Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Pak Lah Desecrating Ramadan

Pak Lah Desecrating Ramadan PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 24 September 2008 05:00

Last week with opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim threatening to bring down the administration through coaxing its members to cross over, Abdullah threw a veiled threat of resorting to the ISA to silence Anwar.  Local and international pressures made Abdullah back off.

M. Bakri Musa

When President Nixon ordered the bombing of Hanoi during Christmas of 1972, I knew then that his fate was sealed.  I am not a Christian, but living in the West I am very much aware of the spiritual significance of Christmas.  As such I found Nixon's action, coming from a self-professed Christian who regularly had Billy Graham pray with him in the White House, abominable beyond comprehension.

A Just God would not let such a barbaric action go unpunished.  Sure enough, a few months later the Watergate scandal broke out that would ultimately lead to his resigning under threat of impeachment.  This was less than two years after he won a landslide re-election victory.

As a Muslim I feel profoundly the spirituality of Ramadan.  It was the month that Allah first revealed the Quran to His Last Messenger, Prophet Muhammad, s.a.w.  That was a measure of His generosity upon us.  It is said that the gates to Heaven are wide open, and to Hell closed shut, during this season, again reflecting His mercifulness during this blessed month.

We are expected to reciprocate this divine gift by being generous to our fellow beings.  Ramadan is thus a season to be charitable, to be forgiving of each other and the seeking of forgiveness from others.  All faiths have such a special period in their calendar when their followers are expected to be extra kind to and tolerant of their fellow human beings.

Imagine my horror, shared by many, when Prime Minister Abdullah, the self-declared Imam of Islam Hadhari, chose this particular month to incarcerate Raja Petra Kamaruddin and others under the draconian Internal Security Act that allows for detention without trial, or even the filing of charges.

I would have expected the reverse.  That is, during Ramadan the Prime Minister would grant amnesty to deserving prisoners as a gesture of the government's generosity and charity of spirit.

I have yet to see this happen in Malaysia, or any other Muslim country for that matter.  Instead we have the odious act of the police bundling up Raja Petra and others into prison, right in front of their families. Where in the Quran or the sunnah of our Prophet Muhammad, s.a.w., did Imam Abdullah find the justification for such a cruel act?  Where is the spirit of generosity or sense of forgiveness demanded from each of us by our faith during this holy month?

As a Muslim Abdullah will be paying his zakat fitr (tithe) this Ramadan, and come Hari Raya he will be generous with his duit raya to the children calling upon the gates of Sri Perdana.  That is the extent of his understanding of the concept of charity and generosity called for in our faith:  simplistic, ritualistic, and materialistic.  Those he jailed under the ISA or the millions made miserable through escalating living costs as a consequence of his economic policies never enter his heart.

ISA Unjust

Like Nixon before, I also expect Abdullah's latest inhuman act would also seal his fate.  I do not know or care what or when his comeuppance would be but I do know that whenever I see an injustice being perpetrated, I am duty bound by my faith to respond.

I do not wish to sermonize and outdo our Imam of Islam Hadhari (he is already good at that and does it all too frequently), but I do know this.  As per the teachings of our Prophet, s.a.w., when we see an injustice, we are to do whatever in our capacity to stop it.  If we are unable to do so with our hands (that is, physically), then we are to use our tongue (voice our disapproval).  Failing that, then at least acknowledge in our heart that we disapprove of it, though that would be the path least pleasing to Allah.

Incarcerating Raja Petra and others without affording them their due process is the height of injustice; and to do it during Ramadan is both cruel and vindictive.  It is also an affront to our religious sensibility; the very act desecrates our holy month.

I do not recommend anyone attempting to physically stop the police as that would risk your being arrested too, or worse.  We have to caution ourselves that where injustice or lawlessness is institutionalized, then the just and the lawful become victims.

There is something well within our ability to do, that is, voice our disapproval of the brutal ways of our government.  Many have already done so last March and again last month at the ballot box.  Unfortunately our leaders are slow learners, or refuse to learn the lesson.  We have to keep teaching them.

There is now a petition circulating in cyberspace seeking the release of all those detained under the ISA.  I urge all to sign it, as my family and I did.  Writing this commentary is also my way of condemning Abdullah's brutish ways.

Last week with opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim threatening to bring down the administration through coaxing its members to cross over, Abdullah threw a veiled threat of resorting to the ISA to silence Anwar.  Local and international pressures made Abdullah back off.

If we can believe him, Home Minister Syed Hamid was not at all involved in the process.  He proudly asserted that he did not "interfere" with the "professional" work of the police.  To think that the precious freedom of our citizens could hinge on the judgment if not fancy of some functionary in the police department is truly shocking.  For a minister to admit that he does not know what is going on in his department goes beyond incredulity; it is utter incompetence and gross dereliction of duty.

No man is perfect enough to be entrusted with the liberty and dignity of others, so asserted the Sudanese reformist Mahmoud Mohamad Taha.  I certainly would not entrust my freedom to others, least of all characters like Abdullah and Syed Hamid.  We need due process.

Raja Petra was held for supposedly "insulting Islam."  Those police officers either have not read his articles, or if they did, could not understand them.

As Mufti of Perlis Datuk Asri Zainal Abidin so wisely noted, even Allah on the Day of Judgment would have us answer for our deeds before rendering judgment.  Here we have a mere mortal in the person of the Imam of Islam Hadhari passing judgment on fellow citizens without first hearing their side.

Law professor Azmi Sharom said it best.  "The arrest of Raja Petra, Kok and Tan shows that the law is so open to abuse that we have no other choice but to get rid of it. …. There can be no room for amendments.  The ISA must go."  Amen!

God works in mysterious ways, so says our Quran.  Nixon had his Watergate; Abdullah too will have his comeuppance.  Whenever that comes, I pray that Allah would be merciful.  There is no anger in me, only sadness.

