sabah but the whole country... the solution send them back and make sure that they don't stepped their foot here again..
Malaysian have the right to determined the policies of hiring people and not to pleased the other asean neighbour just because their people is suffering...
and the problems with this neighbouring countries ... their politicans love to plunder the state coffers... till they become like indonesia..or even the philipines...
written by SocratesI, October 03, 2008 10:34:01

Just changing the NRD is not enough guarantee that it won't happen again in future ! When will you Sabahans and Sarawakians learn ?? You need to UNITE with the WINDS of CHANGE on Peninsula Malaysia to effect lasting changes in Sabah and Sarawak, there is no other way as UMNO and BN are not going to lie down and die and let you take back power !

It's that simple really ! Can't you people understand simple logic like that ??!! You must make the change, or soon it will be the ISA for SAPP and UPKO members as well and whoever dares to dissent ...

written by Rainbowseahorse, October 03, 2008 10:37:59
Ah Yong, once AGAIN I want to ask: “Why the FUK didn’t you guys sort out and rectify this migrant mess in Sabah when you had the chance and power to do so back in the eighties???”
Clearly you guys were too busy plundering Sabah’s coffer and everything else, including the migrant problem, were completely ignored. The illegal issuance of MyKads to migrants were happening right under your noses and you guys didn’t care nor took any actions.

You people are only now taking up this migrant mess simply because you KNOW damn well that it is very difficult (if not impossible) to solve as quite a number of these migrant MyKad holders are infused into the government of Sabah. You people are only looking & hoping that by making enough noise, UMNO might offer you some more “goodies” to shut-up!
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 03, 2008 10:47:26
Socratesl, you don’t seem to understand Sabah’s problem and come up with simplistic solutions and smirk remarks! Take a trip to Sabah, especially the East Coast and Pulau Gaya on the West coast and perhaps you might understand the significance and monumental problem besetting Sabah’s migrant problem. You obviously do not believe that the legalized migrants outnumbered real Sabahans 2 to 1 since the eighties.
written by krising1, October 03, 2008 11:22:11
Expose the UMNOputras and their dirty policies in Sabah. We are depending on Sabah to bring down the UMNOputras. Keep the pressure up boys though UMNO may threaten to use the ACA to investigate you.
written by Beezee_Beezee, October 03, 2008 11:25:02
Back in 1980 I remembered a fried of mine's mother who were a Sarawakian came to Sabah in 1959 and got here Sabahan PR Status after Long await for the process thus given a SABAH BLUE IC with [H]. She then Lost her IC in 1969 and she was never able to get the replacement for the same status as the SABAH federal Registra OFFICCE lost the copy of the original IC. She was then given a RED IC and neveer being able to convert the IC till today. Imagine a Malaysian origin can never made an IC..By the way my friend's mother is Malay Sarawakian....This is CAL MALAYSIAN FEDERATION....What the F**K. smilies/angry.gif
written by penangboi, October 03, 2008 14:19:20
I can't help it but sometimes I just can't stand the whinging and complaining from Sabahans.

The fact is that if not for Sabahans voting in BN, you people would never be facing the problems you are going through now.

The rakyat in west West Malaysia, in that regard, is more aware politically of what really is going on in the government. That's why we managed to kick out BN here.

My only advice to fellow Malaysians in Sabah is continuing voicing your discontent to your respective BN running dogs MPs, and come GE 13, exercise your rights and vote for REAL CHANGE.