Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Raja Petra detained for 2 years

Raja Petra detained for 2 years PDF Print
Tuesday, 23 September 2008 13:21

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 23 (The Malaysian Insider) — A prominent political blogger was jailed for two years under a strict security law that can keep him in prison indefinitely, a lawyer said today.

Online commentator Raja Petra Kamarudin, known for his anti-government views, was already in police custody and was served a detention order last night, said his lawyer Malik Imtiaz Sarwar.

Another of his lawyers, J. Chandra, confirmed that Raja Petra has been sent to Kamunting under Section 8(1) of the ISA which states that "if the Minister is satisfied that the detention of any person is necessary with a view to preventing him from acting in any manner prejudicial to the security of Malaysia or any part thereof or to the maintenance of essential services therein or the economic life thereof, he may make an order (hereinafter referred to as a detention order) directing that the person be detained for any period not exceeding two years."

The order was signed by Home Minister Datuk Syed Hamid Albar, who has said Raja Petra's writings pose a threat to national security by creating racial tension.

Raja Petra’s wife Marina Lee Abdullah said today: "The police informed me that my husband has been sent to Kamunting this morning and that he will remain there for two years with no trial. This is the worst news I can receive but we will keep fighting for his release."

"This is dirty foul play by the government as they know that we are in the process of fighting for his release in the court but I was expecting this," she said.

Raja Petra's lawyers were pushing for his release in a habeas corpus hearing today but Marina said the detention order had upset their plans. The habeas corpus hearing, meanwhile, has been postponed to Oct 28 after preliminary objections from the DPP against the defence application that with the new order under Section 8 of the ISA served on Raja Petra today, it was no longer relevant to rely on the earlier application filed under Section 73 (1).

Chandra said the defence would be filing a fresh application against the Section 8 order.

Raja Petra has increasingly infuriated authorities by publishing numerous claims about alleged wrongdoings by government leaders on his popular site, Malaysia-Today, which serves as his blog as well as a news portal. The government has denounced most of Raja Petra's allegations as lies.

Raja Petra was arrested on Sept 12 under the Internal Security Act, which allows an initial detention of two months for investigation, followed by a two-year jail period that can be renewed indefinitely.

He will be held at the Kamunting Detention Centre in Perak. The centre houses detainees held under the security law, most of whom are suspected Islamic extremists.

Raja Petra's arrest triggered widespread protests by civil society groups, lawyers and other online commentators. Along with Raja Petra, authorities also arrested an opposition lawmaker and a journalist on Sept 12, but they were released subsequently.

The ISA is a holdover from British colonial days, when it was used against communist insurgents. Independent Malaysia's post-colonial government has kept it in the statute books and has used it sparingly against political dissidents, ignoring calls from opposition groups and others to disband the law.

- Agencies

written by samesamemam, September 23, 2008 13:23:38
Marina, we are still with you and your family, no matter what...We will continue the struggle to free RPK. Meanwhile, lets flood Kamunting with Hari Raya greeting cards addressed to RPK. Lets tell him to keep the hope and that we have not given up. Here is the address

Y.B. Raja Petra Kamarudin
Tempat Tahanan Perlindungan,
34009 Kamunting,
Taiping.
Perak
Malaysia

I am mailing my card today.
written by ahmadneil, September 23, 2008 13:24:07
I can't believe they have done this to a good muslim.He will be the last good muslim to be thrown into Kamunting,the rest are BAD muslims.
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, September 23, 2008 13:28:48
Dear All:
Those who detain innocent people are Hypocrites and Unbelievers, according to Quran,Hell is their abode!
http://benjaminloi.********.co...ll-is.html
Botak Minister, listen carefully!

written by fireduck, September 23, 2008 13:33:27
Operating in bad faith. That's what this Govt is doing. First the Home Minister said that the police can detain him for up to 60 days for investigations, etc. After that they will have to apply to him for his great signature for further detention up to two years.

So, 60 days is up already meh? Why the hurry? Are the investigations completed? Is there a case against RPK? Then why not charge him? Totally ultra-vires! This bugger just wants to nail RPK's ass, no matter what. We will remember this, because if and when we have the chance, we must pay back this 'good' deeds back to him.
written by KELLYVILLEACE, September 23, 2008 13:38:06
This is the MALAYSIA you should be getting - "May Anwar Lift All Your Spirits Individually Always" but instead this is the MALAYSIA you are now going to get "May Allah Look After Your Souls In Afterlife"

I honestly do not see how things are going to improve. Next, ISA will be used on ANWAR ie if they don't get him on the DNA, SODOMY 2 etc.

