Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Tension and the race card

Tension and the race card PDF Print
Monday, 22 September 2008 22:36

THE NEW STRAITS TIMES

At a recent forum on integration held at Institut Integriti Malaysia, academician Tan Sri Dr Khoo Kay Kim spoke out against politicians who were trying to further their careers by playing the race card. ARMAN AHMAD speaks to Khoo on race relations in Malaysia since independence

Q: After 51 years of independence, do you think this country is the multicultural haven that it has been made out to be?

A: Yes and no. Throughout our history, there have hardly been any serious inter-ethnic problems.

But, at the same time, the people, from a cultural point of view, live quite separately. For a long time in fact, in the years before 1957, they lived in separate areas. Take Kuala Lumpur for instance: the Chinese lived in the centre of town, the Malays lived in Kampung Baru while the Indians lived in Sentul and Brickfields.

At one time, people of each ethnic group would try to go to a shop operated by someone of their race.

Things have changed since then, but there has always been tension because each group does not really understand the other. For anybody to deliberately cause trouble, it would be easy -- because people as a whole do not really know each other.

Q: Why after all this time does the country still face the spectre of poor race relations?

A: So many of our political parties survive by championing the cause of one ethnic group.

In the process, they clash because what one group wants often goes against the desires of the others. That is why tension is created.

Q: You have said that this problem was evident from the beginning of the creation of Malaysia. You have also said that the notion that the British practised "divide and rule" is nonsensical, that it is a lie repeatedly told in our text books. What makes you say all this?

A: There is absolutely no proof that the British practised divide- and-conquer tactics here. The British tried many times after World War 2 to bring the people together.

They established the Communities Liaison Committee in 1949. Later, the 1951 Barnes report recommended the setting up of one type of school and that vernacular schools be demolished. These schools would use the Malay language and English as their medium of instruction. But this was not accepted. The British gave in and revived Chinese schools after pressure from the Chinese community.

It was not the British that created the basis of our racial divide but the people themselves who wanted to stay divided.

For many years, no one wanted to talk about assimilation. Later, they created the term integration but even this has not been successful.

Q: Why do you think Malaysians are so afraid of assimilation or integration?

A: They don't want assimilation because they still want to maintain their separate cultural identities. This is something emotional to them.

From the beginning, Malaysia was made up of three separate major Asian ethnicities coming from Indonesia, China and India. When they came here, they brought over some of the ideals from their respective homelands. They resisted unification. Even till today, they haven't gone through sufficient common experience to abandon their cultural identities.

Q: Are vernacular schools a big reason why this country is divided from a racial standpoint?

A: Vernacular schools are one of the reasons. Children are very important. If you want to shape the thinking and culture of an adult, you have to begin with the young child.

If children are trained not to give priority to ethnicity, then they will grow up as adults who don't care about the differences between races. But, if from a young age, they are trained in schools emphasising the importance of one's race, then they will grow up into such adults.

Q: Is apathy for the country's history part of the reason why we have a problem understanding each other?

A: Malaysians are generally not interested in history because it has no value to make money. (laughs)

Malaysians are only interested in making money. Unfortunately, we are a very materialistic people. Perhaps, this is a remnant of the culture that was brought in by the Chinese and Indians who came here primarily to make money. Gradually over the years, the Malays, too, have changed their outlook on life by learning from them.

Our existing history books have wrong information about so many things -- blaming the British for everything -- but never looking at our own faults.

How can you improve if you don't look at yourself?

Q: Do you think politicians are further dividing us?

A: That's their agenda. It's an easy way to get votes -- just instigate the people.

Politicians are to blame for the Singapore riots of 1964 as well as our own riots in 1969.

Luckily, today, we have become a little more sensible. Otherwise, something could have happened in-between then and now. But, race relations are currently so bad that even a small conflict can spark off an incident. We saw this happen in Kampung Medan. But there have been other instances, at least two of them in Penang.

Q: Do you think other national governments are able to manage race relations better?

A: There are many examples. One of them is the United Kingdom. In London, which is a very cosmopolitan city, people also live separately in their Chinatowns and Little Indias but they don't have serious ethnic problems. This is because the government is very strict about it and will act immediately.

