Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The Limp Replacing The Lame

The Limp Replacing The Lame PDF Print
Friday, 19 September 2008 22:19
corridors

With Najib Razak scheduled to replace Abdullah Badawi as Prime Minister by June 2010, we have the specter of the limp replacing the lame.

M. Bakri Musa

Abdullah's recent announcement that he may give up even sooner thrilled Najib.  Presumably to "prove" his sincerity, Abdullah traded ministerial responsibilities with Najib.  Now we have the limp taking over what was once the responsibility of the lame, and vice versa.

In classical Malay literature, for example Hikayat Malim Deman, everyone in society has his or her own responsibilities, doled out according to one's capabilities.  Thus the deaf would man the cannons, an appropriate enough duty as the blasts could not possibly damage his hearing any further!  This reflects the traditional values of our culture in respecting the inherent dignity and worth of every individual, and that each of us can contribute in our own unique ways.

Those great narratives of our ancient literature also reveal something else.  While the lame and the limp can still contribute to society, there is one place where they should not be.  The limp and the lame have no place in the leadership.  I have yet to read of the limp or the lame becoming Bendahara or Panglima in our literature, ancient or current.

Abdullah The Lame

As shown by his performance during these past five years, Abdullah is a lame leader.  His propensity to doze off aside, the responsibilities of leading our nation is way over his head.  The poor man is simply overwhelmed.  He does not realize that he is drowning as the crowd around him keeps cheering him on.

Abdullah clearly has been promoted beyond his capability.  Judging by his talent, Abdullah is more suited to run the Kepala Batas municipal council, at best.

Malaysian voters were not the only ones fooled by Abdullah; so too that shrewdest of politicians, Tun Mahathir, who appointed Abdullah.  Voters realized their collective misjudgment in giving Abdullah his undeserved massive mandate in 2004 by repudiating him in this last election.  Mahathir too has openly admitted his error and is now desperately trying to remedy it.

There are two groups of individuals still mesmerized by Abdullah's pseudo talent.  One is his cabinet colleagues and two, his fellow leaders in Barisan, specifically those in UMNO Supreme Council.  Lately however, we are seeing signs of them getting wise, only a few of them though.  It is not so much that they are finally seeing that their emperor is stark naked, rather that he is no emperor at all, in demeanor or performance.

Abdullah received much praise when he appointed Zaid Ibrahim as the de facto Law Minister.  Those praises came less out of conviction, more of hope.

It did not take long for Zaid to realize that what he thought from afar as a sultan wrapped in shining samping sutra was, up close, nothing more than a jungle man wrapped in tattered bark loincloth.  He was not amused.  Zaid recognized early his error and despite pleas from Abdullah, quit the cabinet.  Zaid did not build his hugely successful law practice without being a good judge of character and talent.  In Abdullah, Zaid saw neither.

Zaid's reputation soared on quitting the cabinet.  It was not at all tarnished by his brief association with Abdullah.

To be sure there are some rumblings in the cabinet suggesting that a few may share Zaid's assessment of Abdullah.  There is for example Trade Minister Muhyyiddin Yassin.  Like many, his is only cakap kosong (empty talk).  Unlike Zaid, Muhyiddin does not have the courage to act on his conviction.  He is reduced to mumbling his dissatisfaction in the hope that his uttering would be incoherent enough so that whoever would win, he could say that he was on their side!

As for Abdullah's fellow leaders in his Barisan coalition, they too are assuming Mohyyiddin's mumbling and indecisive posture.  So far only the leaders of the small SAPP with two Members of Parliament have taken decisive action by leaving the coalition.  Even they are hedging their bets by choosing to remain independent

Leaders of the other Barisan coalition in MCA and Gerakan are clearly unhappy.  However, either due to lack of courage or out of loyalty, they too are reduced to Muhyyiddin-style mutterings.

There is one brave soul in UMNO Supreme Council, Tengku Razaleigh.  He alone was the first to see through Abdullah.  He is also the only one who has come out to challenge Abdullah openly.  Even more remarkable, he did so very early on.  This prince can sniff out the qualities of real sultans from the pretenders very quickly.

The meek may inherit the earth, but they, like the lame and the limp, have no right to the leadership of our nation.

