Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Long day’s journey into the night for RPK and family

Long day’s journey into the night for RPK and family PDF Print
Thursday, 25 September 2008 09:22

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 25 — A grey dawn greeted Marina Lee Abdullah yesterday as she journeyed 200km north to meet her husband Raja Petra Kamarudin.

The outspoken editor of the Malaysia-Today web portal was transferred a day earlier to the Kamunting ISA detention camp near Taiping, a former mining town in Perak named for peace.

For Marina and the rest of her entourage — her two daughters, one son-in-law and Raja Petra's cousin — the day was to get darker still.

Their nerves have been wrought since Sept 12 when some 10 police officers burst into the family home in Sungai Buloh near here and took away Raja Petra under the Internal Security Act, tearing apart the close-knitted family.

And on Monday, Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar signed an order under Section 8 (1) of the ISA which instructed Raja Petra to be placed in the Kamunting camp for up to two years, purportedly for writing articles which had insulted Islam and could arouse anger among Muslims.

The drive up took about three hours, no thanks to ongoing roadworks at the Jelapang toll of the North-South Expressway which severely restricted traffic to a crawl.

The visit itself lasted only 45 minutes and the family was subjected to much red tape.

"Awful! A lot of can't do this, can't do that. We were treated like in kindergarten," Marina told The Malaysian Insider of her experience upon her return.

"For example, I wanted to pass him some effects, which I gave earlier to the officer to inspect. But when I was going to pass it to Pet, the officer said 'Cannot!'

"And when I was going to go off, I asked the officer 'Can I give him a kiss?' you know, because I'm very affectionate and it's these little affectionate gestures that have kept us married for 40 years, and the officer said 'Cannot! Itu kelakuan tak senonoh'," cried an outraged Marina, upset at the officer who dismissed her request as indecent.

Raja Petra, she reported, had been placed in solitary confinement cell, which thankfully is "not in a box of 6 feet by 8 feet with no windows."

"He has to be in solitary confinement for the next three months unless they find that he has been cooperative or has changed," she said.

But for today's visit, the intrepid 57-year-old had been allowed out to socialise freely. It was a "privilege" the family viewed with great trepidation.

"On the first visit, we're allowed to touch. It's the first day privilege which they then take away over the next nine months. This is how they break you.

"On the second visit, we will have to talk through a screen and use a phone. This is the demerit system. If you are a good boy and well-behaved, then they allow you to touch again," Marina elaborated.

She then related that her husband told her he had been "visited by three ustad to brainwash him" but her timely visit had saved him from their interrogations.

She also recounted how the family was put under the microscope for the duration of their visit inside. Several officers came up close to write down the conversations Raja Petra had with the family and frequently attempted to interrupt their limited visiting time, she said, provoking some rather violent emotions within her.

Their unyielding stance on many things caused the normally placid Marina to explode into rather colourful invectives as she vented her frustrations and fears during the course of the phone interview, particularly when one of the officers, a female, explicitly warned them against "passing any outside information to the detainees."

According to Marina, there is a very thick wall inside the camp. On one side of the wall is the block holding the isolated detainees; on the other side, another block holds detainees who are allowed to mingle and watch TV.

The only glimmer of sunshine for the renowned writer before his family visit was hearing shouts from beyond the wall. Apparently, the voices belonged to some members of the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) who were also arrested under the ISA last year when they held a protest march in downtown Kuala Lumpur demanding the long-forgotten rights of ethnic Indian citizens.

"He told me he heard them screaming 'Raja, we know you're here. We just saw you on TV with your wife.' That was his only way of keeping updated on what's going on in the world outside," related Marina.

Her husband's greatest worry, she said, was that three months down the road, the public would have forgotten his existence.

"He told me, 'Please tell them not to forget me'," Marina said, before excusing herself to attend a meeting with the lawyers on filing a new application against her husband's detention.

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by miracle, September 25, 2008 09:30:12
we will never never wil forget you Pete .. hang on , the rakyat will you ..
agree 177
written by Melgy, September 25, 2008 09:33:03
Dear Marina,

Pls convey to Pete that we will not forget him.
He is our HERO and a History Maker.

I read with tears when I read those lines, how Pete
said, ask them not to forget me.

The solidatory confinement breaks a man. But not his mind
and spirit.