Q: As a Chinese-Malaysian, how do you view your identity as a historian in this country?

A: Sometimes, people look at me as Chinese, but as I am not all the time insistent on acting like one, the Chinese here are sometimes suspicious.

If you are one of them, but don't stick to the cultural barriers, then you may have some problems. Some Chinese people think I don't know much about the history of the Chinese here, but I may know more than them because I have done research while they haven't.

Q: Do you think race-based politics should be a thing of the past?

A: Race-based politics is definitely not good for the country.

For existing parties with a long history of race-based politics, it's not going to be easy to change. It's going to take a long time. It may be even another 50 years before they can change.

Q: What do you think is the best way to integrate Malay-sians today?

A: In schools, allow our children to mix freely. I went to a school which was equally divided between the Malays, Chinese and Indians and I never developed communal feelings. You have to start things from young.

Q: You are a historian, but could you project what Malaysia would be like in the next 50 years? Do you think assimilation will ever happen? Will a true Bangsa Malaysia ever be created?

A: Oh yes, things will change for the better. It's hard to predict when. It's the politicians who are the ones who are resistant to change and will try to stop it.

The reason is simple, if the people change their feelings, then they will not get the support they need. The current race-based parties are the ones which are trying their best to resist change, but change will eventually come.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by binarytan, September 22, 2008 22:44:01
Say no to race tension is "say no to UMNO"

I believe my vote is 100% correct and I have voted against racist party, i.e. BN.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 22, 2008 22:52:27
Q: What do you think is the best way to integrate Malaysians today?

A: In schools, allow our children to mix freely. I went to a school which was equally divided between the Malays, Chinese and Indians and I never developed communal feelings. You have to start things from young.
======================================================= ===========================

Yes, that's right and that is what I've been suggesting all this while but has the government(read politicians)the will power to carry it out?
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 22:59:40
Ahmad Ismail,

You have challenged all those who are frighten of waves, shouldn't live near the sea! This is a rebellious you!

We are not frighten of waves,unlike you we believe in the existence of multiracialism. To counter your challenging words:

All those who live near the sea should always be on guard, of the intensity of the varied waves!
written by DanInJap, September 22, 2008 23:11:43
Vernacular/agama schools are not the reason of racial tensions, BN is the cause root of this. Vernacular schools are merit to malaysia to become progressive nation. My foreigner friends are so envy our malaysia multi-cultures environment. Only those with ketuanan this and that make vernacular/agama schools the scapegoat of racial tension.

agree to have children mix freely, this can be done with having more interact activities between schools(kebangsaan,jenis kebangsaan,agama). removing all the vernacular/agama shools wont help. If you can be buddy with Arabian/Chinese/Indian/American/African/Italian...etc, why cant people from vernacula/agama schools be your buddies? Dont give yourself a reason not to mix around.

do you think integration like in indonesia and thai would make malaysia better? im 110% sure it wont...
written by ilovepakatan, September 22, 2008 23:12:53
End of the day, we are all human being created by God. Learn to love each other. Learn to say NO to UMNO's policy and we are fine.

Read: http://bolehjokes.********.com/
written by Experienced, September 22, 2008 23:15:31
Keep segregationist teachings out of school be it religious education or language. For language and religion let the religious teachers have a curriculum and the same goes for the extra language and culture classes. No hatred of others should be taught. Just like the British introduced the Record Book for teachers so that they could not preach communism. Laws could be enacted to punish those praching hatred. Lets have a life and not a life of hatred and where neighbour hates neighbour as in the case of some countries. there is nothing heroic to lead communal based groups.
The old-timers recall the good times they had with a mingling of all races. The British apparently did a better job than us. Not consciously and with plans for divide-and-rule.
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 23:47:18
AN INTERLUDE BEFORE OUR NEXT STORY!

Oh man, I love this country
I called it the land of political absurdity
Full of ludicrousness amid stupidity
First in the pipeline is Mr. Badawi
The country's fifth Perdana Menteri
Hailed from notable ulama's family
In that spirit he created a new Islam Hadhari
The so-called modern Islam resembling Turkey
Some touted it as Islam Ada Hari.

