Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Razaleigh to go for No. 1

Razaleigh to go for No. 1 PDF Print
Saturday, 27 September 2008 17:47
By Debra Chong

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 27 — Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah said today he will contest the Umno presidency even if Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi decides against defending his post.

Tengku Razaleigh has urged Umno members to reject the power transition plan. — Picture by Choo Choy May

He also spoke out against the postponement of the party polls, and urged members to push for the reinstatement of December as the date of the annual general assembly.

Tengku Razaleigh also called on Umno grassroots to reject the latest transition of power plan involving Abdullah and party deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

"I reject this transition of power because it is extra-constitutional," the veteran Umno member told reporters at his home here.

He criticised the transition plan for being unethical as "it is not stated within the party's constitution".

"This is not a game, because the leadership of Umno is also the leadership of the country.

"We have to be more responsible than that. Don't allow people to laugh at us!" he said, noting that the flip-flop political agreement between Abdullah and Najib created great confusion among not only party members but among ordinary Malaysians as well and had turrned the whole country into an international laughing stock.

At the Umno supreme council meeting yesterday, Abdullah and Najib announced the decision to postpone the party's annual general assembly until next March to facilitate an earlier transition of power.

But Tengku Razaleigh said that if they both wanted a transition of power to happen, they should follow the party's code of ethics by holding an election to let the members decide.

"Why are we dilly-dallying?" he asked.

Tengku Razaleigh, or Ku Li as he is affectionately called, has offered himself to be a candidate for the Umno presidency.

He said he was confident of securing enough nominations from the divisions to be able to contest the top party post.

"That's why I am offering myself," he said.

'I'm praying very hard I'll get 140. Then there'll be no opposition," he quipped.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by Fuminari, September 27, 2008 18:09:28
""'I'm praying very hard I'll get 140. Then there'll be no opposition," he quipped""
razaleigh,for umno it is a very simple formulalah;lets get started to prepare many bags n throwing the 'notes' around n promises on projects... you would get to 140 in no time!!
written by Kunta Kinte, September 27, 2008 18:23:33
Ku Li, looks like you are bleeding because nobody is listening to you. All you UMNO people care nothing about how the Rakyat's suffering dealing with these difficult times. Just Free our RPK for a start and chase after your greedy ambitions.
written by ahmadneil, September 27, 2008 19:06:15
Ku Li, you are too old for this job.We need someone more experience, energetic,honest and most of all not a racist, who can chart the course for a new malaysia and treat all its citizen fairly as malaysian.
written by Marcus, September 27, 2008 19:21:52
i will vote for Ku Li as PM since Anwar is uncertain to take over.
Ku Li is the best choice given Badawi Najib.
In fact ku li could be UMNO's saviour for the next GENERAL ELECTION if he is PM.
Najib? Yet to be seen how he will do as a PM , to be fair.
Badawi = umno graveyard.
written by ahmadneil, September 27, 2008 19:57:48
Can the authority in Kamunting install Astro for RPK and give him a Acer laptop.Send the bill to me please.Tomorrow is F1 race day and RPK can watch it live and for the laptop he can help malaysian to solve problems by writing 'DEAR PETE'.
written by Hitenwolf, September 27, 2008 20:15:13
Between Kuli and Najib, the former will make a better PM than the latter. Ku Li is untainted and he is already a multi-millionaire before assuming the premiership whereas Najib is riddled with controversies and how can Malaysia have such a scandalous man helming the nation.

Ku Li is very experienced, has been a former finance minister and has been associated with Malaysian poilitics for several decades. So he is no inferior to Najib. In comparison, Najib was an utter failure in the Ministry of Defence and during his deputy premiership, the rakyat saw nothing constructive and innovative in taking Malaysia forward politically and economically. His track record isn't anything to shout about.

Will UMNO members and delegates rise to reality and face the truth rather than to allow themselves to be baited by the vicious lure of money politics. Refrain from being a part of decadent culture and remember, you are the only people who can rid the corrupt from ruling the country.
written by omarkhayyam, September 27, 2008 20:38:19
dear Ku Li,

by issuing press statement saja tak cukop smilies/smiley.gif

Dengan UMNoo kena issue Ringgit Malaysia baru mereka dengar

so i dun think u stand a chance ... unless u join Malaysian together with PR

written by varvoom, September 27, 2008 21:26:34
Watch this video, “AGM postponed, PM may quit in March”,
On Malaysiakini or youtube and make up your mind whether this sleepy head PM have anymore clout. He’s now a puppet on a string pull by the 2 biggest warlord of najib and Tengku Adnan Mansor, watch the demeanour of tengku adnan in ending the interview, isn’t it breaking feudalistic decorum by standing up first and blatantly ending the interview before one supposedly chief?
After this weekend of pondering what had really happened, this badawi will realised that he is just a clown being slap around by powerful demons he have no control of and will decide that it’s time to end further embarrassment by going on “gardening” leave by Monday i: e after making sure all his loots are all safely transferred, guarantee (what guarantee? It’s not worth the paper it’s written on) secured that there will be no witch hunt on his trail of abuses, off he goes then to his yacht berth at Perth. Khairy will be shitting in his pants now crying out loud “please don’t leave me here!”
Well, the people will now see how big a balls you have Khairy, after all as you had reminded us before, you were the chosen one, you are now chosen to be the rearguard pawn to fire fight as your father-in-law retreat to safe heaven, hope your enemies will hang you, quarter you and sent your despicable parts to the four cornered of this blessed land!

