Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M proposes: Bring back ringgit peg

Dr M proposes: Bring back ringgit peg PDF Print
Sunday, 21 September 2008 00:12
(Bernama) Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed has proposed that the ringgit peg be reintroduced to lessen the impact of the global economic crisis on the currency.

He said the fluctuations in the ringgit value had affected the country's economy and the government should not continue with the managed float of the ringgit.

"We need to fix the value of the ringgit and I believe the government should do away with managed float because it will result in a loss," he told reporters after delivering his keynote address at a seminar on “Development of National Institutions of Higher Learning” at Universiti Utara Malaysia here today.

He said the peg would strengthen the economy and create structural changes in economy without depending on the model from western experts.

"If the US economy declines, the country, which is among its key trading partners, will also be badly affected," he said, when asked to comment on the economic situation in the country.

The ringgit's RM3.80 peg against the US dollar imposed in Sept 1, 1998 was scrapped in July 21, 2005 and was substituted by a managed float against a basket of currencies.

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by sjs, September 21, 2008 00:34:14
This is not a message to Najib Abd Razak, Syed Hamid and Ismail Omar, unless if they are involved in this crime!

This is a message to all Barbarians, who still use stones to ignite the flame of hatred!

This is a message by a Hindu, a brother of Islam, who is crying for the release of a true Muslim who has been imprisoned in the cage built by the tyrants!

This is a message for all Malaysians, to condemn the treatment meted out upon the true son of this nation!

This is a message for all fellow human beings throughout the world, to condemn the treatment of another human-being worst than an animal!

“We demand that Raja Petra is set free!

Arrest the animals that are roaming free!

Release Raja Petra from the cage!

Islam and Malaysia can be saved!”

agree 153
written by The Hammer, September 21, 2008 00:36:35
Better still go BARTER! 1 durian=10 orange; 10 rambutans=1 kembong fish; 10 kembong fish=1 chicken; 1000 buffalos 1 saga car; Naji can work out the rest! No need to consult the financial pundits especially the smart idiot one who miscalculted the recent MBB buyout of the INDON bank.
agree 118
written by sjs, September 21, 2008 00:38:07
Mahathir Mohammad, the father of corruption and the usurper of democarcy!

Your dated ideas irrelevant even during your times, will not be feasible to the current global economic climate and will be an impediment for reforms in a new Malaysia!

Leave the economic management of Malaysia to experts like Anwar Ibrahim!
agree 142
written by cwy, September 21, 2008 00:40:16
Penjual Roti Jepun,
Cadangan kau tak laku lah!
written by farah, September 21, 2008 00:46:54
"..... has proposed ringgit peg.....bla..bla..
TDM we are no longer interested in your opinion. I still remember 'the shit' you left behind.

Lets hear and listen what would DSAI THE PM IN WAITING has got to say or i/we believe DSAI would have 'done' the homework too.
written by onnetline, September 21, 2008 00:51:11
Mahatahi,

Why don't you just plan like the birds when to migrate ??

And don't forget to invite your corrupted buddies from the Lingam's tape case to join you, ok ??
written by my oumrie, September 21, 2008 00:53:28
Oi Chedeta, why don't you just shut your gob and use it only to lelong your roti jepun? Your great pal, Roberto, is waiting for you on the African continent. Join him lah, why don't you....?!
written by denkoh, September 21, 2008 00:54:58
Certainty is security, DR M...
Under you, policies and constitution keep changing...change so many times until i forgot i am a Malaysians....
sigh...
written by Motherchell, September 21, 2008 01:51:48
This is something we will remember you for forever! Lets bury injustices once and for all . Its something im sure you long to see with your own eys before your last frontier !

People like you , especially in the faith that you follow ,MUST bestow total justice to RPK . The holy month is a good time to bring out the humility in you . This are more important then the Exchange rate today because -- if we need to see gain in the economy -- its not the exchange rate --- its the eradication of corruption and respect for Human Rights.

