Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MPAJ officers tore down temple despite state govt saying no

MPAJ officers tore down temple despite state govt saying no PDF Print
Friday, 26 September 2008 09:08

KLANG: The Ampang Jaya Municipal Council (MPAJ) officers involved in tearing down a Hindu temple in Ampang acted against a state government directive not to destroy places of worship.

Ronnie Liu, who is chairman of the state’s local government, study and research committee, said the state had issued a directive to all local councils to halt action against places of worship when it came into power but the officers defied the order.

He said that in taking the action last month the officers also bypassed the committee on non-Muslim affairs headed by state executive councillors Teresa Kok, Dr Xavier Jayakumar and himself.

“I contacted the council president a day after the incident and asked him to investigate the matter and identify those involved,” he said.

“I was told that he has submitted a preliminary report to my office but I have not read it since I am away in China now so it would be unfair for me to comment further.”

Liu had said a day after the incident that he was upset with the council officers’ actions and threatened that they would face stiff action.

Meanwhile Human Resources Minister Datuk S. Subramaniam said the MIC was extremely disappointed with the state government and MPAJ for allowing the demolition to occur.

“If a temple needs to be relocated due to road expansion or some major development, it can be relocated with the agreement that a new place of worship be built,” he said.

MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu has also condemned the demolition, saying that it went against the Opposition’s promise during the last general election not to demolish any temple.

“It is very uncaring of the local council to demolish the temple without first relocating it,” he said.

- The Star

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 26, 2008 09:12:50
Samy hands are tied and a cucumber have been shaft down his throat.That's why he only bark after the temple have been demolished.
written by densemy, September 26, 2008 09:25:25
Another inflammatory move to stir up trouble using religion as the issue.

The probably want a reason to invoke Emergency Rule and slam everyone they dont like with an ISA order

C'mon guys... we are awake to your silly childish tactics
written by indianputra, September 26, 2008 09:32:33
So, MIC is beginning the blame game. While Samy was in the Government, thousands of Indian Temples were demolished. Today, he is blaming Pakatan, Selangor Government for the demolishment of the temple in Ampang. This entire episode must have been orchestrad by UMNO and even MIC for political mileage. Please investgate this thoroughly and take the harshest disciplinary actions against those who were involved.
written by hamid, September 26, 2008 09:39:49
Yes we know the UMNO-BN racist tools is used to provoke to create a Strong case ala Tun Dr. Racist M May 13, Kg. Medan. Not working.

What would be good is to start to think what can be done to an UMNO Cawangan and MCA & MIC. Do the same to their UNGUARDED Cawangan and Create Chaos within Barisan. Better see UMNO-BN in Chaos than Malaysia anytime.
written by batsman, September 26, 2008 09:55:40
UMNO's underlings still in govt jobs have stepped up their campaign of sabotaging the PR's reputation.
written by kavidibaku, September 26, 2008 09:56:08
The more they demolish hindu temples, the more sin they are doing. Those morons are going to face the negative consequences in the very near future. Some idiots think that only their place of worship should be on this land and others should be demolished. What a thinking. What do they learn in their holy book anyway? Not to respect other faith people?
written by KotaDamansara73, September 26, 2008 10:00:36
It is the work of UMNO evils inside the goverment. I say, it is time to cut those head out.
written by the1, September 26, 2008 10:01:39
Come on BN! After Teresa and others in ISA, can't you score better then this temple thing?
Trying to win back Hindraf votes?
written by notsosmart, September 26, 2008 10:36:04
Those officers must be terminated!!!

May I advise our useless MIC to support my suggestion and act now. Since both of you ( SeMY and SuBRA ) are in politics. Why don't you both exercise your personal connection to ensure that those bustard officers will not be set free for their immoral act. Go after the local council committee and insist that officer must be terminated without appeal. Do it now or stop your hypocrite act and stop commenting on these temple issues anymore. Both of you are given enough time and opportunity for the past donkey years to correct this situation but never done so especially when you claim that your party are for the interest of the Indian. COCK TALK HAD TIMED OUT!
written by Wisdom above, September 26, 2008 10:46:54
Is the "state government directive not to destroy places of worship" in written letter?

