Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Where Should MCA Be Headed To?

Where Should MCA Be Headed To? PDF Print
Monday, 22 September 2008 09:14

By WEE SOON YING/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily

After the humiliating defeat in the March elections, Barisan Nasional has been urging party leaders to respect the views of the grassroots. At the same time, complaints on UMNO's hegemony and indifference to the feelings of other people are also gaining momentum.

MCA, which used to be responding to racial, religious, educational and other sensitive issues through "internal negotiations to resolve conflicts," has also begun to speak out.

MCA president Ong Ka Ting puts its very frankly that the government has not been doing enough for Chinese education; MCA Youth chief secretary Wee Ka Siong openly rebukes the racist remarks by UMNO's MP for Pasir Salak, Tajuddin; while MCA Youth chairman Liow Tiong Lai says he wants to change UMNO with sincerity...

All of a sudden, everyone seems to be acting against his usual nature, from silence to actively voicing out. Slowly, grassroots leaders who feel they can no longer put up with UMNO's arrogance, are beginning to make the calls of "leaving BN."

Having said that, to leave or not to leave BN is not the issue. The more important thing is where MCA should be headed to in the future.

MCA used to claim that it is representing Chinese Malaysians. However, what the Chinese community hopes to see most, is none other than the fair and just treatment in education, economy and day-to-day life.

When certain Malay leaders make some aggressive statements, the Chinese community hopes that there will be someone bold enough to stand up and censure such remarks on their behalf. When sensitive religious issues are raised, Chinese Malaysians hope that the authorities will be listening to the voices of people from different faiths.

"To leave or not to leave BN is not the issue. The more important thing is where MCA should be headed to in the future."

Can MCA do all these? After the general elections, Ong Ka Ting openly raised the problems of insufficient Chinese primary schools and government allocations during the debate in Dewan Rakyat.

Hearing this, many people said, "MCA really dares to speak out now!"

To the Chinese community, this is a development in the right direction. However, can such a courage be sustained?

This year happens to be the election year for MCA, and candidates vying for higher party posts are banking on the current situation to come up with their own statements in a bid to solicit grssroots support. The most ambitious leaders are those who will say what the grassroots like to hear most, including promises of change.

Having said that, has MCA found its own positioning, and knows which way it is headed to? Does the change they have been talking about include the foregoing of the "compromise" mechanism which they have been holding on to for so long?

Of course, by not openly touching on the sensitive issues will help reduce unnecessary conjectures among the public. Nevertheless, anything that has been suppressed for too long is bound to burst out in full swing one day.

If MCA continues to stay within BN and expresses the voices of the Chinese community, it is most certain that it will come under some pressure, as the idea of a single overpowering party has been deeply rooted in the minds of many. Even if UMNO says it is willing to change, there are still a handful of recalcitrant leaders who are more than ready to "instigate" the other races.

MCA vice president Ong Tee Keat once said, when he was still the MCA Youth chief, he was already "sternly censured" in the BN Youth Meeting for his dissident views. If the same thing happens in BN, MCA leaders must have a great deal of courage and wisdom before they can actually speak out for the Chinese community.

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by newzionis, September 22, 2008 09:19:00
MCA should be heading to porno industry for middle age and senior citizen.
written by penangboi, September 22, 2008 09:30:25
MCA like UMNO and MIC is a racist party. Racist parties like MCA have no place in a truly multiracial Malaysia. The first thing MCA should do is to drop the 'Chinese' from MCA, and change it into a multi-racial party. No more racial segregation !! This message is very clear. And if this message fails to penetrate the thick skull of MCA, then MCA is not heading anywhere, for it is doomed for annihilation and automatic self-destruct.

And whilst at this, the same message goes to RACIST UMNO (for malays ONLY) and RACIST MIC (for indians ONLY).
agree 121
written by CitizenBodohland, September 22, 2008 09:31:55
Any MCA minister resign when a Chinese reporter and a Chinese MP were detained under ISA?
NO!!!.. A MALAY MINISTER RESIGN INSTEAD....
agree 198
written by ahmadneil, September 22, 2008 09:36:08
MCA should be heading to the graveyard and be buried for good.
written by adamhalim, September 22, 2008 09:48:03
What future MCA is looking for? Already 50 years, MCA did not deliver any massage to the Chinese Community, except for those cronies in the party got the advantages, Chinese by nature remains take care by themselves. MCA is getting weaker in the Cabinet, It has lost the important post in the Cabinet - The Finance Minister, ask Ong Ka Ting who is hold it now? The MCA future is hopeless... Malaysian no longer talking about races, you can’t prove yourself a Chinese any more when you are in Overseas. Why we still want to call us a Chinese. We are Malaysian; we are talking Justice, Transparency, and Fair Treatment to every Malaysian, Peace and Harmony.