Pl do this for the Rakyat now TDM! This is my humble request !
written by wishuponastar, September 21, 2008 02:05:41
The new Finance Minister's puppet master has spoken.Yes,yes bring back ringgit peg,bring back Tun Daim Zainuddin,bring back all who can help to rape the coffers once again.
written by ATSaari, September 21, 2008 02:37:08
Since Wednesday, when the financial shits hit the ceiling fan, I was hoping that the so-called leading economics and financial commentators and opinion makers would explain the situation to the Malaysian public via the national dailies, the blogs and the TV network. I came across not one article or broadcast that explains the underlying reasons for the inevitable dire consequences.

Given the past performance of the Badawi regime in economic matters (for which Nor Mohamed Yakcob played a critical role) and an inexperienced Najib assuming the responsibility of Finance Minister (and his inevitable reliance on this idiot), do you have any confidence in the Badawi/Najib regime to steer the country in an orderly fashion out of the financial mess that will impact massively on our economy before the end of 2008?

Read more at: http://futurefastforward.com/c...rticle/381
written by Umm Adzka, September 21, 2008 03:51:44
I used to have my highest respect for this man. I used to see him as a hero to Malaysia. But I beg to differ to this opinion although for us, who live and earn a living in a country which currency is pegged to Dollar, this call should sound like a music to our ears and something we would cherish!

But we are not selfish individuals, we do not want to go for an option that let us gain in the expense of the non-elite Malaysians. I am not an economist, but the result of US peg policy in the current economic condition is very obvious in the GCC countries. Inflation hikes!

Fortunately, the government of GCC countries do not think of themselves - they have either unpeg their currency from USD or (those are 'obliged' to US), are giving monthly allowance to each household whose husband earns BD1500 (USD3,969.30) or less. The government is trying to minimise the impact of inflation to the general public!

The government of Malaysia, however, will not do that! All they care about is their own wealth/gain and their political career. For that very reason they went to the extent of preventing the needy of getting some assistance. They condemned the Selangor government's initiative subsidizing the cost of water for the first 20 cubic meter used in each household. These are but a few examples to mention.

Since the unpeg, we, the people who live outside Malaysia, had been impacted by the rise of ringgit. Despite the constant increase of our salary, we were still earning less when the income was converted to Ringgit. But that does not matter; that was a good sign. That means the economy in Malaysia was doing better.

Since RM was unpegged from US, its value had risen. Today, despite the inflation, Ringgit is still of higher value then it was when it was pegged to USD. Then comes this suggestion from Dr M and seriously, the reasoning was so out of place especially since most of economic activities nowadays are no longer fixed in the US currency.

I still have some respect for him, I won't make further comments here. To end this post, let me quote what my husband said the moment I told him Dr M proposed to bring back ringgit peg. He flatly said: dah nyanyuk Dr. M...

umm.adzka.com
written by dashuwang, September 21, 2008 05:19:55
OUT DATED Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed has proposed that the ringgit peg be reintroduced to lessen the impact of the global economic crisis on the currency."TALK COCK!!!!"

The ringgit should be better off if not peg. Todays market is an open market and open business competition. Malaysian should be more aggressive facing challenges.

During the time when our money was peg no one wants our money in Thailand except border town near Malaysia. MALU!!!!

We need better better brains than TDM. because of his stupit idea our country lose competitiveness. Our money should be less than RM3.00 against USD today if TDM does not peg during his tenure.

We should look at the global economic crisis as an oportunity and not to hide under the blanket.

I believe DSAI can manage the economy better than any of those UMNO-BN goons.
written by mikewang, September 21, 2008 06:06:09
Wasn't it this senile old man who told the country that we should have removed the peg long ago when AAB allowed the ringgit to float along with the Chinese Renminbi in July 2005?

You simply cannot peg one day and remove the peg another just to suit yourself.
Good management is not based on being smart or trying to outsmart others when the situation suits you.
It is based on consistency of policy because you need others to trust you where money is concerned.

