Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Malaysia's Leadership A Trinket

Malaysia's Leadership A Trinket PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 28 September 2008 16:23

corridors

The latest UMNO shenanigans effectively reduced the party's (and thus the country's) leadership to a Sunday market trinket, to be haggled between a desperate discredited seller trying to get the best possible deal, and a bankrupt buyer who has only his incumbency to offer as currency.

M. Bakri Musa

Tengku Razaleigh, in referring to the tussle between Abdullah Badawi and Najib Razak, said, "… [W]e are embarrassed at the sight of two grown men playing this endless children's game of 'yours and mine' with the most important responsibility in the land, oblivious of the law, oblivious to the damage they are doing to the nation." The Prince's observation on the damage wrecked on Malaysia is spot on, declaring that Malaysia had been reduced to a banana republic and a laughing stock

What Abdullah and Najib do not realize is that the value of the trinket they are frantically bargaining over keeps dropping. While the two are consumed with striking a deal between them, they fail to notice that Anwar Ibrahim is on the sideline, ready and willing to take over, thus effectively reducing the two protagonists and their trinket to irrelevance.

Meanwhile the important business of running the country is neglected. They have been consumed with lobbying their followers, as well as engaging in hours of "four eyes only" meetings, haggling over when, how, and at what price the trinket would be handed over. They are oblivious to the nation's compounding problems, from the massive public health hazard of contaminated milk products imported from China to the American credit crunch that will soon spread around the world.

It is time to make these two characters irrelevant. It is time to let this desperate drowning duo strangle each other and sink to the bottom of the cesspool they have created for themselves.

Our priority is to make sure that they do not drag the nation down with them. This responsibility falls heavily on those leaders of the opposition, in particular Anwar Ibrahim. He has to be ready to take over and make the necessary preparations now, especially with regards to policies and personnel.

The Price Keeps Dropping

Right after the March 8, 2008 electoral debacle, Abdullah declared that he still had the people's trust. Then with confidence borne out of ignorance a la the village idiot, he asserted that he would serve his full second term. He even intimated that he might lead his coalition to its third electoral victory in 2013!

Such detachment from reality! It was merely out of courtesy (that is the trademark of our culture), and respect for the highest office of the land that Abdullah was not laughed off the stage. Unfortunately he mistook that as acceptance, if not rousing endorsement, aided by his cronies, advisers, and family members feeding his fantasy. The world knew better.

On the surface Abdullah did seem to have a mandate. After all, his coalition secured a comfortable though not the usual two-third majority in Parliament. On closer scrutiny however, his Barisan coalition barely scrapped through the popular vote, while many of the seats won were only with the slimmest of majority. That election also saw five states, including some of the most developed, repudiating Abdullah's leadership.

When the rumblings of discontent over his leadership became louder, especially after his coalition's thumping at the Permatang Pauh by-election, Abdullah was forced to lower his bid, but just a tad. He now thought he could satisfy his detractors by agreeing to hand over power by June 2010. He set it far enough ahead such that should circumstances shift, he could conveniently change his mind. Abdullah was counting that people would not see through his not-so-sly scheming.

Again, he misjudged the public, and his party's mood.Following a ruckus September 2008 UMNO Supreme Council meeting in which a few finally caught on to the reality and spoke up, albeit tentatively and a little belatedly, Abdullah lowered further his asking price. Now he did not rule out on an earlier transfer, clarifying that the June 2010 date was meant to be the latest when he would quit.

That pacified the dissidents, including the outspoken Muhyiddin Yassin and the hitherto "Iron Lady" Rafidah Aziz. They were an easily-mollified bunch.

Then following the gathering of his clan, and undoubtedly convinced once again by them, Abdullah backtracked. They prevailed upon him that his leadership was worth more and that he should hold out for a better price. That triggered yet another volley of dissatisfaction.

At a special meeting of the Supreme Council last week, presumably to discuss specifically the leadership transition, Abdullah was given an ultimatum. He must decide by October 9, 2008 on whether to defend his leadership. The alternative presumably would be to quit.

To an average observer with a modicum of commonsense, that was just another nice way for the council to say, in the grand Asian tradition of "saving face," that it no longer had confidence in Abdullah. Abdullah however is thick-skulled and a tad slow on the uptake. Besides, another round of meetings with his clan and they would convince him that indeed was not the intent of the council. "Flip-flop" Abdullah listens to whoever has his ear last.

More to the point, that council's decision was meaningless. If Abdullah were to decide not to defend his position at the now-postponed UMNO convention, the country would still be faced with a leadership crisis and uncertainty for the next six months. Everyone would be consumed with positioning themselves. No effective government work would be done as every UMNO politician would be busy politicking.