My family and i will keep him in prayers.

agree 162
written by Birdbrain, September 25, 2008 09:40:46
Marina, please tell RPK he is our Legend!
written by debids, September 25, 2008 09:41:09
Dear RPK and family...you will remain always in our prayers. A true hero. We will fly yellow ribbons for your freedom. The cruel people who have done this you and your family have only set themselves up for a great downfall!
written by Godflesh, September 25, 2008 09:41:29
Forget our Commander-In-Chief. No way maam, think of him even in my sleep!!
written by June, September 25, 2008 09:41:42
Marina...the next time you visit Pete, tell him that 'We will never forget him'. I don't know whether they allowed him to receive cards or not but who cares, we will still keep sending cards to him. Let him know that we actually did send him cards. Take care Marina and kids.
written by CitizenBodohland, September 25, 2008 09:41:51
Ku berdoa kepada Allah SWT agar berikan ketabahan dan kekuatan kepada orang-orang yang dizalimi.

Ku berdoa kepada Allah SWT agar orang-orang yang menzalimi itu akan menerima balasan mereka yang setimpal di dunia dan akhirat.

Ku berdoa kepada Allah SWT agar melaknat orang-orang yang menggunakan undang-undang yang bertentangan dengan ajaran Islam di dalam bulan Ramadhan yang mulia ini.

Yaa Allah, lindungilah kami daripada dizalimi orang-orang yang tamak kuasa dan tamak harta.
written by Warga Tua, September 25, 2008 09:42:40
Pete, We love you. Take care of your health and stay calm. People of Malaysia, other than UMNOputras and their running dogs, are with you. We shall try all legal avenues to get you out. You Malaysia's great son.
written by Concerned_Citizen, September 25, 2008 09:43:29
FORGET? Even if I get amnesia, this man will still linger in my head!
written by captmarco ramius, September 25, 2008 09:45:15
I read this with great sadness and a heavy heart.

Puan Marina & Family,

WE WILL NOT FORGET YM RPK & YOUR SACRIFICE...
WE SHALL PREVAIL...

VALGHE MAKKAL SAKTHI !!!
written by Democrats, September 25, 2008 09:46:59
Oh HRH Sultan Selangor, please help get your cousin out.....
written by SocratesI, September 25, 2008 09:49:53
A FEARLESS PATRIOT IN OUR MIDST

After reading at length Haris Ibrahim’s take on whether we, the readers & commentators of Malaysia Today, have misrepresented ourselves to our beloved RPK, and having done much soul searching, my conclusion is spelt out below.

Raja Petra Kamaruddin being Raja Petra Kamaruddin would have continued with his crusade against Injustice, Inequality, Corruption, Abuse of Power, and Cover-Ups by the Powers-that-be, and his fight for Free Speech, Civil Rights, the Poor, the Down-Trodden, and those too weak to defend themselves, whether or not anyone encouraged or “egged” him on or not.

That is the power of FAITH of a True Muslim who holds fast to his Islamic Principles, and a MAN who fears nothing, and answers to no one, but God. That describes Pete’s character in a nutshell pretty succinctly. He speaks out against the people in power fearlessly, knowing full well these unprincipled beasts dressed in human clothing would retaliate using all the arsenal at their disposal, including the Devil’s own invention, the Internal Security Act, which has no place in a Democratic country and in Civil Society, as it gives Dictatorial Power to these unprincipled animals to Abuse and incarcerate Upright and Outstanding Citizens like Raja Petra Kamaruddin who poses no security threat to anyone, let alone the country.

This travesty of Justice as used by Syed Hamid Albar and his Ministry’s minions, the Special Branch, called the ISA, must be repealed IMMEDIATELY and ALL detainees under the ISA should be either freed, or charged in court under due legal process. No one in a democratic country like what Malaysia professes to be, should be subjected to abuse under the ISA where any citizen can be detained without charges just by the police, or some dictatorial Minister or even Prime Minister, at their mercy. This is a blatant travesty of Justice.

Enough digression on the ISA issue. This is about our FOLK HERO, Raja Petra, after all. It is people like Pete, who is the conscience of Malaysia and Malaysian society, who keep our faith in humanity intact. No doubt, he must have experienced some disappointment at not achieving the number of petitioners for both the Agong’s petition and the Free RPK and other ISA detainees’ petition, but that would not have stopped him in his Noble Quest of walking the straight and narrow path of TRUTH, and the expression of it.

