Manikavasagam Resigning PDF Print
Monday, 29 September 2008 11:51

Y.B S. Manikavasagam , Member of Parliament Kapar says he is resigning as Deputy Liasion Chairman Parti Keadilan Rakyat Negeri Selangor with immediate effect.

S. Manikavasagam is expected to submit his resignation letter to Parti Keadilan Rakyat , Selangor Chief on Monday 29 Oct 2008.

It shows He is serious and committed in upholding the rights of all Human Being. When conveying this message at Kulai last night he says “I’m not like other leaders holding on position despite knowing Rakyat’s rejection”

Read at: http://www.mpkapar.com/manikavasagam/posts/breaking-news-manikavasagam-resigning/

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by magen, September 29, 2008 11:57:45
Why YB???????
written by apa jadi, September 29, 2008 12:12:07
Manikavasagam,

1) Who is telling the correct story, Zuraidah or Semivelu?
2) Is it a temple or a shrine? A picture at your blog seems to be just a shrine.(c.f. "Blame MIC for Temple Torn down" in the article below).
3) Your resignation, a protest to Zuraidah or Semivelu?

We just want a clearer picture of what is the actual story.
written by chanatak, September 29, 2008 12:45:37

How did a guy with such poor communicative skill ever got selected to be an MP? If MPAJ is guilty for the demolition of the shrine against the instructions of the state government, why resign as if it is the fault of PKR? Or was the shrine torn down for the purpose of renovation and was wrongly reported as deomolition by MPAJ ? In which case, what is all the hoo-haa all about?

PKR surely doesnt need bumblers at this point in time, does it?

Can someone in authority clear up this issue before the other side exploit the confusion and cause even more confusion?

written by bluefire, September 29, 2008 12:47:53
Dear Manikavasagam,

Dear readers, I am upset with this news and hence my outpouring. It's not meant to hurt the feelings of the supporters of our Kapar MP.

I remember you as a person who fought hard for the people of Kapar, as well as the issues pertaining to the Indian community. I am curious as to why you have decided to resign all of a sudden. You are a fighter, how can you fail the people who voted you in place? Did we make a mistake in voting for you? There will always be problems but you need to be able to rise above these problems and keep fighting.

I am really concerned as to your real reason for asking the public to vote for you. I remember the time when you were vocal about the Sujatha / V.pery issue. That was good and of course, that has faded away from your talks after the elections. You seem to have forgotten the reason people voted for you.

I am sure other MP's and Adun's are facing issues, but I don't see them running away by resigning. Resigning is not the solution. Facing the challenges and confronting the issues is the way to go.

Look at the MIC now, they are like dogs running around waging the tail for their master, they jump when food is offered and come running to the master when the master calls. This is not what real fighters are made of. MIC choose to be vocal about the Ampang temple issue. Where were these MIC prostitutes and pimps when the other temples were broken? What about the temple in Sentul? Has the Indian community forgotten?

You also fought for the temple in Kapar. Was the MIC there with you? No, these bastards were the ones who worked with the authorities to demolish temples. Each individual who remains in the MIC had a hand in destroying the temples. Do you think they will ever run away from their future fate? No, they will never rest in peace, ever. That is not the way of Hinduism, Karma is karma and it cannot be changed!

My advice is for you to remain where you are and not to resign. I will not accept your resignation unless, you state that you have become tired and weary and want someone else to take over from you. There are places left in our history for fallen heroes and you best reserve a place in it real quick. Of course, you may choose not to answer me as to whether the father of prostitutes, semy value has been trying to contact you. Always note that God has the final say, look at how semy value fell and see how tormented his final days are. Semy value will not die in peace. I hope and pray you have not chosen that path of disgrace and pain.

