No-confidence vote not the only way PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 September 2008 09:20

by Maria J. Dass (TheSun)

The premise that Parliament has to be called for a vote of no-confidence against the prime minister (PM) to be passed is too simplistic, said advocate and solicitor Tommy Thomas. He was responding to an interview published on Thursday in theSun with constitutional law expert Prof Dr Shad Saleem Faruqi who said that under the Constitution [Article 43(4)], it is Parliament, and not the Agong, which must dismiss the PM.

Article 43(4) of the Constitution reads: If the PM ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives, then, unless at his request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong dissolves Parliament, the prime minister shall tender the resignation of the cabinet.

"However, for Shad's interpretation to be correct, Article 43(4) ought to read like this: If the Prime Minister is defeated on a motion of confidence in the House of Representatives, then…" Thomas said.

If Shad's interpretation is right, it was limited to only one occasion and one fact pattern – that the matter needs to be brought to the Dewan Rakyat, he said, adding that the broad scope of the Constitution allowed for other methods to be applied.

"I accept the method Shad mentioned as the traditional method and the first method of preference; where I am disagreeing is that it is not the only method," he said in an interview last Friday.

He said Article 43(4) represented the Reid Commission report draft and maintained its original form and essentially codified the British Constitutional principle that awards the Agong the exact same powers as the British monarch has. He said nearly all Commonwealth countries had persons who were in similar positions to the British monarch and had the same powers. India, being a republic, has a president while Australia and New Zealand have governors-general to represent the Queen.
So what are the other methods instead of a no-confidence vote?

Thomas: To answer this we have to first look at the fact that in almost every Commonwealth nation, there is a supreme head, a constitutional monarch. In Malaysia, it is the Agong as stipulated in Article 32(1) of the Federal Constitution. This supreme head has to be above politics and serve the role of stabilising the nation, especially in a time of crisis like this.

Article 43(2)(a), which states that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall first appoint PM to preside over the cabinet a member of the House of Representative who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of that House, leaves the discretion of appointing the PM to the Agong.

The King has to take the advice of the PM 99.999% of the time according to Article 40(1); however the Agong may act in his discretion to appoint the PM and to withhold the consent to a request for the dissolution of Parliament according to Article 40(2).

In some situations he doesn't take the PM's advice because the advice may be self-serving. In the case where a PM does not enjoy the support of the majority, his self-serving advice may be to "keep me, don't sack me".

So in these situations and in times of trouble, the King should look above the advice and speak up in the interest of the nation.

As a constitutional monarch, the Agong cannot remove the PM unless he is convinced that the PM has lost the confidence of the majority of Dewan Rakyat members as stipulated in Article 43(4) and 40(3).

If the events in 43(4) occur, then the PM can be dismissed if he doesn't resign.

The provisions in the Constitution give the King a very broad discretion, but he cannot act as a dictator as there are restraints to his absolute discretion. For example, he cannot appoint you or me to be PM because of the simple reason that we are not members of the lower house. That tells you straight away that the choice is limited to 222 people.

How does the King exercise his discretion if there is no vote of no-confidence?

A written and signed declaration signed by the majority members of the lower house, where if a member/members of Parliament sees him and produce documents to show that more than the majority needed have signed a declaration of no confidence.

If the King is satisfied with that and genuineness of the signatures, then he can accept that – the method of ascertaining the losing of confidence.

Now this is where I must comment on Shad's statement where he cited the Stephen Kalong Ningkan case (1966) where the High Court in Kuching refused to accept this method.

What Shad failed to mention was a Privy Council case before (Nigerian case: Adegbenro vs Akintola in 1963) and a Malaysian case after which went the other way.

In the Nigerian case, the governor of Nigeria received such a letter and based on this he sacked the Chief Minister (CM) but the CM said "there was no vote against me so I have not been sacked".

The Privy Council ruled that it was a genuine sacking and decided that the governor can do what he wanted because of his wide discretion.

