Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The REAL story of May 13 (part 3)

The REAL story of May 13 (part 3) PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 22 September 2008 08:30

They say those who forget history are doomed to repeat its mistakes. In light of the recent sabre-rattling by those in Umno and the warning by the Armed Forces Chief, Malaysia Today feels compelled to republish an old article by Raja Petra Kamarudin that was published in Harakah on 24 September 1999.

The move to push Tunku Abdul Rahman aside had started. They needed something to trigger off some form of resentment against the government. They needed the Malays to rise, and what better platform to exploit than a racial platform?

Prior to that, 11 Chinese prisoners were sentenced to death for killing a Malay prison warden in Pudu Jail. This was subsequently turned into a Malay-Chinese issue.

The Malays wanted the 11 Chinese punished. The Chinese wanted their death sentence commuted. And demonstrations were held in the Chinese dominated areas around Kuala Lumpur to pressure the government to pardon the 11. In one large demonstration outside Pudu Jail, the riot police had to be called in the break up the demonstration with teargas. That was my first experience with teargas, and I was only 19 then.

The government had no choice but to back down, thereby angering the Malays.

In another incident, some Chinese demonstrated in front of the United States Information Service (USIS) office and one demonstrator was shot dead by a panicking Malay policeman -- interpreted as another Malay-Chinese thing.

The Chinese wanted a funeral procession but the police would not grant them permission as they knew it would attract a huge crowd and the funeral would be turned into a demonstration instead. Tun Razak, however, told the police to grant them permission and ordered the police off the streets. The resulting "giant" parade built up tensions further.

The May 1969 General Elections were held soon after and the Alliance Party won only 40% of the votes resulting in it losing its two-thirds majority in Parliament. It also lost a couple of states to the opposition plus its two-thirds majority in others.

The opposition parties held "victory parades" which turned into a mud-slinging and name-calling session. The Malays were now really angry and decided to hold a victory parade of their own. Dato Harun, the then Chief Minister of Selangor, was given the task of managing this "event".

On May 13, the entire cabinet withdrew to Frazers Hill while the Malays prepared for trouble. People in the top echelon of the government and commerce were tipped off to get out of town or go home early and, by 3.00pm, the city was quite deserted of the elite except for the unknowing rakyat.

That same evening, racial riots exploded. Parliament was dissolved, thereby saving the Alliance government that no longer had a majority in Parliament, and power was transferred to Deputy Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak under the National Operations Council (NOC).

The Tunku was now powerless.

Mahathir then increased his attacks on the Tunku using race as his platform. He also called for MCA's expulsion from the Alliance to "punish" the Chinese. Instead, Dr Mahathir was expelled from Umno as the Utusan Malaysia newspaper report of 6 June 1969 reveals:

KUALA LUMPUR 5 June - Some leading members of UMNO's Supreme Council have voiced their support for the decision by MCA leadership to exclude themselves from the Cabinet. Among them are Tan Sri Syed Jaafar Albar, Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad and Syed Nasir bin Ismail.

In a meeting with Utusan Malaysia, Tan Sri Syed Jaafar emphasised his disapproval of efforts made to ask MCA to re-enter the Cabinet.

"I do not agree with the way some Chinese chambers of commerce have stated their confidence and support of Tun Tan Siew Sin and their asking him to reconsider MCA's decision to withdraw from the Cabinet," he said.

According to him, the problem now was not the question of confidence towards Tun Tan Siew Sin as the MCA leader, but whether the Chinese supported the present policies of the Alliance.

"This is the matter that should be considered by these people who are making a big fuss about giving their support to Tun Tan Siew Sin today," he added.

Tan Sri Jaafar Albar also stated that the support given to Tun Tan Siew Sin by the Chinese Chambers of Commerce was not sufficient because support had to come from the majority of the Chinese population.

He stated that discussions about MCA's inclusion in the Cabinet should not be confined to the newspapers or to MCA alone because UMNO, as the backbone of the Alliance party, had not decided yet if MCA and MIC should be included in the Cabinet or if the Alliance should remain as it was then.

He said: "It is not only the duty of MCA to discuss this matter as if it is its own peculiar problem, but it should be the responsibility of all the Alliance leaders from the UMNO, MCA, and MIC."