Najib The Limp

The mainstream media and the hierarchy of UMNO are as usual delirious with joy with Najib taking over the finance portfolio from Abdullah.  I am uncertain whether that sentiment is genuine or merely the meek paying homage to the powerful.

Najib has not demonstrated much competence in running the Defense Ministry.  It was during his tenure that a ragtag bunch of village bums, members of the Al Muanah group, successfully overran the Army Base near Grik, Perak a few years ago.  We were promised by Najib a White Paper over this massive security breach, but so far that is only a promise.

It was also during Najib's tenure that the newly-built Pularek base in Johore collapsed just as it was being completed.  Mercifully it was before its opening ceremony!

In the current trial of the Altantunya murder case, there is the grisly reminder of the massive corruption and bungling of the multibillion dollar submarine deal with France.  The list is long as well as expensive.

We are told that Najib is particularly qualified to take over Finance from Abdullah.  We are also told that Najib is a "British-trained economist!  Take a few courses in economics in your undergraduate years and presto, you are an economist!  This effusive praise and embellished accolade reflects the generosity of our culture.  We are generous even in our praises, whether they are deserved or not.

Frankly, it is not too difficult to be "better" than the inept Abdullah.  That is no praise!

Anwar Ibrahim and his Pakatan Rakyat have every right to demand the reconvening of Parliament and to introduce his "no confidence" motion against Abdullah.  In denying Anwar his demand, Abdullah merely reaffirms his weakness.  Only the lame and the weak shy away from challenges.

Malaysians are not lame or limp.  We successfully stood up against the British colonialists.  We still remain unique in that we are the only nation that had successfully beaten back the communist insurgency.  We are proud of our traditions and achievements.  This is not the time to let the lame or the limp lead us.  In fact, there is no such time.

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by sjs, September 19, 2008 22:24:23
Fellow Malaysians,

We are winning from every battlefront! We are still fighting!
We are still pressurising the International Otganizations to put a stop to all draconian behaviours of the last few days of the BN governmrnt! The US State department has averted the arrest of Anwar Ibrahim under ISA on 18th Sept due to our request for intervention! The following is the full text from US State Department:

US STATE DEPARTMENT FULL TEXT ON RELEASE OF ALL ISA DETAINEES 19TH. SEPT 2008

"The United States views with grave concern recent use by the Government of Malaysia of the Internal Security Act (ISA) and the possibility that it might be used again to detain opposition political figures. The statement by a government figure that a leading member of the opposition had become "a threat to the economy and national security" is extremely troubling.

The United States firmly believes that national security laws, such as the ISA, must not be used to curtail or inhibit the exercise of universal democratic liberties or the peaceful expression of political views. The detention of opposition leaders under the ISA would be viewed by the United States and the international community as a fundamental infringement of democratic rights and values."

This resulted in the release of Teresa Kok today, and possibly Raja Petra by Monday!

OUR NEXT COURSE OF ACTION

The Anti Corruption Agency of Malaysia,

It has come to our attention that your organization is trying very hard to charge defecting MPs of UMNO and its component parties, waiting to frame unwarranted charges against them. Do not take instructions from the minority government of Abdullah Badawi!

To further advance your evil cause, you are conniving with MPs of UMNO especially, to level unwanted charges against the leaders of Pakatan Rakyat!

Common sense, which you lack terribly, should tell you that this fight is between the haves and have-nots! I would strongly advice you to take appropriate actions against the current and future complainants from UMNO, who have rejected the olive branch offered to them to join in the fight alongside the people of this nation!

Your attempt to derail the rise of the people’s power, will fail! Enough is enough! The least you could do to the people of this nation over the remaining few days of your tenure is to rectify your past mistakes and streamline your operations for the good of the people.

In fact this is an opportunity for you to take appropriate actions against those leaders in BN who have escaped the arms of law for a long period of time, perhaps you may already have ample incriminating evidence of their wrong-doings, which you failed to act upon previously, due to political pressure from the top!

The above text (modified) has been sent to various overseas organizations! The ACA's silence for the last few days is telling! You touch anyone, you will pay dearly! We respect the people's decision
agree 595
written by boeytahan, September 19, 2008 22:26:46
Does UMNO have any superstar at the helm of president? The whole lot are lame too.

