Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Penny Wise Ringgit Foolish

Penny Wise Ringgit Foolish PDF Print
Monday, 29 September 2008 23:33

By LIM SUE GOAN, Sin Chew Daily

We have to be a little smarter during the financial market turmoil as we may suffer great losses in such a fast changing market condition.

A few stories tell us that we must treasure precious capital and it is not funny at all to become an upstart.

Story 1: F1 Grand Pix can be held without spending much

Singapore is currently holding the world's first F1 night race. The cost-effective race brings more than S$100 million tourism revenue, as well as winning the country a very good public praise.

The race is held on street circuit and Singapore spent only S$40 million for maintenance stations. But 10 years ago, Malaysia had spent RM286 million to build a circuit and we must spend money monthly for maintenance and from time to time, money have to be spent on renovations.

"You sold it with a cheap price but others bought it at a high price?"

If we had thought of organising the race on street circuit, Putrajaya would be as good as Singapore since it has beautiful artificial lakes, huge bridges and broad roads. Sometimes, if we can consider deeper, we can gain great return with small investment.

Story 2: To act only on the right time

After the U.S. sub-prime mortgage crisis, Maybank in March made an announcement to buy a 55.5% stake in Bank International Indonesia (BII) from Temasek and South Korea's Kookmin Bank for RM4.8 billion. It then offered a comprehensive purchase with the estimated total transaction price of RM8.7 billion, which was almost twice higher than the market price.

The Central Bank of Malaysia has rejected the acquisition to protect Maybank, causing Maybank to lose RM570 million deposit. And if the acquisition is approved, Maybank would have to suffer the total loss amounted to RM4.3 billion.

Temasek is smart in doing business as it has long been investing globally. Meanwhile, the Maybank's failure of its first foreign investment shows the wrong timing and judgement.

Story 3: Think carefully before selling

Proton spent 70 million Euro to buy heavily indebted Italian motorcycle company Mv Agusta but it was sold at 1 Euro later, causing Proton to lose RM800 million.

Then, Harley-Davidson of the United States has comprehensively purchased Mv Agusta in July this year with US$109 million (RM350 million). What was going on actually? You sold it with a cheap price but others bought it at a high price?

Malaysia has money but it always suffers losses in investments. I think the government should set up a think-tank to research on every investment. (Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE)

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Hakim Joe, September 29, 2008 23:49:50

No think-tank committes, please! I tak boleh tahan lagi lol.

Why? Becos it will take RM100 million to staff this think-tank and another RM500 million to maintain it every year. Then there are the additional expenses (another RM200 million) plus auxiliary research teams (RM100 million), breakfast (RM10 million), lunch (RM25 million), dinner (RM50 million), supper (RM75 million), utensils (RM25 million), etc etc etc

Then they will probably go out and lose all our money anyway.....

agree 170
written by merchant222, September 29, 2008 23:50:50
Perception or TRUTH, the practice and culture of siphoning funds has been entrenched and the 'legal' means used to enrich pockets of celebrities in BN.

Need we ask any further WHY?
written by Forex, September 29, 2008 23:53:11
All the head department were UMNO people, what they really care is Commision RM $$, that why we keep losing money!

Another reason why we should change the Government!
written by hckit, September 29, 2008 23:58:40
Reporter : why don't you guys go interview these people who made the wrong decisions?
written by Sam W, September 30, 2008 00:07:09
Actually you may think our people are not smart because they lose big money all the time. The truth is, they find very creative and intelligent ways to make money for themselves. Singaporeans are not so bright, they can only make money for their country.
written by tuankujuki, September 30, 2008 00:18:55
Malaysian like to do their work based on perceptions. It is said that perceptions are always wrong 99 out of 100 times.
written by Badaksumbu, September 30, 2008 00:49:14
Ya, I would like to add one more, Petronas dealing- Im still awaiting something, until I could put the facts and figures together, i shall post it here.

written by truegrid, September 30, 2008 01:43:25
a think tank is not the solution. the losses don't arise from stupidity alone. most of them arise from cleverness: at stealing public money.
written by johntyc, September 30, 2008 01:53:45
Story 1 is about too much pride!

Story 2 also about pride. Thought they finally outclass Singapore but in the end get cheated, again!

Story 3 about multi million dollars corruption. Technically sold MV for 1€ but 'makan kenyang-kenyang' under the table!

These are all AI's fault! smilies/angry.gif
http://ongohing.*********.com/...nemy-no-1/
written by cheekhiaw, September 30, 2008 02:13:04
Malaysia where got think tank?

We only have smart stealing tank, lying tank and murdering tank.

All with special rights to thievery, lies and murders, of course.

written by alberttan, September 30, 2008 05:29:09
It is not that Lee Kuan Yew is smart or lucky, it is because Malaysia have corrupt morons ruining our country and lining their pockets through mega projects and extravagant overseas purchases. All Lee had to do was wait while the corrupt sell their souls and their country to Singapore for a quick buck.

