Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Koh: 60% want Gerakan to leave BN

Koh: 60% want Gerakan to leave BN PDF Print
Sunday, 28 September 2008 22:43

By Maria J. Dass, The Sun

Although the sentiment among the grassroots for Gerakan to leave Barisan Nasional (BN) is prevalent because of incidents that took place over the last two months, the party is adopting a cautious stand as it needs to examine and ponder over its survival post-BN.

"At least 60% say 'let us be relieved of this burden', which is considered an emotional burden, but we have to go beyond that, we have to go beyond sentiments," the party's acting president, Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, said today.

"Now, after the initial feelings and sentiments because of things that have happened, especially in the last one to two months, have subsided, they are becoming much more calm, collected and mature in their approach and are able to think over the things that have been discussed," he said at the opening of the Federal Territory (FT) Gerakan Wanita and Youth delegates conference.

Gerakan had been embroiled in a controversy over the remarks made by former Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail in a speech during the run-up to the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election.

"Going by the sentiments gathered from views at the grassroots level, at least 60% say it is very difficult to stay in the coalition (BN) because they are being criticised outside," Koh said.

"But we have to go through a more objective and rational analysis of this and we are going thorough that process.

"Of course, the sentiment gathered from people outside is why should you stay in Barisan?, You should come out.

"But they very seldom ask the third question. The first question is always 'Will you support Barisan?', the second is 'Would you want Gerakan to remain in Barisan? and the third is 'When we come out, will you support us versus DAP or versus PKR?. That question is seldom being asked until lately.

"We are now getting answers, which are very realistic answers. We need to take a lot of factors into consideration and not just based on sentiments."

Koh said that while sentiments are important and have to be taken into consideration for the future of the political role of Gerakan in the political arena, "it has to be a combination of the heart and the mind".

"We have to combine sentiment with rational analysis and we have adjusted our thinking after much pondering," he said.

"It is a very trying and challenging time. It is time for a lot of soul-searching and rational objective and analysis, combined with a lot of sentiments, and thus, it cannot be a straightforward simplistic, simple decision.

"We are not ruling out any possibilities and are constantly getting feedback and analysis in addition to monitoring the changes in the country’s political landscape."

Koh said no deadline has been set as the party does not want to be rigid in view of the constant changes happening around it.

He said there are three options for the party, which are to stay in BN, leave BN and join Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), or leave the BN and be independent.

>> On whether he will contest for the presidency in October , Koh announced he would be but it clear he would not remain in office for more than two terms as he wants to elevate young leaders to engineer change and revive the party.

>> On his choice for deputy, he said: "We will eventually let the delegates decide."

>> On Gerakan Federal Territory members hopping over the PKR (see accompanying story), Koh said: "I was just informed of this although I had heard the rumours two days ago that some of our leaders are in talks with them."

He said he was shocked because two weeks ago, some of those who defected had sat in a meeting with him and never indicated any dissatisfaction.

"This episode also shows that PKR seeks publicity and confrontation, and puts up political dramas, as they just had to welcome these members on the same day that the Gerakan FT is holding its delegates conference," Koh said.

>> On the power transition plan in Umno, Koh said Gerakan hopes it will be carried out in a smooth and peaceful manner so as not to upset the social and economic order.

He said by tradition, the change in party leadership in a BN component party is an internal matter, However, he hopes that the BN supreme council will brief the other component parties on what the Umno supreme council has decided so that the transition plan can be understood by other component parties.

He said BN is in dire need of a revamp and re-branding to remain relevant.

"What is important at the end of the day is that this transition benefits the BN and, most of all, the country," he said.

written by Highway16, September 28, 2008 22:48:34
Aiya, Koh TK, you are protecting your "Rice Bowl" (in hokkien) only.
You always want to review.
And you always want to examine some more.
BN says you are just a "nuisance" only.
You and your family are all but "pendatangs"!
However, your thick skin says stay and lick BN's ar#@!!
written by omarkhayyam, September 28, 2008 22:50:46
Koh,

in 1987, when u were in the first year of the CM-ship of Penang, i congratulated u in Rumah Tetamu of Penang, for being the youngest CM

now 21 years later i like to screw up for the sheer stupidity of ur leadership !!

hey Koh, its not 60% the fact is its 99% of the members want it out, and the 1% is people like u who hold the power money tan sri-ship and whatsoever crap u guys crave for

damn u smilies/smiley.gif

written by Kunta Kinte, September 28, 2008 22:55:22
Koh, let everyone leave and you stay in Gerakan alone supporting your favourite PM. Maybe both of your'll can talk about your dreams every morning. Your are shameless after all that has happened your still NEVER LEARN!
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 28, 2008 23:04:51
If Gerakan does not leave BN perhaps it will die slowly.
written by sjs, September 28, 2008 23:45:04
Comrades and Countrymen,

LAST POSTING IN MALAYSIA TODAY

This is our last posting in Malaysia Today.

We started posting in Malaysia Today (our only medium of posting of all comments) some time after March 2008 general election. It started with myself and expanded to a team of 15 people currently. They are all individuals of high standing in their respective countries (10 of them are doctoral scholars in varied fields of study). All of us are ex –Malaysians who love Malaysia dearly.