However, he did not want to give his final views before the party met to discuss the matter.

Mahathir, who supported Tan Sri Syed Jaafar's statement, stressed that MCA leaders had to adhere to their earlier decision of not wanting to be included in the Cabinet.

He said that he agreed with the view of MCA leaders that they could not actually represent the people they claimed to represent.

According to Mahathir, the support given to Tun Tan Siew Sin by the Chinese chambers of commerce and other Chinese organisations could not be taken as support from the Chinese community as a whole to MCA because those organisations did not represent the desires of the Chinese community as a whole.

"If MCA wants to know whether they have the support of the Chinese, they have to wait for the next general election. Since this will take quite some time, it is no longer necessary for MCA to remain in the Cabinet," he emphasised.

Mahathir also said that MIC's position in the Cabinet should also be reconsidered.

Syed Nasir stressed that on the whole, the relationship between UMNO, MCA and MIC had to be reviewed to take in the changes which had taken place after the general elections.

"The people have expressed their needs and desires, and there is little point in pretending that the policies of the Alliance party are the best acceptable to them," he said.

In a Press Statement released by UMNO's Secretary General, Senu Abdul Rahman, reported by the Utusan Melayu newspaper on 6 June 1969, it said:

"Mahathir Mohamad ceases to be a member of the UMNO Supreme Council with effect from today, 12 July 1969.

This decision was taken following the wide distribution to the public of Mahathir's letter to Tunku Abdul Rahman, President of UMNO Malaysia.

Letters containing important matters should first be discussed by UMNO's Supreme Council, especially in view of the present situation in the country.

The action taken by Mahathir is seen to be in breach of the party's etiquette and is capable of damaging party solidarity and the government which the party supports."

Mahathir replied to this in his letter to the Tengku dated 17th June 1969.

"Your opinions were based on stories you heard from people who surround you, and who tell you only what they think you like to hear or should hear. Permit me to tell you what the position, the thoughts and the opinions of the people are really, so that you can understand my motive for making that press statement.

You yourself told me that you have prevented a riot by commuting the death sentence of the 11 subversive Chinese. In truth this very action sparked the riots of 13 May, which resulted in the deaths of many, many more.

Your 'give and take' policy gives the Chinese everything they ask for. The climax was the commuting of the death sentence, which made the majority of the Malays angry. The Chinese on the other hand regarded you and the Alliance government as cowards and weaklings who could be pushed around.

That was why the Chinese and the Indians behaved outrageously toward the Malays on 12th May. If you had been spit in the face, called dirty names and shown obscene gestures and private parts, then you could understand how the Malays felt. The Malays whom you thought would never rebel went berserk, and they hate you for giving too much face. The responsibility of the deaths of these people, Muslim or Infidels, rests on the shoulders of the leader who holds views based on wrong assumptions.

I regret writing this letter, but I have to convey to you the feelings of the Malays. In truth the Malays whether they are UMNO or PMIP supporters really hate you, especially those who had lost homes, children and relatives, because of your 'give and take' policy.

They said you wanted to be known only as 'The Happy Prime Minister' even though others are suffering. They said that although the country was in a state of emergency you were engrossed playing poker with your Chinese friends. Even the policemen said that you were using official cars and police escorts to contact your poker gang.

Lately, another disturbing factor came to light. The Malays in the Civil Service, from Permanent Secretary downwards, Army Officers and the Malays in the Police Force have lost faith and respect for you. I know that the majority of them voted for the PMIP through mail ballots....

I wish to convey what the people really think, that is that it is high time you resign as our Prime Minister and UMNO leader.

I am fully aware of the powers you still hold and I remember too well the fate of AZIZ ISHAK. But I would be irresponsible if I do not explain what I have said earlier. Even if I am jailed, I have to say what I have already said.

Once more I wish to repeat that the statement I made [on the continued exclusion of the MCA from the Cabinet] is to prevent the Malays from hating the Government more and to stop the Chinese from abusing the dignity of the Malays. A bigger riot will occur if this is allowed. The military itself will be beyond control.

I pray to God it will open your heart to accept the truth bitter though it may be."

