Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Malaysia's Political Waiting Room

Malaysia's Political Waiting Room PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 25 September 2008 08:39

Before parliament is back in session, he will have to decide whether to run again for leader of the United Malays National Organization (UMNO), the dominant party in the National Front. Traditionally, Malaysia's Prime Minister also serves as UMNO's head.

By Hannah Beech / Bangkok / time.com

It's as if an entire nation is holding its breath.

Malaysia's embattled Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has already said he will give up power to take responsibility for the ruling coalition's humiliating performance in polls earlier this year. But Abdullah hasn't specified exactly when he might hand over the reins to his deputy, Najib Razak, even though the government's popularity figures are languishing at a record low.

Meanwhile, opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim, whose People's Alliance did surprisingly well in the March elections, boasts that he has lured enough defectors from the governing alliance to form a new government. But despite promising to unveil his new team in mid-September, Anwar hasn't shown the goods yet. As the political standoff heightens, Malaysians can only sit and hope that someone will soon tackle the nation's problems: a growing racial divide, a lagging economy, a judiciary whose independence has been questioned, and, most fundamentally, a sense that things in Malaysia aren't quite right.

No one doubts that Malaysian politics are about to undergo a sea change. The only questions are when and how — and those are big questions in a country that is trying to secure its status as a model Muslim-majority democracy.

• Will Anwar — a man who once served as deputy prime minister until he had a political falling-out with his mentor and spent six years in jail — be able to bring down a ruling coalition that has governed Malaysia since independence?
  • Or will Najib — the current deputy premier whose reputation has been tainted by the murder trial of his former advisor — take the helm and sustain the National Front's hold on power?

Already, Anwar's power play has been dismissed as a mere rhetorical flourish by the ruling coalition. Why else, they ask, did the opposition leader miss his self-imposed deadline of Sept. 16 to unseat the National Front? Abdullah himself sniffed that his rival's confidence of a political takeover was a "mirage." Indeed, on Sept. 24, Anwar himself seemed to be scaling back expectations of an imminent political shift. "[The People's Alliance] agreed neither to be provoked into hasty action," he said, "nor to take an irresponsible approach that would lead to instability and greater uncertainty."

As the country waits for a political breakthrough, a fresh government crackdown on potential dissent has many critics running scared. On September 12th, three opposition-linked figures — an online blogger, a journalist and a politician — were taken into custody. The country's Law Minister Zaid Ibrahim resigned in protest of the arrests, and two of the trio were released within days. But on Sept. 22, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the founder of influential online news site Malaysia Today, was directed by the Home Minister to spend two years in a detention center for inciting racial hatred. Because Raja Petra's case came under the auspices of Malaysia's draconian Internal Security Act (ISA), a colonial-era relic used by the British to try to clamp down on insurgents without due process, the jail sentence was handed down without trial.

International condemnation was swift, with a U.S. State Department spokesperson saying: "The detention of opposition leaders under the ISA would be viewed by the United States and the international community as a fundamental infringement of democratic rights and values."

Anwar is facing his own legal troubles. On Sept. 24, a court case against him, in which a male former aide accused his ex-employer of sodomy, was adjourned until Oct. 7. The charge was the same as one that landed Anwar in jail a decade ago. In 2004, that sex conviction was overturned. This time around, Anwar again denies any wrongdoing and says the allegations are retribution for his political resurrection.

Certainly, Anwar's comeback has been remarkable. In late August, he won a by-election for a parliamentary seat in a landslide, placing him in position to become Prime Minister should the People's Alliance indeed sway enough National Front lawmakers to its side. Malaysia's parliament, which has taken a break during the Muslim fasting period, reconvenes Oct. 13. At that point, Anwar has said he will try to place a no-confidence motion against Abdullah.

But the most immediate move is Abdullah's. Before parliament is back in session, he will have to decide whether to run again for leader of the United Malays National Organization (UMNO), the dominant party in the National Front. Traditionally, Malaysia's Prime Minister also serves as UMNO's head. If Abdullah forgoes his candidacy, then that decision will likely signal an early power shift to Najib.

