Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow On the Sri Maha Kaliamman shrine

On the Sri Maha Kaliamman shrine PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 October 2008 18:45

We have seen and felt the anguish of those who were forced to defend their temples and even suraus in past years, usually due to a parcel of land being subjected to development. I have seen my friend Uthayakumar beaten and arrested defending century-old temples and shrines - and now he has been detained without trial under the ISA for a year.

So when the rakyat gave us an opportunity to govern Selangor on 8 March, this means we have to try to do things differently, and attempt to rectify the mistakes of the past as far as possible. In fact, I touched on this issue in my speeches during the election campaign earlier this year.

The Pakatan Rakyat Selangor state government policy is clear:- That no place of worship (whether surau, tokong, kuil, church etc.) built prior to 8 March 2008 is to be demolished, unless and until a suitable site has been identified for relocation.

So, imagine our horror when we found out a Hindu shrine was demolished recently.

Read more at: http://elizabethwong.wordpress.com/2008/09/30/on-the-sri-maha-kaliamman-shrine/

written by shan, October 01, 2008 19:15:28
Dear MB Selangor, please come out clean with us together with your elected reps,if not how long can our ships sail in the same direction.

The Council employeee are of the old UMNO school, are always admant and arrogant,never people friendly,and thats the reason we kicked the privious coruppted lawmakers of Selangor out,.,Please don't falter and dissapoint us by allowing these incompetent adminstrators to undermine the their possition.
Sack them if need be, we the people demand it. We are paying their salaries,and we want a condusive enviroment.
Your civil servants should we humble in discharging their duties, and we will not condone to arrogance of these incorrigible council staffs.
Can we be a little bit more humane.,.We are only asking for an explanation on the temple episode, is it too much?
Mr.MB, we heard that you are a man of great caliber,now show us!!
written by kavidibaku, October 01, 2008 19:22:09
It is very clear that the Hindus are being bullied in this country. God will punish the morons who were involved directly and indirectly in this matter.
written by ChanRaj, October 01, 2008 21:08:43
YB S Manikavasagam is in no position to represent all Malaysian let alone the Indian community. He is nobody outside his constituency and should not regard himself that highly. That’s the first step to political arrogance. It is short of political gangsterism which we are all trying to do away with. He also should not consider that he is the only one concerned about this issue of demolishing of shrines, temples or other places worship. We can’t have political representative threatening to resign and express their aggressiveness every time there is an issue of sensitive nature. He should know that he will only be fanning emotions that can get out of hand in a delicate social structure as ours. Moreover at this delicate political climate, he will only be playing into the hands of the BN who are desperately trying to instigate unrest. Yes diplomacy must prevail and YB S Manikavasagam should have expressed this professionally and not “gangho” reaction as he did. It only shows how immature he really is as a politician. Worse still trying to justify his action through this article.
The mistake the Ampang Jaya Municipal Council Deputy President Hamid Hussain did was to go against the directive of the State Government. Yes he might have thought that since the shrine is not registered and therefore illegal decides on his own to demolish it. Perhaps there are influences involved for him to take that decision, maybe not. That is for the PR Government to investigate and take the appropriate action it deems fit but whatever the decision, it must be fair and just and not to just satisfy a particular community. Yes, Hamid is dead wrong for going against the State Government’s directive and he should be reprimanded for that. He should have realized that illegal or not the issue is sensitive and that he should have sought the State Government’s approval and not act unilaterally.

Equally at fault are a few Indians who feel there is a “spirit” residing in a tree or a rock and decide to build a shrine, just like that. Anywhere, any place, any time and everybody must respect that right. This is not Hinduism. Oh yeah, the Chinese also find such “spirits” here and there and build shrines because someone struck some 4-D numbers. What holy crap is this?
The issue about Dato Zakaria’s Mansion in Pandamaran, Port Klang is not an issue here because that was during BN’s time. What lopsided comparison is this? As far as YB Manikavasagam is concerned, JUST GROW UP! Your threats and uncalled bursts of uncontrolled emotion are not wanted here. THINK BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH!
written by Sudahlah tu, October 01, 2008 21:10:55
Hai kawan2 ..sudah lain ...sudah berubahlah ..
dulu ...mic diam tidak berani menyuarakan bantahan sekuat sekarang ..
sekarang ..tv pun tayang berkali-kali demi mensensasikan keadaan ..
sudah berubah tu ... dulu ..tidak ada air time sebanyak sekarang ..