Comments (69)Add Comment
written by Kathy, September 24, 2008 05:38:18
It appears now that we are rapidly losing our one and only hope of reversing all the evil deeds of the govt., PR forming the new government. What hope is there left for Malaysia? We can't afford to wait till the next election. I was so full of hope after the March elections, but right now I am filled with despondence. Anwar and the Opposition have tried their best but it was not to be. What next for Malaysia?
agree 374
written by YMA_kuantan, September 24, 2008 05:48:10
May ALLAH bless you doc. GOD is with all of us, we are very sure of this. It's just a matter of time.
agree 248
written by Motherchell, September 24, 2008 06:00:21
Absolutely ! you are so right Bakri!

The only True and righteous Muslim is incarcerated, while the demented surrogates who claim they are the "guiding lights" with all the plunder walk free .

Its very sad our Rulers who are not only the Head of Islam, but Protectors for all Justice to his subjects, silent. It is now!!1----to counter the misguided few in Power to discipline and take back the Country to where it belongs!

The Imans , and all the He*** of religious Govt Depts, have never engaged in the reasoning with erudition of all that they said was wrong . Why ?? because they rather satisfy the Devil than God! Not one would have read all that Pete wrote . The shocking grand finale is a Minister who did not have proper intelligent nourishment the reactionary forces in check . This is treason!!!!

I'm very sure of the ANSWER from God soon!

God Bless you Bakri!
agree 321
written by Navigator, September 24, 2008 06:03:47
UMNO is destroying itself by making more unpopular moves. RPK is a symbol of justice and fairness. He is a rallying point for most Malaysians. Malaysians respect him for his fearlessness in the fight for truth and justice. UMNO is losing more votes and if it choses to hold another election now, it will lose its pants. More and more will switch to PKR. Let's hope the change of government is soon so that RPK is released.
agree 189
written by mimi76, September 24, 2008 06:08:13
"Si vis pacem, para bellum = If you want peace, first you must prepare for war" - The Punisher

As the quote above, I am declaring war on Barisan Nasional.The first thing I did in relation to this was, joining Parti Keadilan Rakyat. I dont't care how long DSAI takes. One year or maybe until PRU 13. Whatever it is, BN is going down. My support for him will never fade. RPK is also at war. He is a mighty general. The general of the people's army and I know he will never give up. I am sad to hear RPK is detained for two years. Bastard Shit Hamid, How can you can be so cruel. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
agree 203
written by JUST, September 24, 2008 06:15:58
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/69797
written by JUST, September 24, 2008 06:17:21
"It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

Quote - Mahatma Gandhi
written by A MI, September 24, 2008 06:29:12
I suspect this recent ISA insurgence was engineered by people "who claim to have a clear conscience" smilies/grin.gif Abdullah has to shoulder the blame cos he did nothing in his power to stop this injustice!

BTW how do you slept nights Syed Botak?
written by teohchye, September 24, 2008 06:53:39
I was unable to express my feeling of complete disgust and sadness over the recent ISA arrests. You must surely express the sentiments of thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, of our citizenry, regardless of religious leanings; and so beautifully and eloquently. I salute you, Dr. M. Bakri Musa!
agree 128
written by JUST, September 24, 2008 06:57:57
http://www.123greetings.com/ev...ion10.html
written by alberttan, September 24, 2008 07:01:44
HELP FREE YM RPK BEFORE AIDIL FITRI

Fellow Malaysians;
Please visit Haris Ibrahim's site and indicate for him to send you a FREE YM RPK chain mail
http://harismibrahim.wordpress...ment-28304

The chain mail is addressed to PM, United Nations and Amnesty International where the GLOBAL email campaign will generate a million emails, your help will be greatly appreciated.

PLEASE DO IT NOW FOR YM RPK TO BE HOME AIDIL FITRI WITH HIS FAMILY
written by A MI, September 24, 2008 07:21:18
Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi telah berjanji untuk menimbang rayuan MIC bagi membebaskan lima pemimpin Hindraf yang ditahan mengikut Akta Keselamatan Dalam Negeri (ISA) sejak 13 Disember tahun lalu, kata Presiden MIC, Datuk Seri S Samy Vellu.

"Perdana Menteri berjanji untuk berbincang perkara itu dengan Menteri Dalam Negeri (Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar) sebelum membuat keputusan," katanya dalam satu kenyataan hari ini.

Anyone seen this?
PM jani menimbang? Does that mean he wont consider, going by all his lies till date?

BTW MIC I don't think HINDARF or any other Malaysian of Indian origin is banking on you. It is best you crawl into some hole in the ground and become a fossil.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 24, 2008 07:45:31
Imagine my horror, shared by many, when Prime Minister Abdullah, the self-declared Imam of Islam Hadhari, chose this particular month to incarcerate Raja Petra Kamaruddin and others under the draconian Internal Security Act that allows for detention without trial, or even the filing of charges.

THE REAL REASON FOR RPK'S ISA DETENTION IS BECAUSE OF HIS MANY EXPOSES` OF THE CORRUPTED AMENO LEadERS. RELIGION IS ONLY A TOOL AND MEANS TO ENSURE THEIR SURVIVAL.
written by johanssm, September 24, 2008 07:49:27
Really do not know how to write this , as i might offend some genuine Muslims friends in here.
You see , it took years for Raja Petra to teaches us here both the Muslims and the non Muslims to appreciate Islam. What Islam is all about .
We are all here in MT glued to what RPK have to say.
We or rather me as a non Muslim started to be very tolerant and understanding when it comes to Islamic issues , especially when RPK explained it clearly.
RPK successfully convinces me to appreciate this religion named as Islam.
Years before stumbling into MT , i am very extremely anti Islam.
I am one of those who really gets piss off easily when people starts to Islam this and Islam that.
Hell , i even supports Bush bombing the entire Arab world back then.
RPK is one person who labours year after year explaining stuffs that i was so anti of.
I think some of you ( non muslims ) also did.