This is the MALAYSIA BOLEH I see - "Bo Le (Hokkien- means Don't Have)

written by wartank, September 23, 2008 13:40:24
Again this Hamid Albar ammends things as he deemed fit.. to him!
I have half a mind to suggest what to do with this @#$%& guy but I might get censored!

Even all our petitioning takes time to see action taken, especially with the likes of this fella running the country .. but we must presevere, pass the word and create more awareness to show support for RPK's release!

DSAI..pls make your move now!
Is there anything that can be done to excelerate the take over process? Cos' you'll be next..and we want RPK out!
Hear our plea and let us hartal ISA. Tell us how we should go about it.

My brothers and sisters.. ideas and suggestions, pls!

written by joejoe, September 23, 2008 13:50:08
Home Minister Datuk Syed Hamid Albar, who has said Raja Petra's writings pose a threat to national security by creating racial tension

I suppose Ahmad Ismail's statements are not. Well done AMNO.
written by csm_81, September 23, 2008 13:56:19
My eyes were stinging with tears of disappointment and anger at the news of Uncle Pete's 'sentencing'.

There is truly NO JUSTICE in this farked up BN controlled country. I will be there tonight at the Assembly Hall. Those of you spineless cowards who didn't sign the petition - SHAME ON YOU.

Hang in there Uncle Pete. We'll get you out!
written by Dominic, September 23, 2008 13:57:30
Syed,first you publicly said RPK and two others were detained under ISA at the discretion of the Police and you were not informed. Two among them had since been released while RPK is still around . It goes to show that the police had failed to justify their arrest in the first place. What has RPK done to justify his 2yrs detention at Kamunting ? How could you possibly take the word of the police to sign for his detention . If theres any truth to his threat on the nation,spelt it out and charge him in court and not ISA. Do you have a conscience ? May the lord spared you all who had a hand here when your time come !
written by cubi76, September 23, 2008 14:08:02
This is indeed a very sad day for people of Malaysia.

The innocent ones get thrown into jail, the true culprits roam free.
written by Lim Lim, September 23, 2008 14:11:09
expose this inhumanity n umno be end tyranny to the world at the up coming UN general assembly!
written by ChanRaj, September 23, 2008 14:12:38
DAMN THEM!! They are provoking the Rakyat to take to the streets so that they can invoke the emergency and stop Anwar in his tracks. Its BURNING me up to a point of complete RAGE and VIOLENCE to hear this about RPK!

They want this to happen. RPK is the trigger point. Let's face it. We take to the streets and we will be playing right into their hands. FROM TODAY we are the WARRIORS for FREE MALAYSIA, FREE RPK! You can't take to the streets but we must bring down this entire BN/UMNO machinery. The whole country should protest about this grave injustice to one of the true sons of Malaysia.

Wear a black arm band with the words FREE MALAYSIA, FREE RPK! Place stickers on our cars. We have to show our sloidarity. While from another front Anwar should make the final push to drive the stake thru the evil heart of Satan! The oppressors. The facist pigs! This shows the true colour of the government. They are not interested in the Rakyat. They are not interested in the country. They only want to retain the power to control the Rakyat. How can the Malays support such a government? The government is doing great injustice to fellow Malaysians! We CANNOT ALLOW THIS TO HAPPEN and sleep peacefully every night. Every single UMNO member will burn in HELL for this!
written by budakindia, September 23, 2008 14:27:44
Petra did said he's going to f*ck the government right? Guys it's time to heed his call! Do it! ( F*ck really hard this time! Until the whole machinery collapsed!
written by KTRaj, September 23, 2008 14:28:10
Jangan mencabar kesabaran RAKYAT.
written by sjs, September 23, 2008 14:47:21
RELEASE RAJA PETRA IMMEDIATELY!
RELEASE RAJA PETRA FROM THE DUNGEON OF CRUELTY!

ARREST SYED HAMID IMMEDIATELY!
BRING SYED HAMID ALBAR TO JUSTICE!

TEMPERING OF JUSTICE

Syed Hamid has on two occasions tempered with the legal systems in Malaysia!