Yang penting sekarang ialah KITA ..semua harus bersatu hati dan bertabah selalu..
umno-mic-mca-gerakan akan selalu mencuri peluang untuk menghentam kerajaan PR ..
itu sudah jadi mainan biasa mereka yang disokong oleh anjing2 kepolisan, kehakiman, perbandaran dan lain2 agensi kerajaan yang tidak bermaruah dan tidak bermoral langsung ....
Jadi KITA sebagai manusia mulia tidak payah ikut rentak anjing2 ini semua ..
anjing2 yang buta kerana wang dan kuasa ...
anjing2 yang tidak bertulang langsung yang sungguh memalukan nama keluarga mereka .... apa boleh buat..asal daripada keluarga binatang ..inilah hasilnya ..

Bersabarlah KITA semua ... ok ..
Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri ...
written by ganbing, October 01, 2008 21:12:42
MIC and Samy Vellu is really going to town on the Ampang temple demolition issue, trying to make as much political capital as possible. Even MCA Youth has joined in. All this over an unintended demolition due to a failure in the chain of command while not a squeek of praise over the many land grants and approvals for new Hindu and Buddhist temples which was alien to the BN state governments.

My question is, where were their voices when the the BN state govts were doing a string of temple demolitions in Selangor and Perak? Had they been half as vocal as they are now, a lot of Hindu temples may have been saved and Hindraf may not have given birth.

To the hypocrites in MIC and MCA, I’ll like to see what your response is when the next temple is demolished by a BN state govt. Let’s hope you’ll condemn the act as loudly and bravely as you’re doing now.
written by samesamemam, October 01, 2008 22:31:01
The line I like in this article is:
“…that only one of us speak, as opposed to four, five spokespersons in the past couple of days…”

Cos many in PKR have been speaking since this incident happened and there are many inconsistencies, including the foot-in-mouth disease, which is usually characteristic of bn…let one person speak and let’s hear the truth…
written by Daryl, October 01, 2008 23:14:35
If you do it right the first time you save a lot of people headache and no need to issue this and that statements. So, please be a mature person and also a politician as well when come to problem solving. The Khir Toyo is a bad legacy and you can out do them just by doing a little bit more. Ignore the toyol and learn from their mistake and you will be fine.

At least I hate this threat things to get their way which we are so use to with the BN/UMNO government. But, at least you come up with an explanation that will make sense.
written by Kuda Belang, October 01, 2008 23:57:07
The elected PR members must know that keeping a cool head is more important now than ever. Five decades under the divide and rule regime has conditioned us to be a racists. While the self-serving MIC is taking this opportunity to drive a wedge between people, bigotry could only lead to the path of failure.
written by junjun40, October 02, 2008 03:21:46
Ahmad Neil,

You are right on. Last 24 to 48hours, I notice from the headers under the MT "Latest updates" a host of racially tainted titles of the latest updates.

I said "Shit" ... this country is really going into trouble soon esp if they touch on religious issues.

While the dominant party is keeping a long silence over the temple issue, I suspect they might be waiting for a outbreak after the divide and rule tactic.
The govt thinks that the right was born yesterday. Very naive to think that way
written by latihanQ, October 02, 2008 17:45:03
While Malaysians are regularly forced to witness the most disgusting display of bad manners and arrogance by the ex-MB Selangor, Khir Toyo it may be the benign and clandestine support still accorded him by the likes of Ampang Jaya Municipal Council Deputy President Hamid Hussain that is doing the most harm to the image and good name of the present state administration.