It is still going to take us more time for our currency to regain previous recognition even though the peg was removed some 3 years ago.
Don't remake our currency to a pariah one.
written by temanmu, September 21, 2008 06:18:16
Bring back good governance!

If we run the country like Singapore, there is no need for a RM peg.

The peg would be better used to hang the criminals running the country to the ground!
written by KotaDamansara73, September 21, 2008 06:48:57
Please do not compare ourselve to Singapore. The Malaysian chinese are more talented than Singaporeans. Our entreprenuers are much better than Singaporeans entreprenuer. If Anwar takes over, in 10 years time, we will overtake Singapore.

Singapore society is a sterilized society. Everything is engineered by that Lee family. Temasek basically controls the large part of the economy.

If you go to Singapore, nobody park at the side of the road. Something is very wrong there. You can hardly find a kopitiam anywhere in Singapore. Their hawker food is lousy. It can't be compare to Malaysian. Singaporeans are a bunch of coward. Anything happen, there are the first one to run away from the country. So many Singporeans wanted to migrate to Australia once they reach the age of 40 - 50 years old. Singaporeans basically destroy their opposition party.

If you don't have a degree in Singapore, you will not do well in Singapore. In Malaysia, those even with high school diploma will do well if they have entreprenuer spirit. Most factories operated in Sg. Buloh, Balakong and Klang are started off by people without any university degree. A guy who sell chicken rice can earn enough to send their children to overseas education. There is no way these people can do well in Singapore.

Singapore is a sterilized society where everything is fake. The beach, the hills and the bitches are all fake. Singapore is only efficient and that's it. People over there have no life. Their life is only about shoes, handbags and handphone. A bunch of pathetic people.
disagree 26
written by avj, September 21, 2008 08:05:06
if we need to see gain in the economy -- its not the exchange rate --- its the eradication of corruption and respect for Human Rights. I couldn't have said it better. Any way what do you expect from someone who is always in a delima ? It is time he relazid that his ideas are irlevant and only good for those with,"I need a crutch or handicap mentality". We are Malaysians,we don't need that.
written by bexe, September 21, 2008 08:22:07
KotaDamansara73
You are so right and I see the Spore SS who cruise the blogs have voted you down. I vote you up and i add that at lest here we can tell our PM to move on. try that in Singapore???
Pray tell me TDM what would the peg do for Malaysia? Our currency isn't being under sieged like the last time. We are not fighting the short-sellers this time. We are not having to use our national wealth against the speculators. You took our wealth and gambled with it - lucky for us you won. If we bet and lost the last round we would have been basket case. For me it was reckless of you. It isnt a formula for success that should be used again.

Our most important issue is INFLATION. Study econs 101 first. Tie yourself to the USD and you will import their inflation. We can't handle that. To remain competitive we need to be more efficient. To be more efficient let's start with meritocracy.
written by ultraman, September 21, 2008 08:22:20
TDM, you silly old man. You have beeninterfering with the government's admin too much. Can you shut up?
You are simply jealous if our economy can perform.
With RM3.50=AUD1, it would be beter than RM3.80. You Old man nt to increase inflation further?
Spend your retirement preparing for your hereafter , this is my advice to you
written by JaguhKampung, September 21, 2008 08:25:38
Stay away far from the market on Monday. Each time he commented on the currency market, the market drops. Remember 1997?
written by cubi76, September 21, 2008 09:02:11
Simply said, noone can go against the market forces.

Too much market intervention will hinder market efficiency. Free market is the only way to effectively achieve highest level of productivity. This is undeniable.

The currency peg will stabilize the currency, yes. But it will not promote market efficiency. Those who failed to hedge and manage risk (including currency risk) will suffer most because most of them borrowed TOO much.

We need to think of this, why protect those who's not efficient? Who borrowed too much and didnt do proper risk management?

