Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow RACE AND THE CLASS PERSPECTIVE

RACE AND THE CLASS PERSPECTIVE PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 01 October 2008 21:51

By Dr. Kumar Devaraj

It is painfully obvious that although we have been independent for over 50 years Malaysians remain deeply divided along ethnic lines. But can all our troubles be ascribed to ethnicity and religion?

In actuality, if one looks objectively at the major ethnic and religious issues that we have had to grapple with as an emerging nation, it is clear that we have arrived at a reasonable degree of consensus about the majority of them. But socially we are even more divided than we were at Independence. Why is this so? The answer I believe lies in the very nature of the political process in Malaysia.

Two approaches to nationhood

In the first few years after the re-occupation of Malaya by the British after World war Two, there were two dramatically different approaches to building an independent Malayan nation. The stronger trend was that of the radical nationalists who had strong links to the left. They advocated the fair distribution of wealth and the uplifting of all the working peoples of the country irrespective of race. The political expression of this strong movement for an independent Malaya was the AMCJA-Putera coalition that produced the Peoples’ Constitution.

The radical nationalists were seriously considering the expropriation of all colonial investments so that the wealth of the country could be used for the development of its peoples and not be siphoned away to the imperial centre. The radical nationalists were also drawn to the non-aligned stance of Third World leaders such as Sukarno, Nehru and Nasser.

The British, who handled the independence of their colonies more cunningly than the Dutch and the French, managed to thwart the radical nationalist movement through repression, arrests, detentions without trial, criminalization of organizations of this group, banishment and executions, while at the same time encouraging the development of a more conservative and compliant Malayan leadership comprising the economic elites of the three main ethnic groups in Malaya then. Rigorous suppression of the left coupled with graduated devolution of power to the Malay aristocracy and the businessmen who together made up the Alliance Party managed to defeat the radical nationalist movement.

But this defeat (of the radical nationalists) also created the conditions that have resulted in the dysfunctional state that our country is in today. The AMCJA-Putera leadership talked of uplifting of the Malayan workers and farmers. They talked the language of class, not of race and were quite open to the culture and languages of the other races. They did not see cultural diversity as a problem as they believed that a workable compromise based on mutual respect would not be difficult to attain in a society where the economic boosting of all the poor was the major national goal.

The political language of the Alliance on the other hand was quite different. The political organization of society was along ethnic lines and not along class lines. Political activity became the bargaining between different ethnic groups for their share of the cake. The “solution” adopted in the course of racial politicking that has characterised Alliance politics is the system of racial quotas that remind every Malaysian from school going age onwards that they come from different ethnic groups. Race has become institutionalized and permeates almost every facet of our society.

The Escalation of Ethnic Politicking

The risk of outbreaks of inter-ethnic violence is becoming more serious with time, and this is linked to three inter-related developments.

Read More Here

written by cheekhiaw, October 01, 2008 22:07:00
ANALYSE THIS

However one analyse it, the problem with this country is it is run by a bunch of thieves, liars and murderers.

For thieves, liars and murderers anything is fair game...

written by peace brother, October 01, 2008 22:50:40
All because of certain politician who make points in the political arena to make themself popular by talking stupid and being arrogance
Have many friends from all races, but when politic come everyone is confused because of action and speeches by certain politicians ( the so call champion of his kind)
Malaysia is an unique and a beautiful country, why have this problem as the world sees us as peaceful and racial tolerence people (at least it was advertised by politicians)
written by Hakim Joe, October 01, 2008 22:53:04

Until the sitting parliament passes a law enacting the Bangsa Malaysia will race and class be effectively abolished. This means no more bumiputra or chinese or indian or iban or kadazan or whatever. This means no more "State Race" columns to fill in on all forms. This means no more NEP. This means no more Ketuanan Melayu. This means no more "Reserved for Bumiputra only" signs. This means no more segregation and racism.

Do you seriously think that this will happen in our lifetime?

Do you think that those who have profited from this policy (or still profiting from this policy) will surrender their bias entitlement willingly?

Do you think that certain political parties using this “race agenda” to promote themselves will give it up?

For me, there is no hope whatsoever that this will be achieved in my lifetime. Hopefully I can contribute to having attained it for my child's lifetime.

written by Atheist, October 01, 2008 22:57:31
boy ... with such insight, am I glad you are the MP for Sg. Siput instead of the other useless fellow !!!

As an ex-JPM associate, let me correct an error in perception. TDM in his hurry to develop this country and its vision pushed too hard in every direction. Though most of his effort brought some progress to some degree, but the push in the religious direction caused much of the discomforts mentioned in the article, including Article 11.