As the days count down, all Malaysians can do is hold their breath for a little while longer.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 25, 2008 08:48:41
AAB wouldn't give up easily without a fight.Najis is too scare of AAB now becos AAB have all the dirty works of Najis in his hands.Khairy will spill the beans if Najis push AAB to the wall.
written by avj, September 25, 2008 08:54:09
Malaysia's draconian Internal Security Act (ISA), a colonial-era relic used by the British to try to clamp down on insurgents without due process, the jail sentence was handed down without trial.
We are now an independent nation still lugging the gabbage of the colonial era,and this defintly doesn't say much about our independence. Just bin the ISA and set the people free
written by Lembing, September 25, 2008 09:06:09
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Call this speculation, intel, fantasy or whatever. But the M'sian
sandiwara continues................

Kindly delete my name if sharing this; thank you.

Part 1

Pak Lah is smart and very sly. He is not going to give up the PM to Najib while under pressure. It is a known fact he does not like Najib and only tolerates him . He chose Najib as a DPM because he has dirt on Najib. Do not spend to much time reading into PaK Lah but watch Khairy's wheeling and dealing with Anwar. Khairy is throwing the
support behind Anwar and to stay relevant. He will not show his hand but have his people support Anwar. In the mean time as soon as Umno is out of power he will consolidate his power in UMNO by instigating a witch hunt. Najib and the others who plotted against Pak Lah will be surrendered to Anwar with evidence to proscute them in court. These senior UMNO plotters when convicted and will be bar from political office. He will rebuild UMNO and will have UMNO allied with PR has a strategic partner. MCA/MIC/Gerakan and other BN parties will be left
high and dry if by this time they have not gone over to PR. Khairy knows once he has made UMNO strong and he can bid for power in PR as a strategic partner. This is the only way for Khairy to survive. Do not write off Khairy. Read the Anwar's PR statements that the BN MPs do not necessary need to cross over to support the PR government. This way Khairy keeps UMNO intact and mold into a progressive party in the mold of PKR. UMNO will remain a Bumiputra party but the UMNO constitution will be change to bar racial politics and statements by UMNO members.
In 2 or 3 years Khairy will made a bid for PM with the blessing of PR.He wil prove that UMNO without the racist will be a asset to PR and the people...

Pak Lah in next fews days is going to get the King to call Anwar to show prove that he has the backing of the majority of the MPs. What Pak Lah is saying in the media is a wayang kulit to keep his enemies
in UMNO off balance. This is the only way to say his legacy and history will judge him as a man who place the country before himself.

written by Lembing, September 25, 2008 09:06:52
Part2

The story or you can call the script continues as I left it with the parting words "More to Come"

As the days get neared to the suppose target day, the haze suddenly stars to clear as the plot / script becomes clearer.

Anwar Ibrahim as say very famously "why wouldn't Abdullah Badawi want to meet me, He is my friend". This statement is to assure Abdullah Badawai the he Anwar has not ditched the plan agreed by both of them.

Abdullah Badawi when he says something but means the opposite. He says no Emergency session of Parliament is planed but what he is try to say is that there will be a emergency session of Parliament in the next few days. Abdullah knows that for UMNO to survive, it has to be reformed, getting rid of the self serving UMNO warlords and be in the
opposition and reflect on it self. When UMNO is in the opposition, it will be easy to rid the party of the Warlords. Simple reason is to hand them over to the PR government with evidence for prosecution.

Khairy is the Middle and point man between Anwar and Abdullah. Remember when he returned Anwar's passport personally to Anwar on his release from prison. Khairy knows if he wants to succeed, he must get rid of the obstacles in UMNO. Down the line after 2 to 3 years UMNO in the opposition, UMNO been reformed will be invited by PR to be a partner. Anwar will be PM for another 9 years and when he reaches 70, Khairy will be the PM by virtue of the largest party in PR. These 9 years Khairy will work to polish his image and the public will be grateful that he was instrumental in placing Anwar in power and getting rid of racial politics. He will prove to be an even better PM
that Anwar.

Najib , ooh Poor Najib. He has already got a smell on the plot (But too late) and had to call of his visit to the Middle East. Najib knows that Anwar with Abdullah's backing have sent the letter to the King to seek an audience with the King. Najib is trying to foil the plan. Once Anwar has the audience, Abdullah will have Parliament in session.
Najib is no longer the Defense Minister (Abdullah's master stoke) and can not call on the Armed Forces to effect a coup d-eta. Najib is working hard now to marshal the BN MPs and trying to prevent the
defections. All is lost now for Najib. It is too late for him as he has already been checkmate by Khairy .
Najib must be wondering about his fate either in exile, prison or in the hangman's noose.