This is not the way to protect the people. The more effective way is to promote free market and productivity. Proctection of people should come from social security programme. NOT through market intervention.
written by A MI, September 21, 2008 09:06:58
smilies/grin.gif TH PUPPET MASTER has begun his work. so Najis as Finanace Minister is gonna abe TDM's puppet
written by densemy, September 21, 2008 09:18:22
Isolation is one of the platforms of Totalitarian regimes

It might have worked in the past and it might just have left Malaysia 30 yrs behind the rest of the world

But times have changed. Have you??
written by Godflesh, September 21, 2008 09:51:42
Kotadamansara73,

Thank you, for your brief insight into singaporean society. I for 1 am not hoping we become another Singapore. We Malaysians are much better than those pretentious goons down-south. And I thought I was the only one who thought Singaporeans were soul-less and lame. And for those Sings lurking in MT - pls start your own revolution and stop poking around in here. As they say - The Lee's, they breed , you bleed. Cheerio...
written by chiongguo, September 21, 2008 10:07:24
bexe wrote :

You took our wealth and gambled with it - lucky for us you won. If we bet and lost the last round we would have been basket case. For me it was reckless of you. It isnt a formula for success that should be used again.

If we look at "preservation of wealth" by preventing speculation then you can say that he had succeeded but his dollar peg had empoverished the nation. The dollar peg was to prevent many of the badly ran companies owned by UMNO cronies from collapsing when they had to file for bankruptcy. A lot of the bail-out with petronas money were never revealed publicly because the PM had the right to access those money and use it as he saw fit. How much of the petronas dollar were lost during that time ? No one really knows.

Today those companies and their inherent inefficiencies continue to exist and taken together had made the country a lot poorer.

Taken as a whole I would say that the dollar peg had failed miserably. People around him kept praising him for his bravery and success in the dollar peg and he seemed to live in a fool's paradise with a hammer and saw that every problem was a nail. Geez....someone wake him up or better still, shut him up smilies/grin.gif

written by Alice, September 21, 2008 10:15:00
Criminals are roaming aroung giving pathetic ideas whereby people are no longer interested in listening to.The minute he opens his mouth my ear drums are rebelling.

At the same time an innocent soul who is supposedly guilty is denied freedom ,detained .
written by yy88, September 21, 2008 10:59:12
Tun Mamak, we don't need 'brilliant' economists to bring back investment confidence, neither pegging the exchange rate would bring your positive GDP growth. The main colossal loss of Malaysia reserves are the internally breeds thieves who are suppose to be the custodians of our country riches. Plucking the leakages in extravagant and inflated white elephant projects would easily dwarf any foreign exhanges loss in our trades.

Malaysia is a very blessed country with great natural, human and produced resources, minimal natural disaster, racial and cultural diversities, good sizable population and land, petroleum, abundance of agricultural produces, peaceful and tolerant people, except the stupid, corrupted and half-past six ministers governance.

If you have forgotten, please be reminded that you are the sole creator of all the current and future Malaysia inherent problems. You may be counting your illegal monies, but the Rakyat continue to suffer. I am not sure whether you will dirty your hands while counting those 'filty' monies of yours and do you sleep well with are your sins refleted in your mind.

Malaysia will have FDI pouring in as soon as there is a change of government with good governance, honest and impartial civil services, democratic and impartial judiciary system, respected and fair PDRM,without fear and favour ACA, education meritocracy, strong Bangsa Malaysia Bolih perseverance, etc.

Malaysia need to change the perceptions of investors in the economic and political environement. Malaysia need to be seen doing and taking steps in
heading this direction.

To help her to achieve this, it would be a great favour from you Tun Mamak, if you just shut your mouth and ass, and dissapear quietly. By staying quite, those potential investors would presume you no longer exist and there will be light at the end of the tunnel. Bangsa Malaysia Bolih, Malaysia Tetap Maju.

written by arazak, September 21, 2008 11:08:42
This Mamak Kutty and TDM (a thief and a robber) wants to bring back some of their US$ offshore back into the country. . . , that is why he wants it to be pegged at 3.8. . ., he wants to make more money lahhh. At US$1 to RM3.50 still not enough maaa!!!
written by crazygweilo, September 21, 2008 11:12:24
The Dollar peg was a way of continuing the system of patronage and cronyism. It made Malaysians worse off in the long term, while ensuring that the Government linked companies and the pernicious system of Command Capitalism continued.