On the other hand, if he decided to cling on, it would still create a leadership uncertainty, and there would still be heavy intrigue and campaigning. Nothing would have changed. Our nation's business would still be unattended.

Abdullah has again abused our traditional Malay culture of halus, the subtle way. The gullible Muhyiddin went so far as to describe Abdullah's latest "decision" as "magnanimous!" No word from the "Iron Lady." As I said, they are easily satisfied. I wonder how long before UMNO Supreme Council members realize that they had once again been had by him.

As for Najib, he is burdened with his own considerable baggage. He would like that trinket be handed over to him as if it were his due, and without contest, all in the name of party unity of course. Contest means having to scrutinize his record, which is not pretty. In fact it is sordid.

If only there were some jantans in UMNO Supreme Council, they would have long ago given Abdullah an ultimatum. Resign or we push for a "no confidence" vote! That is the only language Abdullah understands: direct and brutal. There cannot be any subtlety or he will pretend to miss it.

It does not take a jantan to do that, only some responsible adults concerned about the lack of leadership and the country being left adrift. Absent that, rest assured that come October 9, Abdullah will again waffle, and UMNO Supreme Council will have to find yet another face-saving device to spare some modicum of respect to someone who clearly no longer deserves any.

I could not care less about those UMNO Supreme Council members except that they are also the leaders of our country. That is the scary part. If they cannot stand up to a limp Abdullah Badawi, how can we expect them to face up to a President Bush, China's Hu, or even Singapore's Lee. That is what terrifies the heck out of me, as it should all Malaysians.

Meanwhile Malaysians are reduced to watching the bizarre haggling over an increasingly worthless trinket between their two top but desperate leaders. We all should be embarrassed by that, not just Tengku Razaleigh.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, September 28, 2008 16:37:36
Well said. Bravo. When Pak Lah comes to make his announcement, it will be a surprise to Najib as well as the Supreme Council. This farcical private affair is fast becoming a comedy in the making.

Razaleigh and Anwar both can turn the tables on Najib, if not Pak Lah in the near future. While Najib claims this recent arrangement is the voice of the Umno grassroots, Razaleigh claims that the grassroots will reject it. Just who is speaking for the grassroots? In fact, in the private affair between Pak Lah and Najib and the Supreme Council, there is no grassroots. And do they care?

They are playing with the PM position and this is the PM for all Malaysians. Najib may not get to inherit the PM position as he so wish.

http://proud2bmalaysian.wordpr...nst-najib/
agree 196
written by ahmadneil, September 28, 2008 17:08:52
Najis will fall at the steps before gets to the throne.
agree 141
written by Limang, September 28, 2008 17:23:00
Change is long overdue! It is time to get rid of these spoiled brats and bring in matured men who are visionary, open-minded, progressive, benevolent, God-fearing and competent.

Common, my fellow-Malaysins, spread the word and get ready - come next election, let's be united in only one mission

And it is the only way to free RPK - othersie he will be there for good as long as UMNO is in power as ther's no way they can "rehabilitate" him !
agree 117
written by sydput, September 28, 2008 17:25:56
It is obvious that badawi's first wife had an influence to his reform pledge. ever since she passed away, badawi has turned into another monster.
Let UMNO members decide freely on who the president and deputy should be.Both the PM and DPM are unqualified.
written by educationist, September 28, 2008 17:29:43
Perhaps Badawi will as yet leave office with some saving grace via the announcement he's supposed to make before Oct. 9th.
Otherwise what can we say -those of use who voted for change , for the PR on March 8th.
We have tried, we have fought the good fight but we have come up sgort.
But another 4 years will pass quickly, maybe just maybe if the PR states can show good examples of governance ,transparent and accountability enough Malaysians will vote PR in the next elections to throw out the UMNOputras.
written by uxzee, September 28, 2008 17:41:21
AAB is a lallang who depends on his family for decisions esp KJ. The end of KJ if Najib takes over.

I cannot imagine that all this haggling by UMNO to topple a weak leader like AAB is only for them to get a worse PM - Najib.
written by krising1, September 28, 2008 17:42:05
The UMNOputras claim that this is the Malay way of problem solving. It is infact the vultures' way of fighting over the spolis.
written by chezzter, September 28, 2008 17:42:46
Remember that not so long ago before 8th March 2008 in Penang, the ruling party were arrogantly touting candidates as CM as if the position is 100% theirs for taking. (or they thought it is their birthright?) Unfortunately for them, they were in for a hard shock.

Would the rakyat hope for something similar happening?
written by Fuminari, September 28, 2008 17:48:13
well,it fits similarly well into that 'ali baba n the forty thieves' script;
one for u n two for me,as a matter of fact....this is umno be end!!
written by cruzeiro, September 28, 2008 17:49:41
There are no fighters left in Umno.
They have all been washed out by Mahathir himself (he was a hard-core "backstreet" fighter, but).