It is this that AAB, DSAI or Najib must undo before real progress is made. Strangely, this was also highlighted by Indonesian Chinese businessman who compared and contrasted Indonesia with us.

My question is, can we separate religion, politics, race and business from each other? and can we do it in time?
written by Motherchell, October 01, 2008 23:10:43
No matter what Country we live in ---- this division is there then we have Leaders who need to be sent into space on a one way trip. These bigots will build Biro TataNegara with -- in other words stolen funds , to prop up their positions . What do the Mullah Napoleons do from 8--5pm daily???

Does one have to go to the University of Nottingham or UM to study what is wrong with the Country here?
Its all in the convictions of the Leaders in power , either they love to count Billions of Bank Notes or let their grandchildren suffer the ills of the system Every thing has to be started early from the school stage without the Bigots and Second Fiddles planning the Education for the Young .

Walk into any secular country -- and you'll understand what i mean !! they have better brains , mix of cultures , the sick ones are the uneducated lots -- who will pick a buck to stone another! Unity is not Rocket Science! RPK, Haris , Azly , Farish, Ruslan are all not Von Braun's yet they can unify the masses as one Soul. So who are the actual leaders of this piece of land the they trample upon?
written by Motherchell, October 01, 2008 23:45:09
The fostering of Religious Institutions like Jakim with no image for the development of the Nation as a whole ,to top it --- the Interior Minister has to be spoon fed by less educated and extremists forces . Can we see the light of the day with these kinds of talibanisation.

Malaysia is not Somalia -- but we have become one in the last 20 years . When RPK is rehabilitated by ones who need it most, the real basics --- This is like telling me Mandela has been arrested under the terror laws and sent to Guantanamo by the US to accept all that he did for S. Africa was wrong !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by samesamemam, October 02, 2008 00:15:49
Dear Dr. Devaraj,
I`ve always respected you. I still respect you. But, in all honesty, your reduction of everything to a Marxist-Leninist “…Way Forward” is crap lah…Its like saying “God is love and let’s love everyone…let’s organize the way forward as all of us are god’s children”…it sounds good, very principled, as you rightly say…but it hasn’t worked and it won’t work la…god is dead just as the new internationalism (this is debatable)…many, many people just got no work la…or not decent work…what kind of solidarity of “workers of different ethnic groups…an integral part of our praxis”…you talking about…with all due respect, wake up and smell the crap…if anything, the lesson of your success at Sungai Siput and the success of PKR elsewhere can be attributed not to “workers of the world unite”, but citizens of the world unite…cos for many citizens (Malaysian or otherwise, and especially women) it just ain’t about work…
written by Apache3, October 02, 2008 00:48:55
Dr. Devaraj ponder on this quote...

Religion is a relic of the evolutionary process. It is being used to keep the population obedient - anonymous
written by varvoom, October 02, 2008 00:50:59
Malaysia as is now is a "FAIL STATE" get it in your head, however much we pussy foot about trying to be nice to those bigotted tyrant to make the change, it will never happen, it their Berhad and they can do what they like with it.
The best solution to end these racial polarization impasses is to rejuvenate the Strait Settlement, all races who would like to live as equal citizen move to the settlement, the rest of Malaysia can remind as there are, in less then 20 years we will have another “Singapore like” wealthy state, cheap labour will be of abundance from Malaysia then.
written by Steven Tan, October 02, 2008 03:07:38
Previously our government mentioned that they're considering Agusta Westland EH101 to replace the old Nuri (Sea King) all of sudden now they're interested on EUROCOPTER. Anyway in your opinion Which Is The Better Helicopter between AGUSTA WESTLAND EH101 and EUROCOPTER AS 532:-

Specification of AGUSTA WESTLAND EH101

Crew: 4
Capacity: 24 seated troops or 45 standing troops or 16 stretchers with medics.
Length: 22.81 m (74 ft 10 in)
Rotor diameter: 18.59 m (61 ft 0 in)
Height: 6.65 m (21 ft 10 in)
Disc area: 271 m² (2,992 ft²)
Empty weight: 10,500 kg (23,150 lb)
Useful load: 5,443 kg (12,000 lb)
Max takeoff weight: 15,600 kg (32,188 lb)
Powerplant: 3× Rolls-Royce/Turbomeca RTM322-01 turboshafts,
1,725 kW (2,312 shp) each

Performance:-

Never exceed speed: 309 km/h (167 knots, 192 mph)
Range: 1,389 km (750 nm, 863 mi)
Service ceiling 4,575 m (15,000ft)
Rate of climb: 10.2 m/s (2,000 ft/min)
Disc loading: 53.8 kg/m² (11.01 lb/ft²)
Power/mass: 284.9 W/kg (0.174 shp/lb)
_______________________________________________________ _________________