In 1966 Justice Harley in Kuching in his judgment on the Stephen Kalong Ningkan case said he won't follow the Nigerian case because Nigeria is different from Sarawak – which in my view is a very simplistic view.

Then 30 years later, we had this case involving Datuk Amir Kahar Mustapha vs Tun Mohd Said Keruak – which involves former chief minister of  Sabah Datuk Joseph Pairin Kitingan when there were several defections from the party after the 1994 general election and Kitingan lost his position. The appointment of the new governor was later challenged. The facts are very similar and the issue raised was whether a signed letter cum document could be accepted. Justice Kadir Sulaiman followed the Privy Council method and said of course.

What is more interesting is the winning lawyer whose arguments were accepted by Kadir Sulaiman was none other than present Attorney-General Tan Sri Gani Patail, who was arguing for the state government of Sabah.

The disadvantage of this method is the authenticity of the signature, thus the whole idea is proof that the King is acting reasonably and responsibly, not arbitrarily. Therefore, the King has to make his own investigations and satisfy himself and  make known the steps which he took in making the decision for the whole country. To do this the King should summon them, whether he does this or they voluntarily go then this is the best evidence, best proof. If any constitutional monarch did this, then they can be absolutely above criticism.

The King's say in removing the PM

Scenario O
ne:
A vote in the lower house takes place and motion is carried. Then the outgoing PM must inform the monarch that he has lost the confidence of the house. The PM then has a prerogative to ask for the dissolution of Parliament so that fresh elections can be held for him to test his mandate with the people.

The King then has to use his discretion at this stage. If he accepts, Parliament will be dissolved and the PM's government will be appointed as a caretaker government. But if the King says no to dissolve Parliament, the PM must tender his resignation to cabinet. If he refuses to resign, it is implied that the King can sack him.

Scenario T
wo:
The King does not rely on a motion in the house but upon being satisfied that the PM no longer enjoys the support of the majority in the house, tells the PM to resign and replaces him with a candidate which he sees fit. If the PM refuses, it is implied in the Constitution that he can be sacked.

What happens if a motion of no confidence is not granted by the Speaker of the Dewan Raky
at?

This is unconstitutional. But this is precisely why scholars are arguing if this is the only method or if there are other ways of doing this. Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is playing a very careful game where he is exhausting the first and preferred method of tabling a no confidence vote against the PM first. Two such motions have been tabled and disallowed by the Speaker so far.

What happens if Anwar is detained under the Internal Security
Act?

Even if Anwar is detained under the Internal Security Act, the King can ask for him to be released to meet him – if he sees him as a person qualified as prime ministerial candidate.
written by Hello Keithy, September 24, 2008 09:24:42
Whichever way, the PM and the govt. have to go. Make way for a new govt. and a new Malaysia.
agree 144
written by Newkidonblog, September 24, 2008 09:28:07
Right on! Just like the KING has the right to ask the botak to release RPK!
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 24, 2008 09:30:59
DSAI, I think the majority of your Malaysian supporters have said it once too often: Go with your numbers (of MPs) and meet the Agong!

Raja Petra and other inmates are languishing in prison waitting for your government to free them.
written by mamak, September 24, 2008 09:38:26
Damn.
We give them power.
They abuse it.
Damn.
written by DXB2008, September 24, 2008 09:57:37
There is no other way, BN must DIE! http://1426.********.com/2008/...nting.html
written by nanakassim, September 24, 2008 10:06:19
Going by the various comments and urgings posted in MT thus far, it would appear that readers are under the belief that DSAI is not moving fast enough or is not moving in the right direction.

I would like to advocate a view from a different angle.

