Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow As Close to Heaven As You Can Get On Earth

As Close to Heaven As You Can Get On Earth PDF Print
Thursday, 02 October 2008 09:05

By Petra Gimbad in Project Malaysia

How we sanction racism again and again. Little attention is paid to how in some way, all of us have walked as a willing lamb to the slaughter.

If you see an Indian and a snake, kill the Indian, a laughing man told me.

I have a friend who spits on the ground everytime she sees a girl in a tudung, a friend narrated with pride. Dark skin to signify an Indian; a tudung as a cue to spit. It was a grown man who told the ‘joke’ of the Indian and the snake. The protagonist of the latter was a young woman, fresh out of high school.

These little jokes and stories are now part of our Malaysian landscape.

More often than not, we repeat the stories that divide us, forgetting our neighbours whom we break bread with and call on at 3am to drive us to hospital. Too few of those stories are told. The stories which divide have seeped into our psyche so effectively, we are no longer conscious of this division we carry or how we propagate it.

Both young and old are affected, and still it is written: the children shall inherit the earth.

A few years ago, an academic presented that children learn how to be sexist and racist as early as kindergarten age. Without meaning to, it is too easy to teach a child to bully another of a different ethnicity and to reduce a culture into a mere stereotype. These racist attitudes infect our children more effectively than we think. Our children learn within the home and the environments they are placed outside of it. The assumption that children are innocent of prejudices no longer holds. Therefore, the view that our world is filled with diverse human beings who are equal, must be taught.

Having grown up in Kuala Lumpur with Chinese relatives, I was comfortable interacting with fair faces. Then, we spoke English. Spending time with my East Malaysian cousins was an experience different from everything I knew. Faces of different shades surrounded me. Sharing Orang Asal blood to varying degrees, this did not include the histories of other cultures which flowed in our veins. We spoke Malay. Everyone in our state spoke Malay, including the Chinese women who ran the shops.

Upon return to Kuala Lumpur years later, I realised that convenience was not the sole reason many friends chose to converse in English and Chinese. This language of Malay become the innocent target of their frustration after university quotas created in them a sense of rejection. Having grown up in a Chinese community with very few Indians and even fewer Malays, it was easy to turn the community they did not know into a straw doll target.

A fellow East Malaysian spoke of her experience: “People of different races in East Malaysia mingle more and there are fewer stigmas in speaking the Malay language. There is intermarriage. Almost everyone I grew up with is mixed. How on earth are you to hate someone based on race, when you have Chinese relatives, Muslim cousins and a crazy Orang Asal (indigenous) uncle who’s a bomoh (witchdoctor)?”

Recently, I explained the role of the kacip Fatimah herb to a fascinated Chinese friend. Previously, the only time we spoke of the Malay community was during our teenage years, criticising they stole her opportunities and left her nothing.

“If you had these same study and work opportunities you speak of, even if they were based on your Chinese blood, would you take advantage of them?” I asked.

“Yes.” She realised what her answer meant and laughed nervously.

It was left unspoken: how then, are you any different?

Later, a different friend accused Malays of corruption.

“Have you bribed?”

“Yes.” he admitted.

Again, the unsaid was left unspoken.

These experiences shatter you. Once, I spent time with a Muslim girl who was pregnant with the child of a non-Muslim boy. She wanted to keep the baby; he wanted no part of it. It is difficult to cope with an unplanned pregnancy. The courage needed for the task of raising a child, comes not from one person alone. But when you see how a boy is terrified of taking responsibility also because he fears marriage and the conversion that comes with it, it breaks your heart. It breaks your heart that the important task of preparing a loving home for the baby is shunted aside for the paramount fear of telling your parents that you got a Malay girl pregnant. In such circumstances, all semblance of religious superiority is forgotten. Would any faith approve of his abandoning the mother of his child and his baby? Would his parents even care?

She aborted the baby. Its impact lives with her still.

When I sat with my East Malaysian cousins for the first time, they asked: “Betulkah orang hitam pergi neraka?” (Is it true that the dark skinned go to hell?) One of my tiniest cousins, arguably the darkest skinned of them all, was crying because he believed his soul was damned.

“Apa pendapat awak?” I asked. (What is your opinion?)

Everyone nodded vigorously, including the darkest ones. Most of them were dark.

“Jadi orang India pergi neraka dan orang Cina syurga?” (So the Indians go to hell and the Chinese to heaven?)