The Dollar peg merely cured the ego of a man who wanted to see the glory of the Commonwealth games, the opening of KLIA, the opening of the Twin Towers, and more besides. While many Malaysians look at it being the panacea, they failed to see the harsh reality of it. It was false, and it represented voodoo economics in its worst form.

At times, my colleagues and I have a cigarette on the balcony at the office.

"So crazygweilo, the crisis was Soros' fault?"
"No, don't go believing that propaganda, the crisis was Mahathirs fault"
"Why?"
"Ok, (takes out RM50 note), what happens if you print lots of these, and finance that by borrowing dollars at a fixed rate of RM2.50 to US$1.00?"
"Don't know"
"Ah, you never studied economics, or understand the laws of supply and demand"
"Kind of"
"Right, for example, you balik Kampung at Hari Raya, right?"
"Yes, and the tickets are always Habis"
"Exactly, so the price goes up, if the market was free, and not regulated"
"Yes, on black market"
"It is the same also with money. If there is too much money chasing too few goods, then prices rise, and thats inflation"
"Good....so Mahathir printed too much money and as a result the Ringgit fell in value. He also did not reveal the extent of the bailouts. Anwar insisted on NO bailouts, and that would mean companies such as UEM Renong, and others would have to reform, and become more transparent. However, you were a victim of that as well. You could not afford to escape overseas, and get better economic opportunities on your RM2,000 salary, but Mahathir controlled the media very well in 1998. This ensured he got away with it then. But it is 2007 now, and the reality of the wholesale graft that happened then is becoming clear"

"Mahathir was poisonous"

(I grin)

"No, Mahathir is not poisonous. He is a politician. He is not good, or bad, all he is is....well.....(sucks air)....interesting. He made Malaysia the way it is now for better or worse, but in the process and for the sake of one man, ensured that only he was famous"

- For example, go overseas, and ask an Orang Putih to name a famous Malaysian

"Michelle Yeoh, Jimmy Choo, and yes, you guessed it....Mahathir"

Frankly, the man is nothing but trouble.

Keep the Ringgit trading against a basket of currencies. A floating Ringgit forces transparency and market forces. It forces some degree of sensible economics to prevail. Surely thats better than plucking some figure from the sky, and saying "This is what the Ringgit is worth"

Before 1998, the Ringgit was respected overseas to a degree. After 1998, it became a glorified Asian Pacific Peso.
written by wishuponastar, September 21, 2008 11:30:29
Dr M's principles fluctuate more than the market these days.all he needs is some cloths peg to contain that acid tongue of his and what we don't need is an outdated advice mill.The day he insinuated that Malaysians are not equal I lost my respect for him.If Abe Lincoln shared Mahathir's wisdom the blacks would be still plucking cotton.If the American leaders were loud-mouthed bigots there won't be any Obamas.
written by temanmu, September 21, 2008 11:38:05
Ha! I just wanted to test the water by mentioning Singapore ... and we saw some reaction!

Anyway, why can't we take what is good about Singapore (meritocracy, good governance, clean govt, good education system, etc) and merge what is good about Malaysia, and we will exceed both of them!

Penang is run like that and the rakyat loves the new CM - he has a heart of gold!

The fact is, we have only till 2015 when the oil money runs out... and if we have crooks running the place, Malaysia will be worse than it is now. The crooks can easily leave bankrupt Malaysia ... but millions of rakyat can't.

I rather have good governance ... no need to peg RM if you have enough reserves to to buy up all your currency (like Singapore has!)
written by talkingback79, September 21, 2008 11:41:55

What else does he know except to.... ' peg it!...arrest them!...ISA him!...frame him!...
written by zonefinder, September 21, 2008 11:53:15
The good doctor is a one trick pony. The last time he did that in 1997 was to bail out his cronies and the local businessman benefited from the initial stability. That's probably why a lot of folks lauded this then. Look economies like S Korea, Thailand and Singapore where they bite the bullet and suffered initially and compare to ours. We will realize that we cannot isolate and survive without participating in the Globalized community.

