Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow S'gor PR government under fire over temple demolition

S'gor PR government under fire over temple demolition PDF Print
Thursday, 25 September 2008 21:56
KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 25 - The Pakatan Rakyat government in Selangor has come under fire from the MIC over the demolition of a Hindu temple in Ampang earlier this month.
MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu said the Ampang Jaya Municipal Council's action was against the Opposition pact's promise prior to the March 8 general election not to demolish temples. 

The local council should have given sufficient notice and a land for the relocation of the temple before even considering to demolish the temple, he said in a statement today.

Samy Vellu was commenting on a newspaper report today on the demolition of the Sri Maha Kaliamman Temple on Sept 9, at Kampung Tasik, Jalan Baru in Ampang.

The demolition of a temple in Padang Jawa (Selangor) -- just before the 2008 general election in March 8 -- had angered many Hindus, and this was one of the reasons the Indians voted against the Barisan Nasional.

When contacted by Bernama, Ampang Member of Parliament Zuraidah Kamarudin said the temple was not supposed to have been demolished and that there were certain procedures which had to be followed, prior to the demolition.

She said the council had demolished the temple without the state government's consent.

"The Pakatan Rakyat government is very particular about religious issues, including mosques or temples," she added.

She said the state government was in the midst of discussion with the local council on the issue and further action would be taken after a thorough investigation of the matter.

"We have met the temple management and the Hindu residents in the area and have explained the situation to them. They understand the situation and they agreed to be patient until investigations are completed," she added.

- Bernama

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Sudahlah tu, September 25, 2008 22:14:43
inilah anjing anjing umno yang tidak pernah membina perpaduan rakyat ..
mereka yang tidak bermaruah dan begitu senang dibeli dengan wang ...
merosakkan nama baik keluarga serta bangsa...
rakyat akan berstau dan tidak akan ditipu lagi oleh umno ...
sv ..jangan menyalak sekarang ..pergi bebaskan mereka (HINDRAF) dari ISA ..
jangan jadi anjing jalanan umno lagi ....
adik mati pasal tamak wang ..balasan Tuhan terhadap awak ..
sekarang anak pun sudah gila ... sebodoh awak ...
habislah ..ada wang banyak ..otak tidak waras lagi ...
mati ...kosong juga ...
written by KUMON, September 25, 2008 22:15:07
Any wrong-doings must be dealt with appropriately, whether PR or

http://kuchaispace.********.com
written by Motherchell, September 25, 2008 22:28:29
All this is set up to counter DSAI, lets not get fooled ----- to top it semi value speaks like a protector of the Rakyat . He was like a kitten in front of Toyol. Anyway folks expect more of such actions by the UMNO goons---- its dying and they think Indians will flock to protest . Indians are no more stupid like they have been for 50 years !!! They know its only the building that is gone --- but GOD lives---- to banish the guilty!!! Time is just Up for the umnoputras and all their sins unlimited .

YB Zuraidah , we trust you --- and PKR!, we also know that Satan is at work to create confusion . Pl get on with the work you do for the rakyat . You have our support!!

written by Man In Black, September 25, 2008 22:35:59
PAKATAN RAKYAT is not under fire you moron. Everybody knows this is UMNO and Barisan Najis tactics ( including the MIC doggs)....The council went against the directive...Its clear...So we the RAKYAT are very sure that Zuraida the MP for Ampang will resolve the issue to the satisfactory of the Indians. My Indian bretherns...don't get itimidated with this cheap idiotic tactics...the Barisan Najis will restore to even demolishing places of worship for their political purpose....
written by teohsh, September 25, 2008 22:42:41
The key sentence is "She said the council had demolished the temple without the state government's consent."

WITHOUT state government consent!

So, it seems the Council has acted on its own!

Yes, complete the investigations. Identify the key decision makers from the Top down. Anyone who could have influenced the outcome but didn't should be held accountable.

To proceed WITHOUT state government's approval is the height of IRRESPONSIBILITY, and MUST BE PUNISHED to the fullest extent of the law.

written by macaufan, September 25, 2008 22:45:57
demolition of hindu temple again? but d diffren is: under rejim umno, those council official will be protected fr punishment & will b promoted!
tapi
under PR, they'll b demoted / sack !
written by DreamLady, September 25, 2008 22:52:09
It is very unfair to put the blame on Khalid. before he became the MB, who had the tendency to sita mosques and sacked a numbers of imam? Not only that, several hindu temples were demolished. When such incidents took place, not a ne single soul from previous party query as to the actual culprits, but everyone knew it was toyol and Semi-value's projects to stir up racial conflicts.

toyol, semi-value, your days are numbered, you are again the devils at work to stir up shit...
written by KKchan, September 25, 2008 22:52:13
I suspect the temple was built without permission and gave the Council legal cover to demolish it. The solution is simple. Land is a state matter. Selangor Government can declare an amnesty for all places of worship built without permission, get an investigation going and if they are found to be on state land, alienate the land on terms. If they are found to contravene land use, change the land use. Clean the slate and then announce that hence forth, proper procedure must be followed. The procedure must be clear and administered in a forthright manner. It used to be that palces of worship other than Muslim ones had a hard time getting approval; or if Muslim ones, those of PAS persuasion were hindered. No more of this. All applications are to be treated equally. That's only following the Constitution. I can worship freely if I have no place to worship in.
written by kksam, September 25, 2008 22:57:55
Don't worry, believe in PR. If Khir toyol, he'll shed his tears and said temples must go, in fact, all squatters and opposition must go. his crocodile tears. but now PR admitted it was not planned by them and they'll investigate, never before the people get such a good response. The more BN sabotaged, they more they lose, just give PR more good work to do. such a stupid value, opps no value
written by SL Chan, September 25, 2008 22:58:16
YB Zuraida...

