Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Abdullah's silence raises loud speculations

Abdullah's silence raises loud speculations PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 September 2008 09:04

THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

He is not going to defend his party president’s position but Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s silence on the matter is spawning several theories and prompting some division chiefs to nudge him along by openly declaring support for Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak even before the divisional meetings.

At the emergency supreme council meeting last Friday, the Prime Minister announced that the party elections would be postponed from December to March and that he would state before Oct 9 whether he would accept nominations for the top position.

His decision to keep his options open has set off speculation that he is still harbouring a desire to contest the  party polls, a move which will see him face off with Najib.

Senior party officials and his supporters have met Abdullah since Friday and the indication they get is that he is not interested in defending his position, though he believes that the “groundswell’’ of anti-Abdullah sentiment among divisions was manufactured by his political enemies and several highly-placed individuals in the party whom he trusted.

A senior party official told the Malaysian Insider: “Pak Lah is very calm about the situation. He knows that he has been stitched up but he is not going to fling mud or contest the polls knowing that it will lead to a split and weakened Umno.’’

Abdullah has been under pressure to step down since March 8, when the Barisan Nasional lost its two-thirds majority in Parliament and control of Selangor, Perak, Kedah and Penang to Pakatan Rakyat, an alliance of PKR-DAP-PAS. He managed to head off the critics with the support of Najib, and cobbled together a transition plan in July where he would hand over power to the DPM in 2010.

But this plan came unstuck after Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s resounding victory in Permatang Pauh on Aug 26. Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, a persistent critic of Abdullah, urged him to truncate his transition plan. This led to other calls for a speedier handover of power to Najib, culminating in a supreme council meeting where Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, Datuk Shafie Apdal and Muhyiddin urged Abdullah to consider the ground sentiment and step down soon.

After consulting his supporters and party officials, including Umno secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, Abdullah decided that he was going to defend his party presidency, confident that he would easily obtain the 58 nominations needed to contest the party polls.

This position changed after a series of meetings last week with Najib. It is unclear what transpired, but Abdullah’s camp was stunned that he accepted the March transition plan on Friday.

Since then, there has been roiling speculation over his political future. Datuk Ruhanie Ahmad, posting on his blog yesterday, said he had received information that there was a move to push back the divisional meetings from October/November to February next year.

He also said that there was a plan by Abdullah to ask the supreme council to convene a special assembly to remove the quota system. Under the system, candidates who offer themselves for senior positions in the party must obtain a minimum number of nominations from the divisions.

Ruhanie said the move to postpone divisional meetings and remove the quota system was an indication that Abdullah was prepared to defend his position as party president.

Checks by the Malaysian Insider with several supreme council members show that no such moves for postponing divisional meetings or removing the quota were in motion. Abdullah’s camp also scoffed at this posting, saying that it was based on a false assumption – that the PM was interested in contesting the party elections.

Still, the theories will sprout like mushrooms after rain until Abdullah makes clear his position. Till then, supporters of Najib and Muhyiddin in the party will attempt to apply pressure on him to announce that he is not contesting the party elections.

The decision by Cheras and Titiwangsa divisions to declare publicly that they would nominate Najib and Muhyiddin as number one and number two at their divisional elections should be seen from this perspective.

written by PAKRAK, September 30, 2008 09:21:45
Deep down in his heart, Pak Lah must be thinking "No way do I want to get involved with the Altantuya murder and the two Russian submarines commission. Najis C4 is just as dirty as me".
written by SCM, September 30, 2008 09:30:10
Abdullah's silence is because he is still fast asleep. What do you expect him to do? It's very hard to put on that fake smile in public after being the first PM of Malaysia to be SACKED by UMNO members. He got the boot by his very own group of bandits. What a disgrace he is. So what does he do? He indulges in his favourite past-time, i.e. he sleeps.
written by ahmadneil, September 30, 2008 09:36:16
He is plotting Najis downfall.Now he's consulting with his mastermind, Khairy to see when is the most appropriate time and when to release some blockbusters.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, September 30, 2008 10:33:40
Hi ahmadneil,

You're rite..!!
Abdullah and Khairy will C4 Najis anytime before Dec 08.