I feel sorry for you. Don't give up the good fight!
written by Arubin, September 29, 2008 12:54:05
I don't know about Zuraidah, but Semi Value (like many other BN mp) has a history of lying. Anything he say, I automatically assume to be bullshit, while I'm willing to give the other side the benefit of the doubt.
written by rayfire, September 29, 2008 13:01:16
YB Manickavasagam, is resigning going to do any help?
Are you admitting that you have failed to uphold the truth and indirectly implying PR is NOT ready to lead this nation?
Is it going to do this community any good?
Please, stop whining and solve the problem!
Who issued the orders!, who is responsible for this action!
Hold them responsible, refrain from making any comments that would put you or PR in bad light!
I am sure there is a reason for this ordeal, stop pointing fingers and start solving problem.
By you resigning, you are giving up on the people who voted you in.
If you can't answer your supporters, find the answer and seek solution!
Don't run away!
PR, a lot of Malaysians are banking on you to liberalise this country!
Don't give in to pressure and quit!
written by anak penang, September 29, 2008 13:14:06
I am a indian
i supported PR because i had hope.
i supported hindraf because the famous 5 highlighted the plight of indians.
but lately these indian politicians whether they are supporters of hindraf or pr seem to be taking opportunities for their own personal gains.

this can be seen when that idiot adun from buntung who wanted to leave pr when he did not get any post in the perak government. he only stayed after the perak gomen affered him a deputy speaker post.

and now we have this manika trying something.
listen you indians politicians in pr.
the majority of indians do not like what you are doing.

remember, the educated and middle class indians have totally disacciotated with mic, ppp and what not , the other indian parties. it is only the rural indians who still believe in parties like mic and ppp. and mind you that also is only a very small group of them.

in other words the majority of indians or 90% do not believe in mic amd ppp and the other 101 indian parties.

you dont let us down for your own personal interest.
right now we want you to be with PR.
if PR make some blunders it does not matter so much after all we have been tolerating the shit from umno for more than 50 years.

if you indians want to behave like pariahs than I and hundreds of thousands of indians like me rather have a good malay like the perak MB or someone be our leaders. we don't want fcukers like you to represent us.
READ MY LIPS -DON'T YOU DARE SCREW IT UP

thank you
agree 123
written by apa jadi, September 29, 2008 13:19:14
Or was the shrine torn down for the purpose of renovation and was wrongly reported as deomolition by MPAJ ?

Look at the picture of the shrine. Hope that it is the latest, not somewhere from an archive. If it is the latest picture, it does not look like being torn down for a facelift. It looks more like a wilful demolition.

Manikavasagam may have his reason for his resignation. I hope he is no quiter.
written by ibabonma, September 29, 2008 13:39:55
Dey, Tambi, it is a shrine and it has been demolished three or four times already. I do my jogging around that area. It is an illegal structure. It is not a Temple! It started as a small 'tok kong'.

Come on la, jangan jadi bodoh. Now, you know what happen at Ampang Jaya? They are putting up all the illegal structures again that housed the 'shrine' that had been demolished years back. You demolish them now and see. TV 3 will come running lie a mad dog.

All these, because of people like you la! Don' tell me that you can build your shrines at all road junctions and under hugh trees in Malaysia and pay homage to get your 4D, ampat ekor? Come on Tambi, our mosque was also demolished by UMNO!
written by mali, September 29, 2008 14:04:25
dear "ibabonma"
can u pls provide any links/proofs of mosques demolished?
or do u consider the suraus or house of the leaders of banned sects like sky kingdom & others, as mosques too?

written by charli88, September 29, 2008 14:09:57
Pls find out is there a sabotge about this issue ? All MPs in PR pls stay together. For the sake of Rakyat, our next generations and Malaysia as a whole, PR must stay strong to deny BN divide and rule formula which has been widely abused to benefit small group of cronies. Becos' of this Rakyat basic needs can't be met.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 14:43:38
Let the bastard resign. Better he resign from his seat as well and let there be a by election. The people did not vote for you, they voted for PR. Wasn't there another bastard from the same community who wanted to quit PR for the most flimsy excuse?
written by Ironside, September 29, 2008 14:48:33
Run, Tambi,Run.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 14:49:22
PR needs unity among it's MPs, so don't try to hold PR to ransom with your petulant behaviour. Don't give you chance you say marginalised, got chance then every small thing want to resign. Go Fuuck yourself man.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 14:56:54
Thanks anak penang. yes it's that idiot adun from buntung. agree with you totally.
written by avj, September 29, 2008 15:06:48
YB don't get mad,get even.Get to the bottom of it all,expose the culprits,and bring them to book.The poeple didn't cast their votes for you to run at the first sign of trouble. You are entitled to a mistake now and then,you are human aren't you? the important thing is to rectify it,and set things right.Show the BE END the stuff you and PR are made of. Quitting was never a solution,stay and fight. Put things right.
written by me_in, September 29, 2008 15:09:38
Tambi Manika,
Problems are there all the time. Only mad people who wanders on the streets dont have problem. I think you are not mad.So think carefully,
discuss with fellow MPs. there are other options.
If you think by threatening to resign you will be offered some sweets or senior post.... forget it.The Rakyat have enough of this type of leaders.
If are still adamant to resign, REsign as an MP. Let the voters decide who they want to represent them in a byelection.You are welcome to participate as an independent or even represent MIC if you like.You may want to try your luck,
get elected under MIC ticket and become a minister .....PODAH
written by fireduck, September 29, 2008 15:11:41
Wow, you guys egt hot very easily. Cool down, friends.