Could it be that YDP Agong is not moving or not willing to risk a wrong move? It would be interesting to 'speculate' on the reasons why this could be so.
written by MT682, September 24, 2008 10:11:50
All this prep work should have been done before Sept. 16 and not after. Now good people are languishing in jail. Whilst Anwar and PR are working on ways to take over the government, the BN is definitely working on ways to stop it. The longer it takes the more the MSM is going to print spin and make an ass out of Anwar. Many people are already beginning to doubt Anwar and this is bad news.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 24, 2008 10:13:45
DSAI, reflecting over the above senarios, I think it would be better to simply go for fresh election to get your mandate. Cross-over MPs, apart from being too expensive, cannot be trusted nor easy to control.
My opinion is to somehow get parliament to be dessolve and seek the mandate from us rakyet for you to form a stronger government.
So, get your team of lawyers to start cracking on the laws governing dissolution of parliament...if you haven't got that underway already!
written by indianputra, September 24, 2008 10:31:32
I really don't care how they do it, but, GET THE BN OUT!!!!!
written by cwy, September 24, 2008 10:38:39
If PR does not have th commited 31 UMNO MPs to support PR's taking over of the government, a debate in the parliament of the mismanagement of BN might results in gaining more than 31 supporters from BN when a non-cnfidence motion is pushed forward.
written by HHKim, September 24, 2008 11:01:51
You mean in Malaysia all those hooligans can just hold on to the bloody power?
Malaysia belongs to these bunch of donkeys??

BN have to go and MUST GO for good!!! This is the wish of all raayat.
written by slayer, September 24, 2008 11:28:11
Yes!!! RPK, get it done and get it done right! BN-UMNO has to go, the rakyat does not want or need them anymore. WE WANT CHANGE!!!!!
written by Wisdom above, September 24, 2008 11:37:36
In 1996, there was no State Assembly session to remove PBS Chief Minister.
They just went to see Yang Di Pertua with all Aduns who switched to get new Chief Minister swear-in the next morning.

Supreme Court found it legally ok.

So what is the fuss ?

Syabas to all Peacemakers.
written by hckit, September 24, 2008 11:44:32
sorry, correction

to all other Decent,Not Corrupted,Not a Racist and Without Power BN MPs , this is time u can SAVE MALAYSIA by throwing UMNO/BN out !!!
written by mikewang, September 24, 2008 12:11:05
In the Westminister model which we practise, the defeat of a budget or fiscal bill is conceived as the government having lost a no confidence motion.

Such a commonsense is also prevalent in democracy practising nations within the commonwealth.

So focus on defeating the budget bill if the speaker refuses to allow an introduction of a no confidence motion.
written by ibabonma, September 24, 2008 13:21:51
Dolahkuku, I am sure you can see the exit door.
written by captmarco ramius, September 24, 2008 14:36:29
somebody...somewhere...please lah...topple this taliban regime lah...
we waited long enough...please lah...
written by KotaDamansara73, September 24, 2008 15:16:14
According to Deep Throat Putrajaya,

1) Badawi is bringing over 20 UMNO MPs to join Pakatan and form the goverment.
2) Badawi become PM until 2010.
3) Anwar take over and stock market boom like hell.
written by born2reign, September 24, 2008 15:46:56
Is Anwar taking over or not???

I don't want to hear any more "meetings with PM" and PM denied the meetings, dog food, cat food, food for the poor, and more side issues being played up by BN and UMNO rats.

Frankly I can't understand why Anwar, having given the PM is 48 hours, still have not met the Agong. Is he so much of a gentleman that he does not know the ever-changing rules of the game, or that he is just all talk?

Is it because the Agong refuse to meet him or he's playing bluff or he is actually the UMNO mole all these while? After getting RPK to support him and give him his support, he ensured that RPK is in ISA, and still playing cat and mouse with the Rakyat.

All these petition and candles and botak heads are good for marketing. But let's face the facts, UMNO does not care even if you chop off your hands, or starve yourself to death. UMNO only knows power handover, and hanging on to the rice bowls by sucking the blood of the rakyat.