So , in one single swoop by the bn gov. manages to make me angry again.
I am really piss off this time.
So , islam is all about caging another fellow human in a cage and fed with cat food or dog food during their holy month of ramadan.
So , islam is all about denying another fellow human justice without a single trial.
So , islam is all about using a Haram ISA act in order to rehabilitate their fellow muslim. Let me think a bit deeper on this one, if something which is Haram can be made as Halal. I think umno wants me to believe that we can also make pork chops as Halal , am i right? As technically it is the same .

Thank you to umno , jais ,utusan meloya , bodohwi ,those ma maks from penang , datuk shit Al blur, i am now a happy anti muslim again.
What took RPK years of labouring in front of his keyboard all gone to the bin.
There are other things i wanna say too, but i dont want my muslim friends to be piss off. RPK told us to respect friends.
written by ahmadneil, September 24, 2008 08:21:26
I think there is a attempt to sabotage the PM.Who on earth with the right mind will order this arrest at this time,during Ramadan.Someone must be conspiring behind AAB's back to maximize the damage so as to God speed AAB departure.
written by magen, September 24, 2008 08:21:43
No need to begg this dogs
written by ibabonma, September 24, 2008 08:29:24
That Botak. He is a swine. He is a pig.
written by sjs, September 24, 2008 08:33:55
Comrades and fellow countrymen,

We are disappointed that neither the King of Malaysia nor the Sultan of Selangor is intervening in a miscarriage of justice in this country! While we respect the high offices of both, we call upon Their Highnesses to intervene immediately to save this nation from the corrupt governance of few!

It is important that the rulers take note , their duties do not end in just protecting Islam and to ensure peace and harmony in this country! They have a moral obligation in ensuring that the justice system in this country is fair and administered judiciously to protect the people from the tyranny of any government!

It maybe argued that laws exist for the protection of the people, but if the same laws are unfairly used by the corrupt few to advance their self-gains, then aren’t there any recourse for citizens of this country!

“The detention is likely to lead to further criticism of the Malaysian government, both domestically and internationally.” British Broadcasting Corporation

If this appeal towards the relevant ruler and the king is viewed by all as disrespectful, then in my hero Raja Petra’s words, I too have gone for broke!
written by Tompios, September 24, 2008 08:44:51
What we can expect from Islam hadhari hero? Those UMNO leaders who are handling the highest profile of Putrajaya are using Islam as their political and mouth's tool. If Islam cannot be separated from Muslimin daily life then think twice why we should have TWO Gods? Quran said, "Islam is the way of life" but why we need extra laws to govern this country. I think Taliban is more Islamic then Malaysian Muslimin leaders. Malaysian Muslimin leader especially UMNO serve two gods.
written by Edward C, September 24, 2008 08:59:39
Well the component parties of Bee En, What happened to you now. You spoke so strongly against the use of ISA. You sounded out your disagreement. You threaten this and that.

Well ISA Section (smilies/cool.gif is no invoked. What are your views now. Are you speaking to the "Ruling Party" quietly expressing your views? Are you going to accept the action of invoking ISA?

What are you going to do? Was all the hot air and strong words just for political mileage? Well whatever mileage you gained would have been lost again because like in the past, you flers got no follow through la. People also know. Flash in the pan statements gain you some mileage, then no follow through hoping people have forgotten you previous statement keeps you forever a non-issue component in Bee-End. You think UMNO is not aware of this. It is all your own doing also. You gave them the ability to keep muzzles on yourselves.

Do the correct thing for once, the people gave you mandate to assist them in your various locations. Do what is right and what the people elect you to do, which is to govern and do good for the people. NOT HELP the RULING PARTY loot the nation.
written by A MI, September 24, 2008 09:01:18
Using Islam is the only way for UMNO to get the malay-muslims masses to condone their inhuman actions against other malay-muslims.

In 1998 so many simpletons bought the so-do-mee story weaved by the powers that be. Now thanks to utusan and berita harian the same grassroots believe RPK "insulted" Islam.
written by Raizzen, September 24, 2008 09:14:38
Theres no need to harbor hatred towards Islam or the Muslims, Islam is by core, pure & untainted. Just the dirty hands of some, if not many of its followers, like a few names mentioned in the above article have been doing a damn good job in staining it.

And Islam Had-Hari is man made. And I also know that you people are some very intellectual people,so why let yourself jump 50 feet high and let yourself be used by the people that have gross personal agendas and motives, again ?
written by Panca Indera, September 24, 2008 09:21:34
To all Good hearted , honest and caring Malaysians, be it, at federal, state, district area and kampong levels, Spread the message and let everyone be aware and knows,

“NOT TO ATTEND ANY OF THE UMNO RAYA OPEN HOUSES!. NOT THE PM, NOT THE DPM NOT ANY WHAT SOEVER.”

HERE ARE THE REASONS WHY”
1.Do not taint yourselves by participating with corrupted, unjust immoral people. If you do, it means you are their friends and support their actions.
2.The food and money they spent are monies that are dirty monies, evil monies, kickback monies, corrupted monies. So the food that if you eat are dirty food, evil monies, kickback food, corrupted food what will become your blood and flesh. You too becomes dirty like them.
3.By not going We are united in our stand against ISA show our disgust ad is a slap in the face to the BN and UMNO
4.All the expenses and monies we save from the trip/journey give to charities to help the poor.
5.Go to the PKR,DAP,PAS organized RAYA open house instead in BIG numbers to show your support.

Inform everyone you know or are in contact with.

Note please sign and get every one you know who has e-mail address to sign the FREE RPK petition.
Tell them They don’t have to put their REAL names or FULL names, if they are afraid of been exposed. Here is the link: http://www.petitiononline.com/...ition.html
smilies/cool.gif
written by batsman, September 24, 2008 09:41:26
As usual, they are using protection of Islam and Muslims as an excuse for their vile actions - just as they use the excuse of protecting reporter Tan by detaining her under the ISA.

