Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow New poll shows Anwar will be better PM than Najib

New poll shows Anwar will be better PM than Najib PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 27 September 2008 11:08

By Debra Chong

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 27 — By a small margin, Malaysians think opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim would make a better prime minister compared with Datuk Seri Najib Razak, according to a survey conducted recently by the independent Merdeka Centre.

In the same survey, Malaysians also appear more divided than ever over their support for the country's political leadership.

There are also sharp differences in preferences between the different races, with a majority of non-Malays supporting Anwar, while more Malays preferred Najib.

Between Sept 11 and 22, Merdeka Centre carried out a leadership performance perception on a cross section of 1,002 people of voting age from the three main ethnic communities in the country.

Among the questions asked was: "Between Najib Razak and Anwar Ibrahim, who do you think makes a better prime minister?"

Najib garnered a 33.8 per cent average total support among the three major races. Anwar edged him by a margin of less than six per cent — he garnered an average total of 39.3 per cent.

The difference is more conspicuous when the show of support is broken down according to the ethnicity of those polled.

The split was apparent among racial lines, with Najib drawing as much as 47.3 per cent support from the Malay community. Anwar trailed with just 32.5 per cent.

The opposition leader gained greater support among non-Malays, receiving the support of 37.4 per cent of Chinese voters and a whopping 85 per cent from the Indians.

In comparison, Najib only won the approval of 18.4 per cent of Chinese voters and just five per cent of Indians thought he would make a better prime minister.

Of note was the high percentage of voters who remained non-commital. More than 40 per cent of Chinese voters polled expressed no preference.

Based on the poll results, Malay support for Najib is significantly stronger than that for Anwar.

Political analyst Tricia Yeoh says the party factor is a very strong featuring factor with the non-Malay communities.

"It is possible they view Najib as continuing to perpetuate the same kind of politics that has plagued Malaysia through Umno," she said.

"Anwar will need to fight for Malay support most prominently since Najib may continue to be seen as the final bastion of support for the Malay position," she added.

Another political analyst, Khoo Kay Peng, sees it differently.

"No doubt Najib commands higher support among the Malay community because of the status of Umno as a Malay party. It has been representing the Malays for a long time. But at 47.3 per cent, the support is not really very high for Najib. It's not much off Abdullah's support," he said.

Based on the same Merdeka Centre report, Abdullah still enjoys 50.7 per cent support from the Malays.

"The key is that Najib does not get much support from the Chinese and Indians. Najib is still seen as a Malay leader.

"If you want to be the prime minister, you must have support from across the board," he said.

"Anwar stands a much better chance because he gets support from over 30 per cent of the Chinese and the Indians, predominantly from the Indians, which is consistent with past reports," he pointed out.

In a toss up between who will become the next prime minister, he felt it would definitely be Anwar.

But for Khalid Samad, the Pas MP for Shah Alam and an ally of Anwar, the results are frightening for the Pakatan Rakyat alliance.

He said the results of the survey showed government media propaganda still held sway, especially among the rural Malays.

He is concerned that much of the Malay media has portrayed a negative impression of Anwar as being an "immoral guy" and being a stooge of the United States.

"Basically, Umno-Barisan Nasional has been quite successful in conning Malays into believing that Anwar is selling out the Malays and that is the reason for the low percentage of support for Anwar," said Khalid.

"These are not very encouraging results if it is representative of the entire population. It means there is a problem. Anwar will have to work harder.

"It's important he should have at least a 50-50 situation among Malays. That would suffice," he stressed.

But he does not think that the sample poll is a true reflection of the voting populace.

"I don't think that Anwar in the actual situation is that far behind Najib. I would expect 47 per cent for Najib and 45 per cent for Anwar.

"The difference, almost 15 per cent difference in support from Malays, gives the impression that if Pakatan Rakyat comes to power, the position of the Malays will be jeopardised.

"But no one race will lose out under Pakatan leadership," he said.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by ahmadneil, September 27, 2008 11:13:46
Anwar is a more learned person.He have more international connections than Najis.
written by LILIN, September 27, 2008 11:21:06
http://www.worldfutures.info/N...inity.html
that is certain..Anwar is a better PM to be...it can be seen and it can be judged. Surely all Malaysia - minus some anti-anwar - can c that I bet.

