Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The "Bangsawan" Candidate

The "Bangsawan" Candidate PDF Print
Sunday, 28 September 2008 17:24

As the turmoil of Malaysian politics continues unabated, it seems quite likely that the leadership of Umno (and possibly the Premiership) will fall to the hands of Najib Razak. What can we expect from a administration led by this son of our second Prime Minister, Tun Abdul Razak?

By KARIM RASLAN/ MySinchew

One important thing to note in any discussion of the directions of a Najib premiership is the fact that he, like his cousin Hishamuddin Hussein 'bangsawan' (or aristocratic) politicians. To outsiders it would appear that their rise through Umno has been charmed and unobstructed. The reality, however, is that their rise to power is due as much to their own deft management of party politics as it is to their familial connections and wealth.

At their best, they can be the most racially inclusive of figures: cosmopolitan, urbane and well-educated. On the other hand, the 'bangsawan' candidates can be deeply conservative and resistant, if not openly hostile to change. This may have to change however, for Najib's reluctance to endorse and promote the civil liberties reform agenda is actually undermining his own career.

"Pursuing these will be the first step of Barisan/Umno's comeback trail, while seeking status quo will be yet another nail in its coffin."

Consider the potential power bases his refusals are costing him. As an educated and modern politician, Najib's natural supporters should be the very middle-class Malaysians that are his fiercest critics. Many of them have not forgotten the contributions of his father, and some even project onto him the best qualities of Razak, forgetting in turn that even the elder statesman had his flaws.

As it were, Umno's utilization of racialist politics have sent countless of votes that ought to have gone their way to the other side. Educated, talented young Malays are avoiding politics like the plague, robbing the party of a talented cadre that can discard the outmoded ways and bring the party forward.

A lot of the blame and disappointment of this has been laid, unfairly or not, on the doors of 'bangsawan' politicians like Najib. One does, after all, have the right to expect more from such people. The principle of noblesse oblige means that great privilege comes with great duty and even greater standards.

This is not to say that Najib does not have strengths of his own, however. There's no doubt that Najib is one of our smartest politicians. He's extremely well-read and possesses a rigorous mind. His unflappable disposition is well suited to the demands of governance.

He presides over meetings effortlessly, can summarize discussions succinctly and understands the importance of prioritizing issues. In technocratic terms, he far outstrips his rivals both in and outside the Government. Although of course, critics again see this as a reflection of Umno's own lack of human capital rather than any intrinsic brilliance on his part.

We should not underestimate Najib's ability to spring surprises, however. His apology to the Indian community over the demolition of Hindu temples in Selangor (which sparked the Hindraf movement), was a break from the arrogance of Umno's leadership on this issue- although of course this did nothing to prevent that community's swing against Barisan.

One gets a sense that it is his innate conservatism that is preventing him from pushing forward much-needed reforms, reforms that will swing public support back to Umno/Barisan and the lack of which is costing the coalition. For all of his family connections and much-vaunted capabilities, neither of these will turn back the clock nor negate the need for substantive change in Malaysia.

Also, the controversies surrounding the Altantuya murder case are not going to go away and will blot the legitimacy of his potential term in office dearly. What Najib must come to terms with is the fact that the people of Malaysia, with sole exception of Umno loyalists look upon him with a jaundiced eye because they don't trust the institutions of state.

Championing the reform agenda, as well as accountability and transparency- what more now that he is Finance Minister, will assuage the many reservations against him. The lists of initiatives are obvious: cleaning up the courts, enhancing the professionalization the police force and freeing up the media and so much more.

Pursuing these will be the first step of Barisan/Umno's comeback trail, while seeking status quo will be yet another nail in its coffin. Najib and his advisors need to realize that the weakened institutions of state in Malaysia as well as their continued enervation only plays into the hands of Anwar Ibrahim and the Pakatan Rakyat.

