Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow BN leaders want Gerakan to make stand

BN leaders want Gerakan to make stand PDF Print
Monday, 29 September 2008 16:58
(The Malaysian Insider) Barisan Nasional leaders today asked Gerakan to stop dithering and decide whether it wants to stay or leave the ruling coalition, a day after the multiracial party said it was mulling its options.

Penang leaders in BN did not mince words after Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon said the party was considering to continue staying on, joining the Pakatan Rakyat or becoming independent although 60 percent of its members want to quit the coalition.

"As a leader, he must be responsible to the coalition. He needs to set the course for Gerakan and make his position clear. After all, a fish rots from the head down," said Penang Umno liaison committee deputy chairman Datuk Abdul Rashid Abdullah.

"I regret that we have parti perosak (party spoilers) within Barisan. These factions can leave if they want to," The Star online quoted him as saying.

State MCA deputy chief Datuk Lau Chiek Tuan said Dr Koh should disclose his personal stand.

"Don't hide behind members' opinions. Tell us what you want - you are the party's acting president," he said.

Penang Gerakan Youth chief Oh Tong Keong thinks the party should give Barisan "one or two years" before deciding.

Oh, who is running for the national youth number two post, said important decisions cannot be made in a "hot political" climate.

"All Barisan component parties are going through trying times. Let's wait for the Umno leadership transition to see if the relationship between coalition parties can improve.

"The next general election would probably be in 2012. We can always call for an emergency general meeting in one or two years time if we want to pull out of Barisan - it's not too late," he said, adding that party members should not be hasty.

Koh, who has seen some Gerakan leaders and members join Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) after its massive losses in the March 8 polls, said the decision to leave BN is difficult.

"It's a very trying time and there is need for a lot of rational, objective analysis. It cannot be a straightforward, simplistic decision," he said.

written by binarytan, September 29, 2008 17:01:14
UMNO member, just show KTK Gerakan the Keris, it will speed up their departure.
written by AuntyG, September 29, 2008 17:14:26
Aiyo, KohTsuKoon aah - are you a man or loyal doggie?? Your master dont want you anymore and have even torn your photo! You dont have any dignity, you mean you also got no 'face' aah? You dont get Gerakan to LEAVE, I would think Gerakan will leave you behind ....
written by toyonz, September 29, 2008 17:19:55
KTK, sudah LAH sokong Pak LAH, baik cepat ko beLAH, kalau tak jadi bodo sampai ke suDAH! smilies/grin.gif
written by Engineer, September 29, 2008 17:27:44
Gerakna should decide now and stop letting ur balls being squeeze.
written by AuntyG, September 29, 2008 17:41:37
KohTsuKoon - I have to scold you again.
When they tore your photo, our MrFlipFlop said nothing (meaning he condones it?) and you did nothing to save your own face. The BeEnders really "tong lei moh toh" - and you are still mulling, to leave or not to leave ?? Really DrKoh, and you are supposed to be so well educated .. did you leave behind your otak in school??
written by michaelT, September 29, 2008 17:48:58
There it goes. Now one party is indispensible. Gerakan leaders have to make a quicker decision otherwise staying back with BN is going to be doubtful for especially UMNO. It is not going to be easy to negotiate future issue with UMNO. KSK your MIND must not be deluded and be clear instead. Grassroot wants to withdraw so go full speed ahead to face embaressment. Enblock join PR. Be the pioneer before PR take over Federal. remember the Glory is not in the falling but the ability to Rise. I hope good news comes in soon.
written by mucking fuddled, September 29, 2008 18:15:48
baby face,
it pains and embarrass all of us to see you groveling all the time...
do you not possess any dignity?
written by SocratesI, September 29, 2008 18:36:02

First SAPP, then now Gerakan, and soon UPKO and PBB Sarawak and so on and so forth ... Barisan NAJIS is in its Death Throes ... but taking so long and so much pain to linger and die !

written by latihanQ, September 29, 2008 19:00:05
GET RID OF KTK

When Gerakan members can be so easily mollified by a few words from weak leaders in the mold of KTK, while all the issues are still outstanding and unresolved, it goes to show how little they respect they have for the people who had supported them in the past. It is dumbfounding how they can make a statement like this. What do they mean calm down? Does it mean all the band standing between Ahmad Ismail and KTK were all a hoax? They were quarrelling all for some fun and attention? Or maybe even a mock sandiwara? These buggers simply have no principles. One moment they are quarreling at our expense, the next they kiss and make up! They are cheating the rakyat! Either Gerakan get rid of that moron nincompoop KTK or we get rid of Gerakan! What stand can this bunch of self serving morons make? They are not there to work for the betterment of the people but in it for themselves. YM RPK can teach these monkeys a thing or two about self sacrifice and principles.
written by inoi, September 29, 2008 19:14:08
it's now or never,decide fast or just empty vessel......
written by smeagrooo, September 29, 2008 19:49:22
just flip a coin la KaTaK!

afaterall, our PM also flip-flop.

but either way Gerakan will still play 2nd fiddle if they join PR.
written by ganbing, September 29, 2008 20:25:10
Koh Tsu Koon is contented to be a whore for Umno. He will never leave BN even if the Gerakan members drag him out of the party kicking and screaming.
written by ricky, September 29, 2008 20:35:10
97% of NTV7's SMS poll thinks Gerakan should leave BN.
written by asiana888, September 29, 2008 21:31:44
Aiyoh! Don;t expect Koh to make any decision. He is the champion in-decision CM. Even if 90% of Gerakan members want to leave BN, he will still need to set up a committe to review and find out the reasons. Koh is the weakest Gerakan leaders ever!