He loves to travel in style like big celebrity
Making grand entrance in any opportunity
So he insisted a private jet paid by Treasury
He got it despite hullabaloo by bloggers community
He said the government didn't purchase it out rightly
The government is leasing it from SPM, a GLC
For him, this is a good strategy
By doing that he thinks he can save money
Oh yeah, he thinks people believe his story.

Perth seems to be his favourite city
Last December he opened Nasi Kandar Puteri
And then went on sailing trip with Todt of Ferrari
Back home worst flood hit Johor Kota Tinggi
17 died and 90,000 evacuated in that tragedy
But yet, the jet setting PM was outside the country
He might use remote control key.

Badawi has son-in-law by the name of Khairy
He married Badawi's daughter Nori
Recently both blessed with the baby
That has longest name in the country
I can only remember the last name, Khairy
This young chap is Pemuda Umno deputy
Claimed to have "protection" from Mr. Badawi
Has a big wish to be PM by age of forty
So he is gathering support from Putera and Puteri
At the same time accumulated wealth aggressively
Through ECM Libra and some crony
Media was at his helm through NST
Now he has potent tools â€" money, media and machinery
And his father-in-law alias Perdana Menteri

Meanwhile Hisham is putting up a new strategy
His keris wielding attracts flak of Malay supremacy
It backfires especially to Chinese community
His reasoning draws conclusion that he is puny
Najib is not convince Hisham to be his deputy
Najib may consider a big mouth Nazri
Provided that Rosmah is okay to work with Nazri
You know why lah, Najib takut bini.

We don't have to elaborate the story
You have to come here to enjoy the absurdity
We have quite a few funny ministers and MP
Such as hilarious Work Minister Mr. Samy
Before Hindraf he represents Indian community
The longest serving minister that heads MIC
In press conference he got agitated quite easily
When Umno conference was held on Deepavali
He said no "open house" as sign of hostility
He twisted the decision maybe after talking to Indrani
This MIC leaders share similar trait and personality
The latest one was Cameron Highland MP Mr. Devamani
He has broken ranks with fellow BN MP
When he accused government not doing enough for Indian community
After meeting with BN Whip, he regretted and say sorry.

Let me continue my story
Well, you probably have heard it already
About the biggest anti-government rally
Not exactly same scale as 98 Reformasi
On Nov 10 more than 40,000 flooded the city
To protest unfair election practice against EC
Dirty ruling party tactics are legendary
Short-notice on Election Day is customary
Just a day before Pak Lah was basking in glory
In annual affair of UMNO general assembly
Full of hypocrisy and puji-memuji
Pak Lah shouted it loud "don't challenge me"
Despite threats and warning from Pak Lah and Khairy
People are defiant and take no heed from Badawi
They chanted God is Great, Daulat Tuanku and Reformasi
November is a month of illegal assembly
School holidays thus parents are quite free.

The rally was given wide publicity
The rally was headlined in Al Jazeera and BBC
Foreign media questioned our brand of democracy
Water cannon and tear gas were fired indiscriminately
Umno leaders are in denial state naturally
Such as Zam who head the Info Ministry
Zam was trembling uncharacteristically
In an interview that becoming laughing stock in the country
Scrambling for words and chew out frantically
He can't censor it as we are in digital technology
You can just ****** or YouTube easily.

Well that is one example of political absurdity
What do you expect from half past six menteri
Some are in complete ignorance and dreary
Some will resort to unthinkable publicity
Giving broom as reward never in history
Some will slaughter cows in parliament for kenduri
To celebrate the matrimony of our own Sleeping Beauty
Another stupid joke by backbencher MPs.

You can't find this in your country
A journalist like Michael Backman will agree
So many things to write for your Daily
No wonder he keeps coming here for juicy story
Malay tabloids prefer to write about ghost and celebrity
That's saleable among ordinary
Maybe they got sick of constant spat by political party
They prefer to idolise people like Siti or Mawi
Do you think they care who is their MP?

written by Daryl, September 23, 2008 00:48:11
I feel safe in USA because if everything else fail there is the law to protect me. However, in Malaysia I have a feeling the law depends on the current government in charge and is totally bias towards them. Meanwhile, PDRM and court are another two entites that I cannot depend on not because of race but because of their biasness and non professional approach to their work (even though not all of them are). I could care more or less if they are Malay, Indian or Chinese police or judge if they can protect me and solve my case if I have a problem. So, tell me how I can feel safe in Malaysia if these two important is more worried about staying in power rather than taking care of the rakyat.

written by chanatak, September 23, 2008 00:57:43
Q: Is apathy for the country's history part of the reason why we have a problem understanding each other?