In Pakistan, the people would have come out in droves, on the streets, to defend their democratic rights to freedom and an independent Judiciary, but these are people who dared to secede from a country based on their religious beliefs, and form their own country. Not so Malaysians who are mainly immigrants from Indonesia, China, and India, who either ran away from hardship at home, or from despotic governments. Malaysians are not built the same way as Pakistanis or Bangladeshis, or others who have stayed and fought for their rights.

These Malaysians are peace-loving middle class types who just want to make a decent enough living for their families and don’t like suffering any type of hardships. Recently, this has been threatened by the massive corruption that going on in Malaysia and the huge increase in the cost of living. Suddenly, their middle-class world came crashing down like a house of cards, and that is when the Tsunami of March 8th 2008 happened, and the Permatang Pauh by-election underlined the feelings of the common Malaysian.

Voting anonymously and having no fear of direct repercussions emboldens even cowards to come forward and be counted, literally, and this was reflected in the two polls, at the GE and at the PP by-election.
Cont'd ...

written by Cikgu Bedah, September 25, 2008 09:50:19
Pak Engku
How can we ever forget you?
You have been instrumental in liberating our minds from Ameno's brand of politics, lies, corruption and oppression.
You are always in our prayers, Pak Engku.

Allah is with you and your family.
One day the sun will shine on you, insya Allah.
Keep the faith.
We love you, Pak Engku!
written by SocratesI, September 25, 2008 09:50:25

But to get these same people to come out with their names and IC numbers, or even their names and email addresses, to back these most worthy petitions was probably too much to expect. These same people would bypass Govt. blocks to read Malaysia Today, and to comment under pseudonyms, but would not jeopardize their “rice bowl” of their families by risking being identified by the authorities and the government of the day, and put out to pasture prematurely. These same people who vociferously support Raja Petra and Malaysia Today cannot be trusted upon to stand forth and be counted when the chips are down.

As statistics show, only 26,000 or so have the guts to put their signatures and names where their mouths were and are, out of 1,000,000 plus Malaysia Today readers, and that is the sorry state of Malaysia and Malaysians, today! As Zaid Ibrahim pointed out at the court house on the 23rd Sept. at Pete’s transfer to Kamunting when our sorry excuse of a Home Minister signed those papers for the transfer, Malaysia sorely needs more people like Raja Petra, who dare to speak up and speak out. However, these same people who have done nothing to jeopardize their rice bowls, will be more than willing to be heard and make their presence felt at the next GE. They just have no stomachs for suffering or even the possibility of suffering for themselves and their families, by disclosing their identities and standing proudly for what they secretly believe in, in petitions, or demonstrations.

We have to live with this Malaysian psyche, like it or not, though the younger generation has shown much more guts, and become more vocal in Malaysian society. The future looks much brighter with the enlightened youth of today, and much of the thanks have to go to Raja Petra, and people like him, who have stood Unwaveringly for their principles and the TRUTH, to enlighten all Malaysians and foreigners to what is actually happening in Malaysia.

Raja Petra is a True Son of Malaysia and a Malaysian Patriot that all Malaysians can be proud of, whether or not they agree with his views. He stands for what he believes in, and is willing to go to jail under the Draconian ISA for what he stands for. A Towering Malaysian for our younger generation to emulate, and aye, even for the older generation, too, and especially those who only find their guts when the elections come round.

If I were part of Raja Petra’s family, I would hold my head up HIGH and be the proudest person in the world to have a patriarch like Raja Petra, and to have the opportunity to support him through all his challenges. We are in a way Raja Petra’s extended family and I would ask that we do what we can to help free Raja Petra from the clutches of the Devil, the ISA, by proactively signing the petition to free him. Throw your caution to the winds and sign. Whatever your religion, do you believe that we are here on Earth just to live for four score years and die for nothing?? Let us do something that is Right and Good, so that at the end of our four score years on Earth, we have something to show our Maker. Here is the petition address http://www.petitiononline.com/...ition.html

Just SIGN IT ! Only your email address is needed. Go and register a new one for this if you must, but sign it, and get your family members to sign it as well as your friends. For the sake of our Patriot & Towering Malaysian, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, let him be FREE and walk in our midst once more.

written by Marson, September 25, 2008 09:51:46
Pete I will never forget you. Stay on be strong. But I don't know about DSAI, whether he still remember you, he's to be busy setting empty promises.
written by Durnfordi, September 25, 2008 10:02:43
I will not forget the sacrifices you made for us YM Raja Petra. You're the real King of our hearts! Puan Marina, stay strong. We're with you all the way. Thank you again for everything
written by Fatcat, September 25, 2008 10:06:49
FRee RPK NOW... Sad Sad,... How people can be so cruel.