We have received a lot of encouraging words from all of you that made our fight to achieve our goals very meaningful. While we welcome constructive criticisms of our work, we cannot accept destructive suggestions that we start our own blogs (article winners and losers, comment by yew loke), and lately attempt at questioning our genuine motives (Gerakan mulls quitting Barisan, may join Pakatan, comment by chiongguo). It is in the considered opinion of our team members, that for our battle to be more effective, we must not get distracted from our original goals. Hence this decision. To silence our critics, that our motives are genuine, we will reconsider joining back Malaysia Today after Raja Petra is released!

We want all of you to continue your fight to free Raja Petra and live happily in a truly free Malaysia! Don’t give up a bit. Speak up bravely, for what is truly yours! We assure you we will continue our fight from outside, by pressurizing various relevant international departments. We will not depart from our original goals:

1) To ensure the release of Raja Petra (in fact the team got expanded from 10 to 15 recently) because of this main cause. Raja Petra belongs to all Malaysians. The longer he is in detention, it will be real trying times for all, as fresh information will be lacking.

2) To ensure that we can contribute effectively for a smooth transfer to a new government headed by Anwar. We have been cautious in exposing all the culprits, as we are not sure who the BN defectors are. We have been exposing only those we are very sure of not defecting to the PR.

3) To ensure that Malaysians from all walks of life will speak up bravely, and not be afraid to express their views. They will not be intimidated by any one. They have been deprived of free speech and press for a long time.

4) Various ways we can help Anwar (some of our team members are economists) to ensure a fairer distribution of wealth to the poor rural Malays in villages and Indians who live in estates. The poor Chinese are in the minority, they may need moderate help.

We will fight for our common cause till the end. While we may lack a medium to express and convey our works momentarily, our genuine battle continues! No one can stop us!

SuperAdmin, kindly delete our registration to MT. We thank you for all the patience, you have shown us.

Salam Aidil Fitri to all Muslim friends. We will miss all of you, but we will still read valuable articles from MT from time to time for additional facts for our works! Take care friends…….

“When the goings gets tough, only the tough gets going”

written by RumahPanjai, September 28, 2008 23:45:30
Its very simple. The majority wants out of BN. Koh is not listening to the majority. By not honouring their decisions he is treating them with contempt. Democracy of majority rules have fallen on gerakan leaderships deaf ears. Any decent GERAKAN member would have voluntarily resign and be more valuable working under the umbrella of PKR!
written by temenggong, September 29, 2008 00:07:34
Koon ah,

Malaysians who are gerakan members are welcome to join DAP of PKR. Gerakan itself has no place in Pakatan.
written by hakuna, September 29, 2008 00:36:09
Dr. Koh - what type of Doctor are you ? Your present presciption is definitely not working, you need to change and you are linggering on it.
Poor doctor! - your patients are going elsewhere!!!!
written by fireduck, September 29, 2008 01:20:30
Tsu Koon, 60% is already a simple majority. A few more members and it's 2/3 majority liao! How many members you need to say 'get out' to your face before you lead them out? 99%?

And you said, "Now, after the initial feelings and sentiments because of things that have happened, especially in the last one to two months, have subsided, they are becoming much more calm, collected and mature in their approach and are able to think over the things that have been discussed,"

Ok, what have calmed?

That Ahmad tearing up your photo issue? That guy is still umrepentant, and is embarking on a roadshow to sow his seeds of hatred.

And in his place, Ms Tan was ISA-ed for a while. If you think that has calmed the situation since the photo-tearing, I think you must have slipped back under the coconut shell.

RPK is still in solitary confinement in Kamunting. Is that your definition of sentiments having subsided?

Teresa was ISA-ed over an apparent lie by liar blogger, and her parents home has been molotov-ed. That is calming situation for you? And in this situation, the Home Minister did not choose to speak out. Silently condoning the dastardly act, in my eyes.

Just because your photos got ripped you jumped up and sulked. The damn Home Minister ripped up RPK's and so many others' families and lives with the ISA, and you said things have subsided and calmed.

You are quite a useless leader. Serously, if you cannot or do not have the courage to get out of that 'comfort zone', then stand aside, get out of the way, and let someone else lead the party out of BN!
written by Victory or Death, September 29, 2008 01:31:28
I quote Dr Koh:

"But they very seldom ask the third question. The first question is always 'Will you support Barisan?', the second is 'Would you want Gerakan to remain in Barisan? and the third is 'When we come out, will you support us versus DAP or versus PKR?. That question is seldom being asked until lately.

Dr KSK,

Why should the 3rd question be relevant if you are a noble politician and Gerakan is a noble party striving for the good of Malaysia and its people?

It is only relevant if you and your party is focused on survival for self-benefit.

I am not a Ph.D but allow me to do a summary analysis of the political future of Gerakan.

If Gerakan stays in BN it is a goner.
Although you do not realise it, as it is, it is already a goner.It is only useful as a tool of UMNO. You and your party cannot say no to UMNO .Even if you and your party do say no, it has no impact on UMNO.UMNO will still do what it likes.

