Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MIC sends protest memo to Selangor over temple demolition

MIC sends protest memo to Selangor over temple demolition PDF Print
Monday, 29 September 2008 22:04

SHAH ALAM, Sept 29 — About 300 members of the MIC and non-governmental organisations today gathered peacefully outside the Selangor state government secretariat building to protest against the demolition the Sri Maha Kaliaman temple in Ampang on Sept 19.

The group, headed by MIC Youth chief T. Mohan, gathered about 11.30am and displayed banners outside the building that houses the office of Selangor menteri besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim.

The gathering dispersed around noon when Mohan handed over a memorandum to Abdul Khalid's political secretary Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad.

Met by reporters, Mohan said the memorandum asked the state government to rebuild the temple at a different site and provide it legal status.

He said the memorandum also called on the state government to honour the Pakatan Rakyat promise that when they took over from the Barisan Nasional (BN)government no temples would be demolished.

"We are aware many temples in Malaysia do not have permits and land has to be applied for to build temples but that does not mean you can demolish temples as you like without following procedures," Mohan said.

He said although in 2002 and 2007 the Sri Maha Kaliaman temple was demolished under the BN state government, the MIC had protested and the temple was rebuilt on the same site.

- Bernama

written by binarytan, September 29, 2008 22:17:57
aiya MIC, why so keh-poh?

i thought you are always ball-less in making any noise, now only shouting to PR gomen?

may be you are directed by umno to say so, we expected fully.

written by chrislow, September 29, 2008 22:31:19
Who is actually demolishing the temple other than those BN trained dumb2 IDIOTS!!! They still do not know how to appreciate the hand that feeds them!!! SHIT, REAL SHIT Buggers. Consequence - PR govt got the blame. Part of the bigger conspiracy by the MSM playing up anti PR and then the do gooders become their hero>>>. smilies/sad.gif
written by ThugMentality, September 29, 2008 22:32:38
Samy Vellu dogs are barking middle of the road today but when samy dog bark when MBSA demolished temple in Padang Jawa..no MIC dogs tried to stop the demolishing by MBSA..
written by ThugMentality, September 29, 2008 22:35:57
Aiyah...this stupid naatamai fellow dogs...dont know waht are they thinking...when Toyol order the demolishing of Padang Jawa temple,none of the dogs handed over a memorandum to Toyol...SAME SHIT LAHH
written by johntyc, September 29, 2008 22:38:38
Everytime MIC's popularity lowered, temple get demolished, then MIC protest and their popularity gain.

But I dont think nowadays this 'trick' work anymore. This MIC just as bad as Umno and MCA! smilies/tongue.gif
written by Sudahlah tu, September 29, 2008 22:49:58
ambil kesempatan untuk berlawak ...
Pergi berkumpul untuk membebaskan tahanan HINDRAF - ISA ... barulah buat kerja untuk komuniti sendiri ...
written by fireduck, September 29, 2008 23:04:18
“I can tell you 50% to 60% of temples in the country don’t have proper permits and the (temple) committees may have not have been registered too, but that doesn’t mean you can tear down their temples,” he said.

Aiyoyo, this MIC Youth, in the same breath, exposes himself for whacking while ridiculing his own party by highlighting its impotence at solving such issues with the taiko, UMNO. Seven or eight temples demolished .... that's like 6 or 7 more demoilished after they protested the first one. I take it that they did protest right after the 1st one lah. Of course we didn't see them march to Toyo's office then, because 'we discussed everything behind closed doors'. But the reality was that Toyo said to them, "go fly kites, Sam!".
written by Wakeupmsia, September 30, 2008 00:48:16
Hello MIC, when did you find your B@#%*? Guess you must have left it in Semi-value's fridge all those years? Hello,MIC, ironically, you were so DEAD silent when BN was the gomen where hundreds of temples were destroyed. Remember the Kg Jawa's temple? Hello MIC, Is that all you can do? 300 only?????. Hindraf is better - 3,000 for candle vigil. Hello MIC, you have become a midget now. Oh yes, IRRELEVANT!!!!!!!! MIC - Gone with the wind.
written by No nonsense, September 30, 2008 00:49:01
If everyone will to build a place of worship wherever he likes what will happen to the country? If it is illegal, one has to be ready for any demolition done. Why is MIC making so much noise now and so quiet during the time when Sami was in the cabinet? Please send a protest note to your Boss and maybe he can help instead of making noise. I am sure more temples were demolished during his time. Everybody will get angry but why now and not then? Ask your boss and he might tell you why.
written by cheekhiaw, September 30, 2008 02:30:46
Hah, now the out of job thieves, liars and murderers are public servants...

