Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow New MCA chiefs in four Pakatan states

New MCA chiefs in four Pakatan states PDF Print
Monday, 22 September 2008 09:11

KUALA LUMPUR (NST) : MCA has appointed new state chiefs in four states held by Pakatan Rakyat.

They are vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat for Selangor, Youth chief Datuk Liow Tiong Lai (Penang), Wanita head Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen (Kelantan) and central committee member Datuk Chor Chee Heung (Kedah).

The four replaced Datuk Ch'ng Toh Eng, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy, Tan Sri Lau Yin Pin and Datuk Beh Heng Seong respectively.

Chan and Beh had resigned from politics before the March 8 general election. Ch'ng contested the Klang parliamentary seat and lost to DAP's Charles Santiago, while Lau, the party's treasurer, had never contested in any general election.

However, the party retained secretary-general Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan as the head in Perak, which is also under Pakatan Rakyat rule.

In addition, Ng's appointment marked the first time a woman had been made a state leader.

In announcing the decision, which came into effect yesterday, MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting said the four were appointed because they were currently serving at federal level and thus were able to voice the people's needs more effectively.

He said the previous state chiefs had earlier stated their intention to relinquish their posts.

"Since the five states are now under opposition rule, we need strong leaders to motivate our grassroots. The selection was also based on their capabilities, skills and track record in the party," he said after chairing a central committee meeting and briefing for some 550 divisional leaders at Wisma MCA yesterday.

Ka Ting denied that the decision was a punitive measure against the previous state leaders for their failure to retain seats in these states.

"MCA is facing one of its most challenging times. The party needs leaders who can shoulder the heavier responsibilities of strengthening the party and regaining lost ground."

On criticisms from vice-president Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai that the appointments were made without consulting the central committee, Ka Ting said the party constitution gave the president the power to appoint state chiefs.

"Moreover, I've told all central committee members the reasons these four were chosen."

In an immediate response, Tee Keat thanked the president for having confidence in him and said it was a heavy responsibility filled with challenges.

"However, I am up for the task and will do my best."

Meanwhile, Lim called on members to look at the bigger picture rather than try to persuade the party to leave Barisan Nasional.

He said members should think of the long-term effects of such a move before rushing to make a drastic decision.

"MCA is one of the founding members of the coalition. We should not leave for the sake of leaving or because we disagree with the views of one or two persons," he said after attending the Selangor MCA convention.

He said Malaysia was a multiracial country and BN needed different partners to play a check-and-balance role.

"To have all Chinese-based parties move to the opposition and only Malay-based parties in the ruling coalition will result in more tension, which is bad for business and the economy.

"Such a decision might be nice to hear but the silent majority wants us to reconsider."

Lim said he would not encourage senior party members to speak on the issue, adding it would be better to wait for the party's new leadership to handle the matter after the elections on Oct 18.

written by ctchoolaw, September 22, 2008 09:28:35
MCA can reshuffle the deck all they want. But without adopting multiracialism it will still be another communal party that discriminates based on race. MCA needs serious reform. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/...g-ong.html
written by Apek, September 22, 2008 09:47:05
Dear MCA,

Even if you changed all the heads in all the states, its not going to save you. Your cuckold and cowardly role in the Government dominated by UMNO has been transparent for everyone to see - and you were hence punished by the Malaysian public for that in the General Elections.

UMNO (if you do not already know) is a party of and for the self serving. It is a platform for the most greedy and the most vile to grab power and plunder under the guise of maintaining Malay political supremacy and religious hegemony (state sponsored Haadhari) but yet doing almost nothing in the way of actually enriching the Rakyat and enlightening their souls. In fact, the UMNO dominated Government and its leaders plunder the poor Raykat (Malay or non-Malay, Muslims and Non-Muslims) mercilessly to the brink of outright revolt and they still have the cheek to go to the Rakyat and telling them that the UMNO dominated Government continues to fight for “Bangsa dan Agama”.

If you intend to serve the People of Malaysia (regardless of race or religion, color or creed), then you must re-define your self by disassociating yourself honorably from the party of self serving persons in the form of UMNO and come and serve the People of Malaysia. There is nothing that you can do about serving the Rakyat by maintaining your cowardly role within the Barisan that is dominated by UMNO.