So Anwar! Stop all the empty promises. Talk is cheap, act now.
written by densemy, September 24, 2008 16:14:27
I think that Malaysians should not get the King involved in this struggle

The King is largely a figurehead to the nation, he is the King of all Malaysians and CANNOT be seen to be taking sides in this matter

BN have done nothing wrong in the strictly legal terms of the Constitution so there is no way that the King can intervene

The government is your government, the government that you elected under supposedly legal and ethical conditions

The fact that they are a mob of incompetent corrupt and evil men and women is not the King's problem. Its your problem... you the voters of Malaysia

... so you have to do something about it

So far you have been shirking your responsibilities and you have been asking Anwar and RPK and now the King to take over your job

I'm not suggestion violence but there must be ways that you the people can revolt and show your feelings without having to resort to another election

Dont talk to the BN politicians cos they are as blind as they are greedy and will do nothing to upset their golden goose

It would be better if you started talking to the tools of BN hold over you... get the police and army on your side and BN will be toothless

Cut off their sources of income... etc etc

Be as cunning and as ruthless as they are ...but dont break the law
written by zandi, September 24, 2008 16:51:05
Yes DSAI, pls bring the MPs to see the Agong, and sack Badawi ASAP! RPK and the other ISA detainees should not be made languish in prison. I've signed the petition to free him but we can't do much ... only you and the MPs can put an end to the ISA once and for all...with Agong's blessing, of course.
written by temenggong, September 24, 2008 17:00:17
We have done all the blogging, all the walking, all the voting and all the vigils. That has given the mandate to Pakatan. There is nothing more we have to do.

Let us wait for Anwar to move and change the govt. Anwar has sufficient MPs. There is no need for us to prompt him.
written by cheemengwong, September 24, 2008 21:33:51
A worst scenario with Anwar Ibrahim...

He is pressured by the government with his Sodomy case and compromises. I already see this happening with Tian Chua saying A and Anwar saying B... Now which is it? Is it A or B?

I now see Anwar as weak. Perhaps I am wrong and I stand to be corrected.

If Anwar fears to negotiate now... the day will come he will have to negotiate out of fear and he will be nowhere again.

Trust me on this!
written by temenggong, September 24, 2008 23:15:48
This is an issue that must be denied by all parties.

Just like Pas and Umno denied they were in talks.
written by durianbesar, September 25, 2008 14:48:36
Tommy is right.
PM must go.. becos... the constitution has remedies.... if justice is to be carried out...

sometime back the Justice Sinnadurai in Singapore once said that ... regardless of the intent... all parties must act and present the facts and accept the consequences in a just and equitable manner"......

in this instance... our constitution doesnt present us with a constitutional court however, the King can call to court.. all parties.... isnt it the that the king's advisor if he has lost the position to advise and the confidence of the rakyat should resign if not fired for not accepting the king's request...
hence we can argue until the cows all go home.... but the key issues are that our present laws are being violated by the BN government to the lilt and the PM, DPM, HM and some devious cabinet members are all using the ISA for their personal account to bring down political opponents... this is truly an abuse of power by the top leaders in our country...

I hope the King listen's to the Rakyat's voices... more so.. as a serious injustice in the law is being commited by Syed Albar....who is acting on his own personal failures in not being able to present an argument correctly... and also the department handling the ISA is not competent. We need a watchdog committee to oversee no abuse is put onto the rakyat... also to remove the ISA.... for good... lets be transparent and go to court to bring anyone who has done anything wrong out in public tranparency...
written by nangkarajah, September 25, 2008 16:47:11
Why people cannot see it's already a foregone conclusion that DSAI will be forming a new government although maybe later. After March 8 General election political clout has crossed the south china sea to land into the hands of our friend Taib and Musa. They backed by their richly-rewarded and therefore intensely obedient 58 MPs are now calling the shots. The only way political clout can make its way back to Mainland Semananjung (85 per cent majority population) is for DSAI to take-over from BN. Period.