Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Race Relations Cannot Be Legislated

Race Relations Cannot Be Legislated PDF Print
Tuesday, 23 September 2008 16:44

Other than Umno's power transition plan and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's plan to topple the govenrment, another current hot topic would be to amend or repeal the Internal Security Act (ISA), as well as to draw up a Race Relations Act.

The 8 March general elections brought a heavy blow to the turliong party and one of the positive changes is that many politicians and political parties have suddenly become more conscious. They are beginning to firmly opposed undemocratic laws, unlike the Bar Council which has been opposing the ISA alone for over 20 years.

ISA has been in existence since the British colonial era but some politicians only found recently that the act is undemocratic and it violates human rights. Meanwhile, there are still some who do not think there are any problem with the act but only the implementation method should be questioned.

"Fair attitude is much better than a Race Relations Act."

Even more ironically, the government suddenly discovered that there's something amiss with our race relations after 51 years of independence. They are trying to draw up an act to stipulate what should not be said. Would race relations improve just by drawing up a new law?

In fact, the people's thinking and values are more important than an act. Even if an undemocratic act exists, people with modern thinking would not simply use or abuse the act.

Therefore, political leaders and officials at all levels should understand what is meant by universal values, particularly human rights, democracy and the concept of fairness. They must know that all detainees have the right to defence in court and no violence should be involved in any police investigation.

As long as government policy makers and administrators have the idea of fairness, naturally they will be fairer in setting up policies. This can avoid racial suspicion. Fair attitude is much better than a Race Relations Act.

Similarly, if politicians are open-minded and bear in mind that their responsibility is to act fairly, there would be no racial element in their words and deeds. No dispute would be triggered off then.

The Constitution of Malaysia has been amended for several times but most importantly, those who implement the laws should be open-minded in order to correctly and effectively enforce the law.

Inapropriate acts should be amended or repealed while outdated thinking must be corrected. It would be easier to amend inapropriate acts but it is difficult to correct human thought. (By LIM SUE GOAN/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

written by chebella, September 23, 2008 16:51:41
Legislating to improve race relation is just so lame. It is just another knee jerk and peabrain proposal by the intellectually bankrupt BN politicians. It needs to trashed into the same bin as the ISA.
written by ahmadneil, September 23, 2008 16:54:51
We don't need this rubbish.Only umno needs it.
written by Ben Nordin, September 23, 2008 17:19:32
Of course! A party that relies on racial lines is goiing to do up a race relations act. Who's going to be the author? Ahmad Ismail? Sheesh!
written by carribeanking7, September 23, 2008 17:58:59
A race relations act is not about what can be said alone, in UK the race relations act stipulates among others that you cannot be discriminated in employment based on your ethnicity alone,are we brave enough to do that with the civil service here ?
Even current laws are not enforced fairly, Teresa was arrested, Tan was arrested, RPK is detained in kamunting for 2 years with the endorsement of the home minister.

What happened to the investigations on Ahmad Ismail on sedition and criminal intimidation (reportedly he said Tan should be shot) ?

What happened to the police reports lodged against Khir Toyo ?

What happened to the report lodged against the Utusan reporter ?

What happened to the police report lodged by RPK in 2001 ?

and you expect us to belive that the police are apolitical...?

Most ordinary Malaysians get along just fine, the problems are without exception
caused by extremist factions within UMNO--- as Anwar said of Ahmad "low class politician".

Anwar was smart not to have made a hue and cry ...that is what these ceapskate politicians want publicity...ans we collectively gave it to this moron, tell me honestly how many of us even knew Ahmad Ismail even existed before this ? If all of us just dismissed him like an insignificant GNAT the way Anwar did, Ahmad will be denied the undeserved popularity- if he does not apologise so what, it just shows his ill breeding- show the party he is associated with at the ballot box.

written by Atheist, September 23, 2008 22:34:36
Really ... really ....

Why should there be a RRA when we are all Malaysians and citizens. Then again, we have drug laws but that has not slowed the traffickers ... only make them more determined and smarter.

RRA is only relevant (pardon the pun) if we wish to legalise that the rabbit should have won the race instead of the tortoise/turtle. Then again, what does this say about the race or the Malaysian economy ??????? smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, September 24, 2008 00:56:42

Race Relations? if we don't change our mentality and shift from "race hegemony" to "race equality", then everything is "phoney"!!!
Please read my articles on race relations in Malaysia:
http://benjaminloi.********.co...ority.html
http://benjaminloi.********.com/2008/09/dr-mahathir-i-hope-youre-not-racist.html
written by Sabahfan, September 24, 2008 08:24:41
{font size= 1]WHAT IS THE POINT of forcing people to have good race relation when the REAL cause of the bad relation as shown in the last 50 years is UMNO itself?

just one proof? By promoting racial segretation in Universities, such as Uitm, which is the main insrument of either uniting or disuniting the races?

COMMON all malaysians..... LISTEN TO THIS WISE MESSAGES...

THE EASIEST WAY TO NURTURE GOOD RELATION IS WIPE OUT UMNO, the rascist party.

Teresa Kok has already started the motion for good race relation by taking care of all races in her constituency, by visiting sick moslems on Ramadhan, something she got rewarded instead with ISA...

so If U want all races in Malaysia to love one another, ALL OF YOU MUST REMOVE THE SOURCE OF HATE FIRST;... which is UMNO..

see.. Pendatang Ahmad Ismail, big nose like a crook, caused racial hatred, But remains free, never tasted ISA..
written by ccemmanuel, September 25, 2008 06:48:29
The same excuses that have appeared above were used to try to defeat the Race Relations Act passed in UK, many years ago. Since then no one can be discriminated on the basis of colour, race, creed or religion or gender or even sexual orintation. To a very great extent it has worked in the public arena where merit counts. It may take a bit longer to change an individual's attitude but it is changing in UK. BUT WILL THE MALAYSIAN GOVT BE BOLD ENOUGH TO PASS SUCH AN ACT. If it does then there could be a non-Muslim and a non-Malay as prime-minister and a Malaysian of non-Malay decent could hold any top position in the civil service. Will the entrenched intrests give up their enshrined discrimination in favour of the majority. Etc, Etc. I await with abated breath. Instead of waiting for people's attitude to change the Govt should pass this Act. PS Racism in not confined to only Malaysian's of Malay origin. Institutionalised racism is also practised by the Malaysians of Chinese and Indian origin. "Before you see the mote in your brother's eye, see the beam in your own eye" (source - Bible)
written by alfchuah, September 25, 2008 08:42:06
Race Relations will make things worse, it'll make racial segregation more prominent. Racial harmony could be reached in so many ways - first of all, rid of racial parties, i.e. the likes of UMNO, MCA and MIC must be gone. We must base our political struggle on how to improve the nation, not improve a few people from a single race.

As per Lim Kit Siang who raised many valid questions on his blog, the one that starks out the most is the existence of the Biro Tatanegara, which breeds racist mother****ers who continue to be disrespectful to law and the general public. What kind of name is that - Tatanegara? Which part of the country does it refer to? The blood-tied top UMNO people? Or a family in a small town in Kelantan, where people live harmoniously without even know such institution actually exists to promote Malay Supremacy.

I wanna say something that I believe no one has said yet - Ahmad said that the Malaysian Chinese were the American Jews. I want you all to think about this: If Chinese were the Jews, who were the NAZI? Who were the NAZI that tortured, enslaved and massacred all Jews, just because of the plain fact that they were Jews.

Can the Race Relations Act fix that? Or just "Oh he has already been suspended so the Race Relations Act be relaxed"?