Just too sorry to have quoted it so honestly.
agree 230
written by coolandy, September 19, 2008 22:27:08
One is a feeble attempt to control the generals in his feeble attempt to stay on to power.

The other is akin to appointing the musang menjaga reban ayam.

agree 142
written by redtango, September 19, 2008 22:31:12
M Bakri Musa...

Succintly put! Yes, we have the lame and the limp leading us.... unfortunately they are also DEAF (to the voices of the rakyat clamouring for a better representation), BLIND (to the desire of the rakyat for a change) and most of all, they are also DUMB... plain DUMB, period! (not the speechless type, but the brainless type...)

How sad for Malaysia and the rakyat to be cursed with these two 'leaders'....

agree 299
written by nanyangren, September 19, 2008 22:35:11
If UMNO thinks that their problems will be solved by a changing of the guard, let them be, Obviously they havent learn, nor theuy posses any will to do so. They dont seemed to be able to compare what is happening now to what was happeningin Penang beforeMArch 8 where there was intense speculation on who was to replace Koh Tsu Koon as CM.
written by Daryl, September 19, 2008 22:35:34
Malaysians are more than ready to move on from BN. However, BN is delaying the process and causing heartburn to all Malaysians. Plesae go away and clean your house.... we are sick and tired of BN's way...
written by utuhganal, September 19, 2008 22:49:46
NAJIB PROMISED WHITE PAPER!!! Why so dumb? White paper from BN means genuinely white paper, i.e. blank paper with nothing being written on it.
agree 143
written by Eskay Lim, September 19, 2008 23:03:42
The Pakatan Rakyat with Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim at the helm will cart away the Deaf, the Dumb & the Blind Barisan Nasional Govt. and to replace it with one that is Competent, Accountable & Transparent.

Only then will Malaysia become truly Malaysian.
written by Spear Bing, September 19, 2008 23:10:06
Ha Ha....If you don't like lame duck, try limp dick instead...
written by SBennit, September 19, 2008 23:13:17
OK article except (like usual) for the last para bull shit about successfully beating back the communist insurgency and successfully standing up against the British colonialists.......I give it 5.5/10.

To set the records straight for people who went to Malay rural school.

1. The British gave up Malaysia on their own free will and on their own time table ..... they left Malaya with a few puppets (i,e Malays of British heritage like Tenku Abdul Rahman) in control of the new government.

2. The British won the war against the communist insurgents. Not the Malayans. The Malayans were simply the foot soldiers of the British during the time.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by malgal, September 19, 2008 23:13:49
Unfortunately, the limp and the lame are cheered by the lot of equal retards, all heading to cripple the nation. The hewing and hawing and not making a clear stand shows the hobbling hobos. Are these fit to govern at all? Clearly they have shown out to be sycophants or simpering cowards throwing pebbles with feeble arms. Surely they are leading themselves all into the ditch. Just hurry and do it.
written by Sudahlah tu, September 19, 2008 23:20:55
satu macam dengan cara bapa .....
tak lama tu .... serupa dengan bapa
pergi semasa duduk di kerusi .....
itupun sekejap sahaja ...
pantang .... tetap janji menuntut ..
written by SamSan, September 19, 2008 23:21:38
Replacing Dollah with Najib is equivalent to bottling old wine in new bottle.
written by malgal, September 19, 2008 23:29:33
RPK just posted his latest` Heads they win, Tails I lose '- bro pete, heads they've already lost and tails, dolefully between their legs. You haven't lost yet, not at all. Not your spirit, not your wit, not your marbles, not your irascible self, GOSH NO!!!!
written by awakeningvoice, September 19, 2008 23:50:32
Malaysians were taken for a ride after giving big mandate to an untested lame leader in 2004. Yes he was handpicked by our senile TM who thought to be the wisest choice proclaimed to be Mr Clean probably based on his soft approach and careless characteristic or some other criteria his predecessor owe an explanation. This was the most expensive lesson paid dearly by Malaysians. He was having great times with holidays and honeymoon around the globe on the pretext of working, fully paid by the nation. What was thought to be credibility is now a liability that burdened the nation? So Bakri is right to say that his talent had been over sold without marketable value properly ascertain.