Who's interested in history that has been twisted and altered just to promote Ketuanan Melayu? See how the contributions of other ethnic groups, and for that matter, the British influence has been wiped away? Malaysian history has turned into lies and propaganda.

At your age, the school teachers population were ethnically balanced. They became teachers because it was their interest. They were chosen on merits. And there were no Ahmad MMammak Ismails and other racists influence on the minds of he teachers.

Today, the teachers population is ethnically lopsided. Many if not most are teachers because they cannot get a better job anywhere else. They were chosen based on kulitfication. And worse of all, they are Ketuanan Melayu bigots, highly partial in their racial preference except for a small number.

With all these negative traits, how can school children be integrated like the days of this professor, who is probably close t0 60 years old.
written by onnetline, September 23, 2008 01:31:19
BN-Umno scumbags,

It's time to stop your nonsense of race divide and rule tactics, so as to lie to your own race simply for personal gains.

We are not stupid not to know this anymore !!!
written by RumahPanjai, September 23, 2008 01:57:35
Racial polarisation is a west malaysian problem. Reasons being there is no buffer race and goodwill amongst the three races. Look east to Sarawak. Walk down the local streets you see all races in every coffee shops drinking their favourite beverages. In west Malaysia, chinese and Indians don't go to drink in Malay coffee shops and vice versa. Why? Why is it that in Sarawak we are more tolerant? We are more accepting because we have learned to eat, drink and talk on the same table.
written by The dragonheart, September 23, 2008 02:08:26
Children are very important. If you want to shape the thinking and culture of an adult, you have to begin with the young child.

I strongly believe that the present parents still do not want this to happen...yet they are saying others are racist without looking themselves in the mirror... or maybe they purposely want it that way because each race have their own agenda...
written by Msian 2, September 23, 2008 03:11:26
After May 13, our dumb politicians still insist on race. What is this nonsense UMNO,MCA,MIC. These parties should be outlawed. For M'sia to move forward all political parties must be multiracial. Those championing the rights of specific groups are only interested in 2 things -- lining their pockets & power. Do they see unity. Only lip service & how can U have unity when one race wants this & that. IMPOSSIBLE DREAM.
written by renoir, September 23, 2008 04:50:14
Probably the worst interview I've ever come upon in M-T, not merely for the questions, but also for the answers. And it's a pity as Khoo himself has the answers staring at him in the face yet unable to make use of them.

The reporter, of course, couldn't resist leading questions such as: "Are vernacular schools a big reason why this country is divided from a racial standpoint?"

To his credit, Khoo did ignore the allusion and said it was just "one of the reasons." This kind of reply is difficult to refute, for in the social sciences one could never be 100 percent sure that something is or isn't. Yet a few obvious examples ought to be sufficient to show that different language schools need not take away that sense of unity among ethnic groups. The most famous, of course, is the example of Switzerland, where schools of three different languages are taught to the German, French, and Italians without anyone feeling less Swiss. Conversely, we've English being taught to all ethnic groups in the US, yet just within the last few decades we've had the 1965 Watts riots that reportedly left 36 dead, nearly a thousand wounded and thousands more arrested. Hundreds of millions of dollars were lost in property damage. A journalist compared the scene to "a ravaged war zone." And so it was, if over 14,000 soldiers were needed to quell the 5-day riots.

That riot was soon followed, in 1967, by another 5 days of looting and burning in Detroit. The riots went on for 12 hours and thousands of Michigan National Guard troops were brought in, shooting and wounding mostly young black men. More than 10,000 blacks were arrested, but the riots continued as the governor (George Romney?) requested federal help. Johnson then sent about 4700 U.S. Army paratroopers to help the National Guard - making a total of about 17,000 armed troops. Again, many people were killed, with hundreds if not thousands injured.