Today, MCA in the Barisan Nasional can't play any significant roles, that is the reason for most of Chinese feels that they are second class Citizen. UMNO is happy about it. Who future are we talking here, MCA- Ong Ka Ting or the Chinese by at large? Look at the Chinese community today, what are the significant businesses they hold, the rich and smart people had gone to? Sorry-lah... All has gone to neighbour countries and probably we will see our neighbour more and more prosperous. Sad to say, this is the future we can foresee, if there is no changes of Government in the near future.
written by Mr Smith, September 22, 2008 09:49:45
Can you make a horse out of a donkey? MCA is a donkey and it will remain so as long as it is a race based party and stays in BN. Its UMNO master is not going to let its pet dog to wag its tail. No way.
MCA is only "main wayang" to reciver lost ground. But will it?
written by funfac3, September 22, 2008 10:02:03
There is only one place the MCA belongs to; i.e. the BN cesspool that they helped to create! Trying to revive parties like this is working against the interests of Bangsa Malaysia. All race based political parties should be outlawed!
written by alan cheong, September 22, 2008 10:02:41
* F L U S H ! *

git it?
written by Engineer, September 22, 2008 10:15:08
They all should be heading to HongKong Kowloon Dog Racing Circuit.
written by Highway16, September 22, 2008 10:15:30
First, MCA should insist that Ahmad Ismail be charge for sedition, period!
written by chiongguo, September 22, 2008 10:18:24
MCA vice president Ong Tee Keat once said, when he was still the MCA Youth chief, he was already "sternly censured" in the BN Youth Meeting for his dissident views. If the same thing happens in BN, MCA leaders must have a great deal of courage and wisdom before they can actually speak out for the Chinese community.

MCA had remained in the BN for umpteen years now and the eunuch that stood out got hammered down(old asian saying : the nail that stands out gets hammered down). Such is the feudal mentality of UMNO and the component parties in the BN. They had played a subservient role for so long that they don't know how else to play.

It is the beginning of real courage and wisdom to leave BN.

written by capcomangel, September 22, 2008 10:20:02
no need to talk so much rubbish. now the problem is u have ball or not to punish ur arrogant Be'eNd leadership.
written by raven1958, September 22, 2008 10:29:53
Since these buggers didnt stand up for their people and instead focused on lining their pockets and bedding flower girls.....throw all of the in a dustbin, pour kerosene and light a match....
written by temenggong, September 22, 2008 10:40:41
Can MCA bing about meaningful change as an equal partner within the BN? This has not happened in 50 years as MCA became irrelevant to umno since the formation of Malaysia in 1963.

In the current political scenario no race based party can be successful, because there is no way to predict how the voters will swing.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 22, 2008 10:44:01
Pack up and head for the stars;or the moon=Macam Cina Aristocrat!(MCA)main agenda to lrgalize pornography & promote sexual obssession throughout the nation;how pathetic;I would recommend all the members of *snoop squad* be changed to *firing squad* with immediate effect;in that way law & order can be redeemed instantly! smilies/smiley.gif
written by MLC, September 22, 2008 10:54:15
Welcome to PMP Paradise

Note: PMP is 拍馬屁, in English, flattering.
written by Newkidonblog, September 22, 2008 10:56:51
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzd2kUosrds

Most Chinese would like to sing this song to MCA.

"Let's see how you want to said it today!"
written by malgal, September 22, 2008 11:16:33
i am a malaysian citizen, i am more malaysian,of malaysia than i am chinese, of china.
i want a government that protects my rights as a malaysian. I can't see the relevance of mca in my life.
written by miwaki, September 22, 2008 11:17:10
MCA is not important anymore,what's important is DAP of Pakatan Rakyat has to bring in smart and competent leaders with integrity to take over the current aged leaders.The same also apply to PKR,it has to groom leaders of caliber with integrity to take over from the old.

MCA,MIC and UMNO do not have to groom anybody,they are as goosd as gone.
written by Zapper, September 22, 2008 11:39:06
The direction is SOUTH.
written by clarity, September 22, 2008 12:00:24
No, they should ask Khalid Ibrahim where is the largest rubbish dump. That's where they should be headed. Look what has happened to the country because they supported BN in the last election.
written by mountainking, September 22, 2008 12:11:11
MCA is heading south together with its master UMNO. from this year 2008, we will tell all our children and relatives how useless is MCA and how cruel is UMNO.

when both of them get together, that's where the axis of 2 evils begin. one do all the cruel things, another support it with receiving money.
written by asguard, September 22, 2008 12:37:35
i have only one word to sum up where they will be heading for... the trash garbage centre in next election....
written by jayenjr, September 22, 2008 12:41:37
"Where Should MCA Be Headed To?"
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, this place looks like a good location...

written by chin, September 22, 2008 12:45:08
Malaysian Chinese will not get fair treatment in Malaysia as long as MCA exist.