Soon after, the Tengku stepped aside and Tun Razak took over as Prime Minister. The opposition parties were invited to join the government and the Alliance gave way to the Barisan Nasional giving the government back their two-thirds majority in Parliament. Later on, of course, PAS left the BN to stay on as an opposition party.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 22, 2008 09:04:49
How many he*** do you want us to shave before you release RPK?
agree 384
written by binarytan, September 22, 2008 09:09:06
Dear RPK, we will not forget the incident of May 13 and we do not want it to repeat.

Just the UMNO is playing all the race card and to stir racial tension.

Instead of putting you under ISA, they should quarantine those who stir up social tension such as Ahmad Ismail (still as racist as before), Kerismuddin and Syed Hamid himself.

Anyway, PR will take over gomen very soon and send UMNO to hell.

smilies/smiley.gif
disagree 18
agree 377
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 09:10:05
Mahathir promoted ‘Asian values’, which included an authoritarian governing style and the use of state power to suppress opponents via the media, the judiciary, and law enforcement agencies!
disagree 16
agree 247
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 09:12:07
Khir Toyo the new May 13 man, cries for help!

Help me my countrymen, Help me to speak the truth! My dirty mouth is used only to lies!

Help me my countrymen, Help me from the ACA! So many people have filed their cases against me!

Help me my countrymen, Help me from corruption! My dirty hands always feel itchy!

Help me my countrymen, Help me to keep this nation free! I have always instigated riots!

Help me my countrymen, Help me, I am so used to playing people at the back, Now I am not able do it from the front!

This time you must really help me, please, please, please, My wife wants to leave me! She has learnt too much from me!
agree 248
written by ahmadneil, September 22, 2008 09:15:17
I never know how dirty politics is until I read all this.
agree 220
written by cwy, September 22, 2008 09:22:39
"Mahathir then increased his attacks on the Tunku using race as his platform. He also called for MCA's expulsion from the Alliance to "punish" the Chinese. Instead, Dr Mahathir was expelled from Umno as the Utusan Malaysia newspaper report of 6 June 1969 reveals:"

This paragraph confirms that Madhathir was an abonminable racist!
agree 386
written by cubi76, September 22, 2008 09:33:08
TDM has been a racist scum since his early days. No... he's worse than a racist - he pushed for agenda to kill his own Kutty ethnic.

Racism is a curse to our country indeed.
agree 254
written by K W Waran, September 22, 2008 09:39:56

History always repeats itself, when fools are at the helm of the nation.

Remember, during last year's "gathering" of Bersih and Hindraf thereafter, when a rascal(and there are many)made a statement that the angry Malays are sharpening their parangs, machetes, and what not?

The fact remains that the Malays and the Non-Malays over the years have decided to SHARPEN their God-giving Brains instead of their respective arsenal of weapons. Hence, in spite of all the provocations, we remain matured and able to seperate the wheat from the chaff. So, it didn't and won't work, this time around.

Today, I dare say that 3 out of 4 Anak Anak Bangsa Malaysia want a new start and a fresh beginning. A gust of fresh air, so to speak, because the AIR has already become too STALE that it stinks to high heaven.

Like Father like Son, Our Cabinet Clown, Syed Hamid is trying to out do his father. May be, we should ask AAB to increase Syed's entertainment allowance(sarcasm intended here) for making us laugh hilariously whenever he opens his mouth. That was before. Nowadays, the minute his face appears on the screen, everybody laughs uncontrollably. Is it a phenomenon or a trend, you go figure. But the fact remains that he is the designated Clown of the Cabinet and hence, my suggestion earlier to increase his allowances.

Folks, after hearing about 18 RPK supporters shaving their "crowning glory", I became the 19th supporter to do so(the 2nd time for YM RPK) and I have vowed to remain a Kojak until he is released unconditionally, and they better do so bloody soon, too. Not because I want to grow hair but many of us (millions) just can't stomach his incarceration any more, any longer.