RPK's articles can only erode UMNO's support base. They are not offensive to Muslims. By using Islam as an excuse for vile and sinful actions, UMNO erodes its own support base.

UMNO is no longer fit to rule. It cannot even think of anything reasonable to justify its vile actions anymore. UMNO no longer has the competence to rule and is morally unfit to boot. It is time for PR to get the chance to rule. Build a 2 party system with effective checks and balances.
written by taishan, September 24, 2008 09:46:32
Bakri,
Keep telling them.
Ramadhan is not the month for Jihad.
Marriot Hotel bombing in Pakistan, BMW rampage in Israel, ISA arrests in Malaysia...
written by DezMalaysia, September 24, 2008 09:56:35
written by arankaru19, September 24, 2008 10:03:25
written by SCM, September 24, 2008 10:03:57
There are only 2 ways to get rid of this Bodoh and his cohorts:

1. At the ballot boxes (but this he fixes by bringing in phantom ballot boxes).
2. A military coup (this too he has just fixed by taking over the Defence portfolio from Najib).

He is a spineless puppet who puts all threat in jail under that evil ISA law. Only cowards hide behind unjust laws. His moronic son-in-law Khairy is definitely the puppeter who controls this sleepy moron.

written by chiongguo, September 24, 2008 10:06:10
Islam promoted 3 options to stand up to injustices :
a. Physically
b. Verbally
c. mentally.

There is always the believe that physical means violence or very aggressive response. There is also the passive and peaceful physical response and that is passive resistance.

One that really makes sense was the call not to visit any open houses by UMNO MPs - particularly PM's open house. Instead vote with your feet and visit PR's muslims openhouses.

Let this be a start to peaceful passive resistance.
written by densemy, September 24, 2008 10:10:04
Desecrating Ramadan??... Wake up guys. This and successive Malaysian governments have been desecrating Islam, using it to manipulate you, abusing it and standing for everything that is NON ISLAMIC for generations

And you, like you always do, sit back and pass the buck to God... He'll fix everything!!! But in the meantime this country has gone down the drain

Roll on judgement day you hypocrites
written by cheekhiaw, September 24, 2008 10:14:02
HISTORY LESSONS

Anyone that thinks that the likes of Nixon and George Bush are virtuous simply because they claim to be god-fearing religious faithfuls are suckers of historic proportions.

As they say, judging the horse by its teeth. In this case, a man by the book he holds.

No different for the thieves, liars and murderers in Malaysia.

written by MT682, September 24, 2008 10:24:33
Does this so called Imam of Islam Hadhari @ Mr. ZZZZzzzzzzz even know its Ramadan? I don't know, nobody told me, I don't know anything about it!!!! Maybe someone needs to spell it out to him.
written by hwy, September 24, 2008 10:30:51
This is for johanssm.

Just because the jerks in UMNO and BN misuse ISLAM for their own evil purposes does not mean that ISLAM is bad. These people are not true Muslims. Please do not equate Malay and UMNO with Islam.

Most TRUE Muslims laugh at the idea of Islam Hadhari. There is only one Islam. It's how you interpret it that makes the difference. It is true though that these RUNNING-SCARED politicians will use anything to remain in their position of power. They forget that God is Almighty and someday each and everyone of them will get their comeuppance.

My point is this: Don't let these people who play dirty politics by tarnishing the image of Islam turn you off from your Muslim friends. Thousands of Muslims who voted against them can't be bad Muslims, can they?

As long as we are humans, there will be people who use whatever means they can to oppress others such as our current ruling coalition, for fear of losing whatever power they have and end up being investigated for their wrong-doings.
written by cwy, September 24, 2008 10:44:16
The indecive and pacnicking Pak Lah just cannot control his party members to do what whatever wrong. He will continue his sleepy walk and directionless talk!
Pull down BN before Najib becomes the PM!
written by cwy, September 24, 2008 10:52:21
The indecisive and panicky Pak Lah cannot even control his UMNO chieftan in Penang. How do you expect him to counter the arrogant move of his ministers in jeopardizing his position. He will continue his slleepy walk with directionless talks!
Pull down BN before Najib becomes PM!
written by Taikohtai, September 24, 2008 11:00:51
Mate, as somebody who believes in one god less than Muslims and Christians, I don't think there can ever be any reconciliation between worldly and spiritual events. Time and again, the three letter word in upper case is invoked but surely the gomen of the day was put there in the first place by the ballot box, faily or otherwise! The holier than thou attitude is misplaced. We shall not be worse off by letting the sleeping DOG(regardless of which direction the word is spelt) lie.
written by The Voter, September 24, 2008 11:02:30
As a muslim I’m really dissapointed with JAKIM & JAWI over their police report on RPK over the following articles (as claimed by them an written in the media)

1."Not all Arabs are descendants of the Prophet”
Datuk Syed Abdyl Rahman Alhabshi started off by saying that the IGP had called him and told him that if Najib ever becomes the Prime Minister then he had better leave the country.

2."I Promise to be a good, non-hypocritical Muslim"
Muslims do not know how to be Muslims. Muslims do everything Islam is against. Muslims are hypocrites. That is what ails Malaysia. That is the sickness of our society.................
Muslims do not know how to be Muslims. Muslims do everything Islam is against. Muslims are hypocrites. That is what ails Malaysia. That is the sickness of our society. And that is why Malaysia is a lost cause as long as we have the majority 1.2 million leaders and civil servants coming from just one faith, the Muslim faith.
Muslim who banned and caught Ustaz from gave the lectures e.g in Selangor under Khir Toyo and closed down the surau.