MCA exist to ensure UMNO stays in power.

No need to go demonstrate, just vote with your money.
written by pengembara, September 22, 2008 12:54:29

There is no future for MCA in BN so long as MCA is surviving (seats-wise) by the graciousness of UMNO. This is a form of Ali Baba. So long as this situation persists, MCA will be looked down upon by UMNO like a lap-dog which is toothless and useless.

peace
written by allmenarebrothers, September 22, 2008 13:02:39
All the male MCA leaders have been castrated & female neutered by the UMNO Putras. The MCA leaders share the same bed with true & true racist bigots such as Nazi Thugjuddin . AhMAD Is-MAD & Toyol "Puffed-up Jin. As long as MCA is a slave to the UMNO Putras it deserves to be dead so the Rakyat should bury MAC. Please RIP OKT, OTK, Chua "Porno" SL, Chua "Woo Soo" JM, Ong KC, Boh-Liow, Little Wee, Ng YY.
written by JJFoo, September 22, 2008 13:24:26
I am putting aside sarcasm and anger.

MCA can only contribute meaningfully to the society if they are willing to revert back to their original objective during their “day one” formation, which is “An Association”, a Non Governmental Organisation NGO). Otherwise, I can’t see how they can fit positively into the society, definitely not as a political party, which the failed miserably.

written by yellowwoman, September 22, 2008 13:39:23
I honestly believe that MCA today and the original MCA of pre Merdeka hold on to the same objectives, the chief being to strive for wellbeing of the Chinese community in Malaysia... To speak up for the Chinese and to protect their rights. However how MCA did that before and how it should do that today, should be totally different.

The only way to strive for the wellbeing of the Chinese and to speak for the Chinese and champion their rights today, is to LEAVE BARISAN NASIONAL. If you can not lower your pride to work alongside DAP who champions a Malaysian Malaysia, then I suggest you be an independent party. Get out of the shadow of UMNO, speak out where justice is due, condemn where unfairness is meted, not just to the Chinese but to anyone. Otherwise, no Chinese in their right mind will ever vote for MCA, in the next election or ever.

I will vote for a Malaysian Malaysia anytime.
written by tuanlokong, September 22, 2008 13:56:16
As long as you stay what do you mean change...
written by JohnQ, September 22, 2008 15:10:32
They should be heading to BN museum and beg for the return of their balls, redeem out as eunuch after BR move into the Forbidden putrajaya.
written by SamYap, September 22, 2008 15:42:25
A few questions for MCA:

1) What gave them (MCA) the idea that they may speak on my behalf? I am Chinese but I don't think or act like any of the MCA members. And frankly, may friends and I never gave them any right to represent us as community.

2) Whether MCA is sincere in voicing out their grievances about UMNO's unabashed racist attacks is not the point now. Right now, whatever any MCA member may say is not going to be believed by many within the Chinese community. We know that they are like barking dogs - no bite at all. So what makes MCA think they will regain lost ground?

Frankly, a lot more Chinese would pin their hope on any leader, whether Chinese, Malay or others, who are sincere in bringing about a Malaysian Malaysia.

3) Does MCA realize that that the political trend in our country is moving away, although slowly, from race and religion? Just not long ago, I wouldn't dare dream that a masjid would actually come out to rectify the wrong done to an opposition MP (and a non-muslim Chinese MP too!). Race based politics is so passe now and MCA is a tragic reminder to the Chinese of all the lost opportunities that our country needed sorely. If only MCA and MIC had acted on behalf of all Malaysians, today we would retained some of the best brains in our country. So what does MCA have to say about that?

4) MCA still has lots to answer for, especially in terms of the financial losses borne by the community for MCA's "experiment" with cooperatives and financial investments in Pan Electric, Supreme Bhd etc etc. Where's the money and what have you done to try and compensate for the losses?

5) The one and probably the only best thing MCA had ever done was to establish TAR College. That saved quite a lot of deserving students who otherwise would have been left out in the cold and a waste of brains. However, TAR College also serves as a reminder that within our country, we have TWO systems, one for the non-Malays and one for the Malays. TARC now stands as a constant reminder of MCA's failure to secure a better future for all Malaysians. So what does MCA have to say about that?