We should blame this to his master again for setting up such shrewd and perfect system in the democratic party with many disposable tools that are capable of destroying & deflecting any challenges come along its way. Theoretically speaking it works so well that even a fool could stay in power as a leader forever. So the lame Pak Lah took advantage of this tool to the fullest and existed till this very day.
written by chezzter, September 20, 2008 00:05:45
The nation`s current problems and the pathetic leadership situation are a culmination of decades of abuses of power, special privileges, false sense of superiority, inflated egos of an elite group at the expense of the majority. The bubble is growing and growing and eventually it will burst. It is a matter of time.
written by cheemengwong, September 20, 2008 00:10:25
The Good, The Bad, The Ugly?

The Good, The raayat who voted conscientiously, pays tax, goes to work, feed the family, prays to God, obeys the law, pays the fines and never report sick even on the worst day.

The Bad... The government servants who have no choice but to carry out the barking orders from their superiors. The policemen, the local authorities, the teachers, the goverment servants in short.

The Ugly... The handful of limb and lame politicians who reigns the country without any directions.

Bark Lah
written by yeechut, September 20, 2008 00:37:51
I can accept a limb to be a president. Physical disabilities does not compromise the dignity of a true man or woman.

But Najis - he belongs to another class altogether - a class that should not have a place in the world of humanity.
written by temenggong, September 20, 2008 01:13:29
Because the malays have outstanding persons like Bakri Musa, rpk, Azly Rahman, Din Merican, etc, they have nothing to fear! The 'god' called Fear is easily vanquished!

What more needs to be said?
written by Motherchell, September 20, 2008 01:17:42
Bakri! Brilliant piece! God Bless a patriot like you always!

A point to note , the limp and the lame have strong cahoots and hoodlums as crutches. Just that they tend to get snared at grilled drain covers when they walk time to time .

A situation has arisen , which only can happen in places like Somalia, Burma or N Korea---- they have stooped as low as to even threaten the MT advertisers!!

IN many ways the Limp and the Lame are being fried in the political minefield of their own creation. But did we see if a "harbinger " was sent to take care of the Finance seat to cover for the out flow of funds in all contingencies. Afterall Idiots can't count from 1---10!!
written by raven1958, September 20, 2008 02:13:55
1. The British got rid of Malaya...not the other way round
2. The Brits strategised successfully to beat off the communists
3. The Brits, Aussies, etc came to Malaya's defence when Toyo's ancestors wanted to run over Malaya...

Malaysians have had it easy all their lives...which is why when even the limp and lame run the country to the ground.....its blinking citizens dont know what to do and watch everything from the sidelines.....like the Filipinos who deserved Marcos during his heyday........Malaysians fully deserve their current fate......no pain....no gain.
written by renoir, September 20, 2008 02:33:03
yeechut wrote:
> Physical disabilities does not compromise the dignity of a true man or woman.]]

At first, I thought Bakri was being politically incorrect, but a glance through the article revealed that he meant the words - limp and lame - metaphorically. And just as well - there were certainly great or reasonably good rulers in the past who were lame. The great conqueror Tamerlame ("Timur - lame") was one example. Then there was Geiseric the Lame (about 400 AD) who was the King of the Vandals (and Alans) around the time of the Western Roman Empire. He it was who led his small Germanic tribe into North Africa, conquered territories from modern-day Morrocco to the great city-state of Carthage, and even threatened the Roman Empire. There was also that lame (and stuttering) Roman Emperor Claudius, a much-maligned ruler who improved Roman administration and systematized Rome's laws, in addition to conquering Britannia. His main mistake might be marrying Aggrippina who poisoned him in order to let her son become Emperor. Readers here surely know who that son was: yeah - Nero.

Of course, one mustn't forget that the polio-strickened FDR was one of the better American presidents as well ....

written by RumahPanjai, September 20, 2008 02:36:40
Any Tom Dick and Harry can head any ministry in Badawi's regime. A good example is the "talented" mother of liars in the home ministry. seems like habitually lying is the name of the game to be a minister.
written by temanmu, September 20, 2008 02:51:27
Malaysia's 'worst in the world' taxis tarnish national image
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/2...3655.html

........ AAB govt no better!

written by Lim Lim, September 20, 2008 02:56:42
The Limp Replacing The Lame???
well,with so many heavier luggages being carried by this najis still uncleared;it is jus another limbo on the card....n BN would fit well to be renamed as Barisan Najis!
written by Mangan, September 20, 2008 07:33:26
He's a British-trained economist??? HAHAHAHA!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Well, I can say I'm a self-employed citizen due to sluggish Malaysian economy!
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 20, 2008 08:45:03
It was also during Najib's tenure that the newly-built Pularek base in Johore collapsed just as it was being completed. Mercifully it was before its opening ceremony!