But there is this wife who sues the hubby for losing her virginity? What a dumb thing...dont u think?
written by myke, September 27, 2008 11:26:04
PR movements should address the MSM propaganda to allay this.
written by miwaki, September 27, 2008 11:31:55
Please do not compare Anwar with Najib,you are comparing apple with buah langsat ! Compare Najib with Bung moktar,they are of the same frequency.
written by hckit, September 27, 2008 11:35:47
Najib is better in swearing
written by bodohland_citizen, September 27, 2008 11:43:39
But Najis is more handsome than Pak Lah. I like the way he smiles. Najib is also a good businessman and negotiator. See, how brilliantly he secured the sub marine deal and made 500 million in commission ! The highest paid salesman in the world. Wow, we have all the world records for wrong reasons.
written by sjs, September 27, 2008 11:50:29
QUOTES ON MAHATHIR BY KARPAL SINGH AND LIM KIT SIANG

“You will always remain an enigma for Malaysians but for the wrong reasons. Your desire for control and hunger for power remains is unparalleled, not to mention your tendency to take Malaysians for granted. Rhetoric no longer appeals to the layman and it would serve you well, health-wise to continue resting in the comfort of your cocoon. You do not want to earn the wrath of Malaysians for stirring the hornet’s nest for the simple reason that you would be the last person synonymous with the word ‘trust’.” Karpal Singh to Mahathir

“If Mahathir and his three children, Mirzan, Mokhzani and Mukhriz maintain that there is no nepotism whatsoever, then they should have no qualms in making public all the hundreds of companies the three Mahathir children have interests, the nature of their interests and stakes in these companies, and subject themselves to public accountability and scrutiny.” Lim Kit Siang to Mahathir

JOKES OF THE DAY ON MAHATHIR

Four delegates from China, Russia, the United States and Malaysia attended the United Nations' Meeting. All the nations were discussing about space exploration by the year 2000. Here are some of the conversations:

China Delegate: 'By the year 2000, China will start their moon exploration project. '

Russian Delegate: ' We too, we are going to explore the moon. This time we will see to it that our cosmonauts will step on the moon.'

Bill Clinton: ' We the United States will also explore the moon for second time.'

Mahathir: 'By the year 2000, Malaysia will explore the sun.'

There was a long silence, Bill Clinton stood up and asked the Mahathir: ' Isn't it too hot to explore the sun?'

Mahathir (smiling): 'I had this thought out already. We will do it in the evening.'

One Of A Kind

Mahathir was so disappointed with his cabinet for being inefficient and corrupt that he decided to call on Goh Chok Tong and ask him how he managed to have such an efficient and uncorruptable cabinet in Singapore.

On hearing Mahathir's woes, PM Goh said, 'Simple, Mahathir, I choose able men for my cabinet. ' Mahathir asked, 'Yes, but how do you know that they are able?' PM Goh replied, Just ask them simple questions to test their intelligence. They don't need to be too difficult. Let me illustrate to you.'

Just then, DPM Tony Tan was walking by, PM Goh called out to him, 'Hey Tony, come over here.' Tony obediently walked briskly over. PM Goh asked, 'Tell me, Tony, who is your father's son ?'

Tony Tan immediately replied, 'Me! Of course.' PM Goh turned to Mahathir and said, 'See, all my ministers can answer this question. Why don't you go back and try.' Mahathir thank PM Goh and left.

Once he was back, he immediately summoned Syed Hamid, his foreign affairs minister, and shot the question at him, 'Tell me, Hamid, who is your father's son ?' Syed Hamid was shocked beyond words and did not know the answer.

After a while, he recovered and said, 'Boss, let me find out and I'll tell you tomorrow.' Mahathir, a bit disappointed, agreed, hoping that Syed Hamid will give a good answer tomorrow.

Meanwhile, Syed Hamid was panicking that his boss was testing him. He tried desperately to find out the answer from his staff, but none of them knew the answer. The next morning, he decided to call Anwar for help.