6) A Chinese girl gets cheated or worse - raped - where does she go for justice? A Chinese trader gets cheated or harassed by an Ah Long, where does he go to get help? Answer: MCA Public Complaints Bureau.
Why should it be that way? Shouldn't the PDRM be acting on such complaints? But nothing gets going until MCA steps in. Its sad right? Even justice is based on race?

When Deng Xiao Peng said "One Country, Two Systems", I wonder if he had also meant Malaysia, and MCA.
written by Jan, September 22, 2008 15:49:06
bananachinese wrote: You all want another toothless tiger, meh?
-----------------------------------
Toothless tiger with dignity is better than a lapdog party always licking up to someone's toes.
written by doggone, September 22, 2008 15:53:16

If they change it to Malaysian Cojones Association, maybe they got chance to get a-head !!!

written by StevenMax, September 22, 2008 16:05:35
For the MCA supporters in MT, MCA can only work and exist if UMNO remains what it is in Tunku's time where the Chinese and other races are treated equally and with respect. MCA now is going to the dumps, you are not respected and not consulted and worst still you are treated as merely a party to give UMNO a window dressing to show they also consider Chinese lah albeit for show only. MCA should consider being an "independent party". You follow where the rakyat's heart is and not what your leaders think and want to. When got problem, you beg. Why should you beg when something is given as of right?
written by Limang, September 22, 2008 16:07:43
What direction and what future? The Chinese now do not need MCA, or for that matter MIC or Gerakan or PPP - we have PR! We don't need anyone to fight for the rights of any race - WE NEED A MULTI-RACIAL PARTY TO FIGHT FOR JUSTICE, EQUALITY AND INTEGRITY! AND THAT'S PR!

What have MCA done over 51 years, except to make Chinese become beggars in the country of their birth, support Ketuanan Melayu, support effort to marginalise Chinese, help chase away the bright and best among the Chinese students, help the evil UMNO control and the Chinese community and create a deep sense of hopelessness and frustrations among all the Chinese community - THESE ARE WHAT THE SHIT MCA HAS DONE. And now trying to play politics again by pretending to voice out while behind the scene, conspiring with the bloody UMNO to continue its racist and extremist rule and policy towards every other communities, except those whom they consider as "Malays".

Ask most younger generations and students in the steets, they will tell you that MCA is dead, long dead. If you don't believe, study the voting trends for the last 30 years and you will see that the majority of Chinese have NEVER SUPPORTED MCA! MCA politicians won because of Malay and Indian votes, NOT CHINESE VOTES.

Now the Chinese community have given their support to PR. To them, MCA means
Many Cowards Association!

written by Caesar, September 22, 2008 16:43:22
The results of the March 8 elections and the desperate attempts of UMNO to maintain racist supremacy should at the very least prompt your leadership to wake up to the opportunity to break with UMNO and reverse the injustices and damage inflicted on Malaysian Chinese since 1970 exacerbated by another 23 years of Mahathir whence around 1 MILLION Malaysians mainly of Chinese-descent...have fled the country..either legally (thru emigration and work after their Uni studies) or illegally; for another country where there is only officially ONE class of citizenship and where the country's wealth e.g. oil and gas, are distributed irrespective of race.

Av. number of Uni/Matric. students stay-on overseas per yr.after graduation: 15,000
Av. number of legal emigration per yr. 7,000
Av number looking for work OVERSEAS per yr 10,000 (pre 9/11 figure was 18k, but US is a no-go currently)
(Based on a statistical model by ANU, Canberrra)
written by Hakim Joe, September 22, 2008 16:47:55
Eh hello ctchoolaw, MCA stands for Malaysian Chinese Association. Tell me how can they change and become a multi-racial political party? Unless they change their name to Malaysian Chapalang Association or Malaysian Corrupted Association (they can still call themselves MCA), only can they start accepting members from other races.

Where should MCA be heading towards? Only their leaders can say. For better or for worse, this group of so called "Guardians for the Chinese Society in Malaysia" is no longer effective as they have lost the trust of the Malaysian Chinese society. Too small to exert themselves if they decide to join the PR Coalition and too timid to stand up to UMNO, they will probably fade away (like MIC and PPP).
written by Caesar, September 22, 2008 17:04:22
To:The MCA Central Committee

As the leaders of the Party, you MUST now embark on a STRATEGIC and CRITICAL directional change away from BN (and UMNO, the defacto power behind BN) to the Pakatan Rakyat.

