Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Info ministry awaits report before acting against Radio24

Info ministry awaits report before acting against Radio24 PDF Print
Sunday, 21 September 2008 00:09
(Bernama) The Information Ministry is awaiting a report before deciding on the form of action against the all-news Radio24, which had run an interactive programme allegedly on an issue without regard for national sensitivities.

Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said today the ministry was conducting an investigation into the matter and was awaiting a report before taking further action.

Expressing disappointment, Ahmad Shabery said the incident should not have happened, more so when it involved a radio station run by an agency under the purview of the ministry.

"As a government radio station, it should not be misused by anyone, including in disseminating matters negative to society and giving wrong views on government policies," he told reporters after presenting Hari Raya Aidilfitri goodies to 25 poor, aged and handicapped people at the community hall of Taman Wan Adnan, here.

Ahmad Shabery was asked to comment on the broadcast of an interactive programme by Radio24 on the topic "Which is more important, the transition of power from Pak Lah (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) to Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak or a reduction in the fuel price?"

Ahmad Shabery said those running the radio station "must be professional” in discharging their duties and not use government machinery to raise sensational and polemical issues.

"If you do not agree with government policies, don't be a government employee. Resign," he said.

He added that those who desired to work under the information ministry should understand that their duty as government employees is to enlighten the people on government policies and those who did not share this view should not be in the ministry.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by The Hammer, September 21, 2008 00:18:30
Slap your cheeks you cheeky fellow! What's wrong with topic? It is a good one asking listener opinion. Ignore his stupid comments about resigning! He should resign instead! Keep it up. For once a station is going against the norm!
agree 214
written by smeagrooo, September 21, 2008 00:23:48
and so can u civil servants all just resign? by staying put in ur job only shows to them that all these while all their actions are CORRECT and JUST. Blatant misuse of funds and usage of draconian acts as a measure to gv protection to civilians. if u dont resign, u r condoning their acts. and if u condone their acts, what different are u from them?

betulkah strawberi cheeku?
written by acks160, September 21, 2008 00:29:04
Aiyo... No mention of any opposition leaders also must kena chastised... Tsk tsk tsk. A certain minister is making a fool of himself again. Not a big deal seeing as how DSAI did so in front of the entire nation last round. He should already be accustomed to looking foolish.
written by farah, September 21, 2008 00:31:39
Disgusting and dismay! present rulling government controls every damn things. We d't have a 'voice' but just listen to their 'voice of command'. What a 'beggers' rulling government.
written by Clive, September 21, 2008 00:35:55
What you means by Democratic? If those topics that being mentioned out, I think It's very right topics to talk about. What so important if had the Death Woods and Rotten Woods Umnno leader respectively.? Talk about cat and dog in the house better than those Umnno people lah. Barang Naik mah.....support lah BN.
written by cwy, September 21, 2008 00:37:30
This bossy Info Minister thinks that all public servants are UMNO's servants.
He is the first one to resign as the RAKYAT who also pay him his salary and allowances are not happy with his cocoky attitude!
written by chanatak, September 21, 2008 00:40:25
Ass usual, the stupid UMNO mentality resurfaces despite all the miserable efforts to consciously suppress it. Democracy means allowing for freedom of expression. UMNO stupidity demands that democracy to mean U May Not Oppose. Their stupidity is so thick that their tongues betray them
written by Lim Lim, September 21, 2008 00:47:39
"If you do not agree with government policies, don't be a government employee. Resign," he said.

"if u are asked to jump into the Klang river,would u do it!shabery!"
the way he puts it is really pissing off!!these umno-be end goons are expecting every malaysian to be the 'we-controlled zombie' living in the geoge owell's '1984'!!scary...absolutely scary!!!
written by Stormquest, September 21, 2008 00:54:14
A quick poll here for MT readers.

1.If you think that Radio24 belongs to Malaysian taxpayers, and therefore should be free to report on any issue without being partisan for the benefit of all Malaysian citizens, vote me up. This of course assumes that the rakyat is the boss, with those in office serving the rakyat, as good civil servants.

2.If you think that Radio24 belongs to BN, and should therefore report only what Ahmad Shabery and gang wants Malaysian citizens to hear, vote me down. This of course assumes that BN is the boss, with the rakyat serving those in office.

Exercise your rights as Malaysian citizens to vote now!
agree 380
written by sjs, September 21, 2008 00:55:29
IS SYED HAMID A DESCENDENT OF THE PROPHET
When the prophet is insulted, all Muslims jeer! When Islam is insulted, all Muslims jeer! When Syed Hamid is insulted, Muslims and Non-Muslims cheer! Common sense, that Syed Hamid is not a descendent of the prophet!

