Marching orders PDF Print
Tuesday, 23 September 2008 08:07

But Then Again: Mary Schneider

A teenager’s plan to prepare for college overseas is overtaken by call-up for National Service.

WHEN I first found out that my daughter would have to participate in the National Service programme next January, my brain went into overdrive.

“Oh my God! What about her asthma and her allergies?” I said to a friend. “They will force her to march until her poor lungs can’t take it any more, and then deprive her of her inhaler.

“And if that doesn’t kill her, she’ll be forced to eat fried rice or noodles containing prawns, causing her throat to swell up to such an extent that she won’t be able to breathe. I can just picture her gasping for air in the middle of some far-flung jungle as a bunch of people with no First Aid knowledge look on.

“And if by some fluke, she does survive all of that, some lecherous instructor will molest her in the girls’ bathroom while she’s brushing her teeth.”

“But surely, they’ve ironed out all those kinks from previous stints,” said my friend, sounding way too pragmatic for my liking.

“Kinks? Since when were death and rape classified as kinks?”

“I didn’t mean to suggest ...”

“And what about the National Service camp in Penang that is on the verge of collapse after a recent landslide? What does that tell you about the planning that goes into these places? Doesn’t that indicate that one set of ‘kinks’ is being replaced by yet another?”

“But isn’t the Government going to inspect all National Service camps to make sure they are safe?”

“Yes, but I’m sure something else will happen that the organisers didn’t have the foresight or experience to think about.”

“What else could happen?”

“Well, there’s always food poisoning, gangsterism and violence.”

“But these things have already happened.”

“Exactly!”

Fortunately, my daughter is not as paranoid as her mother. She is disappointed about being called up for National Service, but her grouch isn’t with the programme per se but with the timing of it.

For the past six months, my daughter has been making plans for that period between finishing her SPM exams at the beginning of December and going off to college at the beginning of April next year.

And no, those plans do not include daily activities like sleeping for 16 hours, sending text messages to her friends for two hours, updating her Facebook profile for one hour, hanging out at the shopping mall for four hours, watching TV for six hours, and learning that a day doesn’t have 29 hours.

Among other plans, there were the French lessons that would have given her a head start with her college course work; the driving lessons that would have led to more independence; and the temporary job she was hoping would partially pay for her air ticket for an overseas trip to attend a family wedding next year.

But enough of the whining. If participants succeed in fulfilling the objectives of the National Service programme, they will morph (in a mere three months) into people of character who take setbacks in their stride and try to look for the positive in every experience.

Such people will go to college during the day, take extra lessons in the evening, hold down a job on the weekend, help the less fortunate, and take public transport without complaint.

As a parent, I surely can’t complain about that.

But there’s more. According to the great resource that is Wikipedia, the National Service has the following objectives:

> Develop a young generation that is patriotic and loves its country.

> Enhance unity among the multi-racial communities in the country.

> Instill a spirit of caring and volunteerism among society.

> Produce an active, intelligent and confident generation.

> Develop positive characteristics among the younger generation through good values.

> Develop a generation that will always obey the current government.

So parents who wave goodbye to a bodoh child can look forward to welcoming home a new, improved, intelligent version after just 90 days of their teenager eating bad food, getting lost in the jungle and learning how to handle a rifle, among other character-building activities.

As a parent, I surely can’t complain about that.

Perhaps the people responsible for developing the programme ought to take part in the exercises themselves.

As a parent, I surely wouldn’t complain about that.

- The Star

written by shan, September 23, 2008 08:17:38
Scrap the so called stupid NS, .,.Its a bussiness for Mrs.Slut and her cronies.They each make rm500K per session at the expense of the taxpayers and not to mention risking our kid's life.
written by alberttan, September 23, 2008 08:24:13
Dear Mary;
Just to share that we MUST have the WORLD'S Greatest Trainers in NS, able to transform your normal teenage bodoh child to a new, improved, intelligent, gun shooting version after just 90 days.

Might as well close all the kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, maybe the children too ought to be separated from their parents banned as parents CANNOT seem to guide their bodoh children despite 17 years of nurturing and loving.

Yeah right! NS in Malaysia stands for Najis Stupidity!!!
written by miwaki, September 23, 2008 08:42:25
My kids are vegetarians,do NS serve vegetarian food ? Is there a vihara inside a camp for my kids to pray ? This NS is a nuisance !
written by ohuat, September 23, 2008 09:08:30
Our NS programme is just like a paid summer camp for kids. This should be good and fun. But the only problem is that we, common people are not paying, that means we can't demand or chose a better facilities. Instead programme runners get paid on head count by government ( of cause still our money ). How much are they being paid per person and how much spent per head ? Is there any open tender? Are there any quality assurance inspector to ensure system not being exploitted?
written by HHKim, September 23, 2008 09:44:29
We have a half-past six National Service Programme because they are not built on strong foundation. Instructors themselves are not taught the proper way of conducting National Service, what more you talk on discipline and the outcome of the services? The instructors were using obscence language at times and even try to date out our girls in the camp. There is no ethics and control mechanism in the centers.

That is how our standard is as compared to other countries, like Singapore. There is a vast difference between the services. Ours is like standard six, and Singapore is on MBA program. So, you can expect the worse.

written by Raizzen, September 23, 2008 10:00:09
I've always loved Mary's column. Along the way I realized how she actually makes effort to avoid sounding one or another way, political. But I guess its just too hard since everybody's into it, and since the the current govt. is way too shabby to be spared of critics. lol

So parents who wave goodbye to a bodoh child can look forward to welcoming home a new, improved, intelligent version after just 90 days of their teenager eating bad food, getting lost in the jungle and learning how to handle a rifle, among other character-building activities.

And I sure like that one, JUST LIKE ones they're portraying in all the ads on how good and smart your children would come back as, and how touched the parents are at their children's gesture of respect and all.

Another LOL.
written by Xerxes, September 23, 2008 10:23:38
16 children have died during the NS. Pending a full scale report, a 17th could also have died due to the NS as he died about a week after he returned from NS recently. But like all previous cases, we expect that this will again be swept under the carpet.

To those with vested interest, these are mere statistics. But to their parents and families, they are loved ones with names, cherished memories, hopes and reciprocated love plucked and thrown away in the prime of their lives. They were sacrificed to satisfy some egos, whims and ambitions (not to mention pockets) of some politicians and civil servants. Because even these people are not stupid enough to believe that 90 days would be enough to inculcate those noble ideals of nationhood in the bunch of teenagers whose priorities are certainly elsewhere at this age. More so when there are politicians running around deliberately inciting and instigating racial and religious disharmony every chance they get.

17 is already 17 too many. Someone has to be answerable for their untimely deaths
written by Harpoon, September 23, 2008 12:35:04
NO SHITE! Sure hope that by the time me boys and girls are 17 the NO SHITE program will be abolished!

As for Mary, I've always love your column since my Penang days... 80's. God Bless. x
written by Malaysiaputra, September 23, 2008 12:46:35
NS, a waste of time ,money and a cause of heartache and worries for many.