In fact, it is a known fact that no amount of speaking out against the UMNO skewed policies will help change those policies. No amount of speaking directly to Badawi (which you have always maintained as MCA's key advantage) will actually translate to real positive gains for the Rakyat as long as UMNO is dominated by feudal Warlords that in fact hold Badawi hostage and beholden to them.

All this is within your knowledge. Hence, you cannot effectively serve the Rakyat (and not just Chinese) if you maintain within this coalition of feudal warlords.
written by DreamLady, September 22, 2008 10:45:43

MCA, do some soul-searching before you implement your new strategy. Stated below:

1) Remember to remember your morality, it should be intact at all time.

2) Never to betray your own race in difficult time: BE SELFLESS

3) Treat corruption as a plague: never to get infected by it.

4) Do not degrade yourself down to the level of a slave to your UMNO bosses.

Abide by the above rules, and you shall be fine.
written by Newkidonblog, September 22, 2008 10:53:51
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzd2kUosrds

MCA,

I see what you have to say today?
written by asguard, September 22, 2008 12:33:33
Please continued with your muscial chairs rounds... but the chinese are not interested already... cause you will still be servant party to UMNO no matter what you say or do...unless you're out from the BN....
written by mikewang, September 22, 2008 12:37:12
MCA state leaders are appointed as opposed to Gerakan State leaders who are elected.
These stooges are thus beholden to the president who appoints them.
written by hill69, September 22, 2008 12:59:04
MCA = EXPIRED !!!
written by HHKim, September 22, 2008 13:11:57
Anyway, MCA can do any damn thing BUT it is still a race-based party. Forget about MCA as they are considered defunct by raayat - a party of spineless and principleless puppets!!!!!!!

I have forgotten about MCA - towkey party for the rich.
written by kc respect, September 22, 2008 14:12:09
Now, here's the key-note " "APPOINTED".
All are self-appointed, corrupted, gutless, self-enriching Chinese racists
written by Siapabohong, September 22, 2008 15:03:01
I would like to tell you this true story about a mca's ADUN before GE12. In an officiaL function to be officiated by an UMNO VIP who was also the MP of where the mca ADUN's constituency was in. It was informed the MP would attend the function alone (minus his wife). So the organiser arranged the number of VIP chairs on the stage minus the MP's wife. The mca ADUN was one of the VIPs should be seated on the stage as the mca ADUN suppose to be one of the high ranking government persons in the constituency. On the function day, the wife of the MP suddendly appeared in the function late. Since the number of VIP chairs on stage had been arranged according to number of VIPs who agreed to attend, so the organiser got no choice but to guided the MP's wife to be seated on the front row below the stage where the VIPs were seated. The 'may be' so kind or boneless or 'menikus' or cockroach behaviour of the mca ADUN came down from the stage and offered the mca ADUN's seat on the stage to the wife of the MP. The mca ADUN willingly seated below the stage for the whole of the function. Apa macam, is this the kind of mca leaders who are making noise that they want to championing the rights of the Chinese. They don't realise they have disgraced the dignity and the pride of the community by allowing their position to be swaped by their socalled slave mentallity to their 'big brother'. Patutlah they always behave like kura-kura and cockroach in issue related the justice of the people. How would you expect the Chinese community would to vote this kind of leaders who the mca claims to represent the community. Mca doesn't represent the Chinese community, the Chinese community for been all this while mended through hard ways most of the their problems by themselves or through another party who has proven consistent in its approach.
written by doggone, September 22, 2008 15:46:34

Expired goods can repack and sell wan meh?????

written by miwaki, September 22, 2008 20:58:47
Emmm.... very good,but these people will be out of jobs once Pakatan Rakyat forms the new government.Tee Kiat can kiss good bye to Transport Ministry,Tion Lai say bye bye to Health Ministry and yen yen say tata to Women and what ministry is this !

Actually we chinese malaysians do not concern about MCA anymore,do what you like but don't act stupid,do not be a disgrace to all of us !