Cowards are cruel, but the brave,
love mercy, and a delight to save.

John Gay (1685 - 1732)
written by beautifuldisaster, September 25, 2008 10:07:58
we're with you in spirit, Pete. We will never forget you.
written by kevin k, September 25, 2008 10:15:14
You will not be forgotten RPK. You are my Legend. Will continue the skin head look and drive with my lights on.

Cheers Sir
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 25, 2008 10:16:54
Been waiting for PR to take over so that that baldy rascal could be fixed.
written by J Dean, September 25, 2008 10:20:50
UNTIL DEATH I WILL NEVER FORGET YM RAJA PETRA...HE IS MY HERO. Let us be positive, BA will take over BN government and RPK will be set free. He should do what he do best, writings!
written by Fuminari, September 25, 2008 10:39:28
we will never forget U!more to that,we will keep ur flame burning!!!!!
written by unomalaysia, September 25, 2008 10:47:12
FORGET OUR RPK!!!!????? NEVER!!!!!!!!

And we will also not forget what that sleepy what's his name, that mudering what's his name and that syed idiot what's his name did to our RAJA PETRA KAMARUDIN and in the process also what these what's their names did to Malaysia!!!
written by orangdunia, September 25, 2008 10:52:55
I am close to forgetting the artic jump, the longest roti jala in malaysia and even our pseudo 'astronaut'. But I will never ever forget the bravest man in Malaysia. We WILL get you out!
written by fireduck, September 25, 2008 11:09:22
Pete, we will not forget you!
written by anakwatanKL, September 25, 2008 11:14:07
I have signed the petition earlier on and written an opinion for RPK.

I also have seen Marina's video and read the recent updates with a heavy heart. I shall continue with my prayers next for the change of the race based Govt., by God's Grace.
written by Ordinary Rakyat, September 25, 2008 11:18:34
Dear Marina,

We will never forget RPK. He has shown Malaysians that there is light at the end of the tunnel.
written by RumahPanjai, September 25, 2008 11:31:43
A son of royalties, a good muslim is in dire strait in Kamunting. Where are all the other royal families? Can't they do anything? At the very least, exercise some of their royal powers to get him out.
written by CheGUvera, September 25, 2008 11:32:40
Pete, how can we forget you, if we can remember zapata, cheguvera...there will no way we can forget you, it will like forgetting about the problem of this country. Even the foerign press has not and will not forget you. On the contrary you will be remembered and come out as a TRUE HERO. BBC remember you
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7630789.stm. Dudes,Pls write on foreign press comments as to let the int. communities know Malaysia Is truly not Asia.
written by Baronshah, September 25, 2008 11:40:50
FORGET..????

I can't think of that word "FORGET" where YM RPK is concerned. Forget someone who have sacrificed his FREEDOM and FAMILY for us???? NEVER WILL WE FORGET YOU DEAR RPK OUR BROTHER, OUR PATRIOT AND SAVIOUR.
May GOD bless and protect YOU and your family.

regards
May GOD bless all.
written by mmzl, September 25, 2008 11:44:20
Shall we organise a volunteer task force to help ferry Marina to Kamunting as often as possible ?
I can offer my car, the fuel cost and myself as the driver.
written by rakyatmalaysia, September 25, 2008 12:07:30
dear TUN RPK, How can we forget you ?
You are our freedom fighter...we shall never forget you.

RPK, RakyatMalaysia hereby conferred you as our hero for generations to come.