I suggest all Gerakan members to quit the party and be on the side of justice. Leave the sinking boat now!
written by Remo, September 29, 2008 21:59:00
Koh Tsu Koon just leave BN. You are not shame at all.
Please my friend, Show BN that Gerakan got balls.
written by Semut Jantan, September 29, 2008 22:11:10
Ah Koon,

The Gerakan Pendatang is asked to make a stand by your Master's driver (amat); I can see that your position in BN is even lower than your Master's driver. And you still bury your head in the sand and kept on saying you are equals in BN hah? It is such a silly thing to even think about, much less voiced out.

Wake up. Don't "koon" anymore.
written by Semut Jantan, September 29, 2008 22:16:52
60% of the grassroot wants Gerakan Pendatang to leave BN; if Ah Koon does not understand what democracy means, you are making a mockery of your graduate degree.

51% is the majority, and the majority wins, comprende?

A leader is supposed to lead, not hide behind 'numbers' or follow the crowd, where the wind blows. "Gong kia".
written by mikewang, September 29, 2008 22:17:27
MCA would love to see Gerakan out of BN.

After Wong Pow Nee lost Penang, MCA could never regain the CM ship of Penang as long as Gerakan was still in BN.
written by Semut Jantan, September 29, 2008 22:55:52
I suspect Ah Koon is afraid of the ACA.

That's all folks.

And this goes the same to many BN MPs, if not most of them.

Prove me wrong, I'd love to be proven wrong.
written by Semut Jantan, September 29, 2008 22:58:11
By saying it's the grassroot's desire to leave BN, Ah Koon's hand is "clean".

ACA will not come after you.

Clever move, Ah Koon.
written by Semut Jantan, September 29, 2008 23:00:50
But where is your leadership, Ah Koon?
written by No nonsense, September 29, 2008 23:05:11
Hello, what balls are you talking about this fellow Khor? As far as I am concern I dont think he has any. If he has none why all the talk about him? Afterall, he is irrelevant already. If anyone who got balls in Gerakan just leave BN once and for all. Why wait for this and that. Please dont be a disgrace to us chinese. You have been dogs for so many years and yet you still want to be kick around some more by Amno. Stand up now to get back some pride in which you fellows got none after all these years. Time waits for no man.
written by Sylvia, September 29, 2008 23:13:15
MCA should learn from Gerkakan's lesson. See how Umno is treating Gerakan now? Now that MCA has still some 15 MPs as a shield of blessing in BN, Umno may "treasure" them for the time being. If MCA stubbornly stays on until next GE and performs worst than 308, then MCA will be treated as what UMNO is treating Gerakan like DIRT!
UMNO is telling Gerakan "U can get lost, you are uselss to BN now that you lost too badly in 308, you are no more relevent to BN!"
So let this be a strong lesson to MCA too! Please wake up before its too late.
Leave BN and join Gerakan to form a strong independent party if both of you decide not to join Anwar's camp. Chances of gaining Chinese votes during next GE is definitely stronger being a strong independent party!
written by bradwell_estate, September 29, 2008 23:21:08
better for Gerakan to maintain link to BN. WE don't need the party, what we need is just their membership. If Gerakan leave BN, then Umno will be the opposition head in Penang. I think it is better for PKR to deal with Gerakan rather than Umno. AT least Gerakan is more civilized and not racist.
written by raven1958, September 30, 2008 00:38:08
This is LKYs fault....you put a PhD academic to run a political party....sure kaput this Gerakan....this bugger just not cut out to make tough decisions.....send him back to be lecturer maa......Gerakan members betul betul tak tau malu.....people give you the PPP treatment still mau lick UMNOs balls....how you can go back home and see your kids face...no self respect....no dignity......you fellas will die a thousand deaths.....
written by truegrid, September 30, 2008 01:41:46
JUST DO IT lah, KTK. For once in your life make a decision. Look at the arrogant attitude of Abdul Rashid. So typical of UMNO, which has learnt NOTHING from the results of the March elections. They're busy either blaming Abdullah, the Chinese, Singapore, the Jews or whatever instead of looking at the corrupt, hypocritical party full of commission agents that they have become. Abdullah is just a symptom, not the cause, of the rot in UMNO.