I found these two articles did not made sense has insulted Islam. Syed is known as descending of Nabi. If descending the prophet why lie?
Is ISA as according to Islam? Fabrication of evidence is allows in Islam?
Have JAKIM/JAWI read the articles? Doesn’t any of their staff understand English?

One more note to speaker of PPIM over Radio IKIM, Tok Ki. Have you read those articles?
Another thing why PPIM oppose the take over of Syabas by Selangor Government. Dr. Maamor lead PPIM submitted the memo opposing the Selangor Government plan to take over Syabas. Reasons, waste public money and to expertise. Water is not a commodity.
I support PPIM, but please do the right thing at the right time. Please concentrate on the consumer issues.

I PROPOSE LET BOYCOTT HARI RAYA OPEN HOUSE THAT WILL HELD BY UMNO/BN; PM, DPM, MINISTER, MP, ETC (IF THEY STILL RULE THIS COUNTRY). LET SHOW THEM THE MESSAGE.
written by arazak, September 24, 2008 11:04:43
“As Mufti of Perlis Datuk Asri Zainal Abidin so wisely noted, even Allah on the Day of Judgment would have us answer for our deeds before rendering judgment. Here we have a mere mortal in the person of the Imam of Islam Hadhari passing judgment on fellow citizens without first hearing their side”.

Bodohwi thought that he, being the Imam Hadhari is the “Capo da Tuti Capi of all Imams”, The boss of all Imams in the country. Whatever he does is sacred. The views of other Imams under him is irrelevant.

Despite being a mere mortal he thought he is above everything. Damn. . ., he might even think that he is the one who blessed God, and not the other way around.

written by Margeemar, September 24, 2008 11:08:57
As for Syed Hamid Albar and his buddies from Umno, the Police and the Judiciary, this Scribe would like to remind them about what the Hadith of the Holy Prophet SAW says about the TORTURE IN THE GRAVE. You guys may change from your evil ways and repent once you check out what happened to an 18 year old youth in Oman. More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
written by Su Dhanoa, September 24, 2008 11:11:09
UMNO oppresses living being and kill them, and call it proper.

When the Lord calls for their account, what will their condition be?
Is it tyranny to use force; the Lord shall call you to account.
When your account is called for, your face and mouth shall be beaten.
It is easy to render your account, if your heart is pure.
In the True Court of the Lord, no one will seize you..........says "Kabeer"
written by sjs, September 24, 2008 11:28:30
RELEASE RAJA PETRA!
ARREST THE REAL CRIMINALS ROAMING FREE!

BRING THIS WEALTHY BEGGAR OF MALAYSIA TO JUSTICE!
BRING SAMY VELU TO JUSTICE!

Samy Velu was first appointed to the Malaysian cabinet in 1979, as the Government and Housing Minister. He then went on to serve until 1989, as the Works Minister. From 1989 to 1995, he became Malaysia's Minister for Energy, Telecommunication and Post. In 1995, he returned to the Works Ministry, where he remained until he lost his parliamentary seat to Dr. D. Michael Jeyakumar in the March 2008 general election. He still he*** the MIC.

He was the second longest serving minister in the country. A testimony to the corrupt practices of this wealthy beggar! We will not categorize his evils, mostly inter-related, symptomatic of his cut-throat money-making styles! In his dying days of politics, deprived of friends (a spoiler of every event, recently the defeat of BN in Permatang Pauh), Samy Velu will be remembered as a wealthy man with a begging bowl in his hand!

Since holding his post as Works Minister of Malaysia, Samy Velu is alleged to have been involved in several money scandals and work defects in several prominent construction projects in Malaysia which included the discovery of fungus growing in the air-conditioning system of the operating theatre in the Sultan Ismail Hospital in Johor Bahru as well as long closure cracks on MRR2, an overpass highway in Ampang. Samy Velu was the mastermind who covered up the wrong-doings of many Bumiputra contractors and companies! For which he was well-rewarded!

Samy Velu is often accused of sucking up shares of many of Malaysia's companies. And the MAIKA (MIC in Tamil) Telecom Share Scandal continues to haunt him. Samy Velu is alleged to have siphoned off 9 million (of the original 10 million) Telekom shares that were allocated to MAIKA. He had allegedly used three companies -- Clearway Sdn. Bhd., S.B. Management Services, and advance Personal Computers Bhd. -- linked to Samy Vellu, his son S. Vell Paari, and brother-in-law to carry out his misdeed. When the scandal broke in mid-1992, the shares were valued at RM 120 million. In 1994, the then Chairman of the MIC Public Claims Committee, V Subramaniam (aka "Barat" Maniam), charged that the accounts have been fabricated to make it appear that the profits from the sale of the Telekom shares were channeled to MIED. He declared, "Samy Vellu is a thief. He has stolen (Telekom) shares from the Indian community."
written by sjs, September 24, 2008 11:29:11
Some believe that Samy Velu had sold the Indian-Malaysian community off in order to save himself from the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Agency. They alleged that he did not do enough or protested loud enough when the Indian-Malaysian situation worsened, or when the Malaysian government dissolved the South Indian Labour Fund. In his words, he has committed his energy to building the Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology (AIMST). However, AIMST, built with donations collected from the Indian-Malaysian community, too, is riddled in controversy, as its shares are owned by Samy Velu's associates, Tan Sri K. Ambikaipakan and Datuk Dr. T. Marimuthu.

Samy Velu is also often criticized for his leadership style. As one critic put it, "He (Samy Velu) is very much in control of the party (MIC), and the party's run almost [as a] feudal organisation where almost all decisions are made by the President himself. A lot of Indians are critical of MIC's role in the coalition government ... the Indian middle class does not want to associate itself in the MIC and largely making the MIC a working class party."
There have also been allegations that Samy Velu uses thugs to intimidate his political opponents, and that he uses phantom voters to win elections both at the party and the parliamentary levels. A petition by Samy Velu's challenger, Dr Jeyakumar Devaraj, to the election court alleging electoral fraud during the 1998 General Election at Sungai Siput constituency, however, was dismissed by the presiding judge, Justice Wan adnan, on technical grounds.

