Will UPKO do a 'SAPP'? PDF Print
Sunday, 28 September 2008 14:28

When Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president Datuk Yong Teck Lee announced the party’s decision to leave the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition on Sept 17, it did not surprise many people as it was expected.

This was because three months earlier, SAPP had given some indication of its intentions.

But when United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) yesterday threatened to review its position in Barisan Nasional, it came as a shock; as it was reminiscent of SAPP’s political move.

Upko is the second BN component party in Sabah to make a “strong statement” against BN after SAPP.

While SAPP unveiled Sabah-related issues as its political “weapon”, Upko appeared to be unhappy with the way the National Registration Department (NRD) handled the plight of 78-year-old Yong Lee Hua, a Sino-Kadazan, who was issued a red identiy card (IC) with the status of a permanent resident when she went to replace her blue IC that she lost in a supermarket in Penampang last year.

Surprised by the downgrading, Upko deputy president Datuk Wilfred Bumburing was quoted as saying yesterday that taking away the citizenship of a locally-born Bumiputera and forcing the person to take permanent resident status was a shocking display of incompetence from a department rigged with controversies, including dubious ICs issued to illegal immigrants via false Statutory Declarations.

“This action by the NRD infringes the basic rights of Malaysians in Sabah and if it is not rectified, Upko must seriously review its position in Barisan,” said Bumburing, who is member of Parliment for Tuaran.

So will Upko follow SAPP because of its dissatisfaction with the BN? A local political analyst, Iskandar Martin Gayo, believed that Upko may have no plans to pull out of BN for now although the Sabah-based party had been quite vocal of late in airing the grouses and grievances of the people of Sabah.

“I think what Upko wants is for the government to rectify the ’mistake’ of a federal government department and it’s not an ultimatum. There is nothing wrong with it. After all what Upko is fighting for is for the good of the local people in Sabah.

“It’s already an open secret that Sabah is inundated with illegal immigrants and some of them have even managed to acquire the MyKad through dubious means, which ultimately qualifies for citizenship.

“How can these people get citizenship so easily when our own people are struggling to get it?” he asked.

He urged the federal government to let Sabahans lead the NRD and Immigration Department in Sabah as they would be more familiar with problems affecting the local population.

Iskandar said the state government under Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman had been working hard, together with the federal government, to tackle the problem of illegal immigrants.

The issue of illegal immigrants, he said, should not arise anymore as the state and federal governments were serious about solving it once and for all by launching a massive operation to flush out illegals in Sabah recently.

“Recent operations had resulted in thousands of illegal immigrants being sent back to their country of origin. The local people should give the government a chance to complete this gigantic task; all this cannot be accomplished overnight,” he said.

Iskandar hoped the case involving Yong Lee Hua highlighted by Upko was an isolated one and without necessitating it having to think about its position in BN.

He said even Upko president and Penampang MP Tan Sri Bernard Dompok had previously denied that the party would leave BN.

Instead, Upko leaders would remain loyal to BN chairman and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, he said.

Upko has four MPs — Dompok, Bumburing, Datuk Dr Marcus Majigoh (Putatan) and Datuk Siringan Gubat (Ranau).

- BERNAMA

written by tathsing, September 28, 2008 14:37:53
NO WAY UPKO will do a SAPP!

They will only pull out once BN collaspe. If they had been risk takers they would have quit long time ago. BN is using a divide and rule formula, if UPKO goes there is always PBS. I think its the same with the other components in BN.

Actually, BN would be stronger without UMNO.
written by peace lover, September 28, 2008 14:46:24
Yes, I agree with you, tathsing. NO NO... UPKO won't do it.