Yes, they nodded.

“Jadi kalau kulit hitam awak pergi neraka dan kalau putih pergi syurga?” (So if you’re dark you go to hell and if you’re fair you go to heaven?)

They confidently nodded.

“Tengok kulit sendiri.” (Look at your own skin.)

They stared at their hitam manis skin in horror.

So, I asked them, who goes to hell and who goes to heaven? Most of them had no answer. A few faces crumpled, trying not to cry. Gently, I told them that heaven is for those who live in their hearts. Our salvation lies within and through our actions, not the colour of our skin.

Gloria Steinem said, “Sex and race because they are easy and visible differences have been the primary ways of organizing human beings into superior and inferior groups and into the cheap labour in which this system still depends. We are talking about a society in which there will be no roles other than those chosen or those earned. We are really talking about humanism.”

Are willing to give up our racist jokes and divisive comments? Can we see how it affects our children and the lives of other children? Are we courageous enough to admit to our own inherent racism, and how we have created the country where we now reside? Our response defines our future and of those to come.

All things are connected, say the wise, and whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves.

Petra GimbadPetra Gimbad studied English to teach secondary school; she now studies law and writes. She has worked with children, adolescents, disabled performers, refugees, traumatised women and is interested in constitutional issues.

written by PAKRAK, October 02, 2008 10:12:51
Racism started from 513. Subsequently, Mahathir instilled fear by re-introducing ISA. UMNO started to become super racists because master TDM was behind all this. They felt they had the upperhand and no action would be taken against UMNO goons for raising racial issues because of the special rights accorded them. Malaysia will definitely be peaceful and harmonious again with the immediate abolishment of ISA!
written by SocratesI, October 02, 2008 10:38:14

I beg to differ PakRak. Racism has been endemic in the human race since the people can differentiate from one another by their looks, colour, religions, etc. etc. Take the above article on a broader plane, and we have seen many racist jokes involving the Jews, the Irish, Italians, French, and many many other races. It is not a problem in Malaysia alone. It is a Worldwide human race problem.

I am all for countries without borders, and we should be citizens of the world sharing everything we have with one another and abolishing borders, immigration laws, customs, etc. Free movement of people throughout the World ! That would really give meaning to the term "Born Free" !

written by Tompios, October 02, 2008 10:45:18
Melanin is nothing to do with heaven--we all agree. But, putting people as a firewood of hell is really unacceptable. Who are we leveling people between our religion. Damn it! Racist in Malaysia start with religion. Promoting Kafir to your very own Malaysian family is the great sin and mistake done by some people in Malaysia. Those people who are promoting Kafir to other people is the most racist one! And, who are we to level people as Kafir? Damn it! Are we angel? Have we see God by our ourselves? Stupid faith will drive stupid action.
written by densemy, October 02, 2008 11:03:46
Malaysians are so racist they are often not aware of how racist they are... Racism is part of everyday life in Malaysian... mostly its insidious, erosive and divisive and deeply undermines the whole of this society

You only have to look at too many of the postings in Malaysia Today. These so-called enlightened liberal and politically aware Malaysians are riddled with racism... even as they themselves deplore racism
written by densemy, October 02, 2008 11:10:20
I agree with Socrates that the concept of Racism is an endemic part of human nature in that its natural to be cautious of anything we dont fully understand

But beyond being cautious putting a name to that caution and calling it Racism is something that has to be learnt... either thu parental influence or through direct experience. As children are mostly very tolerant of difference then its clear that Racism is gained from their parents

Racism as such as no great issue.. as I said its a natural human instinct. Its when Racism is used to discriminate against another person is when it becomes an evil and divisive component of any society
written by Aizad 234, October 02, 2008 11:45:32
Rockin in the free world.!! Huh sapa masuk syurga?,sapa masuk neraka?. Macamana depa tahu sume nih???... Ada ka org yg dh mati, hidup balik pastu cerita pengalaman dia??.. X dak!.. 70 bidadari syurga konon.
written by samesamemam, October 02, 2008 12:59:34
Good article. I was waiting to read the writer’s insights on how sexism cuts across racism and all the other –isms, cos most of the stories are about women…finally it appeared in the third para before the end…
Gloria Steinem said, “Sex and race because they are easy and visible differences have been the primary ways of organizing human beings into superior and inferior groups and into the cheap labour in which this system still depends. We are talking about a society in which there will be no roles other than those chosen or those earned. We are really talking about humanism.”