Think this matter have to be investigated properly and sack those idiots who have done this....how can they act without the authorization from the state government and who they think they are???? WARLORDS???
written by godknows, September 25, 2008 23:01:29
SOMETHING SMELLS!
Sami Velu saw Badawi to appeal for release of Hindraf.Apparent;y he agreed to consider--so claimed Samy.Now this demolition happens...looks like it is planned..they are hoping for Indians to agitate..and give Badawi a reason to decline release of Hindraf!
Samy and Indians are taken for a ride.I hope I am wrong and the local majlis are at fault..at least then action can be taken!
written by fireduck, September 25, 2008 23:07:38
MIC is suspect in this 'provocation' since they are so quick to point the fingers at the state govt. However, if it is true that the Ampang Jaya MC has ordered the demolition, then sorry, can't help you guys there. You guys in the AJMC are accountable for disobeying the state govt's directive. So I say, the bigger objectives are more important,and the concept of CAT must be carried out. Sack those who ordered the demolition without the knowledge of the State Govt., as obviously they may be working against the interest of the state govt of the day.
written by *********, September 25, 2008 23:45:55
MIC President Samy Vellu, the MIC is working with PM Abdullah Badawi to secure the release of the Hindraf 5 from ISA. This looks like another 'Sandiwara' (Theatrics) being played by the BN regime to dupe the Rakyat (People). This Sandiwara is being played behind the backdrop of the Demolishment of the Setapak Sri Muneswarar Hindu Temple for the third time by DBKL and Developers...More http://*********.********.com
written by Concerned Malaysian, September 25, 2008 23:54:18
Salam Puan Zuraida,

Saya berharap yang YB dan Kerajaan Negeri Selangor akan mengambil tindakan yang sewajarnya terhadap sesiapa yang didapati bersalah sekiranya PR hendak menunjukkan yang cara pentadbiran PR berbeza dengan UMNO. Tunjukan teladan yang orang islam yang berakhidah tetap akan menjaga kebajikan dan amalan orang2 bukan islam supaya mereka faham Islam yang sebenar. Sekian,wasalam.
written by SiHangChai, September 26, 2008 00:25:42
The current Selangor govt has to take the blame as a result of the silly dogs of the MPAJ that is known to be one of the most stubborn and cowboys town council in Selangor. Thanks to the guidance of Dr Khir tak toyol and UMNOs. The current MPAJ is full of UMNO's members, and they will not listen to PR govt. Such an irrespectful act by the people.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 26, 2008 00:29:04
The council is reporting to UMNO not the Pakaatan government.Thsi is to sabotaj the present government..

ABDUL KHALID...SACK THE TOP BUGGER...!!!! DON'T BE AFRAID AND SEE SKIN COLOR!!!
written by Wakeupmsia, September 26, 2008 00:32:48
written by malaysian, September 25, 2008 22:38:26

Pakatan Rakyat or not, I am beginning to have serious doubts about you Abdul Khalid!
Buck up, or **** off!!!

Malaysian,
St@#%d! Think b4 you post. AK even instructed the re-building of the temple plus compensation in Kg Jawa after 'plastic face man toyo' demolished it prior to the GE12. Would AK do the opposite in Ampang? St@#%d!

Let me do you a favor - let me put some 'grey matter' into your head. Obviously, you have NONE!

Did you, St@#%d, "beginning to have serious doubts" about BN when :
1. Approval granted for Mazu construction was withdrawn 'cos it was "too near" the surau.
2. Approval granted for the Catholic church in Shah Alam was retracted, even though piling works was in progress.

What say you, St@#%d. The Ampang temple demolition is the work of BN! Agent provocueteer!

St@#%d, Buck up, or **** off!!! Wakeup! Now is 2008 not 1946, St@#%d!!!!!!!

written by Arubin, September 26, 2008 00:35:31
When BN is in power and you're a minister, you never even uttered a peep when temples were demolished.

Now, when PR is in power and you're a nobody, you make hell lot of noise.

What the hell is wrong with you, Samy? smilies/angry.gif
written by denkoh, September 26, 2008 02:03:14
DO NOT be mistaken, Pakatan Rakyat government is not formed to defend/protect temples. It is formed to uphold justice/law/consitution/rights and promote economic growth.
Any temples that do not have proper approval or license SHOULD BE DEMOLISHED..
this is to be fair to other rakyats too!
written by A MI, September 26, 2008 06:45:03
Who dunnit? Toyol? Semi Value?
written by smalluncle, September 26, 2008 06:58:17
very fishy, SOMETHING VERY FISHY, DID YOU SMELL IT!