In the current trial of the Altantunya murder case, there is the grisly reminder of the massive corruption and bungling of the multibillion dollar submarine deal with France. The list is long as well as expensive.
We are told that Najib is particularly qualified to take over Finance from Abdullah. We are also told that Najib is a "British-trained economist! Take a few courses in economics in your undergraduate years and presto, you are an economist!

WHAT ABOUT THE BILLION RINGGIT DEAL TO AMIN SHAH?? WELL, TODAY WE HV 5-IN-1 INSTANT COFFEE, SO WE CAN EXPECT INSTANT ANYTHING IN THIS COUNTRY WHERE MONEY AND POWER IS CONCERNED.
written by raverz, September 20, 2008 09:26:00
we are as paralysed as we were 50 yrs ago....the only difference is that now we are the laughing stock as well...no thanx to bodowi and Be End. They've all been bunch of dropouts someway or another and I'm putting my last dollar on them dropping out again as they finally realize that they can't hoodwink the nation and keep telling us they're smart enough to outwit the likes of us.

Almost every time i meet a friend of a different nationality, they simply laugh and say 'Oh...you're malaysian...hmmm'. That in itself is how much the international scene thinks of us....it's like one of those ad's on TV that is just so stupid that u will never forget it....but we're not out for publicity now are we?

when're we ever gonna kick him to the curb ?
written by Panca Indera, September 20, 2008 09:39:13
My take on the issue
Looking as the way Umno and the BN set-up Pak LAh has done the best He could to encourage change within the system without causing too much problem for himself within UMNO and without to much upheaval in the country and most importantly retaining control as long as possible before relinquishing it to Anwar safely without being hijacked by Najib.
How?
By holding on to the PMship and swapping portfolio to Defence. He has preempted any possible moves from the military to support Najib in his bid for power and isolated him.
Now as minister in the Finance Ministry (Abdullah stronghold) Najib will be closely watch by Abdullah’s spies.
By holding on to power, Abdullah is helping to expose to all and sundries, the dirty laundries within BN and UMNO, for us to see and evaluate and understand.
Abdullah, Mister Clean and the good Guy, by playing Mister Bad Guy is for the moment is helping the Opposition and Anwar to gather strength and bring the eventual downfall of BN.
This is the time for MCA, Gerakan, MIC members and leadership and whoever else who truly loves Malaysia and abhor corruption, nepotism, cronyism and irresponsibility to show themselves and oppose the ISA and assist Anwar to change the present government which is deeply entangled in the ill practices.
Just pause for a moment on why Dr M and Tengku Razali are so adamant in wanting to get rid of Abdullah. Why?
There is so many skeletons in the cupboard from those two, that they are afraid that they will be exposed.
Think, in his 20 odd years in politics, has Abdullah done anything really bad to cause problem to the people of this country until now?
I still think Pak lah is a NICE GUY and doing the best he can within the system he is in to allw the people of this country make the Change..
Well Done Pak-Lah, Let them think you are Bad. GOD know’s what is your beliefs in your heart. What on the surface is secondary.
Remember the story of Hidhir the special servant of Allah in the CAVE (11)
18.65] Then they found one from among Our servants whom We had granted mercy from Us and whom We had taught knowledge from Ourselves.
18.71] So they went (their way) until when they embarked in the boat he made a hole in it. (Musa) said: Have you made a hole in it to drown its inmates? Certainly you have done a grievous thing.
[18.72] He said: Did I not say that you will not be able to have patience with me?
18.74] So they went on until, when they met a boy, he slew him. (Musa) said: Have you slain an innocent person otherwise than for manslaughter? Certainly you have done an evil thing.
[18.75] He said: Did I not say to you that you will not be able to have patience with me?
[18.77] So they went on until when they came to the people of a town, they asked them for food, but they refused to entertain them as guests. Then they found in it a wall which was on the point of falling, so he put it into a right state. (Musa) said: If you had pleased, you might certainly have taken a recompense for it.