Family

Samy Velu is married to Indrani Samy Vellu, his second wife, a restaurant owner. Samy Velu has one son, Vell Paari, 45, a high school drop-out who currently manages MAIKA Holdings (stupidity at its best). His daughter-in-law, Shaila Nair, 33, is a singer, who was featured extensively having sex with an unknown guy. As usual he said “it looks like my daughter-in-law.” In the same year, Vell Paari was also implicated in the 'mysterious death' of actress K. Sujatha. Vell Paari was allegedly paying for the condominium in which she was staying in. That indicates relationship of some kind. The circumstances of this young woman’s death remains shrouded in mystery and nothing much has come out of the investigation.

Why doesn’t it occur to this police that an MIC leader’s son is linked to a suspicious death and that son is also the CEO of the MIC investment arm and thus, needs to explain himself?

Perhaps the police are keeping mum on the subject, as they are too busy fixing Raja Petra Kamarudin!

OUR DEMAND: RELEASE RAJA PETRA IMMEDIATELY!

written by Dora, September 24, 2008 11:30:17
Careful Mr. M.Bakri Musa, RPK is in Kamunting for 'writing articles that would arouse anger among muslims', we do not want another person incarcerated for speaking about Islam and enlightning muslims and non-muslims about the spirituality of Ramadan and the principles of Islam.

We thank you for your thoughts.
written by sjs, September 24, 2008 11:32:10
RELEASE RAJA PETRA!
RELEASE RAJA PETRA FROM THE DUNGEON OF DEATH!

BRING KHIR TOYO, “THE PEANUT TERRORIST” TO JUSTICE!

Zero Illegal Squatters Mission

It was a mission set by Khir Toyo himself to make Selangor 'zero squatters'. Toyo has been criticized for approving housing project in squatters' area and forcing the residents to move out from their illegal homes. Some of the village claim to be illegal homes had been built before independence in 1957. Most squatters living in a prime area are left homeless and received low compensation. The majority of the squatters are forced to rent or live in low-cost flats.

Luxurious Exco Village

The Selangor State Government had spent an estimated RM40 million to built an “EXCO VILLAGE” which comprises 10 bungalows and a clubhouse in Section 7, Shah Alam exclusively for the use of Selangor executive councilors. State Opposition member questioned the rationale for the estimated RM40mil project of public funds.

Housing Project

Many of the land which belonging to state government is been sold for housing project during Khir Toyo’s administration. Some of the land which supposes to be reserved land for forest or a public park.
Among the land which been sold to developer is the Batu Tiga Speedway Circuit in Shah Alam, which is the first circuit in Malaysia built in 1968. The land is between Shah Alam Stadium and Lebuhraya Persekutuan now is a housing area name D'Kayangan.

Corruption and bribery

Khir Toyo had been accused of corruption for approving a construction project which trespasses Bukit Cahaya Seri Alam in Shah Alam, a forest reserve. To prove his innocence, Toyo had asked Anti-Corruption Agency of Malaysia to investigate the incident. No answers were raised about the matter.

Money Politics

Khir Toyo would have been arrested by the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) and charged for corruption in connection with the Ijok by-election in Selangor if the ACA has been an independent and professional body.
This is because even before the Ijok by-election nomination day, money politics to buy votes had started with the announcement by Khir Toyo of RM36 million for various development projects in the Ijok constituency.
Instead, the ACA had acted “blind, deaf and mute” to such money politics and corrupt practices to buy votes in the by-election.

written by sjs, September 24, 2008 11:32:45
Zakaria Mat Deros illegal mansion

Zakaria Mat Deros, the Klang assemblyman (UMNO) in Selangor built his illegal mansion without any proper construction permit from the local government. He built the illegal mansion in an urban poor district in Klang which is supposed to be used for low-cost housing. Under the Selangor law, his illegal mansion should be seized and Zakaria should be prosecuted. However, Toyo has been criticized for forgiving Zakaria's mistake and did not take any action against Zakaria. Zakaria died of a heart attack in his home on 11 March 2008 at about 1.30 am Malaysia time.

Balkis Accounts Scandal

After the March 8 Malaysian General Elections, Wives of Selangor Assemblymen and MPs Welfare and Charity Organization (Balkis) transferred out the RM9.9mil from its coffers a few days after the state fell to the Opposition. Khir Toyo said the money was “temporarily transferred” to the Association of Wives of Ministers and Deputy Ministers (Bakti). Defending the money transfer, then president Zahrah Kechik said she had the legal right because her husband Mohd Khir Toyo was still the caretaker Selangor Menteri Besar at that time. The state government, however, is questioning the transfer of the money and seeking legal advice. It has also asked the Registrar of Societies to put on hold the dissolution of Balkis.

Auditors for the Wives of Selangor Assemblymen and MPs Welfare and Charity Organisation (Balkis) said the charity's accounts for 2007 were never audited or finalised, contrary to claims by Mohd Khir Toyo.

Pig Rearing Project

During Khir Toyo as Menteri Besar of Selangor, he and his cabinet had made a study to built pig-rearing center in Selangor. This pig-rearing center would be a high-tech integrated pig-rearing project with cleaner technique to reduce pollution which arises from the older technique of pig-rearing.
The new Menteri Besar, Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, announced that the RM100million integrated pig-rearing project, which was approved by the former Barisan state government led by Khir Toyo, would proceed. Khir Toyo denied it and said he has never approved the pig-rearing project. This led Khalid to show the picture of some of Toyo's cabinet visiting a pig-rearing center in Germany to the media.