Take care and make sure we don't buy anymore of the BN's sickening crap, such as that Idiot M2Taib saying that YB DSAI is stirring up racial sentiments. That rascal and the likes of him should be chucked into a dungeon and the keys thrown away into the ocean.

agree 240
written by Frankfurtguy, September 22, 2008 09:44:18
we are new Malaysian
we will no more fooled by this racist tactics

Dear Young and educated Malaysian
Tell your grandpa, grandma, pakcik, makcik in your Kampung
Don't buy this kind of racial politics
They just want to make sure rakyat money to flow into their pocket!!
written by Daryl, September 22, 2008 09:45:00
Dr. M
You are scum of the earth and deserve whatever is coming to you. I am infidel but you are the devil in sheeps clothing and hopefully you burn in hell forever. My discussion about you will never be the same again

From

An infidel that you hate...
agree 187
written by BennyG, September 22, 2008 09:45:29
almost 40 years passed, TDM is still saying the same thing. TDM still think that the Malays are easily misled as before. Karma will definitely return to TDM many folds.
agree 168
written by CitizenBodohland, September 22, 2008 09:46:13
The fathers of Najis and Botak together with Mamak Kutty are the REAL TRAITORS to our country. Sanggup lagakan rakyat untuk kepentingan sendiri.
Keturunan anda akan sentiasa digelumangi dengan dosa-dosa dan darah-darah yang mengalir di jalanan pada 13 Mei 1969.
agree 148
written by Flex65, September 22, 2008 09:57:09
Change your belief and you also change your ancestor. That is what you call ‘kacang lupakan kulit’. Can this type of people be trusted? I hope some DNA expert can shed some light on this issue. Convert to Islam and you are no longer an Indian. Can I convert to Christianity and become an English man? Now I understand why they need fresh DNA from DSAI. They worry that DSAI after become friend with the Americans, his DNA will change.
written by 1351, September 22, 2008 10:18:04
Just your one statement ahmadneil, will make Raja Petra blush.

The gahmen makes him out as enenmy of Islam, instigator but for atunately the gahmen didn't paint him enenmy of the race. That little bit would turn the tilt for masses to Hartal - pls refer to RPK's first brush with teargas.

The Malay's as a race, have not had a true hero of RPK's proportion. The only thing that most 'anak Melayu' know of are the dubious 'curi kaki's ' from UMNO. They have hijacked all that is good in this country and one man dares tell them so. Unfortunate for RPK, the hidden hand has him cuff by reason of Justice For Altantuya. Notwishstanding the verdict, the hundred of millions associated with Razak Baginda and Najib Razak, is a heavy stain on UMNO. The seat of the highest office is about to suffer the same fate.

Congatulations again ahmadneil, you know see the light there are still many out there just as blinded.

written by KKchan, September 22, 2008 10:41:44
Seems to me Tun Razak was the main culprit. The others were supporting cast. Without his say-so, the events of May 13 might not happened. Now we have his biologicsl son and his political son holding power. Scary. Better move fast PR.
agree 116
written by Tom n Jerry, September 22, 2008 10:49:23
PR must take over the government,by hook or by crook!Otherwise we are in for disaster! smilies/shocked.gif
written by EDLYK, September 22, 2008 11:11:25
The son (najib) will be like the father (a razak) better watch out.
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 12:06:28
BRING MAHATHIR, THE FATHER OF CORRUPTION TO JUSTICE!

A fool and his money are soon parted. The only thing is Mahathir is the fool and the money belongs to Malaysians. Mahathir made 20% in every project. He has real estate in Japan and billions of shares corruptly acquired. His 3 sons are worth US$8 billion. Where do they get this money? Of course, corruption. Mahathir is known as the Marcos of Malaysia, having enriched himself to the tune of billions. Mahathir’s 3 sons are sitting in the board of directors of more than 200 companies. They must have been educated in Harvard school of business and obtained distinctions? Or is it “you don’t know me you don’t do business in Malaysia” law that applies. Billions of ringgit of Employee’s Provident Funds and public Petronas funds were used to bail out his sons who made losses investing in every venture Mahathir thought he could make money. How unethical and corrupted!

He dared to shed crocodile tears during UMNO delegates meeting about the ills of corruption. Yet he is the most corrupt of all the prime ministers. A thief was crying thief and hopes people look the other way. Who dared to say anything when the thief was caught with his hands in the candy jar?