Of course, I could as well be wrong!!1
But I’ll take that risk and give the man the chance. Go for it Pak Lah.!
written by rams609, September 20, 2008 10:55:13
Fantastic piece of writing from M. Bakri Musa. You said it all, and they are all so bloody true.....

Well done bro.
written by Henry, September 20, 2008 11:26:55
I have always enjoy the writings of M Bakri and Raja Peter not because they criticize the BN but they actually write well and support their claims and arguments well. I must say their stories light up my mind and open my soul to see the wickedness of the BN government. First Mahathir and now Badawi, they have been pulling wools over my eyes and many still believe in Badawi because of his pious and gentle character but the truth is underneath this is a wolf in sheep's skin. I read somewhere the blind (Badawi) shall lead the blinds (UMNO, Gerakan, MIC and MCA) and all eventually will fall into the bottomless pit of fire !
I pray daily for the release of Raja Peter and may God keeps him protected from all harm and danger and at the same time comfort his loved ones. Many thanks to M Bakri and Raja Peter. Continue to light up my mind, though I can't do much physically (I am an old pensioner) but I can still email friends of the latest developments.
written by orangdunia, September 20, 2008 11:48:41
To be brutally honest. Our leaders are a reflection of our society. We have become a nation of limp, fearful people. Morally lame and unable to find the will to bring about change. Like us all, Pak Lah and Najib is worried about their rice bowls.

There are still too few brave people in Malaysia - the petition to the Agung had only 25K signatures. The other million people or so who read MT could not even find the courage or the will to sign. Sigh.
written by Caesar, September 20, 2008 11:52:24
Reliably informed that BN alias UMNO is using the threat of ACA-investigation or AG prosecuting any component party MP wanting to defect..but this 'threat' is not working because:
Change of gov. can stop further proceedings ,but most importantly, those defecting are clean.

That the EU Commssion (anti-coruption agency) is investigating the submarine deal.
written by atsanee, September 20, 2008 11:54:55
This sorry state of affairs can only come about because of the succession method opted by UMNO and other Parties shud take note so as not to repeat mistakes.

This system favours those who are best at pleasing paying homage and apparently most loyal to the boss.

These will rise to the top because we have the UMNO President appointing his successor and not the rakyat,or even the other Party members.

Educational background and management qualities never entered the picture.

UMNO can only survive if they decide to overhaul the whole system and decide on appointing non political leaders based solely on merit and abilities to run major ministries and the country.

One other thing UMNO and the voter must realize is you can not inherit leadership qualities.
It may work when the Party is in Opposition but once it forms the government of the day,sentimentality should take a back seat.
This comment is aimed particularly at voters in Pekan,Kepala Batas and Johore.

The other thing is perhaps the hardest to stomach.

In the 21st Century,there is no room for a Party that represents a particular race.

My advice to UMNO is to surrender the governing to PKR Coalition and while in Opposition,do some real soul searching and come back once all the necessary changes are in place.
Do it now when the ecomomy,domestic and foreign is in recession and do it now when the PKR is still new and not tested and so allow it to make its own mistakes in government and do it now before UMNO members continue to shoot themselves in the foot, and do it now when there are still people who will risk everything by still continuing to vote for BN.

But before you go, abolish the ISA not only because it will be used against your people when in Opposition but because it is EVIL and got no place in 21st Century Malaysia.
written by lampard, September 20, 2008 11:57:38
Contrary to some views, our little "juggernaut" Mr. Najib is the hope of 99% of the very corrupt UMNO leaders. Should BN (Barisan Najib) lose in the next general election or DSAI manage to take over parliament and Malaysia soon enoungh (though I have been receiving text even in the States that he obtained numerous seats from Courts Mammoth and Ikea), the UMNO leaders will wish for Najib to emulate his late father's style and stance, a repeat of blood shed. "Berlumuran darah di keris dengan darah Chings!!!" Another show of race loyalist and a so call "patriot", a hero of the malays and Islam. What some of the old schools failed to realize is, it is a different world today, borderless, internet savvy people. Bottomline is, the limp can do no good neither can the lame. The resignation of Ahmad Zaid is yet another loss to the BN, a case of brain drain to the detriment of UMNO.