100 years down the road, people will forget about aab, najib and the bn stooges,but we shall never forget you
written by Blackmilk, September 25, 2008 12:09:53
The last few lines broke my heart.
You are never far from our thoughts, Pete.
written by slash n burn, September 25, 2008 12:14:45
Dear Marina and family, I remember your beloved husband RPK and also those being persecuted by UMNO/BN. I must remember. I must pray.
written by back2future, September 25, 2008 12:21:41
anwar in for 6 years he s not forgotten , nelson mandela in for years , he s not forgotten , so do RPK , BUT i believe RPK will out very very soon .
written by netmiser88, September 25, 2008 12:22:27
Dear Bro Pete,

You do not have to remind us not to forget you!!!!......you are UNFORGETABLE!!!!

You are constantly on my mind.....day and night ever since that faithful day you were sent to that hell hole called Kamunting.

Being put in the hell hole for the wrong reasons is very heart breaking at lest to me.

You are always on my mind....willie nelson.
written by atsanee, September 25, 2008 12:24:56
We will NEVER FORGET and we will NEVER FORGIVE,so help me God!!!
written by Rundukon, September 25, 2008 12:33:57
I never expected that ISA detainees are treated worse than common criminals. Solitary confinement? I thought this kind of punishment is only reserved to murderers. Even rapist are allowed to mingle freely with other prisoners.

Malaysia is truly a police state.
written by hakuna, September 25, 2008 13:01:48
Marina - no words of mine is going to lessen your grieve but just tell Pete that the only person I admired and adored in this country is Onn Jaafar (a man of his principles - wanting a multiracial party)but Pete is standing by his side now.

IF we ever forget Pete - then we definitely are Ungrateful dogs - because dogs are grateful.

What more can I say except to HOPE that Anwar can do something fast, if that fails then the ALLMIGHTY's intervention.
written by hakuna, September 25, 2008 13:12:00
Dear Marina - no words of mine is going to lessen your grieve but please tell PETE that I have always admired and adored one Man in this land and that is Onn Jaafar for his principles and now PETE stands besides him.

If we ever forget him - we definitely are UNGRATEFUL DOGS because dogs are grateful .

Hope is all I have - Anwar has to act fast (presume he is also in a turmoil for the slow act or how to go about it) and next is the ALMIGHTY's intervention.

Pete give those who is coming to teach (rehabilitate)you - hell - you did it once before and you can do it again.
written by samesamemam, September 25, 2008 13:41:37
I join with everyone else to say: We/I will not forget you RPK. The campaigns to free you will continue and I`ll continue sending cards to you…for your birthday, for raya, deepavali, christmas, new year, even when there are no festivities…I hope to God, though, that you will be out before all those festivities…the biggest festivity, however, will be the celebration when you are released…but I`ll still keep sending you cards and greetings…We/I will not forget you…and just in case I get amnesia, I got your pic and the animated candle each time I start up my computer, to remind me…

I`m sending cards everyday…if you don’t get them, then those f---kers are not passing them to you…

YM. Raja Petra Kamarudin
Tempat Tahanan Perlindungan,
34009 Kamunting,
Taiping.
Perak
Malaysia
written by superstar232006, September 25, 2008 13:48:04
Her husband's greatest worry, she said, was that three months down the road, the public would have forgotten his existence.

I'm reading your website for around 3 years now. I'm very grateful that this site brings so many UNTOLD stories to PUBLIC view.
As a normal human being I'm truly amazed to see your courage and im very grateful for what you have done for our country and for all Malaysians. I will not forget you and i have been telling about Your detention under ISA law to everyone who talks politics with me.

If i forget you then it means I'm not a true PATRIOT to my country. I will continue access this site as long as this site exist.

Thanks for everthing and i'm praying for your release. Pls take care and to RPK's family please dont lose your hope.

True Malaysians will do eveything they can to release RPK.
written by HL Ooi, September 25, 2008 13:51:45
"And when I was going to go off, I asked the officer 'Can I give him a kiss?' you know, because I'm very affectionate and it's these little affectionate gestures that have kept us married for 40 years, and the officer said 'Cannot! Itu kelakuan tak senonoh'," cried an outraged Marina, upset at the officer who dismissed her request as indecent.

What kind of sick people are working at Kamunting? Maybe the netizens should get hold of the identities of these people and start harassing them until they go cuckoo or ask for a transfer away from there.
written by skc, September 25, 2008 14:07:59
Dear Marina,
I do not think that MT readers will ever forget YM RPK. Please assure him that we will keep the flame burning, the flame that he has ignite in all of us. No one of this generation will ever forget RPK, gods willing, history will remember him as well.
written by yellowkingdom, September 25, 2008 14:15:22
I dedicate this song for Pete. May his will be strengthen to face the challenges ahead. His contribution in awakening a nation to its rights and thirst for justice shall long be remembered. Never forgotten!