OK, the MP for the area is away. But, BUT how come the Indian residence this time around so "cooperatively" allow the temple to be demolished?????

Why not big Huhah and protest like in Shah Alam??? If they did, even if the MP is away, It SURE CAUGHT THE ATTENTION of Mentri Besar !

Why? Why? WHY? Something fishy. Bau Ikan Busuk
written by Tom n Jerry, September 26, 2008 07:04:25
Always playing with fire;usoing religious & racial extremism to gain political mileage;how pathetic smilies/angry.gif
written by A MI, September 26, 2008 08:39:05
CONTD' Who dunnit Najis? Al Botak-dumbo?
written by kc respect, September 26, 2008 09:10:15
MIC leaders have been sacrifying the Indians future for their own pockets for 51 years, sacrifying a temple and blame it on PR is a small price to pay for them.
written by J Dean, September 26, 2008 09:52:55
Hold on! Please think, if Raja Petra was wrong by Syed Hamid with reason that he is a threat to the nation thru his mere truthful writings, and RPK was not involved in any demolition of any worship place.

This MPAJ has committed worst crime by demolished Hindu temple, which can cause racial riot which is detrimental to the country. Syed Hamid, why not use ISA on these people? Very clearly by the above actions, we see that law is being carried out selectively by UMNO minister.

Well forks, any demolition of surau, tokong cina or tokong india, it is a very sensitive issue with should be handled with care and not by extreme force. Selangor PKR government has its own procedure which MPAJ did not bother to abide. To reflect its seriousness, I think the MPAJ president should tender his resignation and take the blame for not adhering to the standing orders, rules and regulations.

We are reasonable people, we know that there is a need to govern and have some rules and procedures. I also would like to think that to construct any worship place on a land that does not belong to them is illegal and appropriate action to be addressed tactfully.

Just imagine, illegally, a band of muslim build a small surau, years later it grew bigger became Masjid, which was constructed on a land belong to a perrson, say this person is filthy rich by the name of Samy Vellu. What would you think Samy Vellu will react??? Would he commence legal proceeding to evict this illegal construction on his prime land? Just think!!! So to preserve harmony amongst all Malaysian, be it Cina, India, Melayu or Bengali..etc etc, there must be law and order. But to carry out this law and order, the authority which in this case (local municipality) must discharge their duty with care taking into account of people sensitivities and in the spirit of muhibah!!! Comprande.

I further think that Selangor PKR government is more sensitive to Selangor rakyat. The actions by MPAJ were probably committed by those staunch supporters for MB Khir Toya. That is why I said earlier, the MPAJ president should tender his resignation or be sack, and this will be an example and a stern warning to all agencies under the present Selangor government.

Dean
written by NSS, September 26, 2008 10:18:43
ITS VERY CLEAR ITS A GAME THEY ARE PLAYING TO DISCREDIT PR JUST LIKE THE EFFORTS TO FRAME THE PERAK PR REPS, NOW SELANGOR.. FELLOW BROTHERS & SISTERS, LETS STAY CALM AND NOT REACT HARSHLY..LET Member of Parliament Zuraidah Kamarudin GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS.. AND NAIL THE BUGGERS..
written by notsosmart, September 26, 2008 10:43:10
Those officers responsible must be terminated!!!

May I advise our useless MIC to support my suggestion and act now. Why don't you exercise your personal connection to ensure that those bustard officers will not be set free for their immoral act. Go after the local council committee and insist that these officers must be terminated without appeal. Do it now or stop your hypocrite act and stop commenting on these temple issues anymore. You are given enough time and opportunity for the past donkey years to correct this situation but never done so especially when you claim that your party are for the interest of the Indian. COCK TALK HAD TIMED OUT!
written by chebella, September 26, 2008 11:05:26
This is a concerted effort to undermine the new state government. We are seeing a consistent pattern all over selangor and in constituencies controlled by PR.

These includes the clearing of hawkers centre in wangsa maju, tree cutting in bangsar and the blocking of access road in puchong. The strategy is provoke protest and to make local PR MPs look ineffective.

In the case of bangsar tree cutting no amount of effort by nurrul izzah office could stop DBKL from mutilating the trees. However when BN Sharizat steps in the tree cutting stops immediately!
written by tehewe, September 26, 2008 11:09:42
Just typical of Samy Vellu. When things like this happen, he goes round looking for someone to blame! Why don't you try the Toyol guy!
written by SimpleSoul, September 26, 2008 14:53:57
I Wonder how come Semi had got fist hand information on the temple being broken. Your own agent la fool! We all know how MPAJ are!

Enuf with your wayang kulit la samy... I wonder why are u so hard up for position and politics.
written by matkreko, September 26, 2008 15:01:21
Look out people!

After failed to agitate the Chinese by ISAed people selectively, they (umNO-Be eNd) now go for Indians with this. They are trying really really hard to stir this racial-religious issue.

Don't be fooled to play their game. They're desperately trolling the line and once you took the bait, they'll take you up hook, line, and sinker.

Stay alert!