Syed Hamid has played the dumb Interior minister to the hilt and deserves an Oscar. He has as per plan made UMNO and the government unpopular with the tactic approval of Abdullah / Khairy. When the BN government falls, no pity will be felt for UMNO. Khairy knows he needs to get rid of the 40 to 60 years old warlord if he wants to be PM in 9
years time.

Mahathir, poor Mahathir, he was sucked into the plan unknowingly by Abdullah and Khairy. He made the Government very unpopular when he criticized the Government. Including washing the dirty laundry in the
public. He is a has been and would not be of any use now to anybody. He is an old man past his glory days.

Muyuddin is just a stooge of Najib to force Abdullah out as a PM. This is only role and he has no more value except spending time in Prison.

For the other warlords I will come back to them in regards to their fate in my follow up which will be soon and also the role of the bloggers in the rise of Anwar and the defeat on Najib.
written by Lembing, September 25, 2008 09:07:27

Part 3

DECIDING AND TURNING FACTOR AND REVERASAL OF NAJIB'S POLITICAL FORTUNES.

I am sorry I have to skip the write up on the fate of the UMNO (Busy) Warlords and the Bloggers factor in the rise of Anwar and the downfall of Najib.

The intense infighting in UMNO for the Premiership is one of the most telling factors as of why Taib Mahmud Chief Minister has swung his support behind Anwar. You have may or may have not notice that Taib Mahmud is been silent. He is very much pissed off at the attitude of UMNO warlords. He state and Sabah (UMNO) hold the balance of power. He has not been consulted as who will succeed Abdullah. As a senior BN leader and the second biggest party fraction in BN, he is not getting the due respect from UMNO. Taib have already sounded Anwar that he will have the support of PBB MPs and some of the otherSarawak BN MPs. It is too late for Najib now to reconcile Taib to his side. Remember it is also important to keep you friends and partners informed on important decisions. Taib knows that his days are getting fewer and fewer as he will not live long enough. His family influence is Sarawak may die with him and PBB and its allies will be wiped of in the next Sarawak state elections. His son's and relatives political fortunes
and their riches and wealth must be safe guarded. Hence the alliances with Anwar will safe guard his legacy and empire in Sarawak.

Majority of MCA MPs are in a dilemma and state of shock. They have been told point blank by Anwar that he does not need their MPs to have a majority in parliament. Anwar has offered them a place in PR, provide DAP approves it and no special favors. MCA as a party will not be accepted in PR because DAP is already championing the Chinese
rights. A few MPs will join DAP and PKR as not to miss out on their political careers.

MIC is a no no and have not been offered a place in PR nor their MPs. MIC will die a natural death and no CPR can help them to live.

Gerakan is already a has been party and the party will die and natural death once the MPs join PKR

UMNO is in a very serious coma state. It will remain so until the end of the year and will come out of coma once Khairy is the leader.

Najib is having his people camping day and night out at the istana and having the King followed. Can not do much as Syed Hamid has told the police to stand down and make sure the security of the King.

The King has already informed the fellow brother Sultans of Anwar's letter. The is going to be an emergency meeting tonight or tomorrow of the sultans and Agung. This could be a Video conference meeting or a formal meeting to discuss Anwar's letter. Abdullah will attend the meeting to lend his support to Anwar's letter.

Abdullah is a good and sincere man and tried to make the country better... The UMNO warlords did not let him. His legacy for Malaysiawas to be reforms of the police, judiciary, economy, Education, racial and religious rights of all races and religions.

Anwar is not on a standby mode and within an earshot once the King summons him. He is very heavily protected as talk in the streets is that his life is in danger. Knowing Anwar he will laugh out this threat.

More and more MPs are getting into the Anwar band wagon. They all know it is credible that he has the numbers.

Tonight is going to be a long night and tomorrow is going to be even longer.

Khairy is busy as a beaver and fine tuning the necessary details and arrangements to have a smooth change over from Abdullah to Anwar as a PM.

The police and immigration has been given a list of people who are bared from leaving the country and Bank Negara has a list to inform the banks to freeze the accounts of the names mentioned.

WOOOW IT IS GOING TO BE A BIG PARTY AND HIP HIP HOORAY TO CHAOS FOR
NEXT 2 WEEKS AND THEN TO NORMALCY.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Birdbrain, September 25, 2008 09:26:07
Ahhhh....my dream is coming true based on the comments posted by Lembing!
written by SocratesI, September 25, 2008 09:28:30

Malaysia has never been truly independent. We were under the yoke of the Brits, and then The Alliance took over (renamed Barisan NAJIS) and using May 13th 1969 incident as a thinly veiled racist threat, has ruled Malaysia practically unchallenged until today.

