Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ‘Umno should talk to us before deciding’

‘Umno should talk to us before deciding’ PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 September 2008 14:14

By Lester Kong

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno should listen to the views of other Barisan Nasional component parties before deciding on issues that affect the entire nation, said national Gerakan Youth chief candidate Tan Keng Liang.

He said the change of the Prime Minister’s transition plan from June 2010 to 2009 should have been discussed in the Barisan supreme council meeting first.

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi now says he will hand over the reins to his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak next March.

“The appointment and change of the PM and DPM are not an Umno-only matter. The PM is the leader of all Malaysians and the chairman of Barisan,” Tan told reporters on Tuesday.

He said while Umno had played a strong leadership role in the coalition for many years, it was clear since the March 8 general election that many Barisan members are doubtful of the party’s commitment to equal relationships in the coalition.

He said if he became national Gerakan Youth chief, he would visit every state to speak on this issue and gain the views of the individual state Youth committees.

“In a year, we would call for a referendum to decide on the transition plan and whether Gerakan should remain in Barisan Nasional,” he said.

- The Star

written by jayenjr, September 30, 2008 14:18:43
" Umno should listen to the views of other Barisan Nasional component parties before deciding on issues that affect the entire nation, said national Gerakan Youth chief candidate Tan Keng Liang.'
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Save your breath, Tan. When it comes to saveguarding their ass, UMNO isn't interested to talk to anyone. Not even to God.

Just get out, since 60% of you guys want out.
written by Hello Keithy, September 30, 2008 14:25:10
Mr. Tan, you have pointed out a very important issue here. In the spirit of Barisan Nasional (so they preached), every component party should have a say in decision-making. So the change of PM is not only an UMNO affair but every Malaysian should have a say. This is what UMNO is all about. A one-party show. So I suggest all component parties to think hard before deciding to stay within BN. It's absolutely pointless. It's the best time to leave BN and start afresh to build up this country for the future. UMNO has been a stumbling block for 51 years. It's time to push the stumbling block over the hill and move on.
written by EYFF, September 30, 2008 14:30:45
For UMNO not to get the consent of the other BN parties before unilaterally decided to change the PM of Malaysia will be the last straw that will break the BN back!

See if UMNO can rule by themselves as they had always boasted! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

The exodus will start in March!
written by avj, September 30, 2008 15:00:43
Tan Keng Liang, either you are naieve,or trying apple polish UMNO.UMNO does not listen to any one.They only trap others into their web, the BN, and instruct them what do.And if don't know this after all this time go and jump into the nearest pond and drown.
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 30, 2008 15:01:12
UMNO is not interested. Don't waste you time. Leave BN now.
written by Limang, September 30, 2008 15:10:38
“The appointment and change of the PM and DPM are not an Umno-only matter. The PM is the leader of all Malaysians and the chairman of Barisan,” Tan told reporters on Tuesday.

_______________________________________________________ _______________________

Well, it becomes the UMNO affair only become you kowtow guys allow it. Any way, why should an all-powerful party that has no respect for anyone consult you, a nobody. Does any monopolisitc company consult anyone when it wants to raise the price? Don't your parents ever tell you that business competition is good, and in politics, oppostion is good and needed?

Ya, carry on, support an evil UMNO leader to be PM and UMNO to be a monopolistic power and see what happen to you at next election.

But you have a chance to save yourself, dignity and integrity - LEAVE BN AND JOIN PR NOW!!!!!!!!
written by wartank, September 30, 2008 15:11:12
Hey! I almost forgot that there are other component parties in BN.

So used to UMNO=BN, and whatever happens in UMNO reflects what happens to the Govt next.
Do they actually seek other components' views? I mean, REALLY??

A change must come .. and come fast before I become the mindless zombie that the current administration wishes of all the Rakyat to become!
written by rayfire, September 30, 2008 15:21:08
Youth Leader, please you STILL don't get the message don't you?
Please wake up! Your opinion does not matter!
They made it clear during PPP conference where Rustam openly declared they don't need you.
UMNO Penang called you Parti Perosak!
Still not clear????
Still think they want to CONSULT you?
Dream on.......
The only they will do in CON and INSULT you to fulfill their agenda!
Please , stop expecting EQUAL partnership!
You want to be equal, come out and prove youe mettle!!!
written by magen, September 30, 2008 15:27:14
Another barking fcking Dog,,hey are you forgetten youre are a lap dog man.
written by malaysian, September 30, 2008 15:39:53
You fool!

Since when have dictators indulge in 'discussions'?

Barisan Nasional is a slve ship ruled by UMNO.

Now do you understand what 'Ketuanan UMNO' means?!
written by Zapper, September 30, 2008 16:22:25
Which hole did Gerakan came out from???? UMNO is supreme and ketuanan melayu is the motto. Got it.
written by justme bc, September 30, 2008 16:40:12
What a stupid fool wait for one year, we don't even know hat may happen next week? Is this guy talking on his own behalf, 60% already want out from the NB clutches! This guy is trying his luck on the upcoming Gerakan election, believe me he will get his ass burnt.
written by fireduck, September 30, 2008 16:45:33
THAT's the problem. Everyone assumes that the handover of the UMNO Presidency automatically involves the handover of the PM-ship. Even this Gerakan Youth candidate states so. And he got the most important part all wrong! It should not only be the views of the BN component parties that are important. What about me? What about the rest of the rakyat? Let us have a say. Hold a referendum on that matter.

Let's decouple the PM-ship from the Presidency of UMNO. But of course, the point is moot if the Pakatan takes over. Anyway, look at the US' Republicans and Democrats. The leader of the party need not necessarily be the President of the United States. I know you will say that the Presidency of the US is an elected office. But why can't those BN (or ruling alliance) do the same within themselves. Let them elect the best candidate among themselves. Not necessarily the UMNO President. That way you take away some of the party politicking effects.
written by AuntyG, September 30, 2008 16:57:01
I asked KohTsuKoon if he were a man or dog?
I now ask Tan if you are a man or dog or zombie? Does your UmNO master have to talk to its running dog before deciding?? With leaders like Tan always in a state of denial, its no wonder Gerakan's gonna 'close shop' soon lah.
written by latihanQ, September 30, 2008 17:19:43
National Gerakan Youth chief candidate Tan Keng Liang is either a moron, an idiot or he must have been away on another planet lately. How did he miss the Ahmad Ismail/KTK sandiwara-comedy-circus show? UMNO talk to Gerakan before deciding? Tan must have shit for brains or had it for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
written by No nonsense, September 30, 2008 17:26:11
Why are so many people still asking Gerakan to change its mind in leaving BN? Let them stay and wait for an agonising death. Dont be bothered about them cause they are aready irrelevant. Dont have even 1% of sympathy for them. Let these dying dogs wait for their last moments.
written by Hakim Joe, September 30, 2008 18:23:08

Tan Keng Liang, do you seriously think that your overload masters will listen to his dogs?

They say "Jump!", you say "woof! woof!"
They say "Sit!", you say "woof! woof!"
They say "Play dumb!", you say "woof! woof!"
They say "Die!", you say "woof! woof!"

So...how are you guys (and animals) gonna communicate at all?

written by supplier, September 30, 2008 22:19:09
Not only in the federal level where UNMO are treating the component parties like dogs. Just look at the states and district level.Any wrong doings pointed out, all UNMO had to do is to ask the components dogs to ahut up and stop barking