Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Chua Soi Lek: 'I'm not perfect but I'm sincere'

Chua Soi Lek: 'I'm not perfect but I'm sincere' PDF Print
Monday, 29 September 2008 09:52

Former health minister Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek did not fade away after he quit all political posts politics earlier this year over a sex scandal. He talks to EILEEN NG on the battle ahead to resurrect his political career

By Eileen Ng, New Straits Times

Q: How has the response been since you announced your decision to contest a vice-president's post?
A:
It has been great. But you'll never know until the votes are in.

Q: Have you been having difficulties in meeting delegates, as alleged by some?
A:
There are, but these are to be expected. You can't expect 191 divisions to welcome all the leaders.

Q: How do you overcome these difficulties, seeing that you need to meet as many delegates as possible?
A:
Patience helps a lot. No, I don't get snide remarks or the cold shoulder treatment.

Q: How will you work with the newly-elected president to rebuild and reinvent the party?
A:
All of us in MCA are mature enough, especially those who have been in the party for 15, 25 or even 30 years. The fact that we have spent half of our productive life in MCA shows that we are committed to the party and its cause.

Everyone wants to see the party united.

The question of your personal conflict with another is not relevant to the members. Personal differences will always be there but it is a question of "agree to disagree". We are committed to the same cause.

Q: Who can you work better with -- Datuk Ong Tee Keat or Datuk Chua Jui Meng?
A:
I think I can work with either. No one can fit into your own personal mould. So, it's a question of how to adjust yourself.

Q: Your sex scandal will affect your chances. How do you plan to overcome this?
A:
By being sincere. Everybody makes mistakes. I have never claimed to be perfect. No leader is perfect anyway. It's a question of not repeating the mistake.

Q: There are caricatures and posters depicting you as a corrupt leader and they were sent to MCA central delegates nationwide.
A:
Poison pen letters about me have surfaced consistently since I came to federal politics. I notice that there has been a consistent effort by somebody within MCA to undermine my leadership and image.

It's so consistent that a pattern has been established. I notice people are very wary of me and say I am very ambitious.

The pattern also tries to taint me as being morally unfit and corrupt. But if they have the information, they should go to the authorities rather than spend a lot of time and money (on this smear campaign). Of course, there are people who have told me that I have to look at it from a positive side. They said, "you must have something in you that people are frightened of".

Q: Have delegates come up to you and voiced their concerns about this unhealthy form of politicking?
A:
I think most delegates think this is orchestrated and hitting below the belt without any basis at all.

I've lodged a police report, so let them investigate. I've some idea who is behind this as all the information is related to the Health Ministry and the information must be extracted from the ministry.

What I'm happy to note is that the more personal the attack against me, the more support and sympathy that I get. That's the truth.

Q: You have a blog which is popular with Malaysians. Do you think it is an effective campaigning tool?
A:
I haven't touched my blog in the last few days. When you start travelling, it becomes very difficult (to blog). I think the personal contact is more important.

Q: In your manifesto, you outlined the need for MCA to change its current political approach. However, MCA's efforts may be in vain if its partners refuse to change.
A:
That is a very pessimistic way of looking at things. Before we tell people to put their houses in order, we have to put our own house in order.

Then only will we have the integrity and the standing to tell people, "okay we have reorganised, it's time for you to change".

And I'm sure the Umno leadership is politically-savvy, otherwise they won't be in power for over 50 years. And they know they need to change, to reform. They know they need a new working model.

Q: How can MCA remain an equal partner in Barisan Nasional and not be seen as submissive to Umno?
A:
That's why it is important for Umno to adopt a consultative approach and a decision by consensus, and not just a one-man show, or top down all the way. Maybe because we are in power for so long, we take a lot of things for granted.

Q: Should MCA remain in BN?
A:
It is easy to say "leave BN". The question to throw back to ourselves is, "if we leave BN, can MCA survive on its own?" If it can't, what are we going to do? Join Pakatan?

Even DAP finds it difficult to survive and that is why they joined Pakatan.

written by Democrats, September 29, 2008 10:05:10
Q: Your sex scandal will affect your chances. How do you plan to overcome this?
A: By being sincere. Everybody makes mistakes. I have never claimed to be perfect. No leader is perfect anyway. It's a question of not repeating the mistake.

Correct, Chua. Next time, make sure you book different rooms and use different girls. And check the rooms for hidden camera.