IS RAJA PETRA AN ENEMY OF THIS NATION
Hishamuddin’s kris creates doubt! Najib’s kris soaks the Chinese blood Raja Petra’s words unite the crowd! Common sense, that Raja Petra is the truest son of this nation!

IS RAJA PETRA AN ENEMY OF ISLAM
When a Muslim Syed Hamid speaks, everyone condemns! When a ‘Mongolian’ swears, even the religious Muslims condemn! When a Muslim Raja Petra speaks, even the Non-Muslims understand! Common sense, that Raja Petra is a defender of Islam!

RELEASE RAJA PETRA IMMEDIATELY
We demand that Raja Petra is set free! Arrest the animals that are roaming free!
Release Raja Petra from the cage! Islam and the nation can be saved! Common sense, Common sense, And you lack Common sense!
agree 115
written by Motherchell, September 21, 2008 01:03:16
Shabery! you have so much to learn in this New World of Information and Media. May be you can fool the poor Rakyat you kept for this purpose to disseminate propaganda in the isolated backwaters . That's what the system is of your Masters and im sure you would sent your kids overseas to be moulded for society!

AN Example:
Even when your masters petrified the Rakyat with all the misinformation about PAS, when they were all working honestly with ethos for Nation Building , they were already decades ahead than your well fed Masters, PAS were more updated and rooted in the Information Technology with Blog sites etc.

However your well fed Masters were busy walking around with a big stick to create fear and missed the didactics of the basics of the New World ! To your Masters, EDUCATION and Erudition was a back seat entity.
Today's display of the IQ of your fellow colleagues tells us of this consequence.

Im sure the Smithsonian would be interested to come here for new GREY samples after your'e gone!
written by Fuminari, September 21, 2008 01:20:53
Ahmad Shabery Cheek is competing with Syed Botak plus the other umno-be end goons for the 'Award on the most Retarded,Nonsensical n Full of S.HIT ministrial statement'
unfortunately,contestants are limited exclusively from umno-be end only!!!
written by SiHangChai, September 21, 2008 01:39:28
What is wrong with Radio 24 running that opinion survey with radio listeners? If the info ministry doesn't like it, shaft it into your asses.
written by Umm Adzka, September 21, 2008 04:26:18
and this is another example of the way of thinking of a BN rep, an addition to my earlier post:

Ahmad Shabery said those running the radio station "must be professional” in discharging their duties and not use government machinery to raise sensational and polemical issues.

He added that those who desired to work under the information ministry should understand that their duty as government employees is to enlighten the people on government policies and those who did not share this view should not be in the ministry.

Let me translate the above in simpler way. He basically was saying: "you have to agree with the policy, not matter how unreasonable or unfair it is. You must keep your mouth shut and nod you head to whatever the decision the government has taken regardless whether the decision is in the country's best interest or against it (and benefits merely the "elite"). You shall not voice out your concerns - because we don't care, we don't want to give a damn about your well being. We only care about ours and we know, for as long as we support the government, the government will take a very good care of us!"

sigh!

umm.adzka.com
written by doggone, September 21, 2008 04:49:43
I would like to ask the Minister of Information if the employment of a NEW minister for this portfolio is in the pipeline? If not, why???

written by Thesinner, September 21, 2008 05:37:19
Dear doggone,

It's a new post created by gomen..Minister of IN-FOAMation smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by lakshy, September 21, 2008 06:07:40
A caller to a Bernama radio talk show last week said it succinctly when he said, "yes we want to see a change in PM, but who said that Najib is the rakyat's choice?"

Must be Mis-information Minister behind this. Time for a change!
written by Fat Zorro, September 21, 2008 06:08:27
Mr. Minister of Information, you are our servant. You are elected by the people to serve the people of Malaysia. You do not dictate to the civil servants nor are the civil servants answerable to you, the Minister, especially in matters governing a political party. UMNO is UMNO. UMNO does not rule the civil servants. Think you better take a read on separation of powers.
written by mikewang, September 21, 2008 06:20:03
What the information ministry was actually saying is that you should not use government channels run by rakyat money to question UMNO matters.

written by Yacob, September 21, 2008 06:41:38
That bloody stupid Sabree would be pleased if the issue discussed was in the form of apple polisher such as "who is more handsome between Pak Lah and Sabree Chik".
written by HHKim, September 21, 2008 06:56:50
I really fail to understand why the ministry takes such a drastic stand against Radio 24? Healthy debate is good for the nation because it opens the minds of the people and further deepens the maturity of thought process!!