It is pointless, as I said earlier, to view Najib as anything but an aristocratic politician. But adopting a people-centred approach to governance, if he is granted that mantle, will ensure that he will be a successful one.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by krising1, September 28, 2008 17:38:33
Sorry. Son of Razak does not have the character to be a good leader. How can anyone blame Abdullah for the bad showing when all along they give the impression that whatever they do is collective decision? They only want the credit but not the blame. Should they not all collectively accept blame and give like they expect Abdullah to do? The shows lack of character. He will not amount to anything. I see him as being an object of ridicule with the UMNOputras taking shots at him all the time. He will have to use C4 and ISA to silence his critics.
written by educationist, September 28, 2008 19:39:39
If Anwar cannot form a new PR federal government, it does looks like Najib will indeed fulfill the RAHMAN prophecy.
All I can hope for is that he will take stock of the message sent by 49% of the electorate on the March 8th elections and thus take suitable remedial measures.
We are as much Malaysians as the other 51% - it is that we do not agree with the way you UMNOputras have been running the country and are hoping for a new dawn.
Dare I hope as one of your first acts in office is to free RPK and all other ISA detainees.
Well, I can day dream, can't I?
written by Liberace, September 28, 2008 19:54:27
Karim Raslan once said that AAB would surprise us all and make a good prime minister. He couldn't be more wrong and I seriously cannot see how he can come to a conclusion that Najib has the potential to be a good one. He's prepared to overlook all of Najib's character questions. How can someone who cannot keep his personal life in order do any better for the nation? Karim may write well but his judgment is way off.
written by malaysian, September 28, 2008 20:38:26
Najib risked starting another May 13, when he threatened to spill Chinese blood with his Keris, just to win Malay votes!

It is disgusting for anyone with moral values to consider that this bastard has any leadership qualities at all!
written by varvoom, September 28, 2008 20:51:07
Educationist! You are not only day dreaming, you got all your info wrong, beside the wholesale electoral cheating ,the present gomen actually gather less than half the total votes, one day when the dust have settle some historian will dig up all the true electoral data and will shock everyone.
Turning back to this article about Najib, I think in effect he already am the de-facto leader of umno, watch his demeanour in the video posted by malaysiakini and YouTube entitled “AGM postponed, PM may quit in March”, this badawi is just a puppet on the string pull by najib and his umno warlords, it’s this coup reminisce of his father’s coup?, real dap hand in plunging the knife from behind, like father like son. My prediction is with the age of faster information transference and more learned rakyat, najib will not impose a state of emergency like what his father did, but instead will move on a pretentious magnanimous spin by releasing Raja Petra, the Hindraff 5 and some ISA detainees and take the glory that he has and will take ISA down. Don’t be fool again, it’s only a pawn move, whilst he and his cohorts consolidate their position, the tools of the entire gomen machinery will be unleash to subjugate the unsuspecting rakyat further. This is backdoor dictatorship, until the country is bled to death, dissent silent and kick out, they will not relent.
Malaysia Berhad will stay their Berhad as far as umno is concern.
The ball is in your court your Highness. Let Pakatan govern or hold another election but this time let in international monitors to make sure this election is not only free but FAIR! Hidup Rakyat! Daulat Tuanku!
written by Oyster, September 28, 2008 23:36:36
"It is pointless, .... to view Najib as anything but an aristocratic politician."-???!!!!! WTF!
IMHO it is pointless to think of Najis as anything but a turd that refuses to be flushed down the toilet.

written by EYFF, September 29, 2008 00:22:12
You must be Najib's publicist!

With so much murk sticking on him how is he going to come out smelling rose?

"You cannot make a silk purse out of a sow ear"!
written by SamYap, September 29, 2008 00:35:18
I think the actual term is BANGSAT candidate.
written by chastity thedamned, September 29, 2008 14:24:14
I just cannot imagine a leader that does not show any remorse for trainees who died under his NS Training regime. No compassion for parents who's beloved children during this training period. NS is his baby, he should have frozen it upon the first few cases of illness what more death!
written by sang0kancil, September 29, 2008 15:54:51
Kam Rashit!

Please stop be a government 'butt-*icking" la!

about your bangsawan candidates, I prefers to call them as a Butt-sawan Con-man'didates.

Podah!
written by tuankujuki, October 01, 2008 00:35:03
It was once written by RPK about this najis fellow, the bangsat candidate:
Lets send Altantuya murderers to HELLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!