Specifications of EUROCOPTER AS 532

General characteristics
Crew: 2
Capacity: 20 troops
Length: 15.53 m (50 ft 11½ in)
Rotor diameter: 15.6 m (51 ft 2 in)
Height: 4.92 m (16 ft 2 in)
Disc area: 206 m² (2,217ft²)
Empty weight: 4,350 kg (9,590 lb)
Useful load: 4,650 kg (10,250 lb)
Max takeoff weight: 9,000 kg (19,840 lb)
Powerplant: 2× Turbomeca Makila 1A1 turboshaft,
1,185 kW (1,589 shp) each

Performance:-

Never exceed speed: 278 km/h (150 knots, 173 mph)
Maximum speed: 249 km/h (134 knots, 154 mph)
Cruise speed: 239 km/h (129 knots, 148 mph)
Range: 573 km (310 nm, 357 mi)
Service ceiling 3,450 m (11,319 ft)
Rate of climb: 7.2 m/s (1,417 ft/min)
written by Tom n Jerry, October 02, 2008 06:47:39
Apache3;I fully endorse your comments;its only use is to make humans obedient;but in reality its not working;people become so obssessed that they will jihad for no apparent reason;its pure human nature I guess;each persons religious belief should be shoved up their arses according to commentator temengong or something I cant quite recall;but I would more appropriately advise that we dont wear religion on our sleeves;its best to use it in our he*** or consciousness for a worthy cause such as *javana*thought moments of transition from earth to heaven;isnt it the ultimate of religion to bring one to heaven or hell? smilies/smiley.gif
written by educationist, October 02, 2008 07:06:19
I agree with the essentials of Dr Devaraj article.
But we need to be a bit more gentle on ourselves - the USA only made great strides towards equality of all its citizens after the turbulent times of the 1950's more than 200 years after its independence.
Don't get me wrong-I'm not condoning the failed nation building by the BN & UMNOputras in particular
Steps need to be taken to remedy the increasing racial divides brought about by the policies of divide and rule perpetuated by the UMNOputras
But sadly PR hopes of bringing about a new dawn is fading.
written by ahmadneil, October 02, 2008 08:32:06
We mustn't allow the course of this country be charted by those racist, crooks,and thieves.
written by Liberace, October 02, 2008 09:06:23
Extreme socialism is a failed policy as evidenced by the collapse of the communist regimes that ruled a huge chunk of the earth post WWII. It all sounds good on paper but like all forms of government that consolidate power in the hands of a few, is doomed. And how else are you going to confiscate or nationalize anything except by brute force in the hands of a few? It is the integrity of men that makes any government work and you can never have that without being open to check and balance. This is our problem. We're in a time warp. A modern and educated population living under feudalistic rule. Our leaders want the best and the latest the world has to offer but they want it everything handed to them on a platter. The only way that's going to happen is if the population remains docile, intimidated and uninformed. With the rise of technology and education possibilities, it's just an untenable situation. The armor has been cracked. It's just a matter of time before it becomes more a burden than a protection to the bearer.
written by cheekhiaw, October 02, 2008 09:40:20
Steven Tan,

In your list of specifications, there is nothing on the amount of kick-backs involved. Without that, people cannot choose which is a 'good deal'.
written by temenggong, October 02, 2008 10:35:28
Jayaraj,

Socialism is passe! Politics is business and economics driven. In this globalised era we care not for nationalism, which are personal preferences in the global village. We are only interested in rights and freedoms!

You are still talking the language of the 60s. Please step right in to the 21st century where we care not for malay traditions, national language, religion or dietary habits. There is no need to spell out 'national languages', official religion, etc. The people will decide by their usage. Consumption guides. The consumer decides! And its definately not socialism.

