Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Teng: Gerakan's prerogative to stay or leave BN

Teng: Gerakan's prerogative to stay or leave BN PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 September 2008 18:35
By Debra Chong

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 30 — Gerakan vice-president Datuk Dr Teng Hock Nan today told off deputy Penang Umno chief Datuk Rashid Abdullah for meddling in its affairs.

"For Gerakan to stay on in Barisan Nasional or to leave Barisan Nasional is absolutely the decision and prerogative of its members.  Nobody should tell us what to do," said Teng in a press statement released today.

Yesterday, the deputy chairman of the Penang Umno liaison committee was reported to have accused Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon of being a BN "party spoiler" for voicing out the desire of a majority of party members for Gerakan to pull out of the coalition.

"As a leader, he must be responsible to the coalition. He needs to set the course for Gerakan and make his position clear. After all, a fish rots from the head down," Rashid had said.

He added that such "factions can leave if they want to".

Teng blasted Rashid for his "totally uncalled for" remarks and reminded him to abstain from making further insinuations as the BN had proper channels for discussing and deliberating component party issues, that is at the BN supreme council and  the management committee.

Teng, who is also Gerakan state chairman, said that Rashid was in no position to challenge Gerakan's stand as he is "only the Nibong Tebal Umno division chief and liaison committee deputy chairman".

"I wonder whether he made this comment so as to obtain political mileage in his up and coming division contest," Teng questioned.

He also took umbrage at comments made by another BN ally, MCA state deputy chief Lau Chiek Tuan, who had allegedly said that Koh was "hiding behind party members' opinions".

"During this uncertain political climate in the country where Gerakan is going through its party elections, Umno itself is facing its worst ever political turmoil and MCA is facing a big challenge in its upcoming party elections, I would like to request all BN component party leaders and members to speak with care and sensitivity so as not to further aggravate the present political situation," he concluded.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 30, 2008 18:47:50
If Gerakan don't know whether to stay or to leave, I leave it for all malaysian to judge where are their brains.No wonder they can stand this insult 'The beggar party'.
written by Celestial, September 30, 2008 18:48:10
All this political One Upmanship is to boost their standing in their own party elections. I hate to pigeon hole anyone but politicians are really scoundrels of the worst kind.

I remember a comment from a dear friend that politicians are so low that in comparison, one could jump off the behind of a snake and free fall for 5 minutes
written by cheekhiaw, September 30, 2008 18:53:09
Aiyah, people has special rights to all idiotic antics.

Why are you squatters complaining? Not happy get out lah...

written by Hakim Joe, September 30, 2008 18:55:31

Frankly speaking Ah Teng (or is it Ah Hock or Ah Nan?), nobody is trying to tell you what you ppl should do. Your grass root members have already told you ppl what to do.
So...what's keeping you Gerakan hierarchy from doing what your members want you to do? 60% (to my knowledge) is the majority, so stop talking cock, you cock talker!!!

BTW, how much you pay for your doctorate? I also want one lol! Everybody also Dr This and Dr That….

written by Lim Lim, September 30, 2008 18:55:31
Teng,do it!n not jus for a talk show only; if u guys are courageous enough!
written by chezzter, September 30, 2008 19:21:56
To quote Teng "For Gerakan to stay on in Barisan Nasional or to leave Barisan Nasional is absolutely the decision and prerogative of its members. Nobody should tell us what to do," said Teng in a press statement released today.

To quote Koh "Going by the sentiments gathered from views at the grassroots level, at least 60% say it is very difficult to stay in the coalition (BN) because they are being criticised outside," Koh said.

If it is the prerogotive of the members, what is the waiting for?

written by smeagrooo, September 30, 2008 19:22:49
rashit is no ordinary nibong tebal dude. he is an umno dude. any umno dude is a big dude. look at ahmad ismail the dude. small dude? heck no. even PM have to gv him some face. as long as u r umno dude u hv some sort of power over the others especially when it comes to other component parties like mca, mic and gerak khas.

written by shangrilapeace, September 30, 2008 19:30:09
Is cutting the onions bringing tears to your eyes?
Please put on the dark sunglasses please?

UMNO Uncle Rashid Abdullah, Gerakan Brother Teng Hock Nan and
MCA son Lau Chiek Tuan, can all of you go and play in the Karaoke Room?
Daddy is having a migraine and there is unfinished work to be done.

It is your prerogative to play inside or outside the house.
Just closed the door and leave me alone.
written by mikewang, September 30, 2008 20:01:20
When Gerakan couldn't decide who among the three should be the next CM of Penang, the voters decided for them by rejecting all 3.