Anwar must know the answer. When Anwar picked up the phone, Syed Hamid said, 'Hello, Anwar, can I ask you a question?' Anwar, very busy, replied, 'Alright, but it better be good!' Syed Hamid quickly asked, Tell me, who is your father's son ?'

Anwar was fuming, 'Of course its me, you stupid!' and he slammed the phone down

Satisfied that he got the answer, he confidently walked into Mahathir's office and said, 'Boss, I've got the answer to your question.'

Mahathir, happy that his minister wasn't that dumb, said, 'So tell me quick, who is your father's son, Hamid?' Syed Hamid confidently replied, 'It's ANWAR!'

Mahathir slapped his own forehead in disgust and said, No you stupid! It's TONY TAN!'

written by Victory or Death, September 27, 2008 11:54:53
Hmmmm, something fishy here.The statistics do not reflect the fact or the either Merdeka Centre or the survey is not independant!!!!!!!!!
they are trying to brainwash us with erroneous statistics.
written by dashuwang, September 27, 2008 12:06:10
Najis loves to read novel titled "The Murder She Wrote" author Rosmah. This book gives him a better idea to be PM on how to manage the country.
written by sang0kancil, September 27, 2008 12:31:30
I rasa penyelidikan ini buang masa dan bias kerana undi perwakilan daripada kaum bumiputra sabah dan sarawak tidak diambil kira!

podah Merdeka Centre!
written by ahmadneil, September 27, 2008 13:16:14
Ones wife is a greedy swine and the other ones wife is a caring,honest , loveable and humble person.That's a great difference.
written by educationist, September 27, 2008 13:47:31
It makes no difference what the polls indicate - the point of the matter is that Najib is poised to take over the PM's post while Anwar is only the Opposition Leader.
At this point in time!!
written by MNor, September 27, 2008 14:29:35
I'll bet my life and family with DSAI rather than Nijib.
written by Vincent, September 27, 2008 14:31:59
But, but guys....Najis is very helpful in sodomy cases.
written by Henry, September 27, 2008 14:50:23
I did not hear of this poll and wonder how many had. Sure if I know I would vote Anwar. To me the writer is partial. Open the poll and let see how many will vote for Najib, the sex maniac. Anwar did not play with words. It is commonsense that BN government has started to resort to all sort of threats and the latest is the threat from ACA. Can Anwar risk revealing the list ? If the takeover result in bloodshed which BN is prepared to hope for then the ones who will suffer will be the rakyat. Anwar has the welfare and interest of the rakyat not those in the BN.
written by harmanamri, September 27, 2008 15:32:01
Najib more popular among the Malays compared to Anwar? Yes, if you poll sample is 100% BTN operatives.

Don't forget that in 2004, Najib almost lost the elections. He only won with the help of postal votes, from the military, and he was the Minister of Defence.
written by Uncorruptible, September 27, 2008 15:35:36
When the corrupted and evil mm, bodowi, mooyidin, najis, kuli, 'syed' botak, najis, rosmah, mookris, ma hamydi and all their like are consigned to the garbage bin of Malaysian History, some people will stand out, forever acclaimed heroes of Malaysia, and one of them will be RAJA PETRA KAMARUDIN.
written by EYFF, September 27, 2008 16:17:51
Its like comparing day to night! Najib do not even have the quality to be a PM
written by johanssm, September 27, 2008 18:15:48
RPK is inside because of najis and lostmah. Don't You Ever Forget This.
written by ladasiber, September 27, 2008 18:17:26
Najib is bigger. His wife is shorter and fatter. His is better with international women. He is very friendly with female local artist. Like somebody had said it, he is very good at swearing. I am also good at that; Aku sumpah Najib jadi .......
written by charli88, September 27, 2008 18:19:52
I believe rural Malay will sway towards DSAI when PR starts to rule. The fear factors, propaganda and manipulations have been used by UMNO for soooo many years can't be deleted instantly until PR starts to rule. One day they'll know and find out how much they've lose out under UMNOputras rule with gr$$$$diness.
I always believe the truth will stay as the truth and the righteous will prevails. Be patient lah.
written by kurangfaham, September 27, 2008 19:08:28
Itu Najis memang tak layak jadi PM, jika banding dengan DSAI. Dia ini hanya untuk jadi model LIPSTIK jenama NAROS (NAJIS ROSMAH). Apa dia tahu menahu tentang kedudukan negaram masa kini.
written by Steven Tan, September 27, 2008 20:32:04
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