First of all, Manikavasagam resigned from the post of Deputy Liasion Chairman Parti Keadilan Rakyat Negeri Selangor ONLY. Not even from the Party. And definitely not as an PR MP. Come on guys, surely he can and is allowed to do that, if he feels he wants to get a message across to the leaders that matter, right?

Let's wait for more details before we vent out our emotions. The 'temple demolition', if it really happened, was carried out by MPAJ, so I think we should hear them out too. How come no one come forward, or no reporters went to them to check out the story? Straight away point fingers at the State Govt., here, there, and of course, the favorite hairpiece also jumped into the clamour.

Anyone can give a better picture? The temple folks? Anyone?
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 15:13:57
Temenggong, thanks for your compliments. You just show us all what a real piece of shit is. And YOU are IT.

My view is that PR MPS should not sulk and threathen the cohesion of PR. It's only slightly more than 6 months since PR became a force. There's time and room for discussions. And how many years have we been under BN?

Now you and this Manicka fell can go fuuck each other. I won't say anything about your mother as she has nothing to do with this.

{Temenggung/Sam W, watch the language. Let's not get personal. Be constructive in your comments. I don't want to go round censoring your comments. Cut it out!: admin-ks}
written by shangrilapeace, September 29, 2008 15:25:17
Yes, we are blurred as to the reason for his resignation. It must be quite serious but please refrain from attacking him. Otherwise your comment is lacking of substance for attacking wrongly & blindly.
Stand as one to support PR.
written by cillipepper, September 29, 2008 15:30:35
...you suka2 bina temple, MPAJ pun suka2 demolished.

Mohon kebenaran sebelum bina dan bina selepas dapat kebenaran.

Kalau MPAJ roboh juga selepas mendapat kebenaran, you can count on me to fight for/protect your right to free worship...
written by DatoSeri, September 29, 2008 15:33:57
Cool down FOLKS !

Our combined enermies are UMNO/BN. Get that right before their plot success ful in inflicting harms to PR.

Rescue Malaysia!
written by Wisdom above, September 29, 2008 15:59:10
Food for thoughts.
PLEASE, get correct facts first .

Please,by all means, can someone consult a 'registered Town planner' whether it is Ultra Vires the Federal Town Planning Act if a gazetted 'road reserved land' is re-gazetted again for religious usage. It conflicts with other provisions of the NLC 1965(Amended)1976.

'Best Solution' is to 'alienate a suitable piece' of State Land "in accordance & in compliance" to the Federal National Land Code 1965(1976).

It is always good to seek proper counsel with experts in land matters & be knowledgeable before hitting left and rights in embarassments on all fronts.

Ex-Gerakan FT chief should know the loopholes & irregularities in land matters.
Please consult and seek his counsels.

Free RPK and Abolish the ISA right now ,this instance.

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by jason, September 29, 2008 16:03:30
Hey you guys! Read the statement. It says Manikavasagam resigning as 'Deputy Liasion Chairman' not from PKR the party. Liasion means he is the 'go between'. Maybe he is the connection guy between the Selangor government and the MPAJ. And he thinks he messed up.
Why the big fuss about resignation from a Liasion post? Are you guys trying to have a big party when Pete is away?
written by carribeanking7, September 29, 2008 16:14:55
I agree with Jason and fireduck, many seem to be jumping the gun,
he just quit as a liason, its not that he left his seat triggering a by election.
to me it looks like Samy planted some MIC goons to ruffle up the peoples feathers, they took their grouses to Hindraf who also reacted.