He had more foolishness than most people would believe. Billions were used to build two high rise Petronas buildings that benefit nobody. It now stands tall, a symbol of stupidity and irresponsibility, only adding to traffic jam. What is this reclamation of 10 islands off Kedah? Totally absurd and stupid. Of course his benefit was 20%. And the bridge across from Malacca to Sumatra across international waters? Why not build a bridge to the moon? He would get his 20%!

In Australia he is known as the recalcitrant ego maniac; in UK the corrupt bast---d because of his stupid purchase of the movie studio and the 290 million ringgit Lotus racing car plant and the shady Pergau dam loans from the UK. They were useless to UK and Mahathir still wanted to buy them. What about buying British reject submarines through his agent! The agent/ broker was designed to make millions out of Malaysian government. His purchase of UK battleships was at least 50% more than what others were paying. His purchase of 9 hospitals from UK lock, stock and barrel did not support his local architects or the industry and the British sent him obsolete medical equipment.

In the UK, Mahathir appeared in no less than 17 newspapers as a corrupt dictator. In Malaysia he was known as the (IBM) International Big Mouth. In Japan they call him the ’smallest one’ (brain size). In Pacific island the Santa Claus (giving advice left and right). In South America they call him the parrot (he talks a lot but does not know what it is about). In Manila the living Marcos. In Malaysia they were spending millions to lure tourists and he always talk rubbish scaring every foreigner away. “When he is dumb he is doubted a fool, when he opens his mouth it removes all doubt.”

Mahathir built highways without tender; his cronies got all the deals and the price double. The Langkawi airport runway was built at double the cost by his own company, Ekran.

The Malaysian nation has lost at least 30 billion dollars during his years of corrupt rule. One billion lost from the purchase of phantom skyhawk war planes nobody has ever seen (are they still in the Nevada desert USA?). 3 billion lost from the London tin scandal (Mahathir thought he could corner the London tin market without knowing the Americans had a stockpile! Stupidity at its best!). 6 billion Perwaja steel mill where nobody knew where the money went, 3 billion bank Bumiputra scandal where George Tan bribed all the bank officials to lend him the money. 6 billion forex lost by Bank Negara (the fool and his money are soon parted) and 6 billion to build three of the worlds tallest buildings (built by Japanese and Koreans and furniture imported from France - not Malaysia) and 1 billion lost from purchase of British warship including fees paid to the broker and under the table. add the 10 billion he stole and 5 billion taken by Ministers.

There were fifty thousand of university students not given places in Malaysia but were good enough for places overseas resulting in billion of dollars lost. The British and the Australians are thinking how stupid Malaysia can be. Malaysia’s best students are sent overseas raising their standards, while as in most countries the best are kept in local universities and the rejects sent overseas.

Every one of his politicians are sitting on the boards of tens of companies making thousands without any effort, lending their VIP names to borrow millions from local banks without collateral. Now these have become non performing loans. And Mahathir wanted 26 millions Malaysian to sacrifice for the folly of ONE man?
agree 404
written by Jit Dharma, September 22, 2008 13:07:56
The pathological snake Mahathir had a big hand in the events of May 13th. Isn't
he a curse to this country? This agrandisement of our so-called leaders/fathers
should be also discarded. They are fallible as well as flawed charcters.
written by born2reign, September 22, 2008 13:39:35
I agree with sjs:
There were fifty thousand of university students not given places in Malaysia but were good enough for places overseas resulting in billion of dollars lost. The British and the Australians are thinking how stupid Malaysia can be. Malaysia’s best students are sent overseas raising their standards, while as in most countries the best are kept in local universities and the rejects sent overseas.

And some Malaysians still want to hang on to the phantom Corrupted Ketuanan Melayu - the passport for Madhatter to squeeze their blood dry.
written by krising1, September 22, 2008 14:13:56
SJS, that is indeed a great analysis of the greatest curse this country - the mad ma-mak. I just cannot believe that he fooled Malaysians for almost a quarter of a century. Some still think he is God!
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 14:27:36
The leaders of BN government, We will expose your corrupt practices through the mights of our pens,to both local and international audience, RELEASE RAJA PETRA IMMEDIATELY, or we will continue unabated! This is our demands!