DSAI not only going to be a better PM than NAJIB but definetely better than AAB and TDM, trust me. Once DSAI take over we the country will progress better. smilies/kiss.gif
written by ganbing, September 27, 2008 20:46:23
This survey needs to be taken with a sack of salt. How cum Chinese respond 20% none and 20% don't know? Does this mean 40% of Chinese have no idea or couldn'r care less? As a member of this race, I can tell you this is not the case. Most Chinese support Anwar now and their level of support should be about the same as Indians.

As fo the malay response, this survey was confined to Pekan, Johor, an Umno stronghold. Aha! Now we know they only surveyed Umno members. What a con!
written by savemalaysia, September 27, 2008 21:25:22
The new poll takes the hit movie's title as Dark Knight. Anwar is the superhero Batman while Najib is the wicked Joker. After all the factors are considered, the new poll shows that Batman triumphs over the cruel Joker. Now that will tell you why Anwar makes a better PM than Najib. Anwar, like Batman, is a saviour while Najib, like the Joker, is a psychopath.
written by shamadz72, September 28, 2008 05:38:23
How can you guys comparing Anwar with Najib? It is like comparing Altantuya murderer (oppss... sorry... typing error there), Rosmah with Dr. Wan Azizah smilies/smiley.gif
written by bn haramjadah, September 28, 2008 06:49:54
they say " By a small margin, Malaysians think opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim would make a better prime minister compared with Datuk Seri Najib Razak, according to a survey conducted recently by the independent Merdeka Centre.'
WHAT A LAUGH, was the poll taken amongst umno people,of course with them they are like lallang, yesterday they were kissing mahathir ass and licking his slippers, today they will cross the road and go and hide, what you have there is a den of snakes. like theperak adun said if you see a snake kill it, especially if moves sides ways, or crooked. must be umno. today they spit on mahathir 's name , why, no contract, no projecccccccck.
IF A PROPER POLL WERE TO BE TAKEN, AS CAN BE SEEN AT ALL THE STadIUMS WHICH CAN FILL UP IN ONE DAYS NOTICE, some more don't need to pay money to the people, THEN THE ANSWER MERDEKA CENTRE IS TRYING TO GORENG TO US IS BULLSHITE,

IF A PROPER POLL IS TAKEN ANWAR WILL WILL OVER WHELMINGLY. NO 2 WORDS ABOUT IT.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
one thing I don't understand, why the drama, postpont the agm lah putar belit lah, come the day in parliment, PAKATAN IS GOING TO TAKE OVER SO WHY ALL THE SIBUK??????? PAK LAHlah , maklah semua sama ular. to be exterminated soooooooon smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by bn haramjadah, September 28, 2008 07:00:08
can you believe this statement

'The split was apparent among racial lines, with Najib drawing as much as 47.3 per cent support from the Malay community. Anwar trailed with just 32.5 per cent'

permatang pauh is a malay area, how do you explain the response, look at all the states if not for gerrymendering of course the figures will tell you a true figure. MIXED POPULATION WHERE OPPOSITION IS STRONG, THE CAN BE 150,000 voters for one MP or state seat, but you go to kampung area 30,000 people will vote for the same and normally this would be in the outskirts like kampungs and small villages. of course the umno chap will win, because their area, WHERE THE PEOPLE DO NOT HAVE INTERNET ACCESS and depend on utusan and rtm and tv3, if you play a level playing field you would have seen umno and bn kicked out long time ago.
written by prof, September 28, 2008 13:44:26
I won't count on the reliability of the survey that much. UMNO people culd have been asked to fill the forms many times over just to prove their theory that NAjis is the right person to rule Malaysia. We should have an election like Indonesia or America to determine who is most popular. My best bet is intellectually Anwar is way ahead of all UMNO ministers put together. That's why UMNO hates Anwar to the very core.