C.L.A.N..G.A.N..
written by TwilightYears, September 20, 2008 12:07:57
An excellent article by Bakri Musa. I love reading his artile, not necessarily because it is critical of BN but because of its analysis of present and past political situation without being to theatrical or emotional.

I shall look forward for more of such brilliant work. Thanks.
written by mucking fuddled, September 20, 2008 14:37:16
fellow malaysians,
lets rejoice, soon we will be having a celebration and a big FEAST when dsai take over the inevitable.....
on the menu will be ROASTED LAME DUCK
and ROTISERIE LIMP limb of LAMB...
please place your order in advance...
written by apa jadi, September 20, 2008 16:05:56
The limp and the lame have no place in the leadership. I have yet to read of the limp or the lame becoming Bendahara or Panglima in our literature, ancient or current.

Bakri Musa, please do not look down on the physically lamed for leadership. You are wrong in this aspect. I would not mind if you said it figuratively, viz: lame duck,limp wristed.

For your informaiton, Timur The Lame a.k.a Tamerlane, the greatgrandson of Genghis Khan was a lame person. He restored the barbaric glories of Genghis Khan. He was partially paralysed on the left side of the body that made him a lame. There were other lame and limping leaders in history if you care to look for.

Back to Malaysian politics, what do you suggest? I agree what you said about the two are as what you described. But are going to replace both by a crippled? Or you are waiting for Mahatail to give show which puppet he proposes?
written by educationist, September 20, 2008 16:27:26
So, M Bakri is holding the fort - yes, as we must, too.
The lame , at least, have had no scandals to him name, to date.
The limp can stay there because this is Malaysia Boleh and he has not been brought to account for the many scandals he has been linked.
But the sad fact of the matter is that unless Anwar's plan B works out, the limp will be holding ultimate power in our country.
I tremble in fear at that prospect.!!
written by Lim Lim, September 20, 2008 16:30:30
while we hav the lames n the limbs plus all the limbos at the helms,how do we expect malaysia to be in the leading packs???
written by apa jadi, September 20, 2008 20:29:19
Abdullah clearly has been promoted beyond his capability. Judging by his talent, Abdullah is more suited to run the Kepala Batas municipal council, at best.

Oh! Yes, your idol Mahatail definitely knew what he was doing. In management we call it the "Dilbert's Principle". Now you see how cunning Mahatail is/was? I would not want to believe another puppet he try to put in place so that he is still the master puppeteer even thereafter.
written by teohism, September 20, 2008 22:46:19
THIS IS A SUGGESTION to MT readers

To counter claims that RPK is:

1. Anti-Islam - Can Muslims petition the 'Head Mufti' or whosoever is in charge of Muslims / Islamic affairs to make a statement on RPK's article? Shouldn't they be 'pushed' to respond? Is Syed Hamid the authority on what is un-Islamic? C'mon. Muslims were so quick on-the-draw with the Muhamad Cartoons. What abt going on record for an even worthier cause - to set an innocent man free.

2. Seditious - What happens if WE the MT rakyat make another stand (how? someone suggest) to support RPK by making a statement exactly like RPK's articles. If the voice of MT is unified, then Syed Hamid is the minority in his quest and he would be a confirmed tyrant.

The police and the system is FOR THE PEOPLE. Can't we (MT/rakyst) make a simple Police Report? Isn't the idiotic and illogical actions of Syed Hamid - seditious and un-Islamic? Let use the law on them instead. Peacefully.

Here another suggestion inspired by V for Vendetta movie. Print a full-frontal pix of RPK and use it as a mask. This was done for Anwar at the Permatang Pauh by-elction. Let's become RPK and challenge those tyrants. Hold a Press Conference to announce and publicise our message - WE FULLY BELIEVE & SUPPORT RPK's ARTICLES STATEMENT. RELEASE HIM NOW or PUT US ALL IN!

Does anyone have a usable pix of RPK? Workable?

I'm be posting this across MT sites. Someone with organisational skill please consider the above suggestion.