I don't see anything wrong with such issue by Radio 24. It only goes to show the government cannot take open feedback, transparent debate and liberal in frank exchange which is essential for a healthy and upholding righteousness.

I would urge the ministry to think twice before slamming the station for their right approach - Taiwan is even more open if you care to look at it. By stifling any open discussion is equal to hiding behind draconian laws which are unjust, unfair and undemocratic!!!
written by HHKim, September 21, 2008 07:02:57
Asking the staff of Radio 24 to resign is a threat and is typical of BN's behavior !! There is even more reason to change the government and flush these idiots out of the country! Can't learn ?? Refuse to learn?? Your days are numbered!
written by notsosmart, September 21, 2008 07:05:58
.................."If you do not agree with government policies, don't be a government employee. Resign," he said.........................

To the gomen, the relationship between them and the rakyat is just like a master and slave. How could they says that when its the rakyat that vote them to manage the country? For example, if your master murdered somebody. What would you do? Keep your silence and live in fear of your job?

Can you see now how arrogant the BN gomen is? Since they are not changing in anyway. Let us all change them! We, the rakyat, have to tell the gomen that we are not their slave. They should stop pulling us around from nose. We had enough of their rude and arrogant act. We shall not again support them.
written by Apek, September 21, 2008 07:54:13
Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek,

Your comment about those not agreeing with government policies should resign from the civil service marks you out as an idiot with little knowledge of the separation between the Civil Service and the UMNO Politicians. There is a big distinction between the two and one that sadly you cannot detect.

The Civil Servants are a professional body that owe their loyalty to the State and the People of Malaysia. They do not and should not owe any loyalty to your UMNO party. Insofar as your comments are concerned, you can very well keep it to your UMNO party and vie for the post of the next party whip. UMNO by the way is feudal in nature and will always allow the warlords amongst you to battle it out and decide FOR them - but not so the free Peoples of Malaysia.

This country will not be ruled by disinformation. Civil Society will not allow you to police the minds and thoughts of its citizens and will not allow you to invoke fear. Mankind has already proven its distaste for the Soviet like KGB and this county has reinforced that by throwing off the threat of the Communists. Insofar as you intend to reintroduce the same virus of disinformation and Government propaganda into Malaysia, you must then be considered an enemy of the state and a threat to a free and democratic Malaysia.

Otherwise, DO NOT interfere with the civil servants and disseminate factual and correct information. The opinion of those facts you leave to the free Peoples of Malaysia to decide.

Yang Merdeka dalam minda mereka akan menentukan.
written by Old Man, September 21, 2008 09:06:48
AhMAD ShaBERY, your first says you must be MAD. Your father's name does not sound like a Muslim?
Comparing the cost of a plate of fried rice ( as what Demon AAB did ) in Europe with our fried rice in Malaysia? A toilet cleaner's may only earn half your salary. The difference is that the toilet cleaner does not get money from CORRUPTION. Whereas Muslims like you make a joke out of your religion with Islam Hadhari. If one is civilised, there's no need to talk about how to be civilised. We consider Sir RPK a true Muslim and yet that Arab terrorist use ISA against our Sir RPK. What a shame?
written by loosecannon, September 21, 2008 09:20:15
Someone should remind Frosty Boy that the radio station belongs to the public, not Umno. People have the right to freedom of expression. If you cannot accept that, please don't use public fund to run your propaganda machine. I'm sure Umno has unlimited fund to set up such station. Got it?
written by SCM, September 21, 2008 09:22:05
Why is it that when an UMNO member opens his mouth, he only says stupid things? Even morons say some sensible things once in awhile, but not UMNO members. UMNO members seem to have a monopoly on stupidity and do not care to hide it.

You fool Shabery, speaking on an important issue is NOT "an issue without regard for national sensitivities". If you think it is, just go scratch your dick (which is currently in your head).

"If you do not agree with government policies, don't be a government employee. Resign"? So moron, you don't believe in changing any system if it is bad, just resign? So, in that same context, if you don't believe in PKR's manifesto, just stay away from the 5 states that is under PKR. Just stay in your house, you dog!
written by anakperlis, September 21, 2008 09:31:35
"As a government radio station, it should not be misused by anyone, including in disseminating matters negative to society and giving wrong views on government policies," Ya lah, use all the radio and TV station to chit the rakyat, sorry lah we already know whose right and whose wrong.......JANGAN INGAT RAKYAT BODOH
written by Jeffrey, September 21, 2008 09:33:16
Well, I guess we, the people in Sabah have no "privilege" to listen to that radio as we here can't enjoy the many radio stations of which our fellow Malaysian in the other part of Malaysia are enjoying. What's the reason? The people in charge can give hundred, thousand, or even million reasons for that, but i think all boils down into one, that is, YOU DON'T GIVE A DAMN ABOUT US IN THE EAST SIDE!!!!!

