Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Media statement : The ISA is evil; ISA must go!

Media statement : The ISA is evil; ISA must go! PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 September 2008 15:10

It is outrageous that Raja Petra has been sent to the Kamunting Detention Centre to serve his two-year detention under the Internal Security Act.

The Home Minister cannot justify his action neither can he convince the public at large that he had acted in the interest of the nation.

It is a political decision to put away a brave and committed Malasian into oblivion so that the Barisan Nasional will not be ridiculed by Raja Petra's wit and wisdom on a daily basis. He had bombarded them relentlessly exposing their lack of logic and utter incompetence. This is what they want to stop. This is what they want to prevent desperately.

Let it be known that Raja Petra is no traitor to this nation. He is not a security threat in any way to this country. He is a patriot and a decent human being. The struggle to free him will continue no matter how long it takes, whatever it takes.

Malaysians will remember this cruel act and condemn the ISA as something evil and unjust. The Home Minister has made it absolutely clear that as long as the BN is in power the ISA will be there to terrorize innocent people and cripple our democratic space. The ISA will only go when the BN is made to go.

P Ramakrishnan
President
23 September 2008

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by indianputra, September 24, 2008 15:20:35
It is injustice all the way. Every single Malaysian except Syed Albar can see it. RPK is a patriot. He has done nothing to be under ISA. None of his articles are seditious or anti-Islam. It is RPK who is bringing the various races in Malaysia together. This is what BN was never able to do. Millions of Malaysians respect RPK, understand and appreciate his writings and consider him as a virtuous man.

If that is the way Malaysians perceive him, how is that Syed Albar and Pak Lah cannot see it? What is the real motive of these two BN/UMNO leaders? These two people are the 'anti-christ' of Malaysia. The funny thing is that, they know they are wrong and yet they become evil. One day, and that too will come very soon, these two evil people will have to answer to the All-mighty.

Syed Albar, please don't be seen in public. I fear for you!
written by ahmadneil, September 24, 2008 15:21:38
Our commitment to the abolishment of ISA must be a continuing effort.We must not let it die until all the detainees are released.
written by non conformist, September 24, 2008 15:22:03
Korek, korek, korek!
Isa is not only evil, but heinous and wicked.
The only korek thing to do with it is to ABOLISH it forever.

But the racist component parties of the BN just want to polish and fine-tune it a bit.
written by Kunta Kinte, September 24, 2008 15:24:10
Q: What is the purpose of ISA?
A1: To give protection if your life is in danger.
A2: To silence people who speak the truth.
written by mykantree, September 24, 2008 15:25:20
This UMNO government is beyond redemption.Abusing the law to serve its self interest has truly and beyond doubt shows its true colour.It will stoop to any level to hang to power.The rakyat must ensure that it must rid itself of these abusers at the very next opportunity that presents itself.
written by joeawk, September 24, 2008 15:29:34
Taking RPK in is not going to prevent future expose of the UMNO misdeeds and shortcomings. No way> The ball has started rolling and it is for UMNO to change its corrupt ways, not for malaysians to accept UMNO's way. Change or perish, it is so simple.

The more UMNO put up a struggle, the deeper UMNO will sink. That I am sure, prett sure.
written by CheGUvera, September 24, 2008 15:30:49
Bn must not only go, they must go to hell back to where they came from.Using the ISA to solve their personal problem, taking revenge on RPK. Cannot reply to all of RPK truthful comments. With no IQ level in these corrupts they solve all their problem by using ISA, a bunch of bully cowards. payback time will come. calling themself muslim...another bunch tarnishing the religion.
written by lobster, September 24, 2008 15:32:14
Stupidity of those in power has reach ¥
written by carribeanking7, September 24, 2008 15:34:51
The perception of the majority of rakyat is as such, a poll conducted on Anil Netto's site shows that over 85% want the ISA abolished,
it is at the whim and fancy of the home minister earning it the Malay monicker Ikut Suka Aku (as I wish).

Having said that, we must also take cognisense that the real person likely behind this is mostl ikely DPM Najib, he is the one with the biggest bone to pick with RPK and the one with the most to lose.

You will notice that the PM appears clueless in justifying the detentions while the Home Minister is making embarassing flip flops ala Zainuddin Maidin.
Najib has yet to comment and appears to be avoiding the issue.

When RPK fired the first few salvos, he used AG Gani Patail as an errand boy to make a police report, now in a similar manner he is using Home Minister S.H.Albar .

In my opinion the charges of the 2 articles insulting Islam are just a red herring- the real mc'koy is "Lets send the altantuya murderes to hell",
but they cant mention this because it will attract attention to Najib.

That is the same reason for Bala's retraction of his statutory declaration and dissapearence, Najib and his honchos know that if Bala were to come clean at the bar council auditorium in the similar manner Dr Osman of Pusrawi did this whole charade would crumble.

