Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Rapper questioned over purpose of Negaraku parody

Rapper questioned over purpose of Negaraku parody PDF Print
Wednesday, 24 September 2008 09:00

KUALA LUMPUR: Wee Meng Chee, who cour­ted controversy last year by recording a parody of the Negaraku, presented himself at the Bukit Aman Commercial Crime headquarters yesterday.

Wee was accompanied by his parents. He arrived at the department at 10.30am and was interrogated by three policemen for about three hours.

The 25-year-old rapper said he was asked to translate his six-minute Chinese rap video into Bahasa Malaysia. Police also questioned him on the purpose of making the video.

The song, named Negarakuku, caused an uproar as the lyrics of the song touched on corruption, police abuses and racial discrimination.

Wee, who is better known as “Namewee”, made the video while he was still doing his Mass Communication studies in Taiwan’s Ming Chuan University last year.

He said the police were helpful and friendly throughout the interrogation. He added that the police told him they wanted to close the file on the issue.

“They are doing their job. My job is to create songs and their job is to catch people,” he said.

Wee arrived from Taiwan on Aug 29 after a journey through Macau, southern China, Viet­nam, Laos, Cambodia and Thailand, interviewing Malaysians living in these countries for a documentary he is planning to produce.

The rapper was very calm when met.

He said his priority was to complete the video documentary project he started with four friends. Wee also expressed his wish to find a job in Malaysia.

Meanwhile, CCID Cyber and Multimedia investigation division assistant director Mohd Kamarudin Md Din said Wee was being investigated under the Sedition Act.

Police would refer the case to the attorney-general’s chambers soon for further action.

- The Star

written by Hello Keithy, September 24, 2008 09:11:43
NameWee, we are here to support you. You did nothing wrong. Your rap song amplifies Malaysians' feelings that have been bottled up by the govt. You have broken the bottle but not the law. We say to you, CARRY ON SINGING/RAPPING.
written by *********, September 24, 2008 09:26:09
As we all know rapper Wee Meng Cheng has apologized to the Nation for his 'Negarakuku' video, yet he was grilled by the Police for 3 hours. What are the MCA 'Big Mouths' Liow Tiong Lai, Ong Tee Keat, Ng Yen Yen and Ong Ka Chuan going to say about this in the Cabinet meeting? This is the moment of Truth for the MCA. This is the time for MCA to break away from the shackles of Umno and put Umno in its' place. The time has come for MCA to walk the talk or to shut their 'Big Mouths' for good.
written by unomalaysia, September 24, 2008 09:57:14
If I am Namwee, I will respond to this intimidation and harrasement by writing more parodies of the be end cabinet, one for old sleepy fart, one for the mudering mr shit and finally one for syed moron alshithead. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Finally one for the PDRM featuring the IGP and deputy IGP, Bakri etc.but make sure you are out of the country when doing it.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by macanhitam, September 24, 2008 09:59:54
meng chee should seriously join Pakatan Rakyat as a propaganda chief with his talent. he can compose songs nurturing the spirit of bangsa malaysia, or songs expressing resentment against repressive govt policies like ISA etc
written by Wisdom above, September 24, 2008 10:12:31
Youtube piece parody, no case against you.

Now the CCID Cyber and Multimedia investigation division had just "entrapped" you to translate the Negaraku parody into Bahasa Malaysia. Your 'mens rea'.

Now CCID have a case under section 4(1) Sedition Act for Police to proceed.

Self incrimination ! You are careless even with your lawyer around.

written by the1, September 24, 2008 10:17:52
Are they trying to frighten the rakyat on freedom-of-speech?
Internet media-damn powerful smilies/wink.gif
written by cheekhiaw, September 24, 2008 10:51:42
SING A SONG OF POLIS-KUKU

Wee Meng Chee,

Write them a song called POLIS-KUKU.

They have no claim to any tune nor sanctitude.

written by Xerxes, September 24, 2008 12:13:56
I hope the PDRM's efficient and prompt action to interrogate Wee was genuinely motivated by a desire "to close the file" and not a vindictive move to take revenge because his parody had critisized the police for corruption. The reason his parody found widespead acceptance was because many of the things he highlighted, though hurtful to many, is the truth. And he has highlighted them because he loves the country and wants these wrongs to be corrected since the Govt. is doing enough to change them for the better. His views are confirmed by the latest falling corruption index.
written by Xerxes, September 24, 2008 12:15:58
sorry typo error. the line below shoudl read:

"...these wrongs to be corrected since the Govt. NOT is doing enough...."

written by bakarsmoke, September 24, 2008 15:36:27
I heard the song many times, and honestly find it offending but since WMC had apologized, the matter should be put to rest. The PDRM should concentrate investigation on ahmad ismail instead.
written by Shimshon, September 24, 2008 17:23:45
_ _ _
written by Shimshon, September 23, 2008 17:57:03

If I recall correctly, one of the lyrics line/verse says:

I LOVE THE/THIS COUNTRY, BUT THE/THIS COUNTRY DOESN'T LOVE ME!!

That certainly speaks for all of us nonMalays, nonMuslims, Sabahans, Sarawakians!!

Damn this racist, apartheid country!!

All we hear is: Malaysia Melayu Punya!... Untuk Agama(Islam), Bangsa(Melayu), dan Negara(Malaysia Melayu Punya)-- day after day, for decades!

How to feel patriotic after 51 years of tolerating institutionalised racism?!
written by lynn, September 24, 2008 21:08:42
Notice how much efficiency the PDRM becomes over trivial issues like this. It's just a fcuking song, no big deal.
Can residents of Bolehland rise above all these trivialities, childishness, third-worldlish mentality - every little difference in opinion, suggestion or expression is sensitive or offensive, insulting, hurts feelings, raising anger, causing some to threaten to riot, demos, burn down buildings - can we start to grow up & take some nonsense in our stride?

All the nonsense from govt such as massive corruption & blatant abuses of power, abuses of the ISA is A-Okay - the govt wants you people to react to a stupid song, but will not tolerate if you dissent over corruption by govt officials. Know the difference, those of you idiots out there, okay? Corruption is what will drive us to poverty & a lousy exchange rate if we allow the govt to continue its MO. Get your fcuking priorities right!