THE CONMAN OF MALAYSIA ABDUL TAIB MAHMUD
BRING TAIB MAHMUD TO JUSTICE!

Born into impoverished circumstances in 1936, Abdul Taib Mahmud is an ethnic Muslim-Melanau who traces an aristocratic link to the Royal Court of Brunei. But since becoming CM, Taib has been previously described, at various times, by the international media in the following terms: He is “flamboyant with expensive tastes” and is said to have “purchased the piano of the late American showman Liberace for close to US$2 million”. He “lives in a well-guarded palatial home in Kuching and rides in a cream-coloured Rolls Royce. A dapper dresser, he is partial to double-breasted suits and sports a ring with a walnut-sized red gem surrounded by small diamonds”. Presently, he lives in a palatial private estate outside Kuching along Jalan Bako in a choice location called Demak Laut fronting the Sarawak river.

In the late-1980s, clients loyal to Taib collectively were estimated to control 1.6 million hectares of timber concessions. By 2000, Mahmud family members had major investments not only in Sarawak and Malaysia but also in other parts of the world. Taib Mahmud’s sons, Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Taib and Mahmud Abu Bekir Taib, are the two key directors of Cahaya Mata Sarawak (CMS), a multi-million ringgit financial and infrastructure conglomerate listed on the KLSE that thrives because it receives lots of patronage projects from the Sarawak government via PPES Works, a CMS subsidiary company jointly owned with the State government. CMS also owns Bank Utama that engineered a reverse takeover of RHB Bank in 2003. And CMS continues to eye the Bakun mega-project.
Abdul Taib Mahmud’s spouse, Laila Taib, and his children are the majority shareholders of Sitehost Pty. Ltd., Australia, a company which owns the adelaide Hilton Hotel. Company records dated December 2000 show them holding 95 percent of the company or 9.5 million fully paid up shares of Sitehost. Onn Mahmud (Taib Mahmud’s brother), Taib’s daughter Jamilah Hamidah Taib and her husband Sean Murray, are listed as director-shareholders of SAKTO Corporation, a major real estate operator of non-residential buildings in Ottawa, owning and managing over half a million square feet of prime office space with affiliate offices in the US, Asia, the UK and Australia. As well, they own SAKTO Development Corporation, a multi-million dollar development and construction company in Ottawa, while Jamilah is the sole director of SAKTO Investment Corporation.

Now, it may well be that the Mahmud family is one of the best and most astute business families in Malaysia. And more power to them on that account. But much of their known wealth has arisen during the tenure of Abdul Taib Mahmud as Sarawak CM. Is there then any wonder why there exists so much public scepticism about the sources of Abdul Taib Mahmud’s family wealth? Would not a transparent audit do well to quash such obviously unscrupulous rumours once and for all?
In 2008, Mahmud gave his son Sulaiman a seat in the Malaysian parliament. After the son was elected, he was made a deputy federal minister despite not having any political experience. It is almost certain that the son would not even have a political career if the father was not the chief minister.

Mahmud's sister Roziah is one of the most powerful businesswoman in Sarawak with extensive holdings in property and timber business.
Mahmud's brother in law, Tan Sri Aziz Hussain, was appointed state secretary by Mahmud and when he retires, Mahmud appointed him executive director of Sarawak Energy and other companies.

Lot 1 Muara Tuang L.D (980ha), Lot 887 Samarahan LD (670HA), Lot 1230 Sedilu Gedong LD (5010HA) AND lot 1509 Bukar Sadong LD (3720ha) was alienated to a company called Lambang Sinar Emas (a company owned by Roziah Mahmud) on 26.05.2004. In 26.01.2005 the ownership of the company changed hand. Roziah stand to gain tens of millions of ringgit from this transaction.