Many anti-racists are die-hard sexists…they’ll love the other colour but still beat their wives and not respect their sisters…
written by ahmadneil, October 02, 2008 13:25:58
simon68,Ya, when you go to heaven there are plenty of virgins and in heaven there is no more screwing becos it's a holy place for all the saints and good people plus spirits.If you want to be a playboy screwing around then hell is where you should be and you can spent all day or through out your next life screwing what ever you want.44 virgins is just a gimmicks to attract martyrdom.So for muslims who love screwing then then like to be martyr.For those who wants to be like saiful then you have to be in the seventh layer in hell where you can screw anything,bananas trees,swine,animals,insects,devils,corpses,fruits etc.is it ok now simon68.
written by The dragonheart, October 02, 2008 15:13:14
The Muslim and the people of the holy books (Christan and Jews) believes that the human race evolved from one husband and wife who were named Adam and Eve. Prophet Adam is mentioned in the Holy Quran itself, while mention of Mother Eve occurs in the books of Hadith.

"O Mankind, We created you from a single (pair) of a male and a female and made you into nations and tribes, that you may know each other. Verily the most honored of you in the sight of God is he who is the most righteous of you" (Quran 49:13).

There are several principles, which this verse presents:

1. This message is not just for Muslims only because God is addressing all of humanity. While Muslims are one brotherhood, this is part of a larger brotherhood of humanity.
2. God is telling us that He has created us. Therefore He knows the best about us.
3. He says that He created us from one man and one woman meaning then that we are all the same.
4. It also means that all human beings are created through the same process, not in a manner in which some are created with a better mechanism than others.
5. God is the One who made human beings into different groups and people.
6. These differences are not wrong, rather a sign from God ("And among His Signs is the creation of the heavens and the earth, and the difference of your languages and colors. Verily, in that are indeed signs for those who know" [Quran 30:22]).
7. Note that no word equivalent to race is used in this ayah or any other verse of the Quran.
8. Islam, however, limits the purpose of these distinctions to differentiation and knowing each other. This is not meant to be a source of beating each other down with an attitude of ‘my group is better than your group' or false pride as is the case with tribalism, nationalism, colonialism, and racism.
9. The only source of preference or greatness among human beings is not on a national or group level, but it is at the individual level.
10. One individual who is (higher in Taqwa), more conscious of his Creator and is staying away from the bad and doing the good is better, no matter what nation, country or caste he is part of. Individual piety is the only thing that makes a person better and greater than the other one.
11. However, the only criterion of preference, Taqwa, is not measurable by human beings. Indeed God is the One Who knows and is aware of everything so we should leave even this criterion to God to decide instead of human beings judging each other.

written by The dragonheart, October 02, 2008 15:16:24
From the Sunnah

1. Prophet's response to racist comments:

A man once visited the Prophet's mosque in Madinah. There he saw a group of people sitting and discussing their faith together. Among them were Salman (who came from Persia), Suhayb who grew up in the Eastern Roman empire and was regarded as a Greek, and Bilal who was an African. The man then said:

"If the (Madinan) tribes of Aws and Khazraj support Muhammad, they are his people (that is, Arabs like him). But what are these people doing here?"

The Prophet became very angry when this was reported to him. Straightaway, he went to the mosque and summoned people to a Salat. He then addressed them saying:

"O people, know that the Lord and Sustainer is One. Your ancestor is one, your faith is one. The Arabism of anyone of you is not from your mother or father. It is no more than a tongue (language). Whoever speaks Arabic is an Arab."

2. Statement of the universal brotherhood in the last Sermon:

O people, Remember that your Lord is One. An Arab has no superiority over a non-Arab nor a non-Arab has any superiority over an Arab; also a black has no superiority over white, nor a white has any superiority over black, except by piety and good action (Taqwa). Indeed the best among you is the one with the best character (Taqwa). Listen to me. Did I convey this to you properly? People responded, Yes. O messenger of God, The Prophet then said, then each one of you who is there must convey this to everyone not present.

3. Don't take pride in ancestry:

The Prophet said: Let people stop boasting about their ancestors. One is only a pious believer or a miserable sinner. All men are sons of Adam, and Adam came from dust (Abu Dawud, Tirmidhi).