You hunger for sex isn't our worry. Its the stupidity of getting caught that worries us. Pretty much like stealing a bite and not wiping the crumbs of your mouth.
written by Sam W, September 29, 2008 10:11:02
Sincere? It's difficult to comprehend how he can say this with a straight face. I am surprised the interviewer didn't die laughing. SINCERITY is word that does not exist in the MCA dictionary.
written by Mr Smith, September 29, 2008 10:24:17
Dr Chua,
How can anyone be sincere by remaining in BN? Were you sincere when you were a federal minister? Didn't you swallow all the injustices, insults and warnings handed down by UMNO?
If you want to be sincere (to your fellow citizens) get out of MCA and BN and join Pakatan.
Why are you wasting your life in MCA?
written by Counterpointer, September 29, 2008 10:35:18
Chua Soiled Lek,

You may have an onion face but no matter how sincere you are you have to accept reality.

How effective could you be when any demands you make for your people could well be challenged by your racists masters making a police report against you for oral sex complete with clear evidences from a few angles of view?

You have to accept the fact that you have an Achilles' dick, I mean , heel.
written by lampard, September 29, 2008 10:38:53
Q: Datuk, for man of your age, you sure is still strong and vigorous, how do you obtain such good health?
A: Well, as you know, sex burns more calories than any exercise.

Q: Wow, but for a man of your age, how do you sustain your vigor and stamina?
A: Well, I was teh health minister, we approve Viagra and Cialis products, so, we also get lots of it free la....ha! Ha!

Q: Isn't taking a form of bribery and can be detain under ACA?
A: You see, in Malaysia, bribery has to closely link to monetary form, by the way, if I don't test it and see the effectiveness, how can I allow this to be sold to the country?

Q: Oh, what is your plan to saviour MCA since the support at the last GE was more than dissapointing?
A: It is easy, continue to abide by the rules and regulations of BN and never break rank, just be SINCERE and I am confident sincerity will win votes. I am self righteous and rakyat see that....

Rakyat: Ya...ya...all we can remember you is you are fugking someone half your age and you are being truthful bout it! You are a clever man, can give tuition how to tackle girls half our age or not???
written by raven1958, September 29, 2008 10:53:30
Words of a desperado politician who has no where else to go....
written by Tom n Jerry, September 29, 2008 11:15:47
A word od advice to CSL;its perfectly OK to flirt as it is only humanto do so,but you must be discreet;even Bill Clinton also cannot escape the scandal and was ousted;you see Americans are so open & sporting they cant accept it also;how about Malaysians;they are so old-fashioned even sodomy also big problem whenit is the latest craze highly promoted in Malaysia through Saiful;next time come up with some sodomy VCD*s will be more up-to-date lah;at least people will say you are kkeping up with the times! smilies/grin.gif
written by Fairminded, September 29, 2008 11:26:20
If Dr. Chua can be a candidate of MCA's top leadership it proves the moral degradation of MCA. He should just stay out of politics, try to redeem himself by doing charity work.
written by shangrilapeace, September 29, 2008 12:46:56
Admired your guts & sincerity to return to active politic and into MCA after a big black stain. Service to the poor, down & out would be better.
Is it because MCA (since history), belongs to rich businessmen?
The answers are not up to expectation and also reported by NST.
Sorry... better spend more time with your family...
written by Taufique, September 29, 2008 14:29:13
you? sincere? wife left at home and you're off bonking someone else. Dont know marriage vows issit? sincere my ass.

written by ilovepakatan, September 29, 2008 14:40:33
Sincere? Sincere bout what? Cheating your wife. We dont want another bedtime story from you and other young girl and you be sincere about it later. Just quit politic and be a full-time pornstar ok? Whatever you do, stay away from politic. We dont wanna die laughing at you. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by PASOK, September 29, 2008 15:10:53

Oosh, not perfect?
Your girlfriend thinks you are perfect.
Only sincere maybe a bit not.
written by Oyster, September 29, 2008 15:32:38
Chua Soi Lek: 'I'm not perfect but I'm sincere'
Actually Soi Lek it would be nearer the truth if you had said,
'I'm not sincere but i'm perfect'. Your wife would be able to accept the ' not sincere' bit and the dunggu's and suckers that don't know any better would believe the 'I'm perfect'.
written by DontPlayGod, September 29, 2008 16:16:03
Ah Lek(not Lim Ah Lek lah), what can any MCA leader in MCA do to fight for the Chinese, when UMNO is all empowering and all ketuanan, and.....(too many to mention here). UMNO has already said that they can rule without the other races, but they are being magnanimous in "sharing" power with the other minority races. Huh! they call it "sharing". More like a one party rule, only that when the other minority races make any complaints, UMNO will just send the other minority parties to "explain", or apologize on behalf of UMNO!

