Wan Azizah: More Barisan MPs keen to cross over PDF Print
Monday, 22 September 2008 09:17

BUTTERWORTH (TheStar): PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail said that more Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament were keen to cross over to the Pakatan Rakyat.

She said that her husband and Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim were holding discussions with them in Kuala Lumpur.

“Anwar is making extra effort to meet more MPs as some were sent to Taiwan and Hong Kong,” she said.

She said this when asked about Anwar’s absence from his Permatang Pauh constituency yesterday where he was scheduled to give Hari Raya aid.

She also said an official letter had not been sent to the Yang DiPertuan Agong but that would be the next course of action.

In Kuala Lumpur, PKR strategist Saifuddin Nasution said Pakatan Rakyat had started its “countdown” for the takeover and things were moving according to plan.

He said the opposition pact had a “complete and comprehensive checklist” in place, taking in every possible scenario for the takeover.

This, he said, included strategies should Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi step down as Prime Minister and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak take over. He said a change of prime minister would not affect their plans.

“Our timeline is by the hour. Putrajaya is within reach,” he said.

Anwar had set Sept 16 as the date to take over the Government but this did not happen and Barisan leaders said it was a big bluff.

Saifuddin said a detailed and comprehensive planning was necessary because the takeover of Government was a process that had never been done before in Malaysia.

He said the plan looked at aspects such as the powers of the Yang DiPertuan Agong and prime minister, and the possibility of an emergency or snap elections by the Government to prevent a takeover.

DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang said Abdullah should reconsider Anwar’s call to hold an emergency Parliament meeting to table a no-confidence motion against him.

written by DreamLady, September 22, 2008 09:32:13
The rakyat can wait as long as we are ensured of a smooth transition. We had waited for the last 51 years for a fair and compassionate leaders to lead the country. But these people have failed us BIG TIME.

Thank you, Puan Azizah, I trust every word you utter, because you are a lady of integrity. Bless you and your family, and may God take good care of your endevour to bring rakyat SUNSHINES through their lives.

Thank you once again..
agree 179
written by ahmadneil, September 22, 2008 09:33:53
Take your time! what is equally urgent now is to free RPK also.
agree 119
written by kc respect, September 22, 2008 09:50:03
Najib as Prime Minister?
written by avj, September 22, 2008 09:56:46
Saifuddin Nasution said,“Our timeline is by the hour. Putrajaya is within reach,” make it even by minute,we need to stay many steps ahead of the eveil BN,we must overcome, and the people must be winner. God speed and may the Force be with you.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 22, 2008 09:56:57
DSAI, once again, I ask that you just do it...replace the corrupted BN government!...and please stop telling/bragging to them(BN) your plans in advace as they can plan counter attacks.

GOd be with you all!
written by jereylow, September 22, 2008 11:35:12
I hope you have covered all the possible scenarios and have the contingency plans to deal with this historial situation. Have you included the possibility of police and army creating coup and mutiny taking over the country? Probably this is the greatest concern as the police and army are just as corrupted as the BN government. They would not sit down and do nothing when PR will take over, as their sins will be found. Ultimately, they are still holding hardware even though the rakyat has the software.
written by asguard, September 22, 2008 12:39:29
None of UMNO ministers are fit to run the country...as you already known that most of them are tainted with some form of scandals....
written by Tok Din, September 22, 2008 14:51:28
Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail:
Thank you for championing the rights of the rakyat. We need a new leadership for this great nation. It has suffered enough injustices and power abuses. It is sickening to see the rakyat losing hope for the future and fearful of one another because of blind leaders who are selfish, callous and arrogant. They have lost their ways.

Please bring back honor, dignity and tranquility to this great nation. We were never so divided as now. We have always had good neighbors and we enjoy each others regardless of our racial or religious background. Please restore the happiness we used to enjoy in each other's company.