Kuli give up lah, there is no way you will ever get umno to back you, the cesspool is too deep with shit! If you really want to make a legacy for yourself, join Pakatan
written by sjs, September 27, 2008 22:03:54
super admin,

We are not able to post pictures of all the corrupt individuals and other relevant pictures. Please teach us on this!
written by Kyle, September 27, 2008 22:04:24
Compared to Abdullah, Najib and Mahathir,
I take Razaleigh anytime.

But of course I prefer to see UMNO in particular and BN, not the least,
to take a permanent rest.

It's time for a new govt.
It's DSAI for PM !
written by sjs, September 27, 2008 22:44:33
The following is a newspaper report on how one bent Malaysian politician has enjoyed his share of the spoils from rampant corruption in Malaysia which has destroyed the credibility of the judiciary, the Police and every other part of the current establishment.

Malaysian Prime Minister here to see his boat

17 Dec 2006

Malaysian Prime Minister, Abdullah Ahmed Badawi arrived in Bodrum yesterday to see his boat which he ordered four months ago. Badawi arrived in Bodrum at 1.30 am with a private jet that belongs to Malaysia Airlines.

The head official of Milas, Bahattin Atci, and Malaysian businessman Ananda Krishnan, who is the sixth richest man in Asia, welcomed Badawi. Kamil Sezgun, who is the director of Kobra Yachting and Tourism Ltd Co, was also present.
Badawi and his friend Krishnan went to Gokova for fishing with a luxury motor yacht belonging to Kremala Holding, which was brought over here from Malta. The luxury yacht “Obsessions” is 40-meter long, made in the Netherlands and the captain of the yacht is Cavit Kabak. The yacht was anchored in Milta Marina.
Badawi said he loves Bodrum and south Aegean and the Mediterranean so much. It’s a great pleasure for him to be here fishing and resting on the line (horizon) that connects blue and green (ocean and land).

The boat will cost 8 million dollars

The boat is made of Akaju, Maun, Sipo and Brimanya’s tree which is imported from South Africa. It is expected to be completed in 16 months. Some 60 people are involved in the construction of the boat. The boat will be delivered after 12 months (since he ordered it four months ago). The capacity of the boat is for 14 people and the length is 44 meters. The boat will cost 8 million US dollars.

Perhaps you may want to view one of the opulence of Abdullah by going to this website

http://royaldutchshellplc.com/...-malaysia/
written by Daryl, September 27, 2008 23:50:07
Ku Li
Why stay when you can do better outside of UMNO. UMNO is not the only name that can protect rakyat. It is the person and group of people supporting you. I am pretty sure you are welcome in PR. There are two choices rakyat or UMNO. Please make the right choice.
written by StevenO, September 28, 2008 00:20:55
Our Boat....It's our money!!

written by Sam W, September 28, 2008 00:24:22
Ku Li and Mahatir should check into a geriatric home and spend the rest of their years playing checkers together. Or they could remake the movie "Two Grumpy Old Men". They had their moments and now it's over. Just limp off into the sunset and fade away.
written by sjs, September 28, 2008 00:33:20
steveO,

Thanks for displaying the pictures for us.

Can someone explain to us how to display those pictures.

We have hundreds of pictures on other issues.

Thanks
written by StevenO, September 28, 2008 00:56:22
Hi sjs,

Right ***** on any picture then copy the "Url address", looks something like this

"http://bp3.blogger.com/_4ejhFNJWkUE/Rb7xNT0-dOI/AAAAAAAAEEI/MN3Geri-ttM/s320/COBRA KING2.jpeg"

Next step, ***** on the small icon with the picture frame above the comment box....You will get this...""

Insert the pic address in between the two 's then you are done.
written by doggone, September 28, 2008 03:35:02
written by A MI, September 28, 2008 08:01:50
Dear Superadmin/moderator.
I will understand if you delete this post (advance apologies to all for taking up bandwidth) but I am just curious if anyone knows what Ku Li's credentials are.

Isn't it time we get some qualified people to run this country? Also does any Malaysian leader's resume approximate the one of a certain Prime Minister's below.