You'll Never Walk Alone

When you walk through a storm,
Hold your head up high,
And don't be afraid of the dark,
At the end of the storm is a golden sky.
And the sweet silver song of a lark.
Walk on through the wind,
Walk on through the rain,
Tho' your dreams be tossed and blown,
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart,
And you'll never walk alone.
You'll never walk alone
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart,
And you'll never walk alone.
You'll never walk alone

written by wishuponastar, September 25, 2008 14:18:28
Dear Marina ,

A Malay may forget RPK,a Chinese or an Indian too may.
But a true Malaysian can never forget him...never...never and we the MT fans are one bunch of true Malaysians ma'am.He spoke for all.This morning as I was reading the famous poem by Maya Angelou 'I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings' I was thinking of that man of yours.Here is the poem:

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

The free bird leaps
on the back of the win
and floats downstream
till the current ends
and dips his wings
in the orange sun rays
and dares to claim the sky.

But a bird that stalks
down his narrow cage
can seldom see through
his bars of rage
his wings are clipped and
his feet are tied
so he opens his throat to sing.

The caged bird sings
with fearful trill
of the things unknown
but longed for still
and is tune is heard
on the distant hill for the caged bird
sings of freedom

The free bird thinks of another breeze
an the trade winds soft through the sighing trees
and the fat worms waiting on a dawn-bright lawn
and he names the sky his own.

But a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams
his shadow shouts on a nightmare scream
his wings are clipped and his feet are tied
so he opens his throat to sing

The caged bird sings
with a fearful trill
of things unknown
but longed for still
and his tune is heard
on the distant hill
for the caged bird
sings of freedom.

written by kedahan63, September 25, 2008 15:33:09
Debids has a good suggestion. Besides calling the PM & his "men" 24-7, we can also fly yellow ribbons anywhere and everywhere. I getting some yellow ribbons for my car, my gate, my grills and my wife's car and they stay on until Pete's out. Care to join me? It can be a big yellow bouquet like the ones they have for weeding...errr...sorry..wedding cars. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

I like yellow...it reminds me of the sun, so what if BERSIH happened to choose yellow? Coincidence!! I support the royals too and their color is yellow! My home state colors are Hijau/Kuning and I support it, too. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by maniwannan_subramaniam, September 25, 2008 15:53:47
RPK.....i really felt sad reading this account of marina......i know how she feels.....and u too....as i'm typing this tears well in my eyes.......you will not be forgotten ..u our HERO and sure GOD is watching all this...please take care of ur health...be patient...trust GOD ALMIGHTY......pray RPK....we love u.......marina u a gutsy woman......salute and regards to u n ur children..pls be brave...its just a trial to test ur endurance......tc ........regards...thats all i can say for now marina...GOD BE WITH U N UR FAMILY
written by Kathy, September 25, 2008 16:23:26
Let us swamp Kamunting with well-wishing cards for RPK. Can the Administrator please publish the address of Kamunting again and leave it on the home page?
written by Steven Tan, September 25, 2008 16:40:10
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Sesiapa sahaja, sekiranya mereka itu "Anak Satu Bapak, Satu Emak" tidak akan melupakan RPK dan pengorbanannya. Percayalah. Pengorbanan RPK adalah seperti pengorbanan Nelson Mandela, Mahatma Ganthi dan lain-lain pemimpin ternama yang mana nama mereka tidak akan lekang dari hati kita. Selamat Berjuang RPK
written by Limang, September 25, 2008 20:09:24
Dear sister Marina,

I hope you will notice this mail.

How can Pete has such worry as that we will forget about him? Did we forget about Anwar when he was in jail for 6 years? We only waited for his release and what a welcome on that day of days!!! You can assure Pete the same tumultous and renderous welcome awaits him on his release.