4. Looking down upon other people will stop you from entering the Jannah(Paradise):

The Prophet said: Whoever has pride in his heart equal to the weight of an atom shall not enter Paradise. A man inquired about a person who likes to wear beautiful clothes and fine shoes, and he answered: God is beautiful and likes beauty. Then he explained pride means rejecting the truth because of self-esteem and looking down on other people (Muslim).

5. The Prophet condemnation of Arab racial pride:

There are many hadith, which repeatedly strike on the Arab pride of jahiliyyah. Arabs before Islam used to look down upon others specially blacks. The Prophet repeatedly contrasted the believing Africans versus non-believing Arab nobles.

The Prophet said: You should listen to and obey your ruler even if he was an Ethiopian slave whose head looked like a raisin (Bukhari).
written by The dragonheart, October 02, 2008 15:19:29
National and Racial Wars:

1. The nationalism based wars of Europe resulted in World War I [1914-1918]. Over 8 million were killed and over 21 million wounded.

2. World War II (1939-1945) killed 52 million worldwide.

This was marked by the rise of Germany's fascist dictator Hitler and his Nazi party. Over 20 countries took part in World War II and suffered not only death, but also destruction of homes and infrastructures. The Nazi genocide against a number of groups: Jews, Gypsies and non-whites to name just a few were a clear example of racism.
written by The dragonheart, October 02, 2008 15:21:45
Racism of the last century:

Racism is defined as the belief that one race of people are superior to another because of the race they are born into. The virus of racism may exist in the hearts and minds of millions around the world but when racism is acted upon, especially by a group of people, things don't just become dangerous, they become deadly.

Here are two specific instances, which come to mind in relation to racism-related conflicts and casualties:

1. South Africa's apartheid era (1948-1994)

With the enactment of apartheid laws in South Africa in 1948, racial discrimination was institutionalized in the country.

Race laws touched every aspect of social life, including a prohibition of marriage between non-whites and whites, and allowing for "white-only'' jobs.

In 1950, the Population Registration Act required that all South Africans be racially classified into one of three categories: white, black, or colored (of mixed decent and Asians).

Initially, the aim of apartheid was to maintain white domination while extending racial separation. Starting in the 1960's, a plan of "Grand Apartheid'' was executed. This put emphasis on territorial separation of the three groups and police repression.

All blacks had to carry "pass books'' with their fingerprints, photo and information on access to non-black areas.

All political rights, including the right to vote, held by an African were restricted to the designated homeland. They would be citizens of their homeland, but lose citizenship to their country: South Africa and any right to be involved with the South African Parliament. This body was in complete control of all of the homelands.

In 1993 a new constitution gave blacks and other racial groups the right to vote, and all-race national elections in 1994 produced a coalition government with a black majority.

While this indicated the end of legislated apartheid, it did not eradicate apartheid's social and economic effects.

2. The treatment and tragedies of African-Americans

African-Americans, even today, over 30 years after the civil rights movement, are oppressed in many ways.

-African-Americans numbered about 34.2 million in 1997, making up 12.8 Percent of the total U.S. population, according to tabulations released by the Commerce Department's Census Bureau (Feb. 7, 2000)

-The income of 2.1 million African-American families (26 percent) was below the poverty level.

-Incidents of racial hate crime reported to the police, by bias motivation in 1998 was 4,468. The highest number was reported by African-Americans: 2,901.

-Between 1975 and 1997, African-Americans had the highest unemployment rate.

-African-Americans aged 12 and up are the most victimized group in America. 41.7 over 1,000 of them are victims of violent crimes, compared with whites (36.3 over 1,000). This does not include murder.
written by The dragonheart, October 02, 2008 15:23:54
The Untouchables of India

The least challenged racism remains that of Indian Caste system. Indo-Aryans started the Caste system in India after they conquered it, to preserve their racial purity in India. Now the Caste system is a part of Hinduism. The Hindu religious name for the Caste system is Verna, which literally means color system. Darker-skinned people, Dravidians, who were defeated by Aryans, became outcaste or Untouchables of the Verna system.