Confirm you here
http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=1403
written by asguard, September 30, 2008 10:36:28
No UMNO ministers is fit to run the country if... this country is run like Singapore... they won't have even a post... because of their tainted image... far more worse....
written by Engineer, September 30, 2008 12:26:37
This Lah is having mental constipation due to lack of sleep; that's why not much reaction from him lah.
written by EYFF, September 30, 2008 14:18:07
If UMNO Ultras and members think that Najib and Muhyiddin as number one and number two are acceptable to the rest of us Malaysian then they will be in for a big surprise in the next general election!

It started with "R" and will end with "N"!!! It was predicted so shall it come to past.

TDM shall pay for his sins against the Malay Race at the next general election also!
written by Tom n Jerry, October 01, 2008 09:44:25
As the saying goes*Survival of the Fittest*aptly applies in this present political scenario;its how *FIT* you are that determine your life in politics;certainly badawi has got a lot to learn to keep fit! smilies/grin.gif
written by gx27, October 01, 2008 21:47:18
pak lah, when do you want to use your best weapon, the c4 evidence? smilies/grin.gif
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 02, 2008 12:48:03
Badawi NEVER said he will not stand for election of the Umno President post. He said "go on guessing".

For now, it's everybody's guess if he's in or out. He may just spring a surprise for Najib soon. October is the month of surprises.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...hot-month/
written by Taiping60, October 02, 2008 17:31:23
Dear Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi,

When you first taken over from Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, you have created so much hopes for Malaysians. Your Mr Clean image and moderate outlook certainly goes well with the public. This explained your popularity rise in the previous election which BN achieved a landslide victory. At that time there were hope in you. You call for fight against corruption and reform of judiciary were widely welcome by Malaysian at large.

Somehow things when wrong as if satan got into you. What you promised Malaysias in the elections, you either do nothing or just the opposite. Instead of fighting corruption, you appointed some of those "tainted" politicians with credibility issues to top positions both in government and party. Instead of Judiciary reform, you allow your government to seat on it so much so your Law Minister has to resigned in protest. Instead of doing away with the ISA, you further use ISA without any acceptable justification.

As citizen I have to remind you that you are there to serve Malaysians and Malaysia. You guiding principles have to be good for Mlaaysians at large and Malaysia in particular. So far, I do not see you are any where close to that. I understand following the latest general election, your popularity within your own party has also drop significantly. Those who strongly supporting you were secretly plotting against you in the name of party loyalty.

I am sure you realise by now, there were too much politicking so much so it is almost impossible to do anything good for the country. My advise for you in to change your approach. Afterall what is it for you to loose. You will certainly loose your job for not doing anything. What make matter worse is that your will be remembered for your failures. Therefore, in my opinion you have nothing to loose. It is better to be late than never. You are the elected President of your party and the Prime Minister. Malaysians want you to change things from bad to good. This is your opportunity to execute them. Like what the current Chief Justice has committed to do reform even he has a day in the office. Now you have more than a day. So please fight corruption, ban racism, free all those use ISA detention and do away with ISA for good, re-appoint Zaid Ibrahim and give him the free hand to reform the Judiciary, do away with minimum nominee requirement in your party so that demoncratic will come alive in your party and lastly make the police and all authorities focus on more important things in this country such as national security rather than women clothing or how couple bahave in the park. There are certainly many more things that need to be reformed but I believe the above mentioned can be done within the next few months when you are still the PM. I am sure it is not too much for you to get those done. If you have done that and still loose your president and PM job, at least you will be remember for the good things you have achieved. We pray that you will come to term with reality and do good for the country.
written by onnetline, October 02, 2008 20:18:18
EYFF

You said ...... It started with "R" and will end with "N"!!!

Can't you see that the name's( Rahman ) alphabet chain is still very much intact ???

From Abdullah Badawi to Anuar Ibrahim ........ still with the letter ' A ', right ?

As for that piece of " shit " from Barisan Najis, he will have to wait to be flushed down the shithole !
written by malgal, October 03, 2008 11:00:08
Dont waste any more energy on the useless.