In 1992, the unfair verdict regarding the beating of Rodney sparked another series of burning, looting and killing in Los Angeles. Federal troops from the 7th Infantry Division as well as the US Marines were brought in to quell the unrest. Reportedly 53 people were killed, and over 2,000 people injured. About $1 billion worth of property went up in smoke, including 1,100 buildings. About 11,000 people were arrested. All non-black stores were attacked.

To be continued
written by renoir, September 23, 2008 04:51:04
Continued

Why is it that the centuries of one-language schools in the US did little to bridge the races, especially the blacks, together? Because, as in most parts of the world, resentment arises not so much because of race as the gap in economic opportunities, in the underdevelopment of the inner cities and the general malignant neglect of minority areas. The antagonism was mutual: when my niece enrolled at St.Louis University, she was advised not to use the subway in the evenings as that facility tended to be crowded by many of "those people" (this was given by a security officer who mentioned "those people" with a wink and an arched eyebrow). Blacks were angry because they felt neglected and discriminated: whites saw them as people who're born lazy and - according to the rightwing - born criminal. But the real culprit is the socio-economic system.

Obama notwithstanding, the situation hasn't improved much today. In an article entitled "Katrina's Vanishing Victims" Neil deMause wrote about how "three days after Hurricane Katrina....tens of thousands of people (were) trapped at the Superdome and the New Orleans Convention Center, without food or supplies and...scenes of elderly residents left to die by the roadside, of children chanting, 'We want help!'"

"Slate.com's Jack Shafer wrote today in his column that television coverage has shied away from talking about race and class. . . . Almost every person we've seen, from the families stranded on their rooftops waiting to be rescued, to the looters, to the people holed up in the Superdome, are black and poor. Many of them didn't follow the evacuation orders because they didn't have the means to get out of town. They just couldn't do it. A lot of them are sick. A lot of them don't have cars. A lot of them just didn't have the means to leave the Big Easy. And they're still there."

And today, much of the old New Orleans have been demolished to give way to posh residential buildings that most blacks couldn't afford. So tens of thousands of blacks couldn't return there. Pre-Katrina, over 60% of the city were blacks. Today, the population ratio is more "balanced" ala Dr.M (in Sabah).

I use the American example to show that what divides is often class-based and less race-based (though racism isn't necessarily absent). And this was exactly what the British did when economic development were focussed in the towns, to the disadvantage of the rural areas. Things also worsened because the Chinese and some Indians happened to live mostly in the towns while the Malays lived in the countryside. Today, different ethnic groups are better able to cooperate today - despite UMNO and MCA - largely because of the rise of the Malay middle class. Khoo's neglect of the socio-economic factor - the single most important reason for national unity or divisiveness - is surprising, as he's apparently an educated person.

written by 1351, September 23, 2008 05:37:51
Anybody unfortunate enough to have bought a book author by this dubious M'sian Historian - use information profered with care. The man is clearly a third rate mind who has done little over his years of tenure to invoke a critical eye and must be faulted. In a way, he owns up and realises the suspicions cast on him by sectors of society - just another UMNO stooge.

To inquiring minds, students - let me have the pleasure of highlighting to you the difference between a first rate intelect vs a third rate Prof in what esteemed MT member LChuah has to say in his usual convincing prose. A well read mind who connects the dots with ease. It is unfortunate this giant in the study of history and social sciences goes unappreciated at a time when education in M'sia could really use a boost from his input. Mind you, that may not even be LChuah's area of expertise, it is just an educated hunch that I make.

Coffee on the brew. Have to cut this short LChuah and the pleasure's all mine.
Keep well as always,

written by cinapek, September 23, 2008 06:44:56
At the risk of offending my Chinese and Indian friends here, I agree (with the British) that vernacular schools should be abolished or at least given less priority. I can understand that some parents of vernacular-school-going children ensure that their children interact with children of other races out of schools, but for the most part, they don't. They live in their ethnic bubble and only come out when they start their working life. By then it is already too late.

My Chinese friends don't understand why I send my kids to an SK school, and I have given up trying to make them understand. Their body is here in Malaysia, but their hearts and minds are still stuck in some village in their "motherland" China. They live and breathe "Chinese" and can tell you everything you want to know about the Chinese culture, but can speak very little BM or English. They say with their mouths that they are Malaysians, and can shout "Malaysia Boleh" but live their lives as if they are still "pendatang" that will soon go home to their motherland when they make enough money.

