Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar: Najib more unpopular than his boss

Anwar: Najib more unpopular than his boss PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 27 September 2008 11:06

HONG KONG, Sept 27 — Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said yesterday his campaign to topple the government would only be strengthened if Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi stepped down earlier than expected and Abdullah's deputy took the reins.

As Umno huddled in Kuala Lumpur to discuss whether the country's unpopular prime minister should step down earlier than planned, Anwar said both leaders had lost the mandate of the people to rule, but that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had even less credibility.

"From a survey [it] showed that however unpopular Abdullah is now, Najib is more unpopular. He has a major problem of credibility. Many unexplained cases which does insinuate his involvement in [an] earlier murder case he has to explain, I'm not suggesting anything beyond that," Anwar said in Hong Kong, while in Hong Kong for an Asia investment conference.

"It's not a matter of going to the mosque and swearing that you are not involved. Then you make a mockery of Islam, the Quran and the law.

"If you go to the prison and say to these convicted murderers and rapists, 'if you swear on the Quran you go scot free', then 99.9 per cent would go free."

Discussions on whether Abdullah would step down early would not derail the opposition's plans, Anwar said, denying that he had lost credibility after failing to meet the Sept 16 deadline by which he had said he would have enough support in government to become prime minister.

While he had the names of the MPs who supported him, he said he could not disclose them because of the climate of fear in Malaysia.

"The climate of fear is real. Why do we need to expose them" and make them take such a risk, he asked.

Another risk for Anwar supporters was that Najib would be more willing to implement the Internal Security Act, a draconian law that allows people to be detained without trial for up to two years.

Anwar feared that the powers of ISA would only be strengthened and used more if Najib took power next year. Najib "has not said that he won't use the Internal Security Act — not only against me", he said.

Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, an ally of Anwar, has been detained for reporting on Najib in connection with a murder case on the Malaysia Today political website.

- South China Morning Post

written by ahmadneil, September 27, 2008 11:09:33
More TAINTED than his boss.
written by miwaki, September 27, 2008 11:56:14
If DPM takes over,we will be without a good candidate to be sent to Mongolia as Ambassador.No,he is the best !
written by countryman, September 27, 2008 12:12:40
Don't even have to talk about popularity - given his scandalous background, he is not fit and has no moral right at all to ever be PM. In fact, he should even be sacked as DPM!!!
written by mucking fuddled, September 27, 2008 13:07:40
what i fail to comprehend is how he still command such blind followings.
are all his supporters devoid of conscience?
even if we give someone the benefit of doubt with regards to all these heinous crimes hanging over his head, we should not gamble the future and integrity of a whole nation on a scandulous and soul-less man...
written by Spear Bing, September 27, 2008 13:12:32
The lame duck decides to call it a day on March 2009, now the limp dick is taking over the helm.

Indeed Malaysia will go limping as skeletons begin to crawl out from the closet in the face of more scandals to be surface over the passage of time.
written by savemalaysia, September 27, 2008 13:16:12
True, Najib is more unpopolar than his boss but the UMNO Supreme council top brass and influential members prefer to elevate him to be the new PM because they can make Najib beholden to them. They can play monkeys and fiddle with their Ministries' finances punitively and yet know that Najib can't take any action against them.

If Najib ever dares to take action against the decadent bunch, they will threaten Najib with revelations of his dark past, misdeeds and sexual scandals. In short, these UMNO senior supreme council members and influential figures can twist and turn Najib any which way they can without being disciplined or dropped.

With a rotten UMNO around, Malaysia is headed for gloomy days. The signs are already up on the wall and those who wise up to UMNO's devious ways should reject UMNO and switch to PR whose governing of the five states is already so much more better and transparent than the previous governments whose records are riddled with corruption and gross abuses.
written by BennyG, September 27, 2008 13:18:17
I'm worried about this report. This is suggesting that Anwar may wait beyond March 2009 to take over.

I'm worried because RPK will have to stay so long in Kamunting.

It seemed that we could not rely on the takeover for RPK release anymore. smilies/sad.gif
written by Jit Dharma, September 27, 2008 13:20:48
At best, an accessary to murder, at worst a cold blooded murderer.
written by shangrilapeace, September 27, 2008 14:01:48
"Staring at the floods if the leeches won"
written by DreamLady, September 27, 2008 14:14:07
It causes me nightmare just the thought of Najib becoming the next PM. Doesn't he realize that it is a suicidal ambition for him to take on the job. Has Najib forgotten that he has to drag along the baggage-full of scandals into PM's office ?
Secondly, he has to learn to control Rosmah's squandering habit before nation's coffer gets drained dry again.

Thirdly, Najib has to continue swearing on the Quran each time someone throw attantuya's mud in his face..

I suppose he can manage the three conditions without problem, since ISA is at his disposal..
written by SiHangChai, September 27, 2008 14:23:42
DSAI, we all told how 'ham sap' Najib is and how corrupted he is. Same to you that you are known to be untrusted and using people. So whether it is Badawi, Najib or DSAI, all can balik bungkus. You receive no vote from me. You are just a liar.
disagree 18
written by ez24get, September 27, 2008 14:32:16
It is very important that the new Prime Minister has the support of all Malaysians across the board. Not just the support of the malays. If not UMNO is just prolonging the inevitable. In the next general election the rakyat will give their votes to the oppositions and UMNO will be kicked out.

The rakyat is bemused by the whole "hand over the premiership" thing as if the prime minister post is a private affair belonging to them. What happens to democracy where citizens have a chance to decide who they want to be their leader?

When the citizens have no say now, they will definitely have their say when the next election comes!
written by AlwaysFair, September 27, 2008 15:58:38
Just because UMNO got nobody fit to be PM, such an uncredible person will do. Shame on him, anyone with lesser scandals overseas would have resigned long ago. I suppose corruption is an accepted Malaysia culture in this Bolehland!****!!!
written by AlwaysFair, September 27, 2008 16:00:38
Najis is totally unfit. Anyone with lesser scandals would have stepped down long ago overseas. Here there seems to be a great tolerance for tainted politicians. Shame on us!!
written by alarcarte, September 27, 2008 16:06:58
AAB is a gonner now, on the surface of it, Najib will be taking over as P.M. but I don’t think he will last long because there are many warlords in UMNO getting ready to get rid him. Unless the grand old pa pa Mahathir come back to UMNO to shield him from harm, Heh, Heh….

written by Fuminari, September 27, 2008 17:29:28
why umno jus couldn't come up with any other candidate who is cleaner,less corrupt,less racist n better moral record than this najis??simple,umno be end hav been corrupted n rotten to the core.
written by MAMR, September 27, 2008 18:04:08
Present PM get muslim angry because of his HADHARI adding to Islam.However I am of the opinion that he is ! CLEANER ! than the present DPM. However since UMNO dont have anybody else in better position to take up the post well he is the ! BEST ! candidate. To clear his name I think present PM had to order police,ACA to investigate DPM on various accusations thrown to him on the STAND of ! without fear or favour ! On top of that there ought to be ROYAL ENQUIRY on the so many ! COINCIDENCES ! of happenning which are related to DPM. I think if all those are DONE without any case to answer then he is FIT to lead UMNO.
written by citizenmy, September 27, 2008 21:24:27
So the target date moved to when??? this guy seems to be getting worse than sleepy head in giving empty talk. only reasons ..reasons..and reasons to move the milestone.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009