Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Study Ringgit Pegging Mechanism To Protect Economy - Muhyiddin

Study Ringgit Pegging Mechanism To Protect Economy - Muhyiddin PDF Print
Monday, 22 September 2008 08:17

TEMERLOH (Bernama) -- International Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin wants the government to study the suggestion by former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to repeg the ringgit to cushion off the impact of the weakening United States (US) dollar against other currencies.

Although the pegging of the ringgit by the government in 1997 is perceived to be different from the current uncertain global economic scenario, Muhyiddin said it was possible that several mechanisms in the previous pegging of the ringgit could be used again.

"The uncertain global economy today is due to the sub-prime problems prevailing in the United States which resulted in several major banks in the country to go bankrupt and this scenario is different from the situation in 1997," said Muhyiddin.

He said this to reporters after attending a meeting with several Umno leaders and grassroots in the Temerloh and Kuala Krau divisions late last night.

He was commenting on Dr Mahathir's suggestion to reimplement the pegging of the ringgit to ward off the adverse effects of the weakening US dollar.

Muhyiddin said the government needed to keep tabs on the current world economic developments and take necessary initiatives to tackle the problem.

-- BERNAMA

written by avj, September 22, 2008 08:27:33
When you get into a financial mess it simply means you have mismanaged. No two ways about that. Now are you suggesting that we tie up with mismanagement? What a brilliant idea or are you trying to score points with THE MISMANAGER himself TDM?
written by ahmadneil, September 22, 2008 08:30:05
Racist mahathir is now the latest teacher to Muhyiddin.How can he lead if he needs constant tuition.
written by miwaki, September 22, 2008 08:34:37
Now whose currency is weaker ? USD or Ringgit ? Pegging ringgit against USD is not the solution to our economic problem.Please take up a basic course in economics before you overestimate the imtelligence of our fomer PM.
written by cubi76, September 22, 2008 08:38:37
Simply put - A bunch of bloody idiots running our country. UMNOputera is a curse to our country.
written by Bigjoe99, September 22, 2008 08:40:51
This is why the Muhiyiddin-Dr. M combo must be kept out of govt. These are stupid people making big decisions. Sheesh...
written by sjs, September 22, 2008 08:42:27
Muhyiddin,

When the child is hungry, you dont kill him! You provide him food!
The one thing that Mahathir taught all you guys is to worship his words as the gospel of truth!

It is because of the pegging of the ringgit previously under corrupt Mahathir's administration, that reforms did not take place and all Malaysians are suffering now!
written by cwy, September 22, 2008 08:57:25
This fellow carries the flag for racist Madhathir.
Will Malaysians support this opportunist to be PM of Malaysia?
written by onnetline, September 22, 2008 09:05:37
Looks like the ' pendatang ' from Kerala or Kedah has already got our fat boy, Mahaiyiddin to do his bidding.

Plainly, we have a bunch of racist retards for leaders, as clearly shown !
written by lokenpal, September 22, 2008 09:10:24
I agree with the minister; but US economic problems is due to over deregulation. Obama's idea on integrated regulation says government is needed. well I mean good governance.

DSAI has to support this idea somewhat; not now, but when it gets worse; economically. It’s economics stupid. Politically a strong 2-party system is our hope of DSAI. .....

and RPK; be strong our cyber savior!
FREE HIM MAN.
written by talk2stop, September 22, 2008 09:13:42
Pegging or not pegging is not a problem. Just make sure you stick to it through thick and thin. There are heaps of advantages and disadvantages. It appears that Malaysia just can't make up her mind. To investors it feels like Malaysia is moving it goal posts just before they about to score.
What Malaysia is thinking? Investors a bunch of gullible fools? Investors have one common thing in mind. We are here to make money not to make friends.
written by Saint, September 22, 2008 09:36:39
I am not an economist thus do not know the pros and cons of pegging currency,
but this much I know. If I spend unnecessarily or make an unwise investment, I will loose my money. I have to become more competitive and knowledgeable to overcome this. Unfortunately none of these qualities are found in any of our present ministers, and definitely not in the former PM.
written by ToeJam, September 22, 2008 09:50:59
How to manage this country effectively – UMNO style 101 which is, to put it simply; “Always use the same format, who cares if the situation is different”.