Accuse of Spreading Lies about a Petition to Ban Mosques from Airing Azan

Khir Toyo accused that a Pakatan Rakyat component party was trying to ban mosques from broadcasting the azan (Muslim call to prayer) on loudspeakers. On September 11, Kota Raja Member of Parliament MP, Siti Mariah Mahmood has lodged a police report against Khir Toyo in Dang Wangi Police Station. She lodged the police report against former Selangor Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo together with the website pembelamelayu.com for spreading malicious slander and lies about certain quarters pressuring the state authorities to tone down the call to prayer at mosque and surau in the state.
On September 12, 2008 DAP’s Seputeh MP Teresa Kok was arrested under ISA. Khir Toyo allegedly accused Kok of being involved in connection with a resident’s petition in Puchong over a mosque.

OUR DEMAND: RELEASE RAJA PETRA IMMEDIATELY!
written by The dragonheart, September 24, 2008 11:39:26
If one look at Islamic history, Muslims and Islam won many battles and wars in the month of Ramadhan.... and many good things happened in the month of Ramadhan.... many muslims being given the blessing in the month of Ramadhan....the lailatul qadar night shall be in the month of Ramadhan....

We shall see the greatness of Allah's blessings... to be patient is half of piousness...
written by J Dean, September 24, 2008 11:54:17
Dr Bakri your message was very simple and clear enough for every walks of life to understand. But I have doubt that the blind PM who self proclaimed himself as imam Islam Hadari understand your writings because he is too “buta huruf and buta hati”!

Sometimes I even think that Badawi is actually in cohort with the Satan because he disrespect the holy Ramadan month to put RPK who is an actual true and practical muslim in detention centre (Malaysia Guantanamo Bay) where prisoners eat food that qualify as a dog food and expose to all the abuse by the jailor.

I wish to clarify that RPK articles never at all arouse anger among any fair minded Muslim, more so even at the suggestion that it ridiculed Islam

Syed Hamid Albar done it for the purpose to silent RPK and thus, so that the wrongdoing of the BN will be kept under wrap. I think this is the actual reason.

This ISA is open to abuse by the ruling government. Use it for political gain by Badawi and his goons.

I ask the almighty god; please strike the lightning upon all these morons as they are the actual destroyer of the true Islam.
written by Hope4all, September 24, 2008 12:01:39
This is the PM who in 2003 when he took over from Mahathir said that ISA is bad and unjust.

That says a lot of his calibre and his principles are NOT constant but constantly changing!! On top of that, look at the competency of his ministers under his wings. Appalling!

Now, where are the special branch folks who told RPK that he will never be locked up?!

May Allah bless those who live in his name and punish those who use his name for their own "earthly" sins.

FREE RPK!!!
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 24, 2008 12:16:47
The faith of the Grand Imam Hadhari is is question. Believing Muslims do not resort to inhuman methods.
written by DezMalaysia, September 24, 2008 12:19:38
Guys & girls,

FREE RPK is a must battle ! But remember what RPK had once told us, continue the fight and let's not forget

JUSTICE FOR ALLtantuya !

Don't let this issue die down ! Don't let the C4 Minister & the Rosmah get away without a fair trial !
written by atsanee, September 24, 2008 12:22:30
My fervent hope is articles will continue to appear in malaysia-today that continue to say what has to be said as if Pete is still walking free among us.

The government needs to realize that it is not a matter of locking up your critics.
Doing so does not remove the problem but actually increases it.

You send people to kamunting but how do you put the spirit of freedom,justice and enlightenment behind bars?

So admin, please post more articles and continue to educate the rakyat and make it loud and clear that by locking up Pete,there are hundreds of Petes here to continue his mission.

Having said that, Pete has no business in Kamunting and shame on those responsible for his incarceration.
written by taishan, September 24, 2008 13:07:56
Ramadan a month of commitment and renewal of faith; of martyrdom and commitment to the Muslim faith. Throughout Islamic history, Ramadan has been seen as a time of victory for Muslim armies and the martyred have a greater assurance of a place in paradise.
written by Fuminari, September 24, 2008 14:11:18
umno do not know that ramadhan is a holy month!!jus look at all their latest evil deeds!!!
written by Chimera, September 24, 2008 17:24:16
Knock Knock !!!........ R they hearing Us LOUD & CLEAR???

Free RPK and other ISA detainees....
ABolish the draconian LAW...

Those who r in higher authorities n power....fail to realise...end of the day they will hv to answer to almighty...n they not they almighty.... Look at Mahathir...wat happen to him.... No Malaysian love him and he end up with curse.. Do not let this happen to u Pak Lah.....
written by educationist, September 24, 2008 17:38:34
My religion also teaches that u reap what u sow - but the problem is the timeframe is indeterminate.
As such I feel much solace reading Bakri's strong conviction that Badawi, Syed Hamid and the other culprits will get their just rewards soon.
In the meantime can only pray that RPK will be 'protected on the wings of God' and he'll be healthy and well.
written by cheemengwong, September 24, 2008 20:22:01
Desecrating Ramadan?

I would say that is an understantment! He is desecrating Islam and the nation Malaysia all year round if he profess he is a Islam hadhari practioner.

a. Why allow a Casino in Pahang to operate all year round?
b. Why allow Todo, Maknum, One 3 to operate all year round?
c. Why are private clubs in Klang Valley and major cities being issued slot machine license to rob the raayat all year round?
d. Why petrol price can increase from 1.90 to 2.70 and goes down 25cts and 15cts. Does he want the Raayat to die daily all year round?
e. Why deny RPK to defend himself in the Muslim court if he is said to have contravene the true Islamic teachings?
f. Why put people under ISA without a redress from the civil courts all year round?

Comeon Lah Malaysians, think lah. act lah don't always react lah
written by TwilightYears, September 24, 2008 22:15:47
Another excellent article from Bakri Musa.

In this holy month of Ramadan, when even the feared Syaitan is in chains, I would pray to the Almighty SWT that this Iman Hadhari be forgiven for he act for his own personal and family interests. Astaghfirullah.