They (those MPs), especially that Dompok guy, have so much (personal gain, I mean) to lose if UPKO is to pull out.
written by Uncorruptible, September 28, 2008 14:50:21
umno has no love for Sabah or Sabahans. Ditto for Sarawak.
umno only seeks to plunder the wealth of Malaysia.
umno is EVIL in the worst sense of the word.
It is worse than the devils.
You have been brought up in the culture of corruption.
Do you love your State and the suffering people more than yourself?
Are you true to your religion?
Are you prepared to give up corruption once and for all ?
Stop sitting on the fence to join whichever side wins !
You have live a life of sin with umno !
Just do what is right now. Discard the EVIL umno for the sake of your children and Malaysia.
Do it right and we will soon have a better Malaysia to live in.
written by apanama, September 28, 2008 17:26:34
bernard dompok is a shame and embarrassment to kadazandusun and sabahans.
do the right thing, check your conscience and pray to God.
written by Limang, September 28, 2008 17:32:12
Sit, Bum, sit, Dom, sit, Marc, sit, Sirin, sit, boys! Good dogs. Now roll over, boys. Good dogs. Now come here and lick my ass! Good boys! Let's do it again until you perfect my command. . . .sit, boys, sit. . . . .
written by Melly, September 28, 2008 17:35:16
What I would like to know is, how is it possible for thousands of illegals to roam freely in Sabah, albeit for so long? What have the authorities responsible been doing? All the Ministers concerned, what have you guys been doing? How does one justify the sovereignty of Malaysia in the International arena? Our leaders talk about accountability, what accountability? This is a mother of all,' What The?'. smilies/cry.gif
written by junjun40, September 28, 2008 21:37:31
Melly,

Didn't you heard of Project IC, widely reported to be initiated by TDM administration.

The problem with this country is they would rather bring in uneducated labourers hard core poor than people with brains to help build this country.

How sad that is.
written by born2reign, September 29, 2008 00:15:58
Melly,
Who do you think has been voting for UMNO is Sabah and Sarawak? Their Indon/Muslims with Mykad have been giving them win after win all these years. Do you think UMNO cares about the Kadazans? UMNO cares about crony contracts and UMNO as ruling party forever.

Anyone who highlights injustice will be sent to ISA or their safety.
written by Hakim Joe, September 29, 2008 02:46:48
Hey all you Malaysian brothers living on the other side of the divide. Wake up,man! You know that UMNO is cheating you fellas left, right and centre but yet you ppl vote those goons in everytime. What's wrong with you guys? You say you want change and an equal slice of the pie. PR is giving it to you. What else do you want? You can't just whinge and complain and groan about the misdeeds UMNO has done you by. You ppl have to do something as well. Do what? Get rid of those goons and vote PR in.
Simple, isn't it???

written by Zorro, September 29, 2008 17:50:26
Under Tun mahathir, all the sabah BN components ;PBS, UPKO, PBRS, SAPP were nose-tied because Tun mahathir is a strong character and earned the respect(or i would say fear)of the majority of malaysia political leaders.

Under Pak Lah, his weak leadership style(out of control leadership, self contradictory statements, lame explanations and ignorant to the plight of the rakyat)has compounded the effect of the "People's Power" resulting in the catastrophic 13 march 08 election result.

Malaysians, especially our semenanjung countrymen has shown that "People's Power" is real and gave BN a whack in the head by delivering 5 states to the Pakatan Rakyat.

And look at BN now, in disarray and the BN crew even claiming that the captain is not fit to navigate the ship.

KDMs, we are now aware of the people's power, before i thought it will be useless to fight against BN because they had so much grip on our leaders and controls our funds, and because we are just so disunited with so many communal and multiracial parties, but now with the core of Malaysia government (BN) been shaken, i think there is hope, thanks to Pakatan Rakyat.

And hope not to rely on our present KDM political leaders, they have too much bad history amongst them that they can't work together to fight for the rights of the indegenous people, the real bumiputra of Sabah.

UPKO is at least making noise and so is SAPP, PBRS is just a party fighting for its survival and PBS is just scared that making more noise will get them back into political wilderness..9 years of non-participation in the state economic pie has dried their leaders coffers and they wouldn't want to return to those times.

So what do we, the common KDMs should do?

We threaten our current political leaders, we threaten them that if our rights are not looked after, if they dont get their acts right starting now, we will vote them out the next election.

Spread the words to your relatives and friends. Bombard PBS, SAPP, UPKO & PBRS with questions on why cant they work together if their aim is to look after the KDMs??? Ask them why do we need 4 parties when KDM population is only 700,000 out of 22 Million Malaysian??? Ask them, just ask them what lies for KDM in the future....

It's time to rock the KDM leaders.