MB Khalid should get Xavier jayakumar, Manickavasagam, Zuraida, The temple comittee and hindraf representative sitting around a table , resolve the issue, then issue a press statement.

written by DontPlayGod, September 29, 2008 16:41:01
When the Islamists destroy temples(buddhists or hindus), this is not seditious. This is called defending Islam, but when there were calls to tone down the Azan, this is seditious and people are ISA-ed. Can the UMNO bigwigs please explain such discrepancies and one-sidedness? I suppose this is the prelude of what islamization is all about. BTW, for the info. of the islamists, we don't see the ISA being used on them, nor do we see protests and demonstrations by the non-Muslims anywhere.

What is so seditious about calling for the Azan to be toned down? After all there were no loudspeakers during the time of the prophet(pbuh). When I was a kid, I remembered there were no calls for the Azan using loudspeakers. Prayers were not broadcasted on loudspeakers. All they used then was beating on drums for the Azan, and that too for only a few seconds. Why not revert back to the using of drums for Azan? And God is not deaf. One need not use the loudspeaker to speak or pray to Him.
written by aryn, September 29, 2008 16:45:59
Manickavasagam, if your struggle for the indian community is simply to protect hindu temples then you are no good to them.

What kind of a leader who acted hastily and do not consider the overall interest of the indian community and the people's aspiration in PKR in general?

You still have a lot to learn as a leader.
written by Kaboosh, September 29, 2008 16:54:22
This dumb ass was probably itching to leave PKR for a longtime hoping to gain
support from UMNO/BN goons and make some fast cash.Good riddance!!
written by Mark C, September 29, 2008 17:32:57
very simple for BN moles in local councils in PRK states to sow discord amongst the PKR supporters and MPs...

"cuma" mistakenly demolish temples be it Hindus, Chinese or whatever areas of worship and VIOLA! all hells breaks loose!

I am saddened by anyone who cannot see beyond the "poor attempt" by UMNO create disharmony and disarray in PKR and it seriously doesn't take a lot to achieve it.

People should take a chill pill, work towards solving the issue, and audit what when wrong, and be more united against a regime that is hell bent on sowing discord....

but I reckon people are just not mature enough...

written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 17:48:26
Temenggong, any Pakatan MP or Adun who threatens the unity of PR (by threats or resignations)over hiccups or contentious issues is a self-serving bastard. No one disagrees that solving temple issues is important.

As you have said, BN failed to allocate land over the last 50 years, PR has failed the last 7 months. What is 7 months compared to 50 years?

As for your language, give me your best shots. It means nothing to me. This is a forum and people vent in forums.

Ok, I grant that I called Manika a bastard in haste. I don't know him well enough to check his lineage, so I shouldn't have insulted his parents.

But you Temenggong, I know you are a bastard without needing to check.
written by prabalat, September 29, 2008 18:10:21
Sam W , anak penang , temenggong
guys a resignation issue could escalate into THIS.....it is ok to express opinions but the language v hv seen is .... too rude for our younger generations .pls express without vulgarities . come on U guys , ur quarrel only tarnish our RPK's reputation . ps don't go on shooting me pulak !!!! .wish RPK out agree???
written by prabalat, September 29, 2008 18:11:29
smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by drarasu, September 29, 2008 18:14:58
haiya, they we go .If its true that he has resigned , its immature of him to resign.Well you cant built shrines everywhere and demand for a lot of things, instead we should be concentrating on all the temples that is already existing. The reason why the majority of indians are where they are, is because our own making . Its through we should look at the bigger picture, if this is the way they are going to think and act well done be where you are for the next 50yrs.
written by Joe, September 29, 2008 18:18:16
As a Hindu, Malaysian Indian, I feel that it is necessary that our constitution be revisited in this case.

If we, the Malaysian Hindus, are given the fair and equal chance to go and pray at a temple, of the choice which house the diety of our choice as granted by the constitution on freedom of worship, then there wont be a need to build road side shrines.