It is therefore no surprise that this BN regime continue to use archaic colonial legislation against those who challenge their authority and their power, just as our colonial master were wont to do.

We have to exercise our democratic rights and JUNK the ISA ASAP.

written by Task Force 101, September 25, 2008 10:37:49

Whilst I think Lembing's oracle of thoughts may have some truth, I feel that it gives too much credence to KJ. I do not think he has the intelligence nor the capacity to broker something this large esp since he is a green horn up against 40-60 yr old UMNO warlords. These warlords, trust me, are influential and they have their own players in the game. I do not think KJ could pull this off without the warlords knowing. In fact, this will send the warlords to extinction! No way they would allow that right under their noses.

I agree that the next 48 hrs are crucial and that Najib is on a losing end. KJ maybe the running dog for Badawi in this game. I feel Badawi is brokering his own and stauch warlords survival before the impending chaos.

Badawi maybe the worst PM Malaysia had but this fact is largely due to his accomodative nature unlike the Mahahir's rule. If he had been like Mahathir, would we facing this scenario today? Hence, I feel realising the pandora's box that Badawi opened with his style of management, he is now trying to save his own skin and of his cohorts.

Whilst rivieting to read and watch, we must continue to push and demand for the release of RPK.

My clarion call remains: Boycott all GLCs such as Petronas, Maybank, CIMB (Najib's brother is the CEO) and Celcom until RPK is released
written by Hockchew, September 25, 2008 12:14:08
Maybank charged me RM50 for paying my credit card late by 1 day. Maybank charged me RM30 although my housing loan is only 1.3 months overdue on the first week of the month. This is in additional to the penalty interest charged. For the housing loan, they justify the cost because they hire a Johor-based legal firm to make telephone calls to me after office hours.

I think all this is "Haram". I am looking into possibility of changing my banker. Boycott Maybank! I will write this complain to Maybank and Bank Negara soon.

For those of you needing banking facilities, I suggest you avoid Maybank. I am not their competitor and have nothing against the staff of Maybank. I am just a small time businessman who wanted to share this information with all of you. smilies/angry.gif
written by Nunudada, September 25, 2008 13:25:19
I refer to the articles by Lembing.The scenes played out seem plausible and may se norm rve as the stage upon which these changes will occur.If the predictions are to be believed,and perhaps Lembing is not basing his storyline on heresay,then in the aftermath of this much desired change,lies a period of uncertainty.
Politics is this country has been mired with all sorts of innuendos which has rubber-stamped us as "CLOWNS" in thisworld circus.While political wheeling and dealing is the norm in even the best of countries,I would have hoped to see the political paradigm in Malaysia to evolve and mature into a two party democracy mainly,with lesser party,s in the sidelines.Democracy must prevail over and above the rungs of religion and race to ensure a successful and prosperous future generation.We are a nation "SITTING ON A GOLD MINE",Yes,thats our potential in this god gifted land.A change of mind-set with proper laws will unleash the true potential of our colourful people to a full set bloom.
As power CORRUPTS,and this it does ABSOLUTELY,it would unwise in the not too distant future to have once again a merging of party's to form a mammoth whose power then becomes uncontrollable.We have seen and are still experiencing the ravages of power in the political system.God willing we do not want the same fate to impact our future generations.
written by jayenjr, September 25, 2008 14:05:26
The analysis by Lembing does seem plausible. However, with all the hype that surrounded 16/9, and it whittling down thereafter, every thing needs to be taken with a pinch of salt. Perhaps even more than a pinch, considering the big letdown that was 16/9.

Now here's the drift. And we have heard this many times before, incl this blog.

If that's the plan, why let it out of the bag? Why give your opponent, in this case, Najib & Gang, the script to the drama? Najib, for all his boo-boo's, is still a seasoned political master. IF he does get wind of this so-called plan, he's not just gonna sit back, fold his arms & march to the tune.

Would Kasparov tell Karpov what his killer moves are going to be, if he smells that he can check mate the latter in the next few moves? Would Copperfield tell his audience what goes on behind each and every trick before performing the magic itself?

Think about it.

I, like every other peace & justice loving M'sian,would love to see the present UMNO regime be brought down to earth, and over hauled. And if takes KJ to plan it out & execute it, why not? If that does lead to the establishment of a two - party system in this country, a more democratic regime, the abolishment of the ISA & release of all detainees therein, implementation of badly needed structural reforms etc etc, then I most gladly welcome it.