It pains me jsut to reminisce on the loss of our heritage. Don't allow this great treasure be lost to these power greedy politicians.
written by temenggong, September 22, 2008 15:53:57
Umno already knows they do not have the majority in parliament. Thats why they are delaying it and toying with the idea of arresting Anwar and some MPs. and that's why Muhyiddin is pushing it.

Probably in a weeks time, after Hari Raya, Badawi will hand his resignation to the Agong, who will then call Anwar to prove his majority in parliament.
written by Limang, September 22, 2008 16:34:43
Dear sister Wan Azizah,

Thnx for some hope - we need it! Many of us have placed our lives at saudara Anwar taking over the gomen. Look at RPK - he went to prison for it!

I believe you because you have shown that you are one of honour and integrity! I wish I could reveal myself one day to shake your hand (minus the glove), and even give you a bear hug, and say: "I would be proud to have you as my daughter, as I am extremely proud of Teresa."

When your husband was with UMNO, he too acted in many evil ways and has been tainted by many of his decisions as a minister in different capacity - now I hope you both see the folly and terrible mistakes of those days, when you enjoy comfort and luxury, privileges and wealth beyond your wildest dream, oblivious to the sufferings, anger, frustrations, hopelessness and despair by common people, especially those who are not fortunate enough to be born as Malays, as if Allah has a hand in this unjust situation. Now Allah has put both of you at the receiving ends so that you wake from your slumber and see your folly! But then He must have a mission for both of you- which is now playing out with the rakyat behind both of you!

So now you and your husband has a chance to atone for the past, to rise above racialism, and religious discrimination, to do what Allah, in His mercy and compassion, would order His worshippers to do - to be humble, thankful, honest, fair, just, trustworthy, generous, compassionate, kind, loving, etc. as we are all also taught to be so by our parents, as you would also teach your children!

If you and your husband do all the righteous deeds expected of you and given by Allh as your spiritual mission, you will go down in history as the couple that change the course of Malaysia and make it truly a model for the world, rather than the hypocritical and pariah one created by the evil UMNO, yet trumpetting its own greatness to which ever forum and country that Malay delegations participated. I used to cow in shame and embarrassment when they spoke of the great UNITED AND HARMONIOUS MALAYSIA, when in reality, there are such unbelievable discrimination and oppression by one race over all others back home by one race holding a gun to everyone else's heads TO KEEP THEN SILENT AND ACCEPT THE TYRANNY IN THE NAME OF ISLAM AND KETUANAN MELAYU!

Allah bless you and family and God speed to Putrajaya!
written by pelanduk chuan, September 22, 2008 16:55:48
Halo The Strategist:

Crucial now as we witness the resurgence of MM (22yrs rule by brute/raw force)to mastermine THE NEXT MM(Mongolian Murxxxxx)into a puppet PM.

Old MM's every move now should be closely guarded if Malaysians want to pre-empt
The MM's HIJACK of the Century
written by Diz, September 22, 2008 18:41:48
Hi Jerry Low - the police force is a self-evidently corrupt organisation but is the same really true of the armed forces? If you're right then we have a major problem. But I choose to believe, maybe naively, that the army top brass hold on to the older traditions of duty and honour. If push comes to shove, the army will follow the Agong not the PM. A Major of my acquaintance told me that the rank and file voted overwhelmingly for Pas at the last election even though most officers cast their postal ballots for BN. Apparently, they had no choice because unlike the normal squaddies, the officers have to include their names and serial numbers on their 'secret' ballot papers.
written by gx27, September 22, 2008 19:10:37
Pls make utmost effort to free RPK also!!
We need him!!
written by sarawakian, September 22, 2008 21:30:33
will BN dare to have snap elections? the chances of them being wiped out will be greater than a brokered switchover deal with Pakatan Rakyat. Badawi should be smart enough to broker a deal instead of getting kicked out. i'm sure the Rakyat will prefer a not-so-powerful PR gov't to ensure check and balance. he could even broker a DPM position to ensure BN still has some clout in the Cabinet.