Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow GUAN ENG: Only Anwar knows who's on crossover list

GUAN ENG: Only Anwar knows who's on crossover list PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 25 September 2008 17:41

PETALING JAYA: Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has held the list of Barisan Nasional MPs allegedly "crossing over" to the Pakatan Rakyat so close to his chest that even the DAP has not been privy to it.

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said the Parti Keadilan Rakyat adviser had also not revealed the list to Pas leaders.

"I have not seen the list and in my meeting with Anwar on Tuesday night, he told me that he has not shown the list to any Pakatan Rakyat leaders," he told a press conference at party headquarters yesterday.

Lim said the DAP still trusted Anwar despite the failure to reveal the list. According to him, Anwar had said that PR leaders would be shown the list at the right time.

Lim also suggested that Anwar be the '916' spokesman making him the only person allowed to make statements and comments on the progress of the "crossover".

(916 stands for Sept 16, Anwar's original crossover deadline. The figure has since been adopted by the Chinese press as a term for Anwar's plans of taking over the federal government via defections from the Barisan Nasional.)

"I think it is better to let Anwar do all the talking. There should not be too many people talking about this issue. Otherwise it will create confusion, undermining the credibility of Anwar," he added.

Lim said he had informed Anwar of the suggestion that he be made the official 916 spokesman.

On Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said's plan to spend RM18 million on a Web TV project, he described it as a waste of government funds.

Lim also introduced new staff to the press -- Teh Chi-Chang, former Citigroup Investment Research director, who will be Lim's new economic adviser and Leong Joo Ti, his strategic implementation and execution manager.

- nst

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 25, 2008 18:04:01
We will know the LIST when Anwar announce it.Patient!
written by bodohland_citizen, September 25, 2008 18:08:44
I trust Anwar more than i trust the entire BN MPs smilies/grin.gif
agree 135
written by Limau, September 25, 2008 18:27:13
Well now looks like that PAS wants Malay majority Parliment. This sort of small thinking will only distruct the way to Parliment, Looks like we have to wait till next election. To me its, we want good brains and good goverence, as the rest can always be draft out in rules as Malays are well protected, anyway the supreme comander will be our DYMM YDPT AGONG. DYMM to be given the say to protect the Malays and Malay culture. Please again PAS we want is a bunch of Ministers in the Parliment who are good in running the Country.
written by shahidan, September 25, 2008 18:43:12
There we have it. An example pf don't practice what you preach. Preach transparency, but keep the people and your partners in the dark.
disagree 99
written by sjs, September 25, 2008 18:43:37
Mr. Lim,

I can confirm that at least one person name will not be there in any form!

Mahathir s/o Iskandar Kutty

Mahathir Kept Hidden His Little Secret - The Indian Muslim
Source: malaysianunplug.blogspot.com

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad started life not as a Malay but a Malayalee -the people of Kerala in south India, where his father came from.

At university in Singapore, Mahathir was listed as an Indian

Note: Mahathir was born and named as Mahathir s/o Iskandar Kutty @ Mahathir Mohamed. Mahathir's father, (Iskandar Kutty) was a school teacher of Indian origin, specifically Malayalee (people who speak Malayalam), not to be confused with Malay, having migrated from the southern state of Kerala, while his mother was a Malay. - Malaysian Unplug)

Mahathir is full of paradoxes on racial issues. Many of his policies have had the effect of reducing the racial element in government decisions, watering down the agenda to advance Malay interests)

Yet, despite his trumpeting of Asian identity, Mahathir appears ashamed to admit his Indian heritage.
In his new book, A New Deal for Asia, he writes about his father in such a way as to imply that he was a Malay dedicated to the improvement of his fellow Malays rather than the hard-working Indian immigrant and government servant that he was.

No mention of Mahathir's Indian Muslim background ever appears in the media. The subject is taboo.
written by uzumaki naruto, September 25, 2008 19:00:07
aiyaah....guan eng aaaa. why are you so gullible just like many others in here. there's no such thing laaa. that anwar fella is lying laaa. he is trying very hard and doing all he can to cease the moment. he know very well that he can't wait for the next G.E.

it looks like he can't pull it off. malaysia is very lucky, there are not that many gullible people.
disagree 130
written by Joelim, September 25, 2008 19:32:36
The public is getting very anxious to know about the 916 list. Many have doubt whether the list contains the required numbers (31) to enable PR to take over the government. Supporters of PR in peninsular Malaysia grew from 51% to 75%, maybe even higher, coming to September 16th. The congregation on the eve at Kelana Jaya stadium brought tears of joy to the entire nation. For the first time in Malaysia’s history we witnessed the spirit of “muhibah” shone through the mighty divide bringing hope to a new beginning.

When September 16th did not eventuate, many were let down, myself included. As hope for a much anticipated PR government dissipated and no clear solution to free Raja Petra, suddenly, it looks like we are back on the drawing board.
written by HeeHaw, September 25, 2008 19:33:50
Well, you politicians can play your games, meanwhile good people like RPK are suffering for having put their faith in you.