First an unverified email forward gives the following information on some of our leaders' academic achievements , which in my opinion is nothing to shout about :

Educational qualification of some in Malaysia Cabinet

PM Abdullah bin Haji Ahmad Badawi University of Malaya - Bachelor of Arts Honours (1964)

Deputy PM Dato' Sri Najib Razak , University of Nottingham - Bachelor of Arts Honours (1974)

Minister of Home Affairs Syed Hamid Albar (can someone tell me his univeristy? )- Bachelor of Arts [ UITM ]

Muhyiddin Yassin (Education Unknown) [ Polytechnic Ungku Omar ]

Ministry of Domestic Trade - Shafie Apdal (Education Unknown) [ Form 5, Failed English ]

Hishammuddin Hussein (Education Unknown) [ Bachelor of Arts, Social Science ]

**That is why they are so desperate to get Khairy Jamaluddin up so fast, because he is from Oxford??? God knows how he got it !

MALAYSIAN LEADERS CAN U BEAT THIS RESUME

RESUME

EDUCATION /Qualification:

1950: Stood first in BA (Hons), Economics, Punjab University , Chandigarh ,
1952; Stood first in MA (Economics), Punjab University , Chandigarh ,
1954; Wright's Prize for dist in guished performance at St John's College , Cambridge ,
1955 and 1957; Wrenbury scholar, University of Cambridge ,
1957; DPhil ( Oxford ), DLitt (Honoris Causa); PhD thesis on India 's export competitiveness

OCCUPATION /Teaching Experience :

Professor (Senior lecturer, Economics, 1957-59;
Reader, Economics, 1959-63;
Professor, Economics, Punjab University , Chandigarh , 1963-65;
Professor,International Trade, Delhi School of Economics ,University of Delhi,1969-71 ;
Honorary professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University ,New Delhi,1976 and Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi ,1996 and Civil Servant

WORKING EXPEREIENCE removed because of length

PERSONAL DETAIL:

Name: Dr Manmohan Singh

DOB: September 26, 1932

Place of Birth: Gah ( West Punjab )

Father: S. Gurmukh Singh

Mother: Mrs Amrit Kaur

Married on: September 14, 1958

Wife: Mrs Gursharan Kaur

Children: Three daughters

Prime Minister of India seems to be the most qualified PM all over the world.
written by ladasiber, September 28, 2008 08:35:05
Way to go Kuli, you are also educated what. You pass from BIMB, BMF, Petronas, UMNO (Old), Semangat 46, now undergrad UMNO (New). Even Mahathir cannot beat that.
written by CPY, September 28, 2008 11:15:05
AI Ku Li. When u bcome President, UMNO sudah MAMPUS oh! smilies/wink.gif
written by sjs, September 28, 2008 13:19:25
stevenO,

When we ***** on the small picture icon what we see is the word (img) (/img). Not those things suggested by you. Could you assist?

Thanks
written by clarity, September 28, 2008 18:01:34
Marcus, You got a point. I am as desperate as you to see a change.
written by clarity, September 28, 2008 18:03:01
Marcus, I am as desperate as you to see a change. You got a point.
written by shahidan, September 29, 2008 03:57:50
Very rarely are we Malaysians given a clarion call for change in direction by conventional political leaders with such clarity as Ku Li does in his recent statement.

I believe Ku Li is best qualified among the present crop of political leaders to provide leadership to a rudderless ship, which is now floundering and drifting without direction, principally because he has the track record of having guided the economy into buoyant times in the past. He has also been instrumental in establishing the core financial institutions that constitute the national financial infrastructure.

I am also convinced he has no intention of using the high office of government to which he aspires for personal wealth accumulation or political aggrandisement.

He has also been known to be non-racial in his outlook, though acknowledging the need for affirmative action for the Malays. He has now argued for the need to widen the scope of affirmative action to include all our citizens regardless of ethnicity in the context of the new demographics he refers to in his speech. He is no free marketeer.

His greatest challenge will be to infuse a new culture into his party, as well as nationally, to curtail greed and the lust for power. The alternative to the current and ongoing culture of crass materialism, a byproduct of crony capitalism, is indeed realizable through a fair dose of good leadership, which leadership Ku Li is capable of providing with the backing of a wide core of like-minded reformers.

In the impending global economic slowdown, Malaysia needs a leadership that can stand up to the IMF/World Bank/WTO concocted solutions to the problems of the South aimed at fulfilling the agenda of US corporatocracy. In mounting his resistance to the predatory international financial institutions, he has a deep well of knowledge and experience of international economics from which to draw.

The principal international contradiction, carried over from the last millennium, still remains the struggle between empire and the South. Among all the present leadership contenders, the critical criteria for leadership ought to be whom amongst them is best equipped to defend our national sovereignty against the predatory powers. Forget Anwar. He fails miserably on this count. Who else have we got among the contenders?

Finally, Ku Li amongst the current contenders deserves to be supported to lead the country because he has shown the courage of his conviction by democratically articulating his views as to what needs to be done for the good of the national economy and the people even as it ruffled the feathers of the power holders.