Was it addressed to MPAJ and dully received and acknowledged by the Council President?

If both is 'YES", then please proceed to see when these enforcement officers were gazetted by the previous Bee Ant State government.

Proceed to hold Domestic Inquiries for disciplinary action pending dismissal.
Get to the source as to why these enforcement officers were so grossly reckless in their duties.

Those affected must demonstrate to get these enforcement officers dismissed according to procedures.

My salute to all Peacemakers.

written by krising1, September 26, 2008 10:47:25
Toll Samy, we Indians will not fall for your dirty tricks. We know that this was engineered by you and the BN nominess in the council. A few heads will roll here. Your wig too!
written by Ashleigh, September 26, 2008 10:55:50
This is an act equivalent to trying to incite racial hatred! It's obvious that some UMNO cronies still remain in PR-governed state government. It's high time PR purge all Municipal Councils under their governance of such trouble makers! We the people of Selangor demand that such irresponsible imbeciles are punished with the harshest mean possible!
written by trublumalaysian, September 26, 2008 10:56:12
written by ahmadneil, September 26, 2008 09:12:50

"Samy hands are tied and a cucumber have been shaft down his throat.That's why he only bark after the temple have been demolished."

More like a cucumber shoved up his fat rear-end, really.
written by tehewe, September 26, 2008 11:01:54
When little Napoleons do not obey their master, then throw the book at them. Sacked them. When their rice bowl is affected, then they will realise that there are rules that must be obeyed.
written by chebella, September 26, 2008 11:03:46
This is a concerted effort to undermine the new state government. We are seeing a consistent pattern all over selangor and in constituencies controlled by PR.

These includes the clearing of hawkers centre in wangsa maju, tree cutting in bangsar and the blocking of access road in puchong. The strategy is provoke protest and to make local PR MPs look ineffective.

In the case of bangsar tree cutting, no amount of effort by nurrul izzah office could stop DBKL from mutilating the trees. However when BN Sharizat steps in the tree cutting stops immediately!
written by unomalaysia, September 26, 2008 11:07:57
Time to sack some asses! Put the Pengarah and the enforcement chief plus the officers involved on the block. Advise them to start appointing their lawyers. Anyway I live in the the MPAJ jurisdiction and I will be most happy to see MPAJ revamped. These shitheads are all pro amno! They also provide shitty service.
written by Ben, September 26, 2008 11:09:37
PR must get to these mini warlords and make a good example of them. Please be transparent and published the names of the culprits making them accountable for their actions.

Please also allow for the victims to seek damages from these oppressors whom you claimed acted against council orders. Then there are also internal disciplinary actions procedures to be followed for their non-compliance. Of course, they must be immediately suspended without pay pending investigations.

This is an opportunity for you to show how you manage disobedience matters like this properly to avoid a recurrence. Spell out your counter-measures to ensure it does not happen again. If you cannot keep your house in order then you have no business telling others how to run theirs. Show us you are different and can do better not just talk.
written by steve, September 26, 2008 11:30:32
These Council Officers responsible need to be brought to court, charged and have the full punishment meted out to them. If jail time is required, then so be it. An example MUST be made of thes clowns.
written by Malaysiaputra, September 26, 2008 11:50:07
Ronnie Liu, who is chairman of the state’s local government, study and research committee, said the state had issued a directive to all local councils to halt action against places of worship when it came into power but the officers defied the order.

===

You have it, the racist in the MPAJ did it on purpose. Also to sabotage the Pakatan govt.

This has happened many times, the answer is to sack the officers involved. These officers think they are "bigger" than the state govt. SACK THEM ! and charge them in court.