What he left behind are a bunch of dimwits, good for hawking at pasar malams.

I can imagine these dimwits hawking their illegal wares (political appointments/ portfolios/ parliamentary seats) like pirated VCDs, while Najis negotiates over the trophy in the back room.

In the sidelines AI is waiting to snare everything as an enforcer ....

To those who're disappointed with AI, take a break and think before you comment - it was indeed wise of him to exercise caution when he deals with the pirates.

Remember that they wait for an excuse to suspend parliament and declare emergency, should these cheapsale (Umno handover) fail to materialize ....

Malaysia is quick heading towards becoming a pariah 'banana republic' state, under these pirates.
Kuli (Mahathir, too) is simply crying on the sidelines becos of the lost opportunities.

Thanks to Mahathir for every thing .....
written by cruzeiro, September 28, 2008 17:50:36
I wonder if someone can come up with a caricature on this pasar malam scene ...
written by clarity, September 28, 2008 17:53:02
M. Musa Bakri, you are almost as goog as RPK. Direct and no holds barred except you forgot to elaborate on one point. You forgot to mention the running dog lap'best partner' feeding AAB's ego and no other than ong ka chuan. Important decisions are made without consulting the running dog and he's got the nerve to claim a best partner. Some people got no shame!
written by Lim Lim, September 28, 2008 18:26:17
umno be end is practising false democracy,so how can one expects malaysia to be genuinely democratic??in real,malaysian are still being colonised;the difference is jus the mode!
written by apa jadi, September 28, 2008 19:11:35
Well written Bakri! Good comments by Ku Li too, if it is not that he was left out in the bargain hunt.

Imagine a holy man and a murderer on a sink ship. Instead of saving themselves and others on the ship, they kept on fighting each other. To the amazement of others, the holy man said, I would like to take control of the cannon. The murder on the other hand wanted the chest filled with gold coins. While the rest on the ship watch aghast on the squabble.
written by Saint, September 28, 2008 19:47:32
But what can we do?
March ISA
Talk ISA
Write ISA
UMNO's democracy is ruled by ISA
Only those outside Malaysia can do something without fear of ISA.
written by Commonsenses, September 28, 2008 20:49:56
well said M. Bakri Musa. hope u can hold the fort when RPK is being detained at the pleasure of the Agong.
written by SamSan, September 28, 2008 20:58:46
I suggest that Che Det take back control of UMNO and set correct all his past misdeeds and put back UMNO to its glorious days of our Beloved Bapa Merdeka Tunku Abdul Rahman.
disagree 75
written by BennyG, September 28, 2008 23:42:33
Najis balls are still in KJ's hands.

It just occurred to me why Bodowi wants the Defence ministry. So that Rosmah could no longer walk into an Army camp & used C4 on KJ & all the relevant parties.
written by lampard, September 29, 2008 10:57:27
If granted 1 wish for the country, I would grant my wish that Malaysia be govern by DAP under the stewardship of YB LIm Guan Eng. At least we will see better livelihood to all rakyat. Just look at how efficient Penang is run now. I wonder when these 2 men, PM & DPM will ever realise that they DO NOT own the country but merely voted in by a simple majority to properly run the country.
written by Richard Lo, September 29, 2008 11:38:29
Unfortunately UMNO Supreme Council is presided over by a bunch of wimp and pea-brains. And the most unfortunate thing for this country the same group of goons are the leaders of this country. Their mentality is not "ask not what the country can do for you but what you can do for the country." UMNO thinks that it is their birth right to govern this country. May I ask where in the Federal Constitution that explicitly states that UMNO or BN must govern this country? The last I checked - NONE!

So save yourself from the embarrassment from being kicked out of office and just let someone who is competent to govern the country.

Totally agree with the author that the PM and DPM are just acting like little boys. Ssshh...bunch of wimps!!!
written by remielfl, September 29, 2008 14:54:33
May I add my comments at http://malaysianreturns.blogspot.com/?
written by bebas2lawat, September 29, 2008 15:50:48
Everyone says that they have the rakyat at heart and will do whatever is best for the rakyat. Well we have seen what they are doing and all i can say is Time to get out!! Call for a general election and see what the rakyat really wants. smilies/angry.gif
written by echos, September 29, 2008 15:56:27
anybody ever wonder why they took teresa kok n also the journalist?
just to calm u down cos their target is rpk!
when ppl are just about to fight the isa hard, they release these few ppl to calm u down but their mission has accomplished.
rpk is still inside and nobody makes a noise already.. they're happy cos they thought they've won the fight, teresa and the journalist were released.
written by DreamLady, September 30, 2008 00:57:43
I have a question:

The whole country is screaming with their might to exert the cries of injustice and frustration. Could the Royal Highnesses ever hear the thunderous commotion that errupts beyond the gilded gates of theirs ?