Having said that, I remember hearing one famous musician, say many years ago, that he has an instinctive distrust of all politicians. Having seen the drama unfold ever since 8/3/08, from both sides of the divide, I can understand why I too now, share such a sentiment.

My say on this matter, at least for now, is to quote a line from Sting's song, "If I Ever Lose My Faith in You":-

"You could say I lost my faith in politicians.
They all look like game-show hosts to me."

I hope we won't arrive at a similar conclusions for our Malaysian counterparts, from both sides, as the days continue to unfold.

We already have the likes of Mahathir, Syed Hamid, Najib, Azalina, etc etc on the BN side.

Fellas like Tian Chua are becoming strong contenders for the PR side.

written by tomyamkong, September 25, 2008 14:43:24
Lembing, you have just conjured up a fairy tale. Please stop dreaming. In normal circum, Anwar can jsut wait for the next voting of Bill in Parliament. Choose any Bill, say the DNA Bill. When it comes up for voting, those MPs who supports Anwar can vote against it. The Bill will not be passed. Better still the Budget. Vote against it - then The Govt cannot spend the money if majority MPs vote against it. PM then should dissolve the PArliament. This happened some time back in Turkey when amjority MPs did not support Govt's candidacy for post of President.

But Anwar is in a hurry. That sodomy charge is chasing him.
written by malgal, September 25, 2008 14:48:09
Few have struggled and fewer thrown into detention. Yet the many cushy and unmoving in their comfort zone, are whingeing and whining, complaining they are tired of waiting. Tired? Unless you have a better solution, the least you can do is keep the flames burning, and be encouraging, or stop whingeing. Channel your energy to holding on to the hope, if that's the least you can do.
written by Yacob, September 25, 2008 15:49:02
Pak Lah is smart and sly ? No body will concede such notion except Hamid al -Bar. Even KJ is of the view that his FIL is a retarded leader. KJ just support his FIL because he knows that he can make use of his FIL for his giant and future measures to usurp the power in UMNO. In fact, KJ is worst than Mahathir as so far as politic is concerned.
written by hiro, September 25, 2008 17:14:12
I hate to see our economy being ruined, but I think the foreign investors are sending a very strong message that democracy must be respected as the pre-condition for any future inflow of funds. The investors are sending strong signals that they do not condone Badawi's refusal to meet Anwar or call for an emergency Parliamentary session for a vote of no confidence, as well as the dark cloud cast over Anwar because of ISA and Sodomy II. Right thinking people in BN should consider seriously whether they want to allow UMNO to continue to dominate local politics at the expense of the entire nation, or to allow for a natural course of event to take place i.e peaceful transfer of power to Pakatan. The time is now because we can't wait anymore. Even the ever arrogant Bush administration has woken up to the fact that the US economy is in crisis. When are the BN politicians waking up? Without FDI, it will be meaningless to hang on to power because there won't be any contracts to get and distribute to cronies.
written by DontPlayGod, September 25, 2008 18:18:16
For the benefit of bloggers here, what Lembing posted was not written by him, but posted by him. I also received this article in my e-mail, sent by an old friend of mine just about 10 minutes ago. The writer is still unknown, but as the article said, he will reveal himself when the time is ripe.
written by Panca Indera, September 25, 2008 20:30:36
Very interesting scenario and might just happened as per script.
However since the writer mentioned about thel ong two nights ahead, I would like to add, beware of the similar event like,"THE NIGHT OF THE LONG KNIVES" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/N...ng_Knives.
DESPERATE PEOPLE WILL DO DESPERATE THINGS TO STAY IN POWER. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by remielfl, September 26, 2008 16:10:42
From http://malaysianreturns.blogspot.com/

It has been decided that UMNO will take longer to select their next leaders. It was postponed due to the Elections in March 2008, to December 2008. Now, the election date has moved again, to March 2009. Is there a time limit whereby an organisation/society MUST hold their AGMs?

In the case of UMNO, this continual postponements augur badly for Malaysia's political situation. In our current situation, UMNO contributes the Prime Minister to the nation, any continued delay in confirming the President of UMNO, delays the permanence of the nation's leader. This delay is translating to over ONE year after the last elections! Is this acceptable to the Rakyat?

