Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Q & A with Umno president

Q & A with Umno president PDF Print
Saturday, 27 September 2008 11:05

EXCERPTS of Umno president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s press conference after the special supreme council meeting where he announced that the party’s general assembly and elections have been postponed to March while the dates for divisional meetings remain unchanged from Oct 9 to Nov 9.

Q: Why has Umno postponed the Supreme Council elections?

A: To facilitate an early transition.

Q: An early transition? Does this mean you won’t be defending your post in March?

A: I have not announced any decision as far as this particular point is concerned. And I intend to do it before the divisional meetings begin.

Q: Do you think the decision to postpone the Umno general assembly will be accepted by members?

A: If all the Supreme Council members are agreeable to it, this is not something that causes difficulty. But if we were to postpone the divisional meeting, then it would affect the other procedures and the other (divisional level) elections. That would be difficult.

Q: Will you go on leave soon?

A: Am I going on leave? How do you know? No, I am not going on leave. I have got a lot of work to do. A lot of work to do. I am not going on leave.

Q: What do mean by “facilitate early transition”?

A: To do whatever is needed and whatever I need to implement. The decision (when to hand over) will be made by me and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Q: Are you sticking to the original plan?

A: If we are talking about an early transition, then the original 2010 plan no longer arises. There is no more 2010.

Q: Are you prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice? Are you prepared to step down if it is better for the party?

A: As far I am concerned, I love my party. Even under the most difficult circumstances, I never left. I did not join (Parti Melayu Semangat) 46. I did not join any other party. I have never been on the platform of the opposition party to speak against Umno. I have never had any record of going against the party at all at any time.

Q: Is the early transition because you are under tremendous pressure?

A: No it’s got nothing to do with that. It’s got to do with my work. When I am done with what I want to do, then it’s over.

Q: Do you feel that your colleagues in the Umno Supreme Council are asking for you to leave earlier?

A: No there’s nothing like that. Maybe there are two or three people who feel that way. But for most there is no reason to pressure because they know my relationship with Datuk Seri Najib is a good one. And that in any matter, we have a good understanding, so no problem should arise from this.

Q: Is it right to say that you will not be contesting the party post in March?

A: It will be my decision, right or not. Whether to contest or not, it will be my decision. You can go on guessing but the decision will be mine.

- The Star

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 27, 2008 11:16:36
He will flip flog for one last time.He won't resign.
written by SCM, September 27, 2008 12:46:06
Here are a few more questions for you PM Bodowi:

1. If your "to facilitate early transition" (i.e. the instructions Najis whispered to you to say) is not due to pressure, then are you saying that you are a flip-flop (emphasis on the latter) PM?
2. Change in UMNO Presidency results in change in PM. Since this is the case, don't you think members of Barisan Nasional should also be consulted?
3. Since you did not see fit to consult BN members, is the relationship between UMNO and the BN component parties one of master and slaves?
4. Is the position of PM of Malaysia so unimportant that it can be changed as and when you like by discussing it with only 1 person in private?
5. What if 90% of Malaysians don't want a person who is linked to a brutal murder to be their PM? Your decision will overide 90% of Malaysians?
6. Is Ku Li right in saying that you have made the position of PM of Malaysia into a comedy act?
7. Will Khairy now divorce Nori and seduce Rosmah?

Please Mr. PM, can you answer our questions above?
written by Ashleigh, September 27, 2008 13:23:12
He seems very obssessed with stressing that "the decision is mine"... it's said too many times that it is so apparent he's not the one making decision at all.

This is what a Chinese proverb says:"此地无银三百两", as in going around telling everybody that there's no money buried here...
written by malaysian, September 27, 2008 14:18:01
November 2007 - Badawi: "SAYA PANTANG DICABAR!!!"

Phooi!

Kau hanya hebat bila menindas kaum minoriti seperti rakyat keturunan India.

Ahmad Ismail pun kau takut!
written by Hitenwolf, September 27, 2008 21:53:36
By deferring the UMNO polls to March, the UMNO Supreme Council is prolonging the nation's political and economic uncertainly. Those UMNO's big wigs have already filled pockets to the brim so they won't feel the pinch but we ordinary citizens are being bled high and dry by the indecisisve and flip-flopping UMNO's goons.

One day it is June and another it is December and now it is March. You whimsical and fanciful supreme council members don't give a damn whether the country is suffering from capital flight and a motley inflow of foreign direct investment other than to care for your own vested political interest.
written by Commonsenses, September 27, 2008 23:15:18
AAB replied in a Q& A with thw reporter,

"Am I going on leave? How do you know? No, I am not going on leave. I have got a lot of work to do. A lot of work to do. I am not going on leave."

Its just puzzling why AAB is sticking on as PM when he is a total failure in governing malaysia for the last 5 years. He kept on saying he got a lot of work to do but appearently none has been achieved. I think his statement about his work is best left for Najib to do it. But then Najib is also an UMNO loyalist how much innovative ideas he has to steered Malaysia out of a looming recession?

If he is thinking of using TDM outdated economics, he may be in for a big shock as the global economic situation may not allowed him the luxury of time and comfort to do that.