The following list gives a broad idea of what untouchabilty means:

* Denial or restriction of access to public facilities, such as well, schools, roads, post offices, and courts.
* Denial or restriction of access to temples where their presence might pollute the deity as well as the higher caste worshippers, and from resthouses, tanks, and shrines connected to temples. Untouchables... are forbidden to learn the vedas (the earliest and most sacred books of orthodox Hinduism).
* Exclusion from any honorable, and most profitable, employment and relegation to dirty or menial occupations.
* Residential segregation...by requiring them to remain outside the village.
* Denial of access to services such as those provided by barbers, laundrymen, restaurants, shops, and theaters or requiring the use of separate utensils and facilities within such places.
* Restrictions on style of life, especially in the use of goods indicating comfort or luxury. Riding on horseback, use of bicycles, umbrellas, footwear, the wearing of gold and sliver ornaments, the use of palanquins to carry bridegrooms...
* Requirements of deference in forms of address, language, sitting and standing in presence of higher castes.
* Restrictions on movement. Untouchables might not be allowed on roads and streets within prescribed distance of the houses or persons of higher castes.
* Liability to unremunerated labor for the higher castes and to the performance of menial services for them. (Marc Galanter, Competing Equalities: Law and the Backward Classes in India, (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1984), P. 15.

According to the Indian census of 1980, there were 200 million "Untouchables" of the lowest Castes. These 200 to 300 Castes are subjected to very inhuman treatment based on practices advocated in the Hindu religious manual Manu Smriti. The life, property and honor of Untouchables still remains threatened by the higher Castes.

Pollution and purification are key concepts in the Caste system. They are based on Hindu beliefs that each Caste group can maintain its status by restricting contact with the "polluting" effects of the lower Castes and by regulating its contact with objects thought to be inherently impure.

Caste members customarily marry only members of their own Caste. There are about 3,000 Castes and more than 25,000 sub-Castes in India, some with only several hundred members and others with millions.

The tragedy is that with the rise of Hindu religious nationalism nowadays, the Caste system is regaining its power, shaken a bit by modernization. Most wealth and power is by and large in the hands of the top three percent of Castes in India."
written by The dragonheart, October 02, 2008 15:25:43
Tribalism

Tribalism also remains a source of death and destruction. There are two notable examples from this century

1. Rwanda (Central Africa)-1994

Over a period of 100 days, beginning April 6, 1994, up to 800,000 members of the Tutsi tribe were killed by another tribe, Hutus.

Hutus used clubs and machetes to kill. As many as 10,000 were murdered each day.

2. Afghanistan-1989-present-1.2 million killed due to civil war, 2 million permanently disabled.

When the last of the colonial empires, the former Soviet Union, invaded Afghanistan in 1979, most Afghans were united in their fight against this oppressor.

However, with the withdrawal of the former Soviet Union from Afghanistan in 1989, things have worsened with bitter warfare amongst the country's various tribes.

The Taliban group controls the capital of Kabul and approximately two-thirds of the country including the predominantely ethnic Pashtun areas in southern Afghanistan. Opposing factions have their stronghold in the ethnically diverse north.

May Allah help human beings live in peace with each other. Ameen.
written by coolandy, October 02, 2008 15:46:26
Ever since the following greeting "Assalammualaikum Dan Salam Sejahtera" became the de-facto standard way, Malaysians were brainwashed from a very young age to be aware of US & You. Muslim is synonym with Malay here and soon, the greeting becomes Malay & You All.

The government should revert back to the old beutiful and neutral way of greeting like Selamat Pagi.
written by Fuminari, October 02, 2008 17:26:32
petra,a lot of malaysian bribe becos they are being forced to bribe!!perform a survey n u would be able to obtain a clearer picture!believe it or not,corruption is so rampant n hav already grown deep in root here becos the present gorverning system warrant it!!
written by cruzeiro, October 02, 2008 19:57:01
written by coolandy, October 02, 2008 15:46:26
Ever since the following greeting "Assalammualaikum Dan Salam Sejahtera" became the de-facto standard way, ............

==========================

I wonder why these people do it all the time - like as if it is forbidden to greet/ wish well/ peace in Malay or English.
Some people think that saying it in Arabic earns them points!!

It definitely highlights the hypocrisy, plus the "Us & Them" mentality in these guys' minds ....
And they don't even realize that it's an insult to their intelligence!!