Firstly he has instructed the enforcements to detain Raja Petra Kamarudin under the Internal Security Act on 12th September 2008, knowing pretty well that Raja Petra Kamarudin has demanded an apology and compensation over a defamatory article in the media, from him by the same date! This is a real attempt to temper with the legal functions of the Malaysian courts!

Secondly, his detention of Raja Petra which has no basis, but solely done for his own personal vendetta, under section 73 (1), has again been misused to ensure Raja Petra Kamarudin is permanently behind bars by misusing Section 8 (1) to his own advantage!

Section 8(1) of the ISA states that "if the Minister is satisfied that the detention of any person is necessary with a view to preventing him from acting in any manner prejudicial to the security of Malaysia or any part thereof or to the maintenance of essential services therein or the economic life thereof, he may make an order (hereinafter referred to as a detention order) directing that the person be detained for any period not exceeding two years."

Common sense dictates that if there is no evidence implicating Raja Petra when detained under Section 73 (1), section 8 (1) is a mere tool used to prevent Raja Petra from exposing the scandals of the present leaders of the BN government! This is a serious abetment as it is a repeated attempt to protect the wrong-doers!

Syed Hamid should be arrested immediately in tempering with the justice system of this nation! Though the justice in itself is an injustice done to mankind!

WRONGFUL DETENTION OF SIN CHEW REPORTER

Syed Hamid has misled the entire world by the arrest of Tan Hoon Cheng under ISA! Tan who was arrested under ISA on 12th September 2008 under ISA was released on 13th September 2008, after a short detention of 18 hours. The government’s reluctance to arrest Ahmad Ismail, the racist, who actually should be arrested in place of Tan, brought strong condemnation from the local and international communities! To cover up his mistakes, Syed Hamid released Tan after 18 hours of detention! Syed Hamid has misled the whole nation and the world by saying that Tan was only kept in police custody for her own protection! This lie coming from a minister from the government is a serious breech of the integrity of the people and this nation! Syed Hamid has no regards for the reputation of Malaysians in general and has brought much disgrace to this nation! He must be brought to justice for the wrongful detention of Tan, reluctance to detain Ahmad Ismail and misleading the entire nation and world!

PREVENTING OTHERS FROM FILING DEFAMATION SUITS

A businessman has filed an injunction against Kota Tinggi Umno division chief Syed Hamid Albar in preventing him from filing defamation suit against him. Daing A. Malik Daing A. Rahman, 52, the former deputy division chief, will be challenging Syed Hamid in the party divisional election. He obtained the injunction from the Johor Baru High Court. The injunction order also applies to division secretary Roslaili Johari. Daing A. Malik alleges that Syed Hamid, who is also home minister, and Roslaili, had distributed pamphlets describing him as having debts of more than RM10 million. He denies the accusation. It is in the nature of Syed Hamid to engage in character assassination and misleading members of the public! Syed Hamid should not engage in dirty tactics by using the arms of law again to prevent this defamation suit from taking place, as he has done to Raja Petra!

Syed Hamid, Our team is looking into the functioning of Qippy Creative in Kuala Lumpur run by your son Syed Naqib Albar and other dealings of your family members! We will expose you more in days to come!

OUR DEMAND: RELEASE RAJ PETRA IMMEDIATELY!

written by cubi76, September 23, 2008 14:49:42

written by truthreallyhurts, September 23, 2008 14:56:07
RPK is the type of "Terrorist" that the DICK-TATORS ans Shot Holes in Bodohland are scared stiff off - he weilds the most Lethal Weapon known on Heaven and Earth - the Quill! Hence he is shipped off to Bodohlands version of Guantanomo Bay. Shit Botak beware! The Quill will soon strike back.