Yes, Chua, this is what MCA and the other minority parties have been doing all these past 50 years and don't think we are not aware of it!! As far as the Chinese are concerned, MCA is history. The last general elections should have told MCA that clearly and emphatically. BTW, has that sunk into your head? What else can MCA do in BN?
written by Engineer, September 29, 2008 17:41:48
You are definitely not perfect, practicing sex with woman wearing boots and watching laptop.

You are definitely not sincere, did you tell your wife about your sexual swing.

You admit because you got no choice, caught right in the act. If not for the video you would not have admitted.

Liar pretending to be sincere.
written by malaysianboy, September 29, 2008 18:00:28
" I'm perfect to be a TRUE MAN but i'm not sincere"

This is what he should say...haha
written by SocratesI, September 29, 2008 18:16:10

Do you think that there is such a lack of talent amongst the Chinese in Malaysia that we HAVE to have you to work for our benefit, Soi Lek ?? Don't kid yourself ! We don't need you ! How can we have a FORNICATOR as one of our leaders ?? Unimaginable !!

written by SocratesI, September 29, 2008 18:20:15

Have you tried changing profession ... like being a gigolo ??

written by Hakim Joe, September 29, 2008 23:34:53

Chua: “I’m not perfect (even though I am a dirty old Cina Apek, I like nubile Russian girls), but I’m sincere (sincere in wanting the VCD taping session to go on and on and on and on).”

written by DreamLady, September 30, 2008 00:15:04
Dr. chua,

Come on, get real, and never dream about becoming the chinese representative again, because you are immoral, you betray your wife and family, and the voters. You bring shame to your chinese ancestors who expect you to live up to their code of conduct in a traditional chinese values. You fail everybody including yourself.

Your obsession of becoming a well-known politician has blinded you of the difference between the words, 'weakness and compulsive lustful instinct that lurks in the background constantly.'

The formal indicates trait which you could rectify based on your determination and will power; whereas the latter is an obssession that you could not do without, and of course you will not get rid of the obssession using the tools of will power or sheer determination, because it is a worldly indulgence you heartily crave for.. you got it?

So, please stop preaching or trying to build castles in the air. Instead, go do some cleansing under the purest water of the waterfall...

the
written by Wakeupmsia, September 30, 2008 01:15:07
Hello Soh chai, we ain't stupid! How can you claim to be sincere when you have cheated on your wife? That's adultery, soh chai.

I'm holier than thou. MCA must reject him outright! Otherwise, MCA may become MORE IMMORAL with him around.
written by onnetline, September 30, 2008 01:17:19
We appreciate your sincerity that you have not perfected the art of selling your race behind closed doors yet !

MCA is a whole lot of rubbish as long as they're still sleeping with those shitheads from Barisan Najis !!!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 30, 2008 01:31:17
SORRY!!! IF YOU CAN PLAY OUT YOUR WIFE AND CHILDREN...

YOU CAN PLAY OUT THE CHINESE AND MALAYSIANS..

JUST BE LIKE THE CANDIDATES IN JAPAN AND OTHER DEVELOPED COUNTRIES..ADMIT YOUR
MISTAKE..GET OUT..BE A GOOD FAMILY MAN....

IF MCA TAKES HIM BACK IT MEANS THE CHINESE ARE CONDONING INFIDELITY AND ACCEPT IT AS PART OF CHINESE CULTURE????
WE DO NOT NEED THIS...ISA IS ALREADY A BIG HEADACHE...
written by Caesar, October 01, 2008 16:25:13
Hello,
ADMITTING Having sex with someone other than your wife, WHEN FOUND OUT, is definitely NOT A virtue; thus sincerity (a virtue) is wrongly used here.

If you are elected, then MCA is a party without morals..among its other evils which makes its members more like thugs..like the ones (which made the news)who were connected with gangsters in NSembilan and JB.

written by inoi, October 05, 2008 20:00:34
Datuk Chua Soi Lek,turn over a new leaf and please address what is incorrect in our social system.