written by ahmadneil, September 24, 2008 15:34:59
ISA in Syed the dog shit's hands is evil becos he misuse it.
written by menggatal, September 24, 2008 15:35:36
Yo.... Hello??? Malaysia sini la... Lu tau lu ada di Malaysia ah? ..What else is new??? The thing here now is get freedom for RPK and is DSAI for real??? Is he serius? If yes, come on la, work on it and defend the person who have been for you since you were in ISA and the sodomy charges... Isn't is time you return the deeds?
written by PRman, September 24, 2008 15:39:18
There are so many voices to condemn the use of ISA, but our dear BN MP ignored all the warnings and angers from the Malaysians that he is supposed to serve. His justification to use the ISA on RPK is pure non-sense. Syed should resign for his poor acts recently. Its okay to shame yourself, but ur acts are shaming ur family.
written by cwy, September 24, 2008 15:49:38
Destroy the draconian throne of UMNO before we can see ISA really goes!
written by Fair n Square, September 24, 2008 16:02:41
I am soooo... angry that this has happened to RPK. Hey! Botak! Tell us which article, which line/s & which words that RPK has written seditiously!!! Don't tell us any more stupid lies. Your intellectual as a lawyer & minister is a laughing stock to everyone. How can your skin be soo... thick that you can still meet other countries' dignitaries and act like normal!!! I can only imagine what they are saying behind your back & pretend to be listening to you, but with your words in & out immediately!!!
You must be public enemy No.1 now!!!
written by AuntyG, September 24, 2008 16:32:21
The only "crime" which RPK has committed is he wrote articles in perfect Queen's English. So how can the HomeMinister (who speaks teruk English) and "those who no spiaking Englis" understand RPK's articles and be "aroused" ?? Or are they "angered" bcos they non comprehendo?
Its not RPK's fault lah! So, do we blame the Queen ('s English)?
written by Nunudada, September 24, 2008 16:41:10
It is not mere incompetence or lack of logic that RPK had pointed out.It is stark naked CORRUPTION! The cat is out of the bag-NOW EVERY ONE CAN KNOW THEM.That is why they have incarcerated him because his articles could (never did)enrage the muslims.The home minister is a self-proclaimed expert on Islam and as per his statement,so are the Malaysian police.
written by teo siew chin, September 24, 2008 16:43:35
Yang Mulia Raja Petra is the truest Malaysian!
He puts his life, his freedom, on the line for the love of Malaysia!

AMAR MAARUF, NAHI MUNKAR!
written by Bloodhound, September 24, 2008 16:55:33
The blogging community must now unite to carry on exposing all corruptions, plundering and abuses that went on so aggressively right under the nose of our "law enforcers". The only reason why those parties involved in these abuses & corrupt activities can succeed is because the main print media cannot or are not reporting them and also we have a compliant law enforcement.

They thought by putting away our RPK, things will get back to normal since he can no longer do anymore serious reporting.

Let this be served as a warning!

When one RPK is gagged, a hundred more will arise to take his place and more cases will be exposed! (read here:.... http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/13036/84/)

If they try to gag these hundred RPK clones, thousands will arise to the challenge and thousands more cases will be reported - this is what we call Peoples Power!

All those who have solid information/evidences/witnesses on corruptions/abuses/plunderings of our nation's resources, please contact our cyber warriors. We must work together to keep our resources from disappearing in order to be able to help/benefit the poor and needy of the nation - regardless of race or religion.

Keep up the good work. Just make sure all allegations/claims are solidly backed up with evidences/documentations/witnesses - but be discrete (just in case of another raid on the messengers' cars, house or offices!)

The honest & righteous citizens shall triumph - against all odds!!
written by mvivek, September 24, 2008 17:07:32
Home Minister, TODAY!!!

Deputy Prime Minister, TOMORROW!!!

IS THAT THE REASON YOU SIGNED THAT ORDER TO DETAIN RPK???
written by lavendergirl, September 24, 2008 17:34:32
Let it be known that Raja Petra is no traitor to this nation. He is not a security threat in any way to this country. He is a patriot and a decent human being. The struggle to free him will continue no matter how long it takes, whatever it takes.

The above says it all. ABOLISH ISA
written by CheGUvera, September 24, 2008 18:41:08
HI RPK DUDEs PLS ALSO BLOGG ON THIS SITE TOO, THIS IS MORE INT. & POSSIBILITIES OF MORE READERS OUTSIDE OF MSIA WILL READ IT AND HOW CRUEL THIS BN GOV IS ESP ON THIS MTH. OF RAMADAN. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asi...30789.stm. THE MORE WE WRITE ON THESE INT SITES WITH MORE FOREIGN READERS MAYB...THEN JUST MAYB... SOME ONE MORE POWERFUL THEN THESE COWARDS BN DUDES MIGHT LEND US A HELPING HAND. WE MUST TRY ALL MEANS POSSIBLE,IN THIS LAND OF BOLEH
written by cruzeiro, September 24, 2008 21:00:49
The intellectual bankupcy manifested in this cluelessness, is why they cannot handle the less than 2/3 majority in Parliament, so as to function - far from the argument which Mahathir gives about the necessity of a "strong govt" to maintain order in a multiracial country like ours.
Although they have managed to garner a majority in parliament, it is a well known fact that in reality, should we consider "gerrymandering", "money politics & state instruments" campaigns in the equation, what we actually have is a minority Government.

Yes Sir - It may actually be an illegitimate Government that we have! It is possibly just a Government of dimwits selected from the elite of certain parties.
They speak for only a small minority at that, who are intent on their vice grip on power and given to playing realpolitik at every turn, and holding the the nation at ransom.
Without the ISA, the UMNO/BN Government will fall like a pack of cards! They cannot live without it, and they know it - it is the one piece of legislation that ensures their continued rule.
That is why Mahathir said that a vote for BN is a vote for ISA - hence, the only way to get rid of it is with a new Government. And there's no two ways about that - those who believe otherwise are simply living in La-La Land .....
===========================================

"Lollipops for the Compliant Masses"
http://cruzinthots.********.co...asses.html
written by peace brother, September 24, 2008 22:01:21
Dear politician,
Have an ear from the rakyat,we want peace
written by BUTEK, September 24, 2008 23:50:38
KALAU RAJA PETRA DI ISA KAN NAMEWEE KENAPA DIBIAR BEBAS WALAUPUN JELAS HINA ISLAM!!!!! UMNO PENGKHIANAT MELAYU!!!!!
written by kent chong, September 25, 2008 00:11:23
Pls post a card to RPK.