Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor govt suspends Hamid

Selangor govt suspends Hamid PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 September 2008 08:53

By Christina Tan & Christina Low, The Star

SHAH ALAM: Ampang Jaya Muni­cipal Council (MPAJ) deputy president Hamid Hussain, who allegedly ordered that the Sri Maha­kaliaman temple be demolished, has been suspended for a week effective today.

State Local Government, Research and Study committee chairman Ronnie Liu said Hamid was being suspended pending investigations.

The decision to suspend him was made yesterday.

He said the state three-man committee on non-Muslim religious affairs comprising Teresa Kok, Dr Xavier Jayakumar and himself has begun their investigations into the temple demolition.

“We are expecting the investigation results by Monday and we will look into the next course of action after that,” he said when contacted yesterday.

The 19-year-old temple near Kampung Tasek Tambahan, which was built on forest reserve land, was ordered to be destroyed by the MPAJ about two weeks ago.

Liu said the council president was on leave when the temple was demolished and Hamid, as the deputy, had reportedly decided on the matter.

He said the state government was dealing with the demolition of places of worship very seriously and would find a solution to the problem of the Sri Mahakaliaman temple soon.

Liu said so far 27 permits for places of worship, including churches, Hindu temples and Chinese temples on government land, had been given since the Pakatan Rakyat took over the state government.

This showed that the state government was very concerned and sensitive to religious matters, he said.

However, Liu said, the state government hoped not to see any new places of worship coming up on land designated as forest and river reserves.

He said the people should understand that these reserves should not be occupied for other than the intended use.

When contacted, Hamid, who is on leave in Langkawi, said he did not know anything about the council’s decision to suspend him.

“I’m on Hari Raya leave now and I don’t know what is going on,” he said, adding that he had not received any notice from the state government or council.

When contacted, MPAJ president Datuk Mohammad Yacob said that he had been informed of Hamid’s suspension. “The suspension is the state exco’s decision,” he said.

“We will follow whatever decision the state exco makes as we are all here to serve the public.”

Mohammad declined further comment but said that he would wait for an interim report on the issue next week.

written by smeagrooo, September 30, 2008 09:01:25
u guys better remember that it is no longer umno u r serving n u no longer hv the umno sorta power n snobbishness. so buck up and wake up!
written by DreamLady, September 30, 2008 09:21:36
Hamid, are you now unable to cast off the spell by the hantu-Toyol? When you are suspended, it means you begin to smell like the HANTU TOYOL'SHIT. there is indeed something very fishy about the way you conduct yourself. You, by right should be very careful when dealing with places of worship, if you are not sure, an answer from someone above you is only a phone call away. why did'nt you do it? You are not scumbag or dumb?

I have this strong feeling that you dah makan rasuah Hantu Toyol, if my guess is correct, Hamid, I personally condemn you as, 'harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi'
written by periasa, September 30, 2008 09:21:40
As the saying goes...BETTER LATE THAN NEVER...now prove your worth PR Government. Though the suspension is only for a week...I guess it does not make a difference since everyone is on Hari Raya mood...but PR should should show it means business.No divergence or indifferent behaviour to its policies by Government servants should be condoned or tolerated at all. I think statements like 'unregistered, etc' should be stopped and solutions be found to all these issues, which had been carried on by the BN Govt for the last 50 years. Whether it is a shrine or temple or any place of workship does not make a difference. Probably, the State should enact laws to make it punishable for anyone guilty of destroying places of workship regardless of race, religion or creed. It might be harsh but this is the only way to stop all these nonsense carried out by 'little Napoleans'.
written by PAKRAK, September 30, 2008 09:39:04
Suspension without pay and with a view to dismissal.
written by smeagrooo, September 30, 2008 10:01:43
wow! What a gift to Hermit for raya!
written by harryo, September 30, 2008 10:21:05
Selangor, show the world that you are transparent and accountable. The previous govt did not.
written by binarytan, September 30, 2008 10:47:18
PR state, a week may be too linient, better demote him or cold fridged him.

It will then seen as your deserved votes from Indian community are meant for good and not evil side.