It has happen too many times, send the message to these type of racist in the Majlis that if they don't toe the line, they will face the music.Don't let them use the govt dept as a cover for their racist act.
written by BORN FREE, September 26, 2008 12:14:13
Those people involved in the demolision should be charged under ISA!
written by shangrilapeace, September 26, 2008 12:18:16
Little warlords that are cocky has no place in PKR led govt. The ladder to promotions has changed.. The victims of such future disaster must remember to take many good face photos at those involved so that not even one can escape the punishment. Such blind, insensitive 'servants' must be removed for serious insubordination. No plead allowed. It will be cancerous if not removed.
written by gorshan, September 26, 2008 12:37:24
the civil service under Pakatan needs to sign an oath of affirmation to serve without fear or favour.those civil servants who can only take orders from BN should request transfer to BN held states pronto. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by joeawk, September 26, 2008 12:48:40
This is a serious example of Umno-isation of govt depts. No democratic party should even think of doing that but somehow, we have cave-people who cannot differentiate between politics and govt administration.

written by Mik, September 26, 2008 16:35:25
Ronnie, what are u doing in China anyway? Ask him to email to u the report la. what excuse is this, "i havent read the report so i cant comment". U mean u cant comment coz u havent discussed with the others what to comment? We tot the new MPs are more internet savvy. So next time some dissaater happens, u gonan say, sorry, i cant comment coz i havent seen it and i m away in china??? Juz like aab.
written by Aming, September 26, 2008 18:16:10
Invoke the General Orders and take disciplinary actions against those officials of MPAJ for insubordination with a view of dismissal, if Pakatan state government have the convictions and guts to govern, fairly and firmly. No point pointing fingers at your subordinates and giving lame excuses.
written by Alice, September 26, 2008 18:23:43
NO RESPECT FOR OTHER RELIGION AND OF COURSE AN ACT OF RACISTS. WELL WE LEAVE IT TO GOD.
written by johntyc, September 26, 2008 19:05:08
Wah, this Samy again pretend to care for the Hindu's. Stop pretending lah woi. Everyone knows laa. If MIC really useful, Indians won't turn to Hindraf in the first place. smilies/angry.gif
written by bexe, September 26, 2008 22:07:17
ok, so what are you going to do about it? Form a committee to look into it? Suspend them for 3 months? Give them Datukships? Send them away for a trip to study "how to destroy temples?"
Kalid, show your color! You permit this and you will destroy yourself.
written by bexe, September 26, 2008 22:11:46
UMNO should copyright this procrastination technique. See it is so good that John McCain has copied it. He has suspended his election campaign! He is a good student!
written by rainmanpj, September 26, 2008 22:15:25
A direct directive was not followdisobey.
This will call for a displinary action and subsequent dismissal in private sector.
So the PR govn HAD to fired them with the utmost effort and throw in every law
that is possible to get rid of them.

That is when the PR govn will get the respect.
That is why the CEO command fear and respect.

If they can get away with it , then I will pity the PR who are starting to loss control and and get wash away the the GE. Remember the MPAJ are not Ummo warlord unless you let them be.
written by jcdrock, September 26, 2008 22:53:16
Breaking news:

Apparently, the temple was demolished by their own committee in order to give it a cosmetic overhaul. Read all about it below :

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/9/26/nation/20080926195028&sec=nation

haha...i knew PR isnt as idiotic as the present government..screw Khir toyol and his lap dog shitty vellu for trying to create rifts amongst us malaysians.. smilies/cool.gif
written by joeawk, September 26, 2008 23:18:19
If can, just sack them. Don't bother with excuses, they are a bunch of shit ass as a result of Umno-isation of govt depts.

While i am at it, i would like to ask the UMNO youth division who reported Teresa Kok to the police for saying the food given to her while in Kamunting was dogfood, to also report me to the police because I am calling them " A bunch of idiots with their head in between their legs".
written by periasa, September 26, 2008 23:21:09
Yes...Ronnie, what are u doing in China anyway? You seem to be only good at barking but no effective actions taken. If these guys had gone against the State orders...why didn't you suspend them immediately to show that you guys from PK mean business. It is utter rubbish for you not to take any action and waiting for some reports to be send to your table. Come on, Ronnie..what if a similar situation had taken place for a Chinese temple. I am very sure you would not have taken this lightly. Looks like you are bloody useless..if you are not effective and cannot take actions without fear or favor...you might as well quit. Do not keep on barking. Prove your worth Ronnie. We have supported PR to where it is today...but letting go of such actions means you guys are no better than BN...only GOD can save this country..and the bloody politicians are working towards destroying the nation...disgusting!!!!!!!!!