But if u look at the plans of housing estates, there just arent enough temples. You can have 10 temples to 4 dieties in a housing estate, but what difference would it make if I am a person who prays to none of those dieties?

So where is my freedom to worship my religion if I am not given the chance to pray at a temple of my choice? So i hope you all see how ineffective the Hindu Sangam has become, under the auspicies of MIC these years.

I hope PKR will rectify the issue.

Thanks
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 18:20:45
ya lah, ya lah. apologies all round, especially to kids who can read well enough to read MT. smilies/grin.gif I resign from this line of talk.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 18:38:35
Joe, now don't take this as sacarsm, insult or whatever. How many deities are there? If each one worships a different deity and insists on one temple for each deity in each housing estate so that he can have the freedom to worship in a temple of his choice, will there be enough land even if there is sufficient funds?
written by drarasu, September 29, 2008 19:11:21
Hi Sam, wht Joe is telling is true, that is his right for freedom of worshoping. well he can built a temple in his house that solves his problem , simple isnt't it.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 19:32:30
drarasu, corrrect, correct. hahaha. If have an altar in your own house nobody can come and demolish it. If they come into your house to cause havoc you can parang them as robbers. But to convert your house into a temple might be a problem also. Can you imagine if your neighbour converted his house into a temple and day and night there's smoke coming out from the burning of incense or joss-sticks, and ringing of bells and on certain occasions hundreds descend on the house to worship, then how? You want to move and sell your house also difficult, cause got no value. Unless the temple next door want to buy lah.
written by periasa, September 29, 2008 19:47:06
Mankia...don't be a kid. No point resigning. The best you could do is to get to the bottom of this entire episode and take all those responsible to task. Frankly, it doesn't matter if a Govt is in power for 50years or 7 months. It only shows lack of sincerity and senstivity in wanting to resolve issues pertaining to Hindus. The least PR would have done is to sack or suspend all those responsible in this episode. This would mean they are really serious about forging a real Malaysian society and not to pick and decide depending on which race is being affected. Frankly, I am totally disappointed with MB Selangor, DSAI and whoever the ADUN is for Ampang and Xavier. Please do not give the crap that these are unregistered temples...these are unregistered or unable to be registered because of practices of BN. Now, it is under PR...find solutions to overcome these so-called unregistered issues rather than supporting or justifing reasons for demolition. It only shows that PR is NO better than BN...as one of the reader commented...if PR cannot govern a State effectively how could it manage the Federal Government effectively...I think we should all ponder on this and I think it is better to go with the devil we know rather than believe all this sweet talking desperados wanting to change the Govt...Tian Chua, where are you...why are silent..is it because it is not affecting your community..GUYS, REMEMBER ALMOST SIMILAR SITUATIONS TOOK PLACE LAST YEAR BEFORE DEEPAVALI!!!!Bottom line.....disgusted with PR..all these politicians can NEVER be TRUSTED!!!!!!!
written by opisboi, September 29, 2008 20:04:20
COMMONLAH MR.MONEY MANI WHY DON'T YOU RESIGN AS MP ARE U CHICKEN ENOUGH....OR I SHOULD CALL MR. CHICKEN MANI aka MONEY?
written by apa jadi, September 29, 2008 20:24:08
After watching the NTV7 news at 7:00 pm, I begin to wonder what is the actual story. With such exaggerated coverage by MIC protests, my gut feel is somebody is actually cooking up the whole story. One of the MIC chief even had the audacity to telling the whole world that they have always protect the Hindus from temple demolitions.

After that news, I tend to believe PR's side of the story. I may be wrong though.

In the news coverage, the size of the temple is much much bigger than the picture of the shrine shown in Manika's blog. So, Manika, you have yourself to blame too for showing such a badly presented picture.
written by shangrilapeace, September 29, 2008 21:46:28
Peace to all.