YES, the people on the ground don't really care about who is on top there, we are more concern on what matter to the daily lives, how do we survive our daily lives? In our present situation in the country, we have no choice but to worry about our wallet than who the heck is sitting in the PM chair. To us, the present batch of leaders only take care of their own wallets and bank accounts and don't give a damn of how the general people on the street lives.

So, the radio station did a very brave thing to let the general public to voice out their concern. What's wrong with that?

Just shut up, foam guy!!!

http://puffinsky.********.com/
written by chiongguo, September 21, 2008 09:35:05
There is a clear distinction between a civil servant and a politician. When a politician heads a civil service division he should perform the role of serving the public. Party politics should never be brought into the civil service but the sad fact on the ground was that many of these UMNO politicians used their staff for their own or UMNO's political campaigns. It is common knowledge that during election time when you tried looking for some people the office people will say so-and-so had gone to certain place for campaigning or helping in the election.

The poll of whether people are more concern with the fuel price or the transition has nothing to do with the current politicking going on else where. The radio presenter rightly brought up what is really on the minds of the common folks. That is current affairs and for me they are doing a good job and wasn't disagreeing with the politicians running the government.

By threatening the civil servants doing their job on merely the perception that it was a threat to the UMNO survival this shabery chick had the cheek to issue threats publicly. Coming out like a fighting cock, such less-than-ministerial bullying behaviour, cast him as a politician and not the head of the civil service.

To my mind if he can't serve the people, he should resign.
written by fireduck, September 21, 2008 10:47:18

Wow, Shabery, and I thought you are much more progressive than the rest of them in UMNO!

There's a bite and a bone in that statement above. It WILL come back to bite you or you will choke on it. Real Stupid Statement. As someone said, make your words sweet as you may have to eat them .... sooner than you think.

Can you imagine if all those who are not supportive of the govt, (or in this case of you as their boss) were to resigned en masse, what will happen? In fact it will be the right start to Hartal!

Why must we always have to agree with the govt? We are all human, and all human has the thinking ability which stands the human race above the rest of the animals. And because we can think, everyone of us has an opinion. What's wrong with that?

You only need zombies to work for you? Then go lah to the 'Rock Gardens' at Nilai Memorial or elsewhere. Lots of zombies especially in the 7th Lunar month. smilies/grin.gif
written by Alice, September 21, 2008 10:51:33
What's wrong with this goon? I don't see anything wrong with the topic-

"Which is more important, the transition of power from Pak Lah (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) to Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak or a reduction in the fuel price?"

I can give u the answer too.

Neither!!!

What the rakyat want is more important that the abovementioned topic. The rakyat is actually your BOSS and you are still unaware of that. You work for us and we have the right to get rid of you if you are not up to par with our expectation. We have decided that you have to get lost so get started on packing . Nobody wants abdullah or najib so please wake uplah Strawberry Cheek with cream all over.
written by talkingback79, September 21, 2008 11:25:55
same old UMNO vindictive attitude.....no change.
written by yy88, September 21, 2008 11:28:37
Please tell that Bodohwi PM that he is supposed to appoint a Minister of Information, not Minister of MisInformation. He had got that wrong twice.

DSAI, please appoint a MINISTER OF INFORMATION with some brain material when you
turn comes. make sure you get that correct.
written by talkingback79, September 21, 2008 11:29:15
' if you don't like us, get out...ISA!....sodomy charges!...kris!....blood bat!...water canon!...traitor to own race!.....' same old UMNO attitude,,,,no change...
written by talkingback79, September 21, 2008 11:31:39
if govt servants abandon their support for UMNO dominated BN, only the ministers will be left to do thier own shredding of documents
written by The dragonheart, September 21, 2008 12:21:25
If I am His PM, I would say:

"If you do not agree with how your own radio station programs, don't be a Minister. Resign,...If he don't know how and when to comment his own staff, he shouldn't be a minister of that area. hat he said and commented made two people angry...first the radio 24 staff and secound the public at large. Now see what he have done? People are saying UMNO/BN is bad again! Everybody says that he acts on my directive...ssshheeehs... i'm doggone!"
written by rams609, September 21, 2008 12:22:57
You expect them to be professional Shaberi ! What's wrong with discussing the issue? They opened the question and we the listeners gave our point of views. That's democrary and just plain PROFESSIONAL.