And to RPK and his beloved family, I pray that the Almighty, Alway Merciful, will give them the strength to continue the struggle. We, the common people, may appear timid and feared for our freedom and did not voice out dissatisfaction. The situation in Malaysia is such that if anyone takes to the street, it is not the demonstrators that will suffer the arrest, but the common man whose daily living will be affected when the Iman Hadhari imposes Emergency Law, or worst, when Najib and Hishammuddin give a repeat performance with the kris and threaten Chinese blood. Or that the PP Ahmad and Khir Toyo instill so much fear in UMNOputras that all non Malay, including non Malay Bumiputras are re classified as immigrants.

Only Allah SWT will show the truth when the time is ripe. Have patience.
written by TaiLow, September 25, 2008 02:27:52
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gft5-6klkMA
written by Man In Black, September 25, 2008 04:07:26
Bakri,
SPOT ON!!! A very articulate piece os article. No this waht our fellow 'Muslim' brothers are made of. Pride, dignity and interlectual. There we have some damn 'BOTAK' from Arab we can't even spell his own name talking about ISA!!! It just goes to show that there are so many wonderful caring malaysians here and around the world but we have given the UMNO and Barijan Najis to ruin this beloved country of our for all these years.
WHAT A PITY!!!!!!...but like I was always taught, never cry over a spilt milk, but wake up and go out and make the difference. My fellow Bretherns, JUST DO IT!!!!
written by renoir, September 25, 2008 11:04:50
sjs wrote:
>We are disappointed that neither the King of Malaysia nor the Sultan of Selangor is intervening in a miscarriage of justice in this country!]]

Well, as I wrote on September 22, 2008:

"...The people we appeal to are not illiterate or blind or deaf to what's going on, and if they see fit to do nothing thus far, so be it.... generally, class does matter: those of a certain class will look after their own interests. If they think they might gain by supporting the rakyat's wish, they will do so. They won't if otherwise."

In other words, the rakyat will have to fend for themselves. Stop daydreaming and think of what could be done, singly or in groups.

written by anallu, September 25, 2008 13:34:35
When the Colonial ruler, the British enacted the ISA they used it for the honest purpose of defending themselves againt the armed communist insurgency. However, it took the ingenuity of the leaders of our independent Malaysia to fine tune the Act to be applied against the very people who elected them as their trustees to rule the country, but also to exclude the Judicial Courts from adjudicating in the cases of the detainees under the ISA.

The full credit for this mischief must go to Dr. Mahathir who was once adulated by the UMNO members as the greatest gift by God to Malaysia and that there will not be another leader for the Malays for a thousand years; notwithstanding the fact that the man who was so adulated is a mamak!

written by prabalat, September 25, 2008 15:17:38
resorting to all means available to maintain or protect the status qua is of a great importance.mobilize all the spin doctors to achieve this target.execute diversion and confusion if had to !!!!!!!

boss can it work ??????

hey how do think i can still be around in this business. listen if there's takers then you need not worry
- is it wrong to expect divine intervention ? or is it a cause ? - wonder
written by prabalat, September 25, 2008 15:33:22
to densemy
u have spoken the truth my man
french revolution is a great read,
orange revelation is an interesting input,
boy im i glad to have u around .
written by mamak, September 25, 2008 16:12:05
Just wait and see..
damn
written by Old Man, September 26, 2008 10:03:27
Sir Bakri Musa, you're spot on when you said that Ramadan is a month to do good deeds. Strangely, the Great Iman of Islam Hadhari is doing more of the opposite. Really sad, isn't it?
In fact, everybody ( regardless of race or religion ) should do good deeds at every moment of their life time.
written by ekayjay, September 28, 2008 09:42:41
pray tell me, who hasactually insulted Islam, the PM or his incompetent home minister or both together?
written by No nonsense, September 28, 2008 22:37:23
You think those in Amno cares about what happen to those detain under ISA? They are too greedy going for positions to care about the sufferings of others during Ramadan. How can we non-muslim understand Islam when this is going on during the fasting month for muslims. They are suppose to feel the sufferings of the poor but instead they are putting sufferings to others. Is this the teaching of Islam? God is always just and time will tell what HE will do to those who disobey his commands. May these muslims come to their senses to please GOD and not bring glory and fame to themselves.
written by ordinary citizen, October 01, 2008 15:27:21
If anyone cares to read The Star paper page 27 today, the headline said that 'Syed Hamid wins uncontested'. Reading the content further, he actually lost the contest for the division head post to A. Malek A. Rahman, 21 nominations to Malek's 23.
But he has more power in UMNO so Malek somehow got suspended by UMNO for 3 years. What a coincidance this happens. Were you surprised that Malek was not put into prison under ISA. Don't be. UMNO members no matter what wrong they commit including racial abuses will only get suspended 3 years by UMNO. So says Syed hamid press statement that 'he has been punished enough by the suspension' when referring to the Penang UNMO guy who has caused the reporter to be detained under ISA.

I wonder what happens to any other UMNO candidates who intend to challenge for the President or Deputy post this coming UMNO election...Possible suspension for 3 years and you will find the Presidents posts or deputy 'UNCONTESTED'.

Is there any difference between us an Zimbabwe, politically I mean.
written by born2reign, October 01, 2008 22:00:40
Bakri, good article. It will move most people who have not sold their soul to the devil. Badawi has sold his soul to the devil, he is the devil in disguise. His mission is to create chaos, despair, doubt, confusion, disease and sickness. He also has his demons to ensure he continues to enjoy the lusts of the world.
He is a Muslim by name only, but he has already denounced Islam by his actions. If a Muslim acts in conflict with Islamic teachings, then he belongs to the enemy.
We must continue to expect a leader with good character, and not those of a certain religion, for being religious does not mean he has good character. Those who voted him are equally guilty of putting RPK and Hindraf5 in ISA.