Sheeeeeeeeeeee...shee...........be quiet, they are all sleeping soundly.................

written by bexe, October 01, 2008 00:23:45
You hit the nail on the head
We are suffering because we lack proper leadership.
Not one person in UMNO has any leadership. Badawi couldn't organize a "piss-up in a brewery" as they say. He is unbelievably incompetent to a point of total embarrassment. Sarah Palin would be superior to this dumbkorf!
We seriously need to ditch them for a better chance at surviving the many challenges we have facing us, the Financial Meltdown being prime.
written by malaysiaunited, October 02, 2008 11:09:36
Well what's the alternative? So far the five states PR is ruling, nothing great or promise of great things to come is evident. So I suggest, focus on governing, developing, and alievating the peoples hardship so that these states are an example to others. This may help the rakyat to decide better in the next election!
written by nangkarajah, October 02, 2008 14:30:42
The trouble with AAB is that he still adheres to his religious upbringing (remember he's a graduate of Al-Azhar Cairo University and he was previously Ustaz like his Arab father). He thinks that to be a true Muslim one must work for the UMMAH. Working for the UMMAH means a leader must FORGIVE if he can, among many other things. What more if he has to forgive someone who is a RAKAN SERPERJUANGAN and a party-warlord and who most probably dares to point his wagging fingers at him and shouts "Kalau you ambil tindakan atas saya, saya akan dedahkan kesalahan banyak orang lain dan saya tak support you lagi di Majlis Tertinggi". We all know for a fact that even CUEPACS can force his hand in extending retire-age and many many other demands which he gave in to. Najib we must remember is of Bugis heritage-----brave and assertive as opposed to the TIMID nature of AAB. At this moment in time there are only TWO, yes 2, political powerhouses which can counter the Najib faction----(1)the Sarawak/Sabah faction under Taib/Musa with their combined precious 58 ELITE commandos in Parliament now calling the shots and (2)the Pakatan Rakyat force under Anwar Ibrahim.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 02, 2008 14:39:59
Right after the March 8, 2008 electoral debacle, Abdullah declared that he still had the people's trust. Then with confidence borne out of ignorance a la the village idiot, he asserted that he would serve his full second term. He even intimated that he might lead his coalition to its third electoral victory in 2013!
If only there were some jantans in UMNO Supreme Council, they would have long ago given Abdullah an ultimatum. Resign or we push for a "no confidence" vote!

WOW! MUST BE A REAL "WET" DREAM AND THE MOTHER OF ALL ORGASMS!.
WE SEE ONLY COWARDS AND WHIMPS INTERESTED ONLY IN THE CREAM PIE. THEY EITHER HV VERY SMALL "BIJI" OR LANSUNG TadA BOLA. AS FOR THE TUSSLE BETWEEN THE PM AND HIS DPM, BOTH PEGANG EACH OTHERS' BOLA SO "KUAT", THEY CAN EXPLODE ANYTIME NOW....
written by JohnQ, October 04, 2008 16:45:40
the tyrants think that he is not cunning enough, that is why they want a more cunning one to lead them. THAT IS TERRIBLY Scary and sad for the poor malaysian.

DSAI, PLEASE STOP THIS INHUMAN PERIOD OF OUR HISTORY.
written by MLC, October 06, 2008 17:45:13
My Successor!

written by CJ7, October 06, 2008 18:44:04
ENUF WRITING, ONI Bad NEWS EVERYDAY...THIS SUE THAT, THAT SUE THIS...APPARENTLY ALL HAS NO RESULT...WAT ARE WE FIGHTING FOR??? smilies/cry.gif
written by Australian Malaysian, October 06, 2008 22:34:32
"EVERYTHING RISES & FALLS ON LEadERSHIP"

Quote by John Maxwell

Sad to say that things have obviously fallen & it will continue that way until change takes place...CHANGE THE PRIME MINISTER, GET RID OF HIM & HIS DEPUTY!! This is so flipping obvious. There is an extremely qualified man of honesty, integrity, courage & balls waiting to take us to another level & to take us out this rut we're in!

Long live DSAI & PLEASE RELEASE RPK NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by nangkarajah, October 09, 2008 12:53:28
Remember or not the time when DSAI (egged-on no doubt by impatient supporters eager to savour the fruits of power) tried to usurp from M.M.K? What followed? Sodomy No. 1, black-eye, ISA, corruption-charge, ten precious years wasted in prison, etc.etc.etc. This time round, it was a strike when the iron is hot.