If you leave BN, the Rakyat does not warrant they will give you unqualified support. You and your party will have to earn the Rakyat's support just as DAP, PAS and PKR need to earn their support from the Rakyat.

Stay it BN, it is just a matter of time before Gerakan becomes a complete goner- latest by 2013.
I repeat, in fact it is already a goner. But in 2013 in the next GE, the Rakyat will put it in their GE affivadit.

Leave – you still have a chance to stay relevant – but you need to earn the support of the Rakyat. Do not take the support for granted. The same applies to DAP, PAS and PKR.

written by Victory or Death, September 29, 2008 01:34:58
Sorry,
affivadit should read as affidavit.
written by Hello Keithy, September 29, 2008 01:37:45
Parti Gerakan, just leave and don't look back. And remember to close the door after you. Thank you.
written by romerz, September 29, 2008 03:19:48
Gerakan, you have a 4th option.

Every which way but lose.

No, not the movie starring Clint Eastwood and Orville, his pet orangutan, but the options facing Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia at the moment.

The Star online reported today that Gerakan is at a crossroads, a defining moment in its history, for what it decides to do next could very well decide whether it survives as a viable political entity or not. The report quotes Acting President Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon saying that the party is faced with 3 options.

1. Stay with BN

2. Leave BN and join Pakatan Rakyat

3. Leave BN and remain independent

The way I see it, all 3 options stinks in so far as Gerakan is concerned.

more at http://romerz.********.com/200...-lose.html
written by gotsms, September 29, 2008 03:57:03
Ah Koon, Ah Koon.

Didn't you hear the people's voices loud and clear? We don't give a sh1t who is gonna be the Gerakan chief/deputy chief in Penang back then and we all nearly pushed Gerakan into extinction.

You're all just going after your own rice bowls. Jumping into Pakatan. We do not need such low quality people. Maybe is not the party. The party can go extinct for all we care. We just want good people. You, not included. You had your time. And you had done/not done whatever you could when you were in power.

That is past. We look forward to future.
written by JUST, September 29, 2008 04:21:48
"You assist an evil system by obliging its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

Quote - Mahatma Gandhi
written by Bigjoe99, September 29, 2008 08:59:07
The UNSCRUPOLOUS GEEK don't get it whether Gerakan gets support or not is really out of their hands. Gerakan should be more concern that THE GEEK want to to President for 2 terms (he is only acting president). Leaving or not leaving BN is not even as important as throwing out the Geeks and his co-horts that lead the party.
written by joejoe, September 29, 2008 10:30:12
Ah Koon

What kind of PhD are you? You are asking the wrong question on whether Gerakan members want the party to stay.

You should ask the question, "What does Gerakan stand to gain by remaining in BN? And vice-versa, what does it stand to lose?"

If the gains are not personal in nature, then you will get the true answers. And then, based on that, you ask the question whether Gerakan should still stay? Not the other way round... Aiyo !
written by Frankie,BSD, September 29, 2008 15:57:07
Dr. Koh,'When we come out, will you support us vs the DAP or PKR', the unanswered question.
To be more down to earth,this is not a 'question' at all!
The question to ask "ourselves" ie GERAKAN is what is required of us,post BN, that can make us the Peoples' party again?
I have posted a comment earlier on 'the Iron Triangle' to put forth my 2-bits on Dr. Chin's 'comments'.
Let us open ourselves to the Rakyat's view- they have 'spoken' on 8/3/08 and again on 26/8/08. Frankly, they DO NOT WANT to listen anymore, they tired of our EXCUSES for not taking CARE of them when they are represented by us in the Government. The BN is NOT for GERAKAN with the baggage of UMNO( too repugnant and too many to mention) and the self-serving MIC ( eg. they have not serve the thousands of still stateless Indians by WORKING to address their woes but have 'suddenly' took up the HINDRAF issue.

The Rakyat wants a multi-racial or rather, a MALAYSIAN party to look after their aspirations and HOPE - let's work together with them to build up a NATION where everyone has a sense of 'belonging' and that everyone has a PLACE and a FUTURE!

GERAKAN cannot stand ALONE. Work with PAS, another credible organisation, to lead a new COALITION, together with like-minded Sabah and Sarawak based parties.They also want the same as equal partners of the Malaysian Nation.
The PR coalition as it stands is not my cup of tea - too much rhetorics and too 'unstable' to appeal to me, but in all fairness they have done a GREAT JOB to give the people a renewed Hope and an awareness that we need to change.
For that, all Malaysians MUST THANK RPK and Malaysia Today - they deserve a place in the annals of our History Books for all the DEEDS they have done for Malaysians and Malaysiakini for telling mostly truths against 'half-truths and 'blanks' by others.
Today, if an election is held, I forsee a landslide victory for Pakatan Rakyat and a total wash-out for Gerakan, MCA and MIC ( the on-going 'electoral process' could be a exercise in futility). However, the present "status quo" need not remain indefinitely - any CHANGE for the better will be well-received by the Rakyat, so Anything but Anything could HAPPEN before GE13 is called.
So, Good Luck to everybody, May the best SERVANT of the RAKYAT win!