How to be Happy PDF Print
Monday, 29 September 2008 18:01

The idea of enacting a law that deals specifically with race relations in this country is a good one. It is evident that politics, tunnel vision and a lack of imagination have resulted in our society being a great deal more fractured than it should have been, all things considered.

Who would have thought in 1957 that fifty plus years down the line, there would still be a demand for supremacist rhetoric and the fruits of discrimination. But here we are; confused and frustrated, trapped in a labyrinth of our own making. So much so that we have lost sight of plain and obvious truths that could lead us into an age of miracles if rediscovered.

A long while ago, I was rummaging amongst a friend’s book collection and came across a little book by the current Dalai Lama entitled, I think, “How To Be Happy”. Wanting to be happy, I turned to the first line on the first page. If I remember correctly, it said something to this effect: in order to be happy, one had to be happy.

You can imagine how I was somewhat put out by this. If it were that simple, I mused somewhat cynically, we would all be a lot happier. There was surely more to it than that for how else was one to deal with the mysterious complexities of life, I grumbled. I put the book back where I had found it and moved on to a glossy magazine with great photographs.

READ MORE HERE: http://malikimtiaz.blogspot.com/2008/09/how-to-be-happy.html

written by dkkl, September 29, 2008 18:32:06
I will only be happy when UMNO is dissolved for good.
written by SamYap, September 29, 2008 18:33:51
If the RRA is drafted to protect the rights of the minority races - Indians, Chinese and Mixed races such as it is in other democratic nations, then I would be in favour of it. As things are at the moment, its the majority - the Malays who are demanding that their rights be protected; isn't that an irony?
written by ahmadneil, September 29, 2008 18:38:23
Read 'Dear Pete'will sure make us all happy.
written by Hello Keithy, September 29, 2008 19:01:19
I am a simple man. A new Govt. will definitely make me happy. To be on the greedy side, I would love to see UMNO toppling over and down the hill .... er, with the members together.
written by lynn, September 29, 2008 19:14:53
SamYap, you hit the nail squarely on the head.
If they are the majority & superiority (ketuanan) why must they demand for protection?
Guess this is another sensitive topic.
written by lynn, September 29, 2008 19:16:08
Three steps to happiness: published in Reader's Digest a few decades ago:

(a) Be yourself
(b) Be decisive
(c) Be independent
written by ibabonma, September 29, 2008 19:43:48
How to be a happy Malaysian? Just be one .... just like a Malayan of the early 60s.
written by Hakim Joe, September 29, 2008 23:06:46
You wonder to yourself...why would the Malays want to protect their rights when they are just about getting everything served to them on a platter? I am sure that not all Malays like it but doesn't this says that the Gomen thinks you Malay ppl are just not good enuf to compete, and henceforth the Malay Rights?
written by Tom n Jerry, September 30, 2008 09:19:24
I f only all Malaysians irrespective of race,religion or political affiliation has food on the table everyday,three times a day;thenthat would make me very happy;insyah Allah this will happen soon;Alhamdulilah & selamat hari raya aidil fitri to all my muslim friends especially to Professor Moktar form Layangan ,LabuanFT!