BTW, the author missed out our free gift of PULAU Batu Putih which an idiotic moron of a Foreign Minister decide to drop the name PULAU afer loosing it. Leave it to our moron leaders to double the shame, sigh.
written by KARMANNGHIA, September 30, 2008 07:46:55
"Malaysia where got think tank? " - cheekhiaw

you're right, we don't have a think tank......

BUT

WE've a tank full of IDIOTS

written by oct, September 30, 2008 08:08:39
No need think tank. It is accountability. None of UMNO members are prosecuted for making wrong decisions like the forex exchange, tin, PKFZ, etc. Whoever caused the country to lose money goes free as if nothing happens!!! With these mentality and precedents set, everyone can make stupid decision. If you do this in a MNC you won't last a day. In Bolehland, all UMNO members boleh and don't bother as long as they are UMNO member, they know they can do anything with impunity. Soon, Bolehland will be wasted land
written by smalluncle, September 30, 2008 08:21:14
"Someone" will announce :

< I will set up a working COMMITTEE to look at these issue that greatly affect our country's finance as well as our reputation.

Wait, wait, I know you are going to say [ Oh NO, NOT another COMMITTEE?] We have IDENTIFIED why the past committee set up was not as effective as we expect. The key reason is those committee members was paid a MEDIOCRE sum hence the result.

Since the currecnt accussation is SERIOUS, we decided to pay each member of the new committee RM250,000 per MONTH. I am CONFIDENCE it will be effective as SINGAPORE has proven it will high salary for their minister. >
written by miwaki, September 30, 2008 08:31:31
Please don't disclose our scandals to the world,very shy you know.Malaysia is rich so we can afford to throw away our money,the more we throw,the more we will gain respect from our neighbors.People prefer to have morons live beside them as they stand to gain from our stupidity.

The wise said,"it is better to give than to receive",Malaysia under BN has accomplished it without sweat !
written by krising1, September 30, 2008 09:09:17
Please do not compare anything here with Singapore. They are world class in all respects. After the first run of the F1, it has become the crown jewel of the F1s. Do not be surprised if ours goes into oblivion soon.
written by cheemengwong, September 30, 2008 10:03:22
How Cronyism costs us money!

Hire own people with no brains!
Do business with own people!
Talk Race, race, race.

How to improve like that!

Sell Euro 1, buy Euro 70million. Who pocket the difference?
written by asguard, September 30, 2008 10:30:25
Don't they never use their brains...just like the donkey...
written by qwerty, September 30, 2008 10:44:19
As long as Malaysia staff their think tank based on the color of their skin, rather than what's underneath the skin, our think tank is as good as my FISH TANK... nice to look at, but must continously feed & maintain!!!
written by DontPlayGod, September 30, 2008 11:12:51
Although I am a PR supporter, I disagree with Karpal of DAP that it is unethical for MP's to change parties after elections. In normal circumstances what he said may be correct, but these are desperate times, and desperate times call for desperate moves and thinking. Hence I support any means, as long as it is legal, to have a change of Government. The situation in our country has gone out of hand and we are in desperate and dire straits. Change the government by whatever means open to us. We can't wait any longer.
written by DontPlayGod, September 30, 2008 11:14:55
On the other hand the cronies may be smarter than we think, as someone wrote above. Officially its 1 euro, but the other unofficial euros goes into someone's bank account.
written by Midvalley, September 30, 2008 11:40:33
Bolehland 99% civil servant, 95% banking, 97% GLC, 99.99% petrolum, 80% automobiles' opportunity are only given to one race soon this bolehland will become zeroland and the "fun" begin, the cake getting smaller.
written by tcng, September 30, 2008 11:44:23
I agree with Sam W....

The decision makers are NOT people with no brain. They are smarter than the technocrates in Singapore. These people have many creative ways of enriching themselves....
written by tcng, September 30, 2008 13:22:48
qwerty,
Color of the skin is NOT the issue. There are probably as many leech in MCA/MIC as in UMNO. Many MCA leaders are leeches.. they would stoop low as long as it enrich themselves and their family. Semivalue - ha ha.. does he have shame?

It does not bother me one bit even if all Ministers and GICs heads are Malay, as long as they are capable and with integrity. People like RPK (Half Angmoh), formal T.I. President who is now in DAP, Malik Imitiaz etc etc can better protect right and interest of the masses (of all colors) than the Ongs, the Chuas, the semi-value
written by cruzeiro, September 30, 2008 13:56:09
When you live on favours and pull,
When you have ill gotten gains/ easy money as a result of robbery,
there will always be greater pirates
who will hasten to relieve you of your money.

That is why, our brainiacs tend to lose out all the time on paper.
However, what we don't know is how much individuals have made from these losses.
National losses, somehow translate into personal gains .....

This is what happens when the economy is controlled by pirates & politicians.