For example : This country was run on racial lines in the 60’s using the concept of divide and rule. Today’s society is very different and yet this is the only model that brain-dead UMNO understands.

In 90’s, we managed to solve the problem by un-pegging our currency. Today’s financial crisis is very different and yet this is the only model that brain-dead UMNO understands.

dear Muhyiddin
don't just agree to TDM's suggestion. Pls explain in details why it will work for us and how this will affect the country. And what are the possible consequences. If the solution were so simple and straight forward, and undergraduate would have already solved the problem.

written by chiongguo, September 22, 2008 10:28:54
The nature of politics is such that what they say is not what you understand. Mujahiddin just called for "a study of the suggestion by..." So is he advocating it blindly or creating an escape hatch for himself ? If the currency peg was taken up and turn out to be positive he could claim to have supported it. If it doesn't he could then say, well I just called for a study and it was those people who had studied it who had made the mistake.

Head he wins, tail the rakyat lose.

Why do Malaysia want to peg to a sinking currency ? Won't we be importing the problems of the US through the "umbilical cord" of currency peg ? Or is Mujahiddin and Dr.M advocating pegging RM to Euro ?

written by joeawk, September 22, 2008 10:56:32
Protecting the economy is not about pegging the ringgit alone. Managing the economy and attracting fdi is not about keeping wages low and low wages does not mean low cost.

In fact low wages may amount to hogth cost and poor quality.

For heavens sake, pegging the ringgit can wait until the country peg the minimum wage at RM1,500.00 or even RM2,000.00.

Malaysians cannot stay low value, we just have to improve.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 22, 2008 11:06:04
As I heard it from one economist, during Tun M's time, there were trillions of Malaysian Ringgit in foreign hands, particularly in Singapore, for money Traders to manipulate the currency.Today, you will be lucky to get 2 hundred millions outside of Malaysia. S
o Tun M is grossly wrong in his assumption and that ase kisser Muhiddin is just lipping Tun M's suggestion without any clues.
written by carribeanking7, September 22, 2008 13:31:12
In 1998 they imposed capital controls as well before the peg, as at August alone there has been USD 1 bill capital flight, its a case of closing the barn door after the horses have bolted.

that the problem when you have a "doctor" prescribing one pill for all illnesses,in 1998 it was to protect against currency speculators, now the problem is the oil futures speculators got burned together with other comodity speculators, so many had to liquidate equities to settle their call margins.

Its a complex issue that many dont trust our inept cabinet to discuss.
They cant even come up with a tenable solution in the case of the 14 Mercs used by terennganu exco.

I offer some free advice...

1) review all lop side agreements with IPP's.
2) Malaysia should hedge by short selling the US currency
3) barter trade to circumvent commodity speculators, for example we can exchange our palm oil with saudi Arabia for their crude.
4) abolish duties on imported items that protect inneficient local industries.
5) Most of all call for open tenders when awarding contracts, so we can do away with over inflated prices charged by crony companies that have no expertise in the first place.

written by hakuna, September 22, 2008 13:43:44
Muhyiddin - don't follow bindly whatever the OLD Man says. He has selfish reasons for saying so.
Pegging is detrimental to the nation.

written by ToeJam, September 22, 2008 14:28:45
written by ToeJam, September 22, 2008 09:50:59

How to manage this country effectively – UMNO style 101 which is, to put it simply; “Always use the same format, who cares if the situation is different”.

For example : This country was run on racial lines in the 60’s using the concept of divide and rule. Today’s society is very different and yet this is the only model that brain-dead UMNO understands.

In 90’s, we managed to solve the problem by un-pegging our currency. Today’s financial crisis is very different and yet this is the only model that brain-dead UMNO understands.

Forgot to add-on another example.... 10 years ago, DSAI was brought down on sodomy charges. Guess what is UMNO's technique now???

UMNO is into repeats - it saves their using brain-cells - that's if they have any
written by mucking fuddled, September 22, 2008 14:53:29
mr yassin,
do try to come up with some ideas of your own for once.....
you are getting on my tits (sorry ladies)
every time hitler farts, you come out with the air freshener...
every time hitler shits, you come out with the shovel...
get a life of your own, you tits (sorry again ladies)