written by Ordinary Rakyat, September 30, 2008 04:25:03
MIC, Where were you when BN was the state givt and tearing down the temples? Why was MIC allowed to have 300 people gathering outside the State Govt of Selangor office, when even 4 people cannot gather without a permit when the issue is against BN? Bloody blatant double standard!!!!
written by The Hammer, September 30, 2008 08:11:41
As a law abiding citizen i say: Go ahead and demolished every illegal street altars, illegal altar under trees, illegal Hindu/Chinese temples, illegal mosques, illegal churches etc if they are build on state property. No Ahmad, Ah Long, Aiyo Semi or Dick can do what he like. If not the day will come when everyone want to become GODMAN and make altars whereever he/they like! These MICe buggers want to be instant Heros in their community, but they are all ZEROs! And just like a hot instant mee turned cold it will be thrown in the garbage bin or to the gutters!MICe go to HELL!
written by Concerned Malaysian, September 30, 2008 09:32:25
Hi Mohan,

Where were you guys including Semi Value, when the temples more than 100 years were torn down and it was highlighted by Mohd Faris a Malay Muslim in "The Other Malaysian" . He said they are not demolishing Indian Temple but Malaysian Temple! Where were you goons then? On the eve of deepavali one temple was demolished and were you Mohan. Don't be the Indian champion now when you were hiding behind semi values "lunggi".

I agree with hammer as I wrote yesterday that all temples and places of worship need to be gazetted especially Hindu temples. There is a diffrence between temple and shrine. The indians in Malaysia will built shrines illegally anywhere and everywhere and tell others that it is temple. What are we hindus telling the non-hindus about our religion? A temple should be build by agamic precedures not just a structure with some icons. MIC certainly does not know shit what they are talking about! Hindus must restain from building structures everyway and claim that they have a right to practice the religion! Know your religin and do not practice rituals that will shame the religion in the eyes of non-hindus. Wonder what is Hindu Sangam & other hindu organsization are doing, you all should be setting guidelines on how a temple should be build, and standard procedures on the religious activity. I can write volumes on this! What role are you guys playing? Do what is right for hinduism don't let let the hindus astray in the practices. Do not let the MIC goon to politicise the temple issue! Hindus must stand united to chart our own path in religious practices in Malaysian.
written by Remo, September 30, 2008 10:01:28
You MIC ****ers during the BN ruling there are so many temples brought down.
That time got no balls to make noise.
Now making so much noise.

Are you really fighting for Indians or just trying to put up show to the BN governmnet.

Chau chee bai, just shut up ok?
written by Remo, September 30, 2008 10:08:09
Mohan, where the **** you were all these while?
You think you want to be a hero.

JUST **** OFF.

You are another ball carrier. you are still new, there are many more ball carriers in MIC. you bastard are not shame ha ?
written by asguard, September 30, 2008 10:28:41
Aiyoh the MIC..has nothing better to do.... when it was doing fine... it didn't help much of the indians...but now only started to make noise what kind of pariah party is this?
written by temenggong, September 30, 2008 11:18:34
Concerned malaysian,

..setting guidelines on how a temple should be build, and standard procedures on the religious activity. I can write volumes on this!

Please do write something on this, no matter how brief, so we all get to know.
written by Engineer, September 30, 2008 12:37:14
MIC should spent all their energy to lobby for the freedom of HINDRAF 5 and do nothing else, because they do nothing else is better than doing anything else.

written by opisboi, October 01, 2008 00:05:32
mohan & mani just one target MONEY to drink toddy.