I integrate with the global community who share the same interests. Global interests groups are the new villages.
written by 1eyecls, October 02, 2008 10:57:50
that's why the communists banned religions at early days!
it was a very good movement!Now,when tensions subsided,they release it,you could belief whoever or whatever God you wish!
We notice now the father of materialistic world,USA,is having huge financial problem!and on the other hand,Russia,China are picking-up at a very rapid speed!
In Malaysia,damn obvious that religion has been misused to achieve the political wills!We must do certain restrictions on it to safeguard the country!
written by shan, October 02, 2008 12:19:34
As human beings we can never be alone,and when we are alone with trouble,we ponder and search for a "superman" who will help us and that is "GOD".,.The mundane believe that God with mundane practises,but god is in and everyone of us,ONLY YOU HAVE TO REALIZE.,.,.
But that's also when the trouble starts,when representatives of"superman"takes care of some of your trouble and conditions you to submit to him,.,
So what the illerate peasants and layman do is blindly follow this rep.who claims that he is the link between man and god.
Througout history we have witness these rep make a mockery of god and man.
And my friends people will keep falling to these mockery as long as there are these reps.,.,.They will only realise that god resides in them on doomsday.,So DR. whatever you say WILL HAVE no effect untillwe,GET RID OF THESE HOLY HYPOCRETES,AND WE WILL HAVE PEACE ON EARTHand I am no athesist.,,.I am a hindu , believe in Eashwara,Allah and Rama. smilies/grin.gif
written by renoir, October 02, 2008 14:21:04
A excellent article by Dr.Devaraj. Five centuries of capitalism which saw the impoverishment, enslavement, and slaughter of billions of people from the Third World, not to mention the misery caused among the working class within the same capitalist countries, is sufficient to condemn that system to the garbage heap. The baby steps taken by socialism have, by contrast, exhibited much promise, especially in the Nordic and Northern European countries. Finland is a great example where entrepreneurs are encouraged but restrained from acquiring overwhelming influence in the governance of the country. State planning in Normandy, Sweden, and even Germany has generally served their citizens well. By contrast, in places such as the United States where dog-eat-dog capitalism has taken root, living standards of the middle and lower classes have plunged - how far downwards it will go remains to be seen. It's interesting that we've two he*** in the ad at the top of this article, that of Bush and Einstein - the former a pea-brained capitalism champion and the latter a genius who's also a socialism advocate.

written by cheekhiaw, October 02, 2008 15:31:45
LChuah,

To understand capitalism one must understand its origins 500 years ago - that of combining rinancial resources to pay for the 'expensive' undertaking of travelling thousands of miles to trade and rob others.

That original feature had not changed till today...

written by densemy, October 02, 2008 16:00:01
This analysis is far too simplistic. His either/or approach to politics re*** like something out of a Communist Manifesto

The essence of good governance relies on maintaining a fine balance between both Socialist and Capitalistic ideals. So that all categories of the community benefit from the country's wealth

Sticking to one set of economic dogmatic values will get you to the same place as sticking to one set of religous dogmantic values

In a rut
written by renoir, October 03, 2008 00:38:14
I wrote: "State planning in Normandy, Sweden, and even Germany has generally served their citizens well."

I meant Norway but somehow "Normandy" came out. Sorry.

cheekhiaw wrote:
>To understand capitalism one must understand its origins 500 years ago]]

True. I'd written on this topic for some time in M-T, including the kidnapping of dislocated Englishmen (partly because of the Enclosure Act) to serve as indentured servants in the American colonies, later to be followed by black slaves from Africa. Millions of the British poor perished in the cross-Atlantic journeys, and anything from 20 to 60 million blacks met the same fate later on (from the 18 century onwards. Then of course there was the extermination of natives on several continents, all for the sake of raw resources, cheap labor, and the securing of markets. An interesting book on some of these events is Noam Chomsky's "Year 501: The Conquest Continues." Some of his comments, cited in Thirdworldtravellor.com, include:

1.Centralized state power dedicated to private privilege and authority, and the rational and organized use of savage violence, are two of the enduring features of the European conquest. Others are the domestic colonization by which the poor subsidize the rich, and the contempt for democracy and freedom. Yet another enduring theme is the self-righteousness in which plunder, slaughter, and oppression are clothed (p19).

2. It would not be fair to charge that atrocities pass unmentioned. One of the most notorious slaughterers was King Leopold of Belgium, responsible for the death of perhaps 10 million people in the Congo. His contributions and defects were duly recorded in the Encyclopaedia Britannica, which describes the "enormous fortune" that he gained by "exploitation of this vast territory." The last line of the lengthy entry re***: "but he had a hard heart towards the natives of his distant possession." (p20).

densemy wrote:
> His either/or approach to politics re*** like something out of a Communist Manifesto]]

There're far more room for flexibility in THE Communist Manifesto than commonly assumed, though as a classical economist, Marx, like adam Smith, tends to have that idealistic sense of closure. To really understand him, however, it's best to spend some time on "Capital" (or Das Capita) - a few months of intense reading will give some insights of a lifetime (granted, it's not easy reading, but well within the capability of the average college student). Reading from primary materials are important, as secondary sources are often unreliable.

Finally, Marx's appropriation of Hegelian dialectics indicates a dynamic - and thus non-dogmatic - view of society. The "dogmas" are created by those who either failed to understand him or - more likely - those who prefer to stick to the capitalist party line. The possibilities of Marxism is evident in the works of the Frankfurt School, the works of people like Gramsci, the British cultural studies people, etc. It's not surprising that recently (a couple of years ago?) a British poll saw Marx named as the most important personality (author?) in modern history.