Come the next GE, if we find out Anwar has been bullshitting us and DAP/PAS going along with his game for 'political expediency', you can be sure you'll face the wrath of RPK's faithful!
written by Sudahlah tu, September 25, 2008 19:36:02
kita tidak perlu mereka lagi ....
rakyat sudah lebih matang dan bersatu untuk kemerdekaan Malaysia ......
umno akan dihancurkan oleh anjing2 muda mereka diketuai oleh NTR ...
suratan takdir .........
written by shangrilapeace, September 25, 2008 20:08:21
Joelim,

At the Stadium, I looked into the eyes of many Malay, Indians Chinese and mixed races who are strangers. Never felt so safe before in a very large crowd.
Not only safe but they give me their sweet & gentle smiles as well.
All in one beautiful spirit...
written by goforahike, September 25, 2008 20:22:27
I believe Anwar has his reasons for not sharing the list with his counterparts.....u'll never know who are ur friends n who r ur enemies. Better to keep it secret until such time when the names are revealed. So far Anwar has been quite consistent with his promises....but if the ruling party refuse to play fair, there's nothing much we can do. Just play the waiting game....but by the looks of things....the "enemies" are getting desperate and now everybody wants to be the "boss".....the power struggle is on and everyone of them is trying to create an impression as a fighter of ketuanan in anticipation of the coming election of the UMNo Putras.
written by PublicStranger, September 25, 2008 20:59:06
i dun care he got the list or not... but i do hope he change the damn country.
believe he has the list or not; i dun even bother too... but i believe he can do more than that silly bodohwi and najis

ada ataupun tiada senarai itu, saya tetap sokong DSAI akan mengubah hidup Malaysia.
written by Joelim, September 25, 2008 21:10:35
Shangrilapeace,

Very well said. The government of today doesn't need to do very much to unite us. This was evident at Kelana Jaya where the "unity" was so heartfelt. I walked away that night feeling a sense of belonging. I began to love Malaysia again...
written by omarkhayyam, September 25, 2008 21:11:21
well if only anwar knows than can anwar please act on it fast to get RPK n all other free plus the promised petrol price slash smilies/smiley.gif

written by lynn, September 25, 2008 21:48:50
I know this country is full of arrogant idiots, cocky bastards, and confident morons. why else they keep voting BN? When BN slapped them on their faces, they will think they deserved to be slapped and come back for more abuse.... by supporting umno, mca, mic. ****ing idiots.
As for those commentators who have just been voted down, pls, get lost, drop dead, get crushed by a speeding 40 footer, you lousy bastards. MT doesn't welcome you.

Pls, don't talk KocK here - taking over the federal govt is not going to be a walk in the park. For Anwar, it will be a tough job & you supporters of RPK, pls dont run down Anwar. He is doing the best he can, given the difficult circumstances.
written by mikewang, September 25, 2008 21:49:42
YB Lim.

The minister is not a CAT.
Without the likes of RM 18 million, UMNO system of patronage will die.
If that corrupt way dies, so will UMNO.

Otherwise how a party of pea brains who sees fit to sue on behalf of a egg can rule this country for 51 years ?
written by shangrilapeace, September 25, 2008 22:31:45
Joelim,

Thanks..
You began to love Malaysia again...
I began to love 'Abolish ISA'
written by varvoom, September 26, 2008 00:40:00
The dilemma DSAI and Pakatan is facing is that with crossover the head count of non-Malays MP and non-Muslim MP is nearly double Malay-Muslim MP. With some umno crossing over, it will put the balance on a more acceptable ratio for his highness, the Agong, to be place in a less constitutional difficulty to let Pakatan form the next government.
written by anakwatanKL, September 26, 2008 00:56:20
After 50odd years of BN rule and with fragile egos at stake, this is a delicate matter. DSAI needs to do his job safely and efficiently as the fragile egos of BN MAY execute plans of their own knowing from past history. We do have to be patient. I pray to God that it would not take long as the rakyat have been praying and waiting patiently

God Bless Malaysians.
written by StevenMax, September 26, 2008 08:26:14
Whether DSAI has the numbers or not is really irrelevant to me although it would be the ideal situation that he has the numbers and "change" the Govt. What DSAI has done is to give all of us an array of hope and sense of being able to send the right message to those in power and to those blinded by power and greed. DSAI has given us light and hope helping us to think that things can be changed for the better.
written by Amir, September 26, 2008 13:50:12
Many commentators here are confused. You want your politicians to be principled and trustworthy so that they can govern us well and justly. At the same time you are fervently urging (at the instigation of DSAI) BN MPs to crossover to PR. Thus betraying the mandate given to them by the people in a democratic election.

Change of governments should be decided at the ballot box and not by backroom deals done without the involvement of the rakyat that you fondly quote so often. This endless political bickering and innuendo is all aimed at destabilizing the government but is also destabilizing the governance of the country.

What I want is for the politicians of both BN and PR is to actually get to work and serve the people. I want them to tackle crime which is rampant so I and my family can move about safely. I want them to tackle inflation which is reducing the money I have in my pocket. I want them to tackle dangerous and reckless driving which threatens my life whenever I get into a car. I want them to improve public transport making it safe, efficient and integrated so that I have a cheap alternative to my car. I want them to tackle the social ills which have become more prevalent in our society in recent years.

In short, If Dolah, Najib or Anwar want to be PM, I want them to serve me and my fellow rakyat well and improve my life. When one of the other can show me they have done this instead of merely making reckless promises which go unfulfiled then I will VOTE for you to lead our country. Not by unethical and immoral switching of sides which betrays an unprincipled character.

So to our politicians I say GET TO WORK, Elections are coming up in a few years. Show me how good you are instead of just promising me how good you will be.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009