My humble apologies if anybody is offended - but it's the truth!
written by educationist, October 02, 2008 20:14:48
I think a lot of the racial 'profiling' stems from the implementation of the NEP over these these years.
I agree this may be an over simplication of the issue but that sense of an aggrieved party because of the 'robbing Peter to pay Paul' implementation rather than the expanded pie approach promised contributed greatly.
written by Concerned Malaysian, October 02, 2008 21:17:53
I just want to correct The Dragon heart in saying that the caste system is part of Hinduism. I beg to differ there is no reference in any religious text in hindusim that talks about caste. The existence of "Varna Sastra"is metioned somehwere in the vedas and the idea of varna sastra is that every class performs its duties accordingly. The bramins duty is to educate (teach) the masses, the Satriya' s duty is govern the country righteously, the waisya's duties is to bring wealth to the nation via trade and the sudra's duties is to other administration and menial work. It was a system of governance of the state where everyone has duty to perform and it is not based on birth right. Later some people in power misused this system for their own benefit like those in power will always find ways to stay in power and reference were made towards teh aryans. It is not the religion but the society that brought this idiocratic idea to life and it still stays as a curse among the indians to date. This is also the reason why the indians are so disunited! If you need to understand what hindusim is all about try reading the upanishads which provides the right spiritual directions for seeker of hindusim not text by western authors or even by some so called bhramins. Like any other religion there is also misunderstanding among the so called practitioners of Hinduism that I call ajaran sesat dikalangan kaum hindu!
written by mikewang, October 02, 2008 21:48:11
Imagine there's no Heaven
It's easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

Imagine there's no countries
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

You may say that I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world

You may say that I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will live as one

- John Lennon
written by panca, October 02, 2008 22:12:15
To be exact 10 years ago, I sent my niece to UM the first day for her orientation and while at the campus waiting for her to familarise with the place, some kids were playing near the sundry shop. One of them was about to hit the other much younger kid and me, being a 'busybody' shouted to him and said, "Dik jangan!". I just didn't believe my ears, yes it was burning, you bet coming a boy as young as 6year-old. Wow! I was exasperated by his remark, "hey Cina Babi diam!". For a moment I was stunned and fumed mad, yes at that little boy no doubt but I told myself being a stupid busy body that I was and I just got to shut-up! Having re-composed myself the next moment, I thought it was not only the child to be blamed for such racist remark welcoming me but it was very very much to do with the elders of this kid's home! If not the parents and immediate elders of his family, then who? The rest of the day just spoilt it for me. But the blame had to be from those of his home.

Yeah my niece related to me that she finally met the dean after having tried to catch him on many other occassions. She cried when the Dean "advised" straight in her face when she had asked for accountancy instead of the "social science" instead. He lamented that she should not waste her time trying since she is a girl and moreover she is a chinese. She cried and had to accept everything, second class, a gender and race discrimination. Today it is etched in her mind for what the government had done to her and many of her friends were no less of such discrimination too.

Who is also the same gomen that had caused this polarisation to this date 2008.
written by Tompios, October 03, 2008 11:15:09
Sorry Panca! I had experienced it many times. Only Malay or Moslem will get soft chairs in our universities or any government departments. If you are Bumi but non-Moslem there will treat you the same. Do not think that as Bumis non-Moslem they will treat you fairly. Nonsense man! Malay students GPA 2.5 can enter Engineer programs but for Non-Moslem at least 3.5 GPA.

Yes, some people even get sick to see those who are using 'Kambing Jantan' style.
written by CatV5, October 06, 2008 10:14:18
Check this out... A memo from God

Date: Eternity

To: My Children on Earth

Subject: Idiotic religious rivalries

My Dear Children (and believe me, that's all of you),

I consider myself a pretty patient Guy. I mean, look at the Grand Canyon. It took millions of years to get it right. And how about evolution? Boy, nothing is slower than designing that whole Darwinian thing to take place, cell by cell and gene by gene. I've even been patient through your fantasies, fashions, civilizations, wars and schemes, and the countless ways you take Me for granted until you get yourselves into big trouble over and over again and again.

I want to let you know about some things that are starting to tick me off.

First of all, your religious rivalries are driving Me up a wall. Enough already! Let's get one thing straight: These are YOUR religions, not Mine. I'm the Whole Enchilada; I'm beyond them all. Every one of your religions claims there's only one of Me (which, by the way, is absolutely true). But in the very next breath, each religion claims it's My favorite one. And each claims its bible was written personally by me, and that all the other bibles are man-made. Oh, Me. How do I even begin to put a stop to such complicated nonsense?

Okay, listen up now: I'm your Father and Mother, and I don't play favorites among My Children. Also, I hate to break it to you, but I don't write. My longhand is awful, and I've always been more of a "doer" anyway. So all your books, including the bibles, were written by men and women. They were inspired remarkable people but they also made mistakes here and there in their understanding. I made sure of that, so that you would never trust a written word more than your own living Heart.