Fellow Malaysians, We created this crook, and it is our moral duty to the poor of this nation, to bring him to justice!
agree 209
written by educationist, September 22, 2008 19:40:19
It is good that details of this dark page in our country's history is now in the public domain.
Let us hope that never again will the UMNOputras be able to use such devious, underhand and bloody methods to cling to power.
But as the UMNOputras again fight for their survival, let us all remain vigilant and not play into their hands.
written by foresight, September 22, 2008 20:44:10
I remember there were people who said that he had done a lot for Malaysia and a statesman. Well his true colour has been revealed.
written by Panca Indera, September 22, 2008 20:44:35
LESSON LEARNED?
Racial riots and race related issues and problems are the result of perceived differences, inequality, superiority, inferiority (real and imagined) that exists in multi ethnic, multi-religious and multi-cultural society like we are facing now.

When not “IF”, those issues and problems are solved in a fair, just, equitable and civilized ways according to UNIVERSAL TRUTHFUL PRINCIPLES, and abide by all parties, then MALAYSIANS The best of the best.

We all can be united for a better Malaysia using our rich and diversify multi-ethnic backgrounds based on knowledge, understanding, respect and tolerance towards each other. But..

Until that DAY, we will remain bogged down by the problems we are facing now.

IS THERE NO-ONE IN THIS COUNTRY’S LEadERSHIP WHO IS VISIONARY ENOUGH TO SEE AND PLAN THE COURSE OF ACTIONS TO ACHIEVE THAT VISION?

smilies/cool.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Lim Lim, September 22, 2008 20:45:44
we hate mahathir not becos we are malay,chinese,indian,iban r kadazan;but as a malaysian,we hav all the right under the sun for doing it to this mean racist n facist old lizard with a split tongue,the real culprit which hav screwed up malaysia during his reign of 22 years only to satisfy his own selfish agenda!jus too bad,it is jus too hard even to address the MF as a former PM.....hav he ever put himself as 'malaysian' first??n everything else second?????? doubt,BIG doubt!
written by sarawakian, September 22, 2008 21:09:20
the educated Malays and Chinese now know the true cause of May 13 although it has been deliberately kept in the dark by the UMNO regime. no longer will they be used to further the political aims of the UMNO elite.

UMNO's only chance now is to target the poorly educated to be used for their cause. i hope they will fail if they try. so far, all their efforts to incite another May 13 have failed. i hope it stays that way. it would be sad if after 39 years, Malaysians are no better than they were.

BN should be aware that it is their racial politics and deliberate attempts to incite a similar event that is causing the downward spiral of our economy and foreign investments and NOT Pakatan's fault as they continually echo in the mainstream news and media.

BN should buck up NOW or let a more capable party take over heading Malaysia in the midst of a looming world economic crisis.
written by truthbespoken, September 22, 2008 23:26:47
Well, let's look at the similarities and differences in the three major 'social conflicts' in the country as it should be seen, one in 1969, another in 1988 and now in 2008?

The similarity in all the three conflicts is we have a Mahathir who was, and still is, involved in the conflicts, in different roles but certainly no lesser role then the preceding one. Firstly, he was an UMNO rebel, a maverick in 1969, next he was the PM in 1988 and now an elder-statesman in 2008. But one thing has not changed. Mahathir would not want Malaysians to behave as true Malaysians! He wouldn't want Malays to be equal to Non-Malays or Non-Malays equal to Malays. This is THE PROBLEM we have today, a problem inherited from a Half-Malay! What irony!

However, the difference in all the three social conflicts is clear. In 1969, the conflict was between Malays and Non-Malays, in 1988, it was between Malays and Malays but now in 2008, it is between Malaysians and UMNO Malays!

There you are. The conflict in 2008 is no more between the races! It is about Malaysians, irrespective of race, against UMNOputras! That is why UMNO may not get its way this time around even with the help of the Architect of racism in Malaysia who is still fanning the unholy fire of hatred between the races!

More need not be said. Let's hope all Malaysians will succeed and progress without the stigma of racism always attached to it.. No more MAY 13 and its baggages! Move On Malaysia!
written by Tom n Jerry, September 23, 2008 11:52:06
Race factor must be totally erased and we unite under one banner of Malaysian;thats the only way to move forward in this globalized era of IT;otherwise be prepared to be left behind while the world moves forward! smilies/cool.gif
written by Chimera, September 23, 2008 12:44:25
Damn!!!!! This same SOB hv created the same tension among the innocent ppl..
N he is getting back from the rakyat......which is worst than wat he wrote to Tunku.