Just wonder will the umno do anything if temples are torn down and not mosque? Perhaps they will pass the gang more cangkul.

written by Wisdom above, September 30, 2008 11:05:35
Can we just retire off the MPAJ deputy president Hamid Hussain and other officers that displayed 'clear defiance which reeks of sabotage' ?

Let the old BeEnd's MOLES fade away for their own's sake.

They are like cancerous cells !

It is legally permissible to retire off unproductive staffs for the sake of the Rakyat jelata. Check out past precedences and cited cases.

My salute to all Peacemakers.

Selamat Hari Raya Adilfitri kepada seluruh Umat Islam dan Rakyat Malaysia , Maaf Zahir dan Batin.
written by rayfire, September 30, 2008 11:37:18
Don't just stop there, make sure all those who has the intention or have issued a demolition order on any place of worship be reprimanded and brought to book.
Including those who carried out the orders despite knowing that it is against the policy of the state!
The people too should not take for granted, have proper reason to build temples in designated locations only.
Don't just build as you like at expect pity from the government.
Both parties should be held responsible to ensure long term solution is deviced for this ongoing problem.
Most smaller temples may perhaps be combined and allocated a proper location accessible by the community for legal structure to be build.
I do hope Ronnie and his team are looking at this possibility.Don't just stop there, make sure all those who has the intention or have issued a demolition order on any place of worship be reprimanded and brought to book.
Including those who carried out the orders despite knowing that it is against the policy of the state!
The people too should not take for granted, have proper reason to build temples in designated locations only.
Don't just build as you like at expect pity from the government.
Both parties should be held responsible to ensure long term solution is deviced for this ongoing problem.
Most smaller temples may perhaps be combined and allocated a proper location accessible by the community for legal structure to be build.
I do hope Ronnie and his team are looking at this possibility.
written by apa jadi, September 30, 2008 11:47:36
So, the picture becomes clearer now. It is MPAJ who demolished the temple. What Pn Zuraidah said of demolition for facelift is just a cover-up for some of these idiots' misdeed.

But come to think of it again. So what, Hamid is suspended while he is on leave. Was he asked to go on leave before the whole issue flared up? Suspension without pay or just on leave?

Never worry about this idiot getting sacked too. He can get sanctuary in another UMNO control area and continue his periuk nasi. That's irony.
written by temenggong, September 30, 2008 12:11:31
The problem was that the BN govts did not allocate land for temples and churches. This was to establish the primacy of islam and make sure other religions are capped and dwindled down. However the gods had other plans, something BN did not 'forsee'.

The christians just whine about it, then rent a shoplot for chapel services. The taoist chinese contractors just built a shrine at all building sites which then becomes a 4-digit tokong.

The hindus got fedup and stopped asking for land 40 years ago and just built a shrine anywhere they like. They cannot wait for some ex-co committee. Water will flow the course of least resistance. Just like the taoists, the temple must come up first BEFORE the housing estate is built. Be happy if its not on your lawn.

By default the people have allocated lands to themselves for religious purposes. The state govts have to simply recognise that and relocate them if necessary!

The constitution provides that the state govts shall allocate lands for religious and cultural purposes. 'Shall' means 'must'!
written by johntyc, September 30, 2008 13:04:31
You gives chances to someone with hopes that he will change. But sometimes some people just wont change, like Umno's moles. smilies/angry.gif
written by thinker50s, September 30, 2008 14:55:35
That's the way to go. Show the BN that PKR practised CAT (Competency, Accountability & Transparency). You have to face the music when you do wrong regardless of who are.

Unlike the BN gomen still dreaming about changing but still clinging to "ketuanan Melayu" syndrome.

Stand up and be counted, we the people are taking back the land from these bigots where everybody will be free.

Selamat Hari Raya Adilfitri kepada seluruh Umat Islam dan Rakyat Malaysia , Maaf Zahir dan Batin. javascript:void(0);
written by Lim Lim, September 30, 2008 20:08:01
this is the right way in the right direction for the selangor PR gorvernment!keep it up n u would hav the rakyat support always!!
written by opisboi, October 01, 2008 00:07:56
no more botok's money for hamid from toyol