Media Statement : Aliran Applauds The Release Of Teresa Kok PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 September 2008 09:16

TWO DOWN ONE MORE TO GO!

Aliran applauds the release of Teresa Kok from the unjust and undemocratic detention under the obnoxious ISA. Nevertheless, we must record our strong objection against her arrest under the ISA last Friday, 12 September 2008, because she was unfairly subjected to this detention order that she did not deserve in the first place.

When there was no just cause for her detention, when there was not a shred of evidence to justify this vile action against her, yet the authorities acted rather arbitrarily without any conscience or shame.

The Minister of Home, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, deservedly became a laughing-stock in this episode with his vain and ridiculous attempt to justify the detentions of Raja Petra, Tan Hoon Cheng and Terea Kok. The distorted versions for their detentions only brought shame to the Barisan Nasional which had no moral authority to act in this high-handed fashion.

Now that Tan and Theresa have been released we can say, "Two down, one more to go!" Indeed, the last remaining detainee under the recent ISA detention exercise, Raja Petra Kamaruddin, must also be released immediately. After all he has already been charged for defamation and sedition.

Let the courts take care of him and and resolve the issues following "a fair and public hearing by an independent and impartial tribunal, in the determination of his rights and obligations and of any criminal charge against him" as is demanded by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

With his detrioting health causing anxiety and worry for his well-being, our Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, must rise above politics and order the immediate release of Raja Petra. This is something he is expected to do; this is something that he can do; this this is something which he has to do. The question is will he come across as a man of compassion and spare the nation from this unnecessary agony?

P Ramakrishnan
President
19 September 2008
written by Hello Keithy, September 24, 2008 09:23:07
We will be applauding for the release of RPK soon. Have confidence. We the Rakyat will pressure the govt. to do so.
written by ahmadneil, September 24, 2008 09:24:01
While we appreciate the release of Ms Tan and Theresa,we will rejoice if all the ISA detainees are released.
written by Hakim Joe, September 24, 2008 10:06:50
I dun think the question is whether the ISA detainees will be released or not but rather the consequences of issuing the arrest of certain individuals under this Act without cause.

Even if the present Gomen validates the existence of such a draconian law, there must be ample justification for the law to be invoked.

No person in authority should be permitted to arbitrarily incarcerate a person for no reasons whatsoever and allow that particular detainee to be released without himself or the Gomen accepting fault. One cannot remain quiet after making an error in judgment.

The minister involved with the issuance of such an order must be responsible.

The Fed Constitution is supposed to protect its citizens but sadly it is not. This seems to be the facts facing all Malaysians under BN rule.

The only alternative is to support the Opposition in hoping that this law be repealed in time.

written by Agahdemo, September 24, 2008 10:10:45
"our Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, must rise above politics and order the immediate release of Raja Petra. This is something he is expected to do; this is something that he can do; this this is something which he has to do."
I pray and hope that during this holy month of Ramadan, he will come to his senses to DO THE RIGHT THING!!!!!!!
written by RumahPanjai, September 24, 2008 10:27:14
Once again UMNO have sodomised the ISA for their own advantage. We have a bunch of mafia mobs running this country. The sooner they are rid off the better for the rakyat.
written by indianputra, September 24, 2008 10:42:51
Pak Lah and the other leaders of UMNO, MIC, MCA etc.

How is that you all cannot sense the feeling of the Rakyat?
How is that you all just don't care about the hatred towards you by the Rakyat? How is that you are doing everything to anger the Rakyat?
How is that you are all digging your own political grave?

What are you all hoping for? A miracle to overturn the sentiments of the Rakyat by the next General Elections?
What are you all hoping for? That the Malaysians have short memory?
What are you all hoping for? UMNO and their leaders will save you?

This is all a pipedream. I tell you this. EVERYONE OF YOU WILL LOOSE YOUR DEPOSIT IF YOU DARE TO STAND UNDER BN BANNER IN THE NEXT ELECTIONS!

Beware of the curse!
written by indianputra, September 24, 2008 11:00:18
Why does a politician have an office in Bukit Aman? Syed Albar demanded an office in Bukit Aman next to IGP's office.. WHY??
written by cwy, September 24, 2008 11:15:41
I would rather condemn the government's folly!
There is nothing good about BN government worthy to be praised!
written by Democrats, September 24, 2008 11:57:35
RPK is taken to ISA custody for his own safety.....that's what syed Hamid will say.
written by Flex65, September 24, 2008 12:50:01
I hope that there are still 10 to 15 million hits a day. As a Malaysian I should not do this but this is what the Home Minister says so I have to believe him. ISA is used to protect a person when her live is in danger. ISA is also used when they think that what you do COULD anger some muslim. (It doesn’t matter if you had already angered many non-muslim) Basing on the two scenario, ISA can and will be used against you if the police thinks that your life COULD be in danger. In another word ISA could be used on anyone anytime.

As a Malaysian I have no choice, but if you are thinking of visiting Malaysia, think again. You COULD be ‘protected’ by the police if you looked at the wrong person. In Malaysia some had be killed because they looked at the wrong girl. The police will put you under their protection because your life COULD be in danger. If you look like an American, your life could also be in danger because some people in Malaysia do not like DSAI because he is said to be linked to US. So if you look like American the police will have to put you under protection as your life COULD be in danger.

Those in the tourism industry please do not be angry at me. I am just interpreting what the Home Minister said and as a Minister what he said must be true. If anyone were to be blamed, blame the person who said it.
written by latihanQ, September 24, 2008 15:03:37
With all due respect to Tan Hoon Cheng and YB Teresa Kok, their arrest was only a SMOKESCREEN. Their real target was YM RPK!!! Tan and Teresa's arrest was merely intended to divert and confuse the Malaysians to their intended target. YM RPK is the real victim. This is evidenced by the silly justifications offered by the Home Minister, Syed Hamid which was designed to cause indignation and thus diversion. See, YM RPK is now incarcerated unjustifiably for two years. Syed Hamid could not even offer a single instance or occasion to back up his suggestion YM RPK aroused anger by insulting Islam That suggestion is not plausible as we all know YM RPK loves his religion. Syed Hamid's grounds for arrest are illogical, unsound and a complete lie.
written by legallybotak, September 25, 2008 17:14:46
Applaud my axx. LatihanQ is right about the smokescreen or in my opinion a red herring. We, Chinese are so happy with the release of Tan Hoon Cheng and YB Teresa Kok that we will compromise and continue with business as usual. Perhaps we have been listening too much to MeatLoaf's 2 out of 3 ain'y bad.
Remember not only RPK but the Hindraf 5 and the others. We should work toward getting rid of ISA once and for all.

PS> there is hardly any hair left on my head to shave but I will give it a go.