I'm sorry. I believe vernacular schools should be abolished.
written by liayeo, September 23, 2008 08:05:20
I was educated in a SK school, freely mixing with Malays, Chinese and Indians. But I still want to retain my culture (NOT Race). What is wrong with vernacular schools. Is Malay banned from entering Tamil or Chinese school? SO what is the problem here.
I school they try to mix you together but in real life you are separated. At one point the Gomen ask bumis and non bumis tohave JVs, to work together. In another point, the gomen only approves projects for 100% bumi company. WHy they always contradict themselves. What is the point of mixing together. It is better for the Bumis to work alone.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 23, 2008 08:11:08
Tension and the race card

Q: WHO ARE THE ONES ALWAYS RAISING THIS ISSUE AND CREATING AN ATMOSPHERE
OF FEAR AND HATRED?
A: THEY ARE THE GUYS FROM AMENO - TDM, NAJIS, KERISM, TOYOL, AHMAD, TOO MANY
TO MENTION.
Q: WHAT IS THE SOLUTION?
A: KICK THIS WHOLE LOT OUT. LET A NEW BREED OF UMNO LEADERS TAKE OVER. HOPEFULLY, WE WILL SEE A NEW MALAYSIA.
written by aisyalam, September 23, 2008 09:44:29
UMNO-BN PEOPLE ARE JUST TOO STUPID TO LEARN. THE WORST MANKIND IN THE WORLD. A SERIOUS THREAT TO MANKIND. A PARASITE. NO AMOUNT OF EDUCATION CAN HELP THEM...NO HOPE, NO FUTURE
written by MalaysianUnited, September 23, 2008 15:57:06
Daryl,

u are not one of us..we here fight for the freedom. We not migrate just because of 'some problems' here. If u say u are from some poor country like Somalia etc..then it something different.

I must say, we fight as Malaysian with 'Rakyat Power: votes'..so, for Malaysian, u have the power to change!!.. smilies/smiley.gif
written by renoir, September 23, 2008 18:04:35
Casper: I'm floored! Thanks and perhaps the way Khoo writes is also partly dictated by his socio-economic status.

Always glad to read stuff right from the heart, as your postings always are.

Am sharing a cup of coffee with you right now,

Take care
written by MalaysianUnited, September 25, 2008 01:58:04
liayeo,

Culture apa yang anda mahu pertahankan??..

Integrasi adalah penting. Anda sendiri daripada sekolah kebangsaan. Bila anda masuk U, khususnya IPTS..anda akan lihat betapa berbezanya budaya antara pelajar dari sekolah kebangsaan dan sekolah jenis kebangsaan.

Sekolah kebangsaan dah biasa bercampur gaul dengan teman2 berlainan kaum (kecuali dari tempat2 majoriti satu kaum)..

perbezaannya macam langit dengan bumi!!..even saya sendiri susah untuk bawa rakan2 berasal dari sekolah jenis kebangsaan untuk makan lunch bersama..

Budaya tidak perlu dipertikaikan lagi. Pemimpin bukan melayu begitu takut dengan kononnya ada asimilasi kemelayuan terhadap pelajar2 sekolah kebangsaan. Tapi tahukah anda bahawa kaum Melayu sendiri telah 'berasimilasi' dengan budaya Cina, Arab dan India??..

U see in our herbs..we do share common asian herbs. Begitu dengan makanan, pakaian, budaya Asia yang mementingkan kekeluargaan dan adat budaya..dan lain2 perkara sehinggalah kepada perkahwinan campur antara tiga kelompok kaum utama di Malaysia. Begitu juga dengan penduduk2 bumi yang lain.

For my self, faktor kononnya akan terhakis budaya masyarakat Cina dan India akibat daripada kesan satu sistem sekolah adalah hasil dari kecetekkan ilmu dan melebihan kepentingan diri sendiri.

Guys, fight for our young generations..they deserve a better place in the future.

written by Tom n Jerry, September 27, 2008 20:59:47
No medicine can cure already;BN & umno must be demolished and a new government take over immediately;that is the only solution!