The problem we have is the corruption in our system due to UMNO's policy of patronage and power perogatives. This has bred complacency on the majority dependent on the Govt for hand outs and bailouts in times of trouble.

What we need are policies to build up confidence and education quality for the majority and the needy irrespective of race and restore the check and balance processes which are now broken. That means to kick out UMNO lah.
written by denkoh, September 21, 2008 12:07:40
Peg at this rate

RM2.5 = USD1

then we are fine
written by The dragonheart, September 21, 2008 12:28:15
Peg at this rate

RM1.5 = USD1

then we are rich... Che Dat, can you do this?

if you wanna peg RM 5 = USD1, I rather do barter trade like what we did in the 15 centuries...
written by hckit, September 21, 2008 12:32:22
STOP leaking RAKYAT MONEY to Corrupted Politicians, Corrupted Government Servants and Cronies, RM will be strong !!!
written by cheekhiaw, September 21, 2008 13:00:23
This is the same fella that started 30 years ago to progressively defile the Ringgit by printing excess Ringgit causing it to devalue even against the USD! Those excess Ringgit they stole and spent on don't know what. How do you think he created so many millionaires? He either thinks we are idiots that know no history or he is one idiot that does not know what happened. Now he is telling us to peg the Ringgit to the USD which is losing its value fast. That is devaluing along with USD!
written by cheekhiaw, September 21, 2008 13:22:10
Lebih cepat pulih? Banding dengan siapa? Apa guna banding dengan pencuri2 Suharto? Bandinglah dengan Korea and Singapore baru tahu. Tengok kebawah lurah ingat sendiri di atas gunung.
written by Aizad 234, September 21, 2008 13:30:54
Banding Singapore dan Korea dgn Malaysia ka?. Jauh beb.
written by takbolehtahan, September 21, 2008 13:33:00
The blind leading the blind. I won't be surprised if our second Finance Minister is also relying on somebody just as much as AAB was relying on him for economic advice.
written by cheekhiaw, September 21, 2008 13:42:59
Not blind leading the blind.

It is thief leading thieves and thinking we are all blind...

written by hakuna, September 21, 2008 14:04:06
TDM - if it worked once as you claim - it need not work again.

Can't you shut up for once or is your gap so large that it oozes out from it's size itself.
written by sydput, September 21, 2008 14:14:54
ringgit was pegged to S$ until some nut depegged it.It would have been wise to peg to s$ as the economies are tied.Brunei still maintains the peg.
Then it would have been easier to form an asean currency unit from the peg. Unfortuntely, politicians have other ideas.
written by joeawk, September 21, 2008 15:57:43
Just pay back what you have lost for Malaysia, the RM13,000,000,000.00,in the forex speculation. This amount of money would have wipe out extreme poverty in Malaysia overnight. RM50,000.00 for 260,000 families who will feel very rich overnight.
written by Old Man, September 21, 2008 20:38:52
Perhaps Mahatir ought to migrate to Zimbawe and be Senior Minister in Robert Mugabe's cabinet. Why re-peg to USD when he's anti-US? His ill gotten gains can be re-pegged to Zimbawean Dollar or Indonesian Rupiah.
When he said some quarters invited him to rejoin UMNO, what many quarters are there in a whole? Maybe some squatters like Ahmad Ismail and Khir Toyo. Even UMNO does not welcome him back. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by PublicStranger, September 22, 2008 00:40:15
halo TM, you are no longer PM! u got plenty money in your account.. go spend wisely and keep your mouth shut. Enjoy your life fullest before you reporting at HELL. You can talk cock or set up new UMNO in HELL. Then detain la anyone you wan in ISA. sorry HSA - HELL Security Act. Then if you wan to freeze HELL note currency kah or watever kah... up to you la.. here is earth not HELL so you better keep quiet. Your plan only work in HELL not here on earth.