You see, one Human Being to me--even a Bum on the street--is worth more than all the holy books in the world. That's just the kind of Guy I Am. My Spirit is not an historical thing, It's alive right here, right now, as fresh as your next breath and whether you believe it or not, I'm making all things new continuously.

Holy books and religious rites are sacred and powerful, but not more so than the least of You. They were only meant to steer you in the right direction, not to keep you arguing with each other, and certainly not to keep you from trusting your own personal connection with Me.

Which brings Me to My next point about your nonsense: You act like I need you and your religions to stick up for Me to "win souls" for My Sake. Please, don't do Me any favors. I can stand quite well on my own, thank you. I don't need you to defend Me, and I certainly don't need constant credit. I just want you to be good to each other.

And another thing: I don't get all worked up over money or politics, so stop dragging My name into your dramas. For example, I swear to Me that I never threatened Oral Roberts. I never rode in any of Rajneesh's Rolls Royces. I never told Pat Robertson to run for president, and I've never ever had a conversation with Jim Bakker, Jerry Falwell, or Jimmy Swaggart!

The thing is, I want you to stop thinking of religion as some sort of loyalty pledge to Me. The true purpose of your religions is so that you can become more aware of Me, not the other way around. Believe Me, I know you already. I know what's in each of your hearts, and I love you with no strings attached. Lighten up and enjoy Me. That's what religion is best for.

Cont'd
written by CatV5, October 06, 2008 10:14:55

What you seem to forget is how Mysterious I Am. You look at the petty little differences in your scriptures and say, "Well, if this is the Truth, then that can't be!" But instead of trying to figure out My Paradoxes and Unfathomable Nature -- which, by the way, you never will -- why not open your hearts to the simple common threads in every religion?

You know what I'm talking about: Love and respect everyone. Be kind. Even when life is scary or confusing, take courage and be of good cheer, for I Am always with you. Learn how to be quiet, so you can hear My Still, Small Voice (I don't like to shout). Leave the world a better place by living your life with dignity and gracefulness, for you are My Own Child. Hold back nothing from life, for the part of you which is your fantasy world and attendant dramas will surely die, and the part of you that reflects Me can't, and won't. So don't worry, be happy (I stole that last line from Bobby McFerrin, but he stole it from Meher Baba in the first place.)

Simple stuff. Why do you keep making it so complicated? It's like you're always looking for an excuse to be upset. And I'm very tired of being your main excuse. Do you think I care whether you call me Yahweh, Jehovah, Allah, Wakantonka, Brahma, Father, Mother, or even The Universe, The Void or Nirvana? Do you think I care which of My chosen Children you feel closest to--Jesus, Mary, Buddha, Krishna, Mohammed or any of the others? You can call Me and My chosen Ones any name you choose, if only you would go about My business of loving one another as I love you. I've chosen you all, you know. How can you keep neglecting something so simple?

I'm not telling you to abandon your religions. Enjoy your religions, honor them, learn from them, just as you should enjoy, honor, and learn from your parents. But do you walk around telling everyone that your parents are better than theirs? Your religion, like your parents, may always have the most special place in your heart; I don't mind that at all. And I don't want you to combine all the Great Traditions into One Big Mess. Each religion is unique for a reason. Each has a unique style so that people can find the best path for themselves.

But My Chosen Children -- the ones your religions revolve around -- all live in the same place (My Heart) and they get along perfectly, I assure you. The clergy must stop creating a myth of sibling rivalry where there is none.

My Blessed Children of Earth, the world has grown too small for your pervasive religious bigotry and confusion. The whole planet is connected by air travel, the internet, satellite dishes, cell phones, telephones, fax machines. Get with the program! If you really want to help Me --then commit yourselves to figuring out how to feed your hungry, clothe your naked, protect your abused, and shelter your poor. And just as importantly, make your own everyday life a shining example of kindness and good humor. I've given you all the resources you need, if only you abandon your fear of each other and begin living, loving, and laughing together.

Finally, My Children everywhere, I love each one of you. I'm not really ticked off, I just wanted to grab your attention because I hate to see you suffer. But I gave you Free Will, so what can I do now other than to try to influence you through reason, persuasion, and a little old-fashioned guilt and manipulation? After all, I Am the original Jewish Mother. I just want you to be happy. I really Am, indeed, I swear, I'm with you always.

Always. Trust In Me.

Your One and Only true Love,

GOD