51% of the electorate re-confirm BN as the party to rule Malaysia. To address the economic meltdown happening in the world. To have strong & permanent leadership to consider and implement strategies to counter the economic distress. Never mind the racial, social, judicial, infrastructural problems besetting our nation. How can we have a focussed leadership in Government when they are busy trying to decide who will lead UMNO and nation? We don't even know who will be the 2nd line leaders and the 3rd line implementors of any policy, if any, to address and simply run the country.

It is becoming a farce of a country SIX months after elections. Where no firm leader or cabinet is confirmed.

What new policy has been issued to address our distress? Raising petrol prices to unprecedented highs and recently, pushing it down again. An announcement of the fiscal Budget just before Parliament took recess? We see the debates and re-considered modifications only in the middle of October, onwards. When, will any, if any, of the policies be implemented? One year after the budget proposals? Afterall, we are not sure who will be Prime Minister, at least, until March 2009! In the meantime, we have a lameduck PM, still fighting for his survival SIX months after the Elections.

I am no expert on Constitutional law or Government. After SIX months, I am still waiting to read a proper discourse, from our Constitutional experts, on what the Rakyat can do to push through, or force the present Government to act or replace it with another who will. Obviously, the present Government is not ready to get down to the business of governance and the Opposition is unable to do so either.

The only avenue I am able to discern is sitting in Istana Negara and his Conference of Rulers.

I strongly feel that THEY must act quickly before our country goes to the "dogs" (written figuratively, of course).
written by cllim123, September 26, 2008 23:07:32
Pleaselah, PR does not need the likes of KJ and the corrupt gang like Patrick Badawi or even Paklah to create the rot. If KJ joins Anwar, I will totally lose faith in PR. Likewise Taib Mahmud, he is the biggest warlord! Why do we need him?
written by panca, September 27, 2008 18:05:43
(This is what I received in an email to me, thought sharing them makes more sense)

Malaysia Cabinet Vs Singapore Cabinet

PM Lee Hsien Loong , Cambridge University - First Class Honours (1974),
Harvard University - Masters (1980)

PM Abdullah bin Haji Ahmad Badawi

University of Malaya - Bachelor of Arts Honours (1964)

SM Goh Chok Tong , University of Singapore - First Class Honours (1964)
Williams College , USA - Masters (1967)

Deputy PM Dato' Sri Najib Razak ,

University of Nottingham - Bachelor of Arts Honours (1974)

MM Lee Kuan Yew , Cambridge University - First Class Honours (1949)

Minister of Foregn Affairs Syed Hamid Albar

(can someone tell me his univeristy? )- Bachelor of Arts [ UITM ]

Minister for Law Prof. S Jayakumar ,

University of Singapore - Bachelor of Law Honours (1963) Yale Univerity - Masters (1966)

Ministry of Works- Dato' Seri Samy Vellu (Education Unknown) [ Form 6, Anderson School ] but he said he is an architect

Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng , University of Singapore - Bachelor of Arts & Business Admin (1977) London Business School - Masters (1979)

Ministry of International Trade & Industry Rafidah binti Aziz, Universiti Malaya - Bachelor of Arts Honours

Minister for Foreign Affairs BG George Yeo , Cambridge University - Double First Class Honours (1976) Harvard Business School - MBA
w/ Distinction (1985)

Minister of Agriculture - Muhyiddin Yassin (Education Unknown)

[ Polytechnic Ungku Omar ]

Minister for Trade and Industry Lim Hng Kiang Cambridge University - First Class Honours w/ Distinction (1976) Harvard University - Masters (1986)

Ministry of Domestic Trade - Shafie Apdal (Education Unknown) [ Form 5, Failed English ]

Minister for Defence Teo Chee Hean ,

University of Manchester -First Class Honours (1976) Imperial College , London - Masters w/ Distinction (1977) Minister of Education

Hishammuddin Hussein (Education Unknown) [ Bachelor of Arts, Social Science ]

Minister for Education Tharman Shanmugaratnam , London School of Economics - Bachelor of Arts , Cambridge University - Masters

Harvard University - Masters

Minister of Home Affairs Radzi bin Sheikh Ahmad (Education Unknown) [ Kolej Islam Malaysia , Diploma ]

**That is why they are so desperate to get Khairy Jamaluddin up so fast, because he is from Cambridge .
God knows how he got it !

written by johnT, September 28, 2008 22:46:32
Dear Marina

Why don't you try to bring this matter to United Nation, CNN, and Human Right organnissation? It is useless even if you get 1 million signature to support his realese. History prove it is only useful if the whole world is looking at this case.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009