Now Gerakan is facing another decision dilemma.
The leadership cannot decide whether to remain in or get out of BN.
How about all Gerakan members make that decision for them by walking out of the party ?
written by lamakawan, September 30, 2008 20:41:58
This Rashid Abdullah
written by lamakawan, September 30, 2008 20:47:49
You are absolutely right, Dr. Teng. This Rashid Abdullah was the man who squandered pieces of land from the state last time when he was land minister. He has no right at all to say such things. it all boils down to that these UMNO boys are a bunch of samsengs out to create trouble for its partners in BN. They make use of Gerakan and MCA and SAPP when they need the votes. And they dump you when they don't need you. These are the people showing their true colours. In a nutshell, they cannot be trusted. They have no responsibility and no image. They go wherever the wind blows.
written by lamakawan, September 30, 2008 20:50:17
Rashid is now out to gain political mileage. He is a man of no morals and no responsibility. He avoids you once he has taken his share.
written by hiro, September 30, 2008 20:54:39
Gerakan should listen to its members. They don't want to stay in BN no matter whether Najib, Muhyddin or Tengku Razaleigh becomes the next PM. UMNO is beyond redemption and the rest of the parties are just their eunuchs. Don't for a moment pretend that if you stay in BN you can be its conscience and perhaps even play king maker. You have lost that king making role, and will never get one back for some time to come. It's time to call a spade a spade and live as a small party within the Pakatan grand coalition - at least you can hold your heads high.
written by smeagrooo, September 30, 2008 21:49:21
teng tong,

if u hv not benefited financially while in gerakan, go dig out rashid's shit. then u will know u hv no reason to stay in BN. whilst u gv these ppl the power to rule, u didnt get anything in return like contracts, directorship, etc.

but of cos the story will be different if u do hv benefited from ur stay in gerakan. then we let u decide if the pot of gold will still be urs for the taking after PR takes over.

bottomline is still this, u deliver votes to them but yet they grab more than u.

of cos if ur conscience is clear, u shld reject all such unethical practices.
written by JaguhKampung, September 30, 2008 22:42:42
Aiya Gerakan, if people tell you to fly kite, why are you still staying around? Really good friend you have in UMNO. Congratulatins! smilies/tongue.gif

When more than 60% of your members wanted to leave, why are the few of you at the top still want to stay? Are you for your party or for yourselves?
written by Xerxes, September 30, 2008 22:48:07
"...After all, a fish rots from the head down," Rashid had said.

Well said Rashid. You have just described UMNO perfectly. That is why UMNO lost Penang, Kedah, Perak, Kelantan and Selangor and its two third majority in Parliament.
written by Highway16, September 30, 2008 22:50:52
Still don't get it, do you?

UMNO will call you a "nuisance". Like you, are just "pendatangs".

Still want to stay?
written by latihanQ, September 30, 2008 22:53:02
Teng and Rashid,
Please if you two want to engage in another round of scr*wing, go do it in the privacy of Badawi's bedroom and get the fcuk out of our face. Enough, enough, enough. You bloody Gerakan buggers simply have no balls. Worse than eunuchs! Can't take anymore from you bast*rds. Fcuk off!
written by oct, September 30, 2008 23:10:39
It is so clear cut that Gerakan needs to quit BN. UMNO has no respect for you. If some little UMNO member can tear up your President photo with impunity, what more can you ask? Is any Gerakan member brave enough to tear up AMNO President photo and get away with? Your President, KTK, really has no b**ls. He can stay quiet and pretend nothing happens. Like the Chinese saying, 'Tong lai mo tou'. If this is not insulting, I don't know what is. It is no more tenable for Gerakan to stay in BN anymore. Even 60% of your members can clearly stated that Gerakan should leave and yet KTK and its kaki don't think so. Majority in Gerakan has spoken and yet Gerakan senior committee members don't set and get it. What a big dumb lot they are!!! It is like no confidence in the Gerakan Central Committee at all!!!!

Leave BN now. What is Gerakan waiting for!!!!
written by miwaki, October 01, 2008 00:16:35
Hock Nam ah, we know that it is the prerogative of Gerakan whether to leave or to remain in BN,but we also know that Gerakan has no value anymore either in BN or leaving BN.You people have no dignity,just like a beggar begging for food and money.Beggars also have prerogative whether to beg or not to beg,it's all up to you-lah Nam Sok.
written by Sam W, October 01, 2008 00:17:23
It should be obvious to Gerakan that the honourable thing to do, and should have been done since march 8, was to leave bn. But then again politicians have neither honour nor shame.
written by SL Chan, October 01, 2008 00:44:58
After all, a fish rots from the head down," , This moronic idiot is mentioning his own bloody gang...same pile of SHIT!!!
written by Limang, October 01, 2008 01:10:44
That's the problem with all the BN parties. They are not only so weak, so brainwashed and so unbelievable dependent on UMNO that they can't see where they are heading or what's their roles anymore, but also so attached to the positions and wealth that UMNO spares for them, that hey only know that they must please the evil benefactor. They are like lapdogs - for no matter how much kicks and lashes the brainless party leaders received from UMNO, they would only whim and remain and eagerly lap up whatever crumbs given to them.

What a shame! They have forgotten what their parents have taught them about honour, conscience, ethics and integrity. I guess they are so UMNO-ized and so attached to the unwanted government posts and little leftover wealth given that they become blind to the truth and reality.

Well, let them have their day for a few more years. Next election, let's kick them out for good.
written by Fairminded, October 01, 2008 04:11:52
Please shut up you spineless pretender! If you and Gerakan had a guts and principles you and Gerakan should have left BN. UMNP had never treated you guys as equals but as running dogs. Geez, all the pretention of making a stand make us sick. I bet that at the back you will quickly apologize and claim that it is just a show to bs the general public and that you are still a very obedient dog.
written by KARMANNGHIA, October 01, 2008 10:48:14
Yummy............ DOG EAT DOG.