But more than this, he is now a legend among many children and youths, the same group who now demonisze the arab moron and bodowi and their gang of bastards and cowards. To this young generation, Pete is the exemplary hero and champion of the oppressed, the weak, the halpless and those who suffered injustice. That he paid the price is for them an indisputable confirmation of his legendary status. My son, for example, worships Pete and talks about his bravery, righteousness and steadfastness incessantly to his classmates who all are awed by Pete, even though they have never met him. Such is Pete's reputation and influence! So how can Pete ever despair that he will be forgotten? Far from it, he is creating history in Malaysia in the like of Mahatma Gandhi, Luther King, Nelson Mandela, Auyang Su Kyi, etc. His writings and reasoning have influenced miilions in Malaysia, that resulted in almost the overthrow of a despotic regime. His incaceration has not stopped the revolution he started, on the contrary, it will culminate in the complete wipe out of this godless, corrupted and oppressive UMNO and its cohorts - MIC, MCA, Gerakan, etc. by the next GE. That is a foregone conclusion.

Tell your beloved husband, instead of despair, cheer up, dance, sing, rejoice to show that he is well-aware of the revolution he has started and the impact he has made, and the adoring millions that await his release and return to society!
written by roggon, September 25, 2008 20:48:12
Dear Puan Marina,

Just to let you know that we will never forget YM RPK. he must hang on there till DSAI takes over the government.
written by Sudahlah tu, September 25, 2008 21:37:58
Perjuangan YM RPK sungguh mulia terhadap kemerdekaan Malaysia ..
Kami tidak akan lupakan segala pengorbanan beliau dan seisi keluarga dalam perjuangan ini.
Ramai daripada KITA mungkin tidak seberani kami ...
Kami tetap bersatu dengan YM RPK demi mencapai kebenaran dalam kemerdekaan Malaysia.
Kami amat berbangga dan bersyukur atas segala yang YM RPK bersama dengan seisi keluarga telah mencurahkan kepada kepentingan rakyat Malaysia menyedari hakikat sebenar serta komplot zalim bn.
Puan Marina , sila terima penghormatan saya. TERIMA KASIH.
written by dumbfounded, September 25, 2008 21:50:09
i like many others will always visit with the hope to hear about RPK's release. do tell him that he is missed. this atrocity has gone on WAY too long already. may God and our King intervene.
written by shangrilapeace, September 26, 2008 00:14:13
When I *****ed on Malaysia Today, always eager to read his article even though he is under ISA detention. I missed him.
When I saw his photo on the the top right hand of MT home site, my heart pained immediately & automatically. How can I forget him?
written by Man In Black, September 26, 2008 05:31:10
Brother Pete, stay strong and healthy...we the RAKYAT will never forget you even for a minute and our prayers are always for you...My whole family prays for your immediate release and safety...Please never ever doubt that the RAKYAT of which you have become part of our lives will ever ever forget a great and a wonderful person like you....we will fight all the way until you are released...It really pains me whenever i have a meal...bath..or just returning to my room...thinking of u.....
written by Baronshah, September 26, 2008 06:20:15
SORRY GUYS,I CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE I'LL HAVE TO SAY IT AGAIN WITH TEARS SWELLING IN MY EYES AFTER READING ALL YOUR COMMENTS.

PM BADAWI,

IN THIS AUSPICIOUS MONTH OF RAMADAN PLEASE BE COMPASSIONATE AND VETO hamid's DETENTION ORDER UPON YM RPK AND RELEASE HIM UNCONDITIONALLY TO SPEND HARI RAYA WITH HIS FAMILY AND LOVED ONES.

GOD WILLING MAY ALL WHO PLOTTED AGAINST THIS PATRIOT OF OUR MOTHERLAND BURN IN HELL UNTIL ETERNITY.

MAY GOD DAMN AND CURSE YOU SCUMBAGS AND YOUR 7 GENERATIONS TILL ETERNITY.

regards
May GOD bless all.
written by JulieT, September 26, 2008 08:10:42
Forget?! We will never ever forget RPK and what he has done and still doing for Malaysians and Malaysia. We are now suffering alongside him in his misery in Kamunting. His incarceration is our pain!
written by atsanee, September 26, 2008 11:39:43
Oh my God, Pete is no longer around to highlight unjustices and malpractices in government and DSAI is backpeddling and it seems we are only days,weeks or months away from Najib taking over the country.

That means ROSMAH will be in charge.

We are DOOMED !!!!!
written by iceman_taft, September 26, 2008 13:19:16
We will never forget you nor rest till your free and on the outside with us again.Together we will bring down this UMNO/BN regime once and for all.