To all MT readers:

There are many 'Planted' conmentators in this article to disrupt Indian unity and messed up PR supporters.
Please do not response to their comments even though one might side PR and the other for BN or MIC (you will notice a lot of extreme foul words to heat up the anger). They acted very well.
As MT is RPK love. Help to respect his protect and maintain in proper condition.
Lately, there are many extreme and suspicious comments.
Supporters, be careful & be aware.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 21:47:49
{Temenggung/Sam W, watch the language. Let's not get personal. Be constructive in your comments. I don't want to go round censoring your comments. Cut it out!: admin-ks}

Hehehe...ok admin-ks. Just got a little carried away. Sorry.
written by Sudahlah tu, September 29, 2008 22:19:01
Berdiri di atas bumi dengan ketenangan serta kepekaan kepada Tuhan dahulu.
Kini, kita mudah dipermainkan oleh sendimen yang digubahkan oleh mic/umno...
Sebenarnya, Tuhan sahaja yang lebih mengetahui dan memahami segala perbuatan manusia ...
harus kami bersabar dab memerhatikan keadaan semasa dengan lebih tenang...
written by Kaboosh, September 29, 2008 22:19:40
Look lets be rational people, there are thousands of shrines and mini temples built by followers of the numerous dieties be it chinese or hindu as and when the
deities command them to. These activities cannot go on in a modern society,not even non-muslim Spore would tolerate indiscriminate building of places of worship.
Assuming a hindu govt comes to power in Malaysia,even they would demolish tiny temples and shrines to make way for development projects.
written by samesamemam, September 30, 2008 01:31:52
One of the things I learnt from YM RPK is that we have to get our facts right before we go shooting our mouths off. In this matter of the “demolition of the Hindu Temple”, the facts are still fuzzy. I`m going from blog to blog, newswires, online newspapers, both MSM and others - including Malaysiakini - and no reporter or blogger is giving a clear report of what actually happened. Everyone is merely repeating and commentating on reports coming from pro-mic or pro-pkr sources. Pro-pkr blogs and news sites say its not pkr’s fault; of course, anti-pkr sites and MIC are, unsurprisingly, saying the opposite. But both sides of the fence commentators and news reporters are also citing pkr and mic reports, which are changing by the day…if you follow the pro-mic and pro-pkr bloggers and news reporters, both sides are spinning their stories by the day…

It does not matter whether it was a ‘temple’ or a ‘shrine’… built on ‘forest reserve land’… that MIC is provoking the issue, etc. or whatever…;. The questions are; was it demolished without respect of rights and religious freedom… if it was, then by whom and why?…who should take responsibility and who should be punished…

I`m still a staunch pkr supporter; and I still strongly suspect anything that comes out from reports from any of the bn parties, not least mic…

But I`m first and formost a RPK supporter; RPK went for the truth and not just supported pkr or opposed bn/mic based on blind loyalty. He also taught me that no matter which party or alliance is in power, whether at federal or state level, those in power have to be accountable to the rakyat and the rakyat are watching them closely and holding them accountable for the promises to the rakyat, based on which, we gave them our votes…

To be this vigilant rakyat, we need to inquire further and get to the bottom of this before we pass judgment. Before we shoot out mouths and hurl swears and accusations, we need to know who’s really telling the truth….cos its still not clear…

Lets not insult RPK and MT2, especially now when RPK’s voice is silenced in kamunting, shouting abuses and accusations when the story is still fuzzy about this temple incident – both from the PKR side as well as the MIC side of the fence…as well as from the MSM and non-MSM news sources…

BTW, this Manikavasagam guy has not resigned from PKR…
written by opisboi, September 30, 2008 08:01:06
for me i call mr. mani the pundek MP. just make more trouble & tv3 1/4 will xploiting this story, now i think this pundek MP are happy enough the damage that he have done!
written by Joe, September 30, 2008 10:59:32
Well, if I cant have the freedom to perform worship because there are too many dieties in the Hindu pantheon, why promise me freedom of worship and raise my hopes up? Dont promise me anything lah. change the constitution to say something else la.

If you say I can pray, and dont provide me a place of worship, then whats the point of saying I have freedom to worship?
Sam W I wont take your response as issult or whatever, even if you did, there is nothing i can do about it. its a free access blog. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Kaboosh, October 01, 2008 10:55:21
There are 300 million deities in the Hindu pantheon. If you build a temple for each one of them there would no more land for the mortal malaysians.Freedom
of worship does not mean you can built millions of temples or shrines with no regard for other humans.