FREEEEEEEEEE RPKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fight like a man...not like a coward..... Syed..give RPK the right to fight in the court...
ufffffffffffffffffffff!!!!!!!!!!!
written by onnetline, September 23, 2008 22:41:50
This ' pariah ' from Kedah of Kerala origin will be made to pay for all his misdeeds, if not then his generation of siblings will.

CarTUN, that's the karma of your life and every each way you choose not to believe !
written by darrelwan, September 23, 2008 23:10:48
why does it all makes sense now?
written by Caesar, September 24, 2008 20:54:42
We, the (one)million-plus Malaysian Chinese & Indians, living overseas have been waiting for this (soon coming) day when the only racist govt. in our planet will cease to exist!

Hidup Merdeka. God Bless the Tunku.
written by The bags, September 25, 2008 10:25:03
Do we need some academic qualification to be a Ministar in Malaysia ? just wondering some of them maybe do not pass SRP.....
written by mali, September 26, 2008 21:49:52
i agree with what sarawakian wrote:
so let's spread the truth as much as possible to everyone regradless of race.
EVERYONE has the duty to educate & encourage critical thinking, dont be fooled into another may13!
the 2 ex-s'gor MB's are trying to be like Dato Haron bcos they are ASKED to do so, as they are no longer in office, so they have to play dirty..

the educated Malays and Chinese now know the true cause of May 13 although it has been deliberately kept in the dark by the UMNO regime. no longer will they be used to further the political aims of the UMNO elite.

UMNO's only chance now is to target the poorly educated to be used for their cause. i hope they will fail if they try. so far, all their efforts to incite another May 13 have failed. i hope it stays that way. it would be sad if after 39 years, Malaysians are no better than they were.
written by onnetline, September 28, 2008 09:11:29
Doesn't this racist Razak fella' has a ' muder ' suspect son called Najis.

God bless our Tunku ..... the great father of Malaysia !!!!
written by Homeyasu, September 28, 2008 11:25:27
For example, Britain enacted its first race law in 1965, making racial discrimination unlawful in public places. The act forbade discrimination on the grounds of colour, ethnicity or national origins and covered both British residents and overseas visitors.
In 1968, the law was extended to cover discrimination in housing, employment or public services.

By 1976, it covered direct and indirect discrimination and established the Commission for Racial Equality to tackle racial discrimination and promote racial equality.

This role has been taken over by the Equality and Human Rights Commission into which the CRE and two other equality commissions were merged last October.

An amendment act in 2000 made it a duty for public authorities, such as police and local councils, to promote racial equality. It also became unlawful for them to discriminate on racial grounds.

Britain also has a Racial and Religious Hatred Act which came into effect last year. This law makes it a criminal offence to use threatening words or behaviour with the intention of stirring up hatred against any group of people because of their religious beliefs or their lack of religious beliefs.

Whoa, i guess all those sitting in the parliament, bearing the name of BN, will get sacked right over there in the UK. Equality? Eh, our fiend said, "THERE'S NO EQUALITY IN MALAYSIA!" Well, he said that. Not me. Some fanatic guys. Sooo taasub. Speaking of nobrainers....
written by emirateswenger, September 30, 2008 07:35:32
The test between rhetoric and reality is time. Even Pak Lah made had all the right rhetoric not too long ago. There will continue to be scheming in politics and from many front not just from the obvious actors. But once credibility is shaken/lost, it will be doubly hard to regain it. The Rakyat had hope for a better Malaysia. But still, I believe a better Malaysia will come out of all this.

Do remember Pete and family. Selamat Hari Raya.
written by arnab76, September 30, 2008 15:47:51
recently the PM asked " I dont know why some Malaysians bad mouth the country"

Actually, Malaysians do not bad mouth the country Malaysia...we only bad mouth how silly the government is and how greedy they are.

If we have the right leadership, we would be walking in the moon by now....hmmm hmmm....but no they for sake the proud of the nation but themselves....

Tha fat botak whom is a lawyer buruk whom disgrace his family and his generations will pay for it.....he is good at talking using his half dead brain cells...afterall all dead cells is growing stronger in his head.....