You owe the non-Bumi Malaysians still remaining in the country to join Anwar Ibrahim and his PKR (the alternative leading Malay political party) willing and able to reverse the ills of the past 38 years.

If you do not change, your parties will face extinction, the country will deteriorate at an alarning rate (as the POLICE -the protectors of law & order- indulges in political arrests) while the rest of the world progresses into a new golden age with enlightened leaders in Obama, Hu Jin Tao, Rudd, etc.

I know that some of you in power (those who had engaged in deceptive practices under UMNO's leaders' cognisance/'allocation') will be in extreme dillemma because many UMNO leaders' and ex-leaders' will use the ACA/Police/AG to 'investigate' your previous sins should you change sides....my advice is.. do the honourable thing NOW by rejecting UMNO.

But to those clean politicians among you please make the correct move NOW.
written by DontPlayGod, September 22, 2008 17:19:48
Whoever leads MCA, or what policy stance it is going to take from now on matters not to the Chinese anymore. The Chinese have lost all confidence in MCA being able to speak for them. MCA have played UMNO's lap dog for too long. They have been the slave to UMNO who has played the ketuanan role too effectively and for too long. MCA has remained silent ar too long to UMNO's racist and discriminatory policies. And this, as the rakyat believes, is because UMNO has bought up the MCA leaders(small wonder the MCA leaders always fight for the top positions).

But the last election has shown that the Chinese have gotten wise to MCA's lap dog position.
written by Hello Keithy, September 22, 2008 17:27:06
I have always compare MCA to a game of ten-pin bowling. Both have a very high percentage of going into the gutter.
written by exzonerator, September 22, 2008 17:37:28
MCA should try reverse engineering itself to ACM, Association Cakap Manyak.....
written by latihanQ, September 22, 2008 18:14:24
Food for thought, MCA eating UMNO’s droppings, who cares?

Some of the alleged dog food tasting meals served Teresa may be similar to the type UMNO has been feeding the MCA RUNNING DOGS for the past 50years Maybe UMNO is hoping it may have a similar effect on Teresa. It worked on the lapping dogs from MCA and the Gerakan!
Does anyone believe their speaking out? It is more likely a prearranged sandiwara with their UMNO masters. After all they have been notoriously famous for backpedaling when the master barks.
But really, who gives a damn what shit MCA is eating or where it is headed? Who cares? The 9th level of Hades may be too good a place for them!
written by Kathy, September 22, 2008 20:21:28
I have said it before and I will say it again: if we truly want to integrate we should reject race-based political parties. Look at Tunku Aziz who has joined DAP (read his interview - most enlightening). Therefore I wish MCA a peaceful journey into oblivion. Adios!
written by miwaki, September 22, 2008 21:07:07
MCA can go anywhere but please do not come back ! You people are our liabilities.We have written you off long time ago under bad debt !
written by Joelim, September 22, 2008 21:08:19
What in the world is MCA championing about? More Chinese schools for the Chinese community? Why can't you mongrels get the message? Here we are trying to live in a homogenous society as Malaysians you are instead preaching racial segregation. By the way what gives you the idea that you are representing the Chinese? Don't you people get it, the Chinese are no longer with you. The Permatang Pauh by-election speaks volumn of who the Chinese want to be their leader. The Chinese are with Pakatan Rakyat. Our faith now lies with Anwar and the wonderful Wan Azizah. Their unrelenting effort to save the nation from anarchy is beyond our imagination. Anwar puts his LIFE on the line!! The name "Malaysian Chinese Association" itself creates animosity amongst the people of Malaysia. The party's ideology is obsolete. You are now a liability to BN. Your continued presence there will only hasten the demise of BN. Do yourself a favor, admit defeat dissolve the party and go into oblivion. Why suffer in agony?
written by onnetline, September 23, 2008 07:47:18
It's about time that these MCA shitheads or so called leaders sell themselves to whorehouses !!!

What else is there after selling your race behind close doors ???

Please stop the stupid charade, MCA.
written by aisyalam, September 23, 2008 08:45:34
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif HEAD TO FIRING SQUAD FOR THESE WORST KIND OF CHINESE SHIT IN THE WORLD. YOU REPRESENT YOU REPRESENT YOUR OWN SHIT
written by HHKim, September 24, 2008 15:13:04
I just can't stand the look of these donkeys from MCA - Ong Tee Keat and Ong Kah Chuan. No backbones, spineless and principleless!!! Only care for their position and money they earn as ministers!! All chinese in Malaysia will spit on them and throw rotten eggs at them if they see us in the public places!!!

MCA- the traitor of chinese in Malaysia.