p.s. In the interim, in this Joyious Festive Season May You, Shit Botak, Be Blessed with a Minor Stroke and May you henceforth Permanantly Lose Control of your Dick and your *******. I am sure the Nation will rejoice and Give Thanks.
written by Food Thought, September 23, 2008 16:30:34
Sick of this govt. They keep sending the innocent to the jail for no reason. smilies/angry.gif sick of them, sick of UMNO, sick of PM, KJ, Najib, Rosmah, Mohd Taib, Toyol, sick of MCA, sick of MIC, sick of GERAKAN. These thick skinned BN MPs still dare to sit infront of the camera and stages and tell us about some sick fairy tales showing how good they're.. so sick of all of them.
written by Jeffrey, September 23, 2008 16:35:00
guys, cool down. no need to shout, no need to say those abusive words..and no need even to pray now. it is time to act. We have blogs, and Im sure RPK do not want us to fall into their trap by shouting like a mad man. Remember, we will fight them in our time, in our manner. So, let's use our blog, our technology to fight them. They want to shut us down? Ask them to go fly kite or to hell with it. Oh, im the one who say the abusive words now. My point is, let's fight it in our ways. Sjs, if you have anymore infor, let us know, send to our email or blogs, we will altogether unite our blogs to send the message out to whoever have access to the net. They want to shut us down? then better shut down the whole telecommunication system in this country. Now, see who is laughing at the end of the day!!!!
written by Firaza, September 23, 2008 17:02:56
I am too devastated with the actions of Hamid Albar signing the papers to amend the charge under ISA which led to Pete being detained under the freaking Minister’s discretion. This is all play to ensure that Pete does not have the chance to defend himself in court...

I just got back from the grotto and my heart really bleeds for Marina & the kids. Eventhough she will be seeing Pete tomorrow at Kamunting, one can only imagine the pain & suffering that Pete, Marina & the kids are going through this ordeal. What did he do to go through all this, by exposing the TRUTH for all to read ?

If you ask me, I had enough of the shit politics from both BN & PR and if there is indeed a change in administration, then be done with it, and start governing the nation. Enough is enough and we, the RAKYAT, are suffering from this political scumbags who keep on talking with little action. Whatever it is, Pete put his hopes on Anwar & PR, and they better get their act together FAST and once the takeover materializes, they need to release Pete and all detained under ISA at once.

TALK IS CHEAP and I mean from the politicians ! I am definitely in for the HARTAL and will gather my comrades to ensure that it is spread around like wildfire.
written by sjs, September 23, 2008 20:44:30
My Indian and Chinese Brothers and Sisters,

For once I speak to you as an Indian, who believes in multiracialism, and deeply love this country, Malaysia!

The time has come that we have to ask ourselves truly today; whether we are really the kind of human-beings that Raja Petra has fought so hard for! Have we forgotten the words spoken by him! If we did, then let us remind each other again:

“And ask the Malays in the opposition to come out in defence of their non-Malay brothers and sisters and warn the Umno Malays, in no uncertain terms, that they take to the streets at the risk of facing fellow Malays from the opposition who will defend their non-Malay brethren to the last drop of their blood. I, for one, am ready to stand by my Chinese and Indian comrades. So let Umno be warned.”

We have to ask ourselves whether we have been vocal enough to voice our concerns for the immediate release of Raja Petra?

We have to ask ourselves whether we too have fallen into the racism trap which has been the hallmark of UMNO members?

We have to ask ourselves, whether we have done enough in getting Raja Petra released?

We have to ask ourselves whether we are really worthy of his defence of our rights?

We have to ask ourselves whether our battle to fight these draconian laws have already stopped?

Let us be worthy to the cause of our struggle! Let us not be branded as Chinese and Indian, who will care only of their own kinds! Let us stand up together and be heard once and for all that we too will fight against any Malay or non- Malay and defend the rights of our Muslim brothers who have been victimized time and again for the noble cause which they have so vehemently championed!

Let us show that we too are made of steel and will fight till the end to bring Raja Petra out of the dungeon of cruelty! Let us all be counted upon!
written by sarawakian, September 23, 2008 22:05:31
The order was signed by Home Minister Datuk Syed Hamid Albar, who has said Raja Petra's writings pose a threat to national security by creating racial tension.

RPK's writings and articles reveal so much of what's going on INSIDE the UMNO group and that is why he has been locked up and the key thrown away. he reveals too much of the strife and corruption within UMNO and needed to be silenced immediately. RPK has too many informers from inside UMNO itself that it worries this Syed Hamid.

You can lock RPK up but UMNO will still fall. and when it does, your punishment will come.
written by scottthong, September 23, 2008 23:04:52
Poster tributes to Free RPK:

From http://scottthong.*********.co...te-poster/

Feel free to use and pass on.
written by mamak, September 24, 2008 11:28:40
damn.
we give them power, they abuse it.
damn