Stop asking good guys to resign.The radio guys have our respects. You do not!

When you challenged DSAI, you offered to resign if we the rakyat do not buy your arguments.

AMP< If those radio 24 guys got fired , please take them on onto your network. Create a Talk channel and we'll take it from there.
written by rams609, September 21, 2008 12:27:48
Frosted mouth should just keep quiet. See every time he opens it, it only shows that too much froth can damage your tiny brains.
written by penangboi, September 21, 2008 12:50:08
Herein lies the difference between true democracy and freedom of speech against the dictatorial regime we are under in Malaysia.

Freedom of the press is a basic tenet of democracy. It should not be subservient to any political influences regardless of the source. A case in point is the freedom of the Australian press in publishing parodies mocking the prime minister and anybody else for the matter in government. Heck, in the UK even the queen and her royal entourage are not spared.

In our case, what Radio 24 has done is not even close to the level of broadcast in oversea democratic society. Running a poll is not even an exercise in 'taking sides' but merely creating a tool for the people to express their views and opinions.

The Frothy-Mouth minister is talking nonsense. He is typical of the 'Ketuanan' attitude that is so prevalent in Malaysian society. It's an attitude which is based on 'I pay your wages so you'd better do exactly how I want you to'.

We in the alternative media, aka 'cyber world', keep on hightlighting the credibility of the MSM (main stream media) being the running dogs of the government bowing to whatever their whims and fancies are. And all this while both the MSM and the government are denying vehemently that there is no such thing. What then do you classify this stupid statement made by Frothy-Mouth?

But if there is any comfort for all of us, at least the goverment is very consistent in this sort of behaviour. They will always proclaim one thing but the actions will always run contrary to what they mouth.

Do we need any examples? Botak Albur keeps on insisting that ISA is not used for political means but an opposition MP was put behind bars whereas the perpetrator of spreading the lie (Toyol) is running free. For 51 years, our leaders told us and present to the whole world that we are not a racist country, but all along the very structure of the political make-up of BN is built on racial-based foundation.
written by KBodoh, September 21, 2008 13:57:19
Wake up and pay attention. smilies/angry.gif, This country is very open for Government propoganda only....understand...We goment don't need feedback...What we do is all right and no wrong. Wrong is only when you people opposed the goment. Who cares if you rakyat suffers high cost of living,,,,,we top goment are not affected. If u cannot bare it....join BN Putra...we gaurantee your life enjoyment.
written by apanama, September 21, 2008 14:03:34
the way BERNAMA reported, it just mentioned ``an issue allegedly.'' the umno-gomen mouthpiece won't even tell the public or readers WHAT THE ISSUE is. always trying to hide facts and truths.

so it was RIGHT to inform the people of the WRONG gomen policies?
what a load of rubbish from bernama and gang
written by teohpg, September 21, 2008 14:11:32
now he says it clearly....they are interfering with the MEDIA!!! god dam it!!!
written by malgal, September 21, 2008 21:20:51
how long must the ostrich bury its head in the sand? you only want the emperor to believe in his news clothes ka?
written by Sabahfan, September 21, 2008 23:31:10
hoooo ho ho ho ho

Shabby shadery again.. ha ha ha ha Perhaps he is angry by not haveing a chance to speak in the radio programme until his mouth FOAMS...

Pity, if i heard that programme, i would have phone in just to say these..

BOTH ISSUES ARE NOT WORTH TALKING ABOUT NOW,
WHAT IS MORE IMPORTANT NOW IS TO SEND ALL UMNO LEADERS TO HELL...
written by batsman, September 21, 2008 23:46:06
What did you expect from UMNO communists?
written by RCChia, September 22, 2008 00:45:17
Ha. ha. Thanks to Shabery, a non-issue now becomes an issue. I for one never tune to Radio24 (I have no idea what freq it is), but now he has given Radio24 the publicity it badly needed. (perhaps that's why it resorted to such interactive programme) Radio24 producers should be thanking him
written by manic_annie, September 22, 2008 01:44:16
Hello...it's just a programme! As if it's gonna change anything...Blast you for not being professional!
On the other hand, thank you for clarifying yet again the meaning of 'government servant'.
written by the1, September 22, 2008 09:28:47
Stupid, stupid, stupid.
Trying to educate the rakyat to obey than being thinkers?
Stupid!
written by sjs, September 28, 2008 13:05:57