Hey Panca Indera! Anything u can do? C'mon. Syed Albar and JAKIM can't be right! (I was informed at another trail that JAKIM is the body that made the complain) smilies/grin.gif
written by Panca Indera, September 21, 2008 09:13:02
Dear Teochism and all decent and honest Malaysians
Find out where does it hurt most for the BN and UMBO and attack there with full force and energy.
Use every media apparatus (the best is still personal touch) to inform and convince all the people everywhere in Mosques, churches and temples, Clubs, Shopping centers
Civil disobedience , Get all the Trade Unions, and Associations supports
Never, never ask and seek foreign help!!!
Do all by ourselves only.
Educate all Malaysians on the issues. Go every where to reach out.
Pray and ask for God’s help all the time

note: As for the Ulamas and Muslims Scholars in the big Institutions, As long as their salaries and jobs are provided by the government and they feel they owe their living to them they will never oppose the Government even if its policy are UN-ISLAMIC. and unjust.

Like RPK said these Muslims are Hypocrites and do not really comprehend. Because if they do they will not disobey God's command in preference to the Devil's and Shaitan.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jit Dharma, September 21, 2008 12:53:52
Is it too much to ask for a humane government? One which does not require
either the ISA or the 'assistance' of the security apparatus to stay in
power? One which tramples on the innocent in a manner no better than the most
brutal thugs of any African tyranny? Is it too much to ak for compassion from
our leaders?
written by teohism, September 21, 2008 23:26:29
Tks P.I.,
I think I shall print some mask of RPK and wear it and pass it to some friends. I wouldn't want to be caught in a 'civil disobedient' situation alone.
Any intelligent Muslim (those who doesn't see RPK as anti-Islam) want a pix/file? Looks like the mosques authority & JAKIM (paid by the Gov.), confirm their intelligence level.
Where and when is the next 'party'?
written by teohism, September 22, 2008 00:11:25
Hey u Ulamas! Shame on u!

YOU have been an intrument for a corrupt Government! Repent!

Didn't YOU and Toyol compare notes b4 he tries to pin Theresa Kok down OR did YOU guys chicken out becos of the published letter?

Still giving loans/gift/grants to converts? A friend converted becos of love... another dirty tactic for Allah. I'm sure HE knows the true Muslims from the 'whitewashed'.

Did YOU guys have a hand in Article 160? The one that made Syed Jaafar Albar (& his offsprings) a Melayu? That made Mahathir a Melayu that made UMNO become United Mamak National Organisation? That made the (even) earlier pendatang 'second class'? On this logical trail ALL 'Syed' (descendants of Muhamad) is PENDATANG?

YOU have sold your soul! For whose sake? My God doesn't need human intervention. HE made everyone even my enemies - even the unbelievers. Hmmm, this is heavy stuff. So YOU believers are 'lucky'?
written by cheemengwong, September 22, 2008 00:30:28
I am truly baffled...about Muslims and Islam.

Does the Almighty God needs you, me or him to protect his Righteousness? Who are we to represent GOD? The relationship between one man and GOD is personal! No other man should interfere or judge that relationship. Why? The relationship is ETERNAL and a wise man should know how to value, treasure and maintain it while he is still alive on this earth.

After that he can do nothing! Our faith should not rest on someone else's interference.

Let RPK alone. Free him NOW! If RPK errs... it is between him and GOD. Why you so busybody?

Park Lah
written by Susanna, September 22, 2008 09:06:33
Well written and spot on. Unfortunately many leaders in the BN components lack courageto stand up for what is right. After many years of being yes men, they are just as good as the limp and the lame. They have lost the courage and are too comfortable in comfort zone to make the choice for the unknown. I salute Zaid and the people in SAPP who clearly are not afraid to step up to their principles. Those who choose to stay behind like some of those in SAPP and even Dato Shahrir who once had shown courage and determination unfortunately is now sucked into the same patronage system. God have mercy on those who choose to serve men but not the people whom they were elected into office of power,
written by batsman, September 23, 2008 14:35:50
Why this obession with lame? From most accounts Najib is not limp either. heehee. At any rate, both are unfit to rule, but I think a murderer is more unfit than one who wears diapers, don't you think?
written by taishan, September 24, 2008 11:48:18
Ramadan a month of commitment and renewal of faith; of martyrdom and commitment to the Muslim faith. Throughout Islamic history, Ramadan has been seen as a time of victory for Muslim armies and the martyred have a greater assurance of a place in paradise.
written by dperantauan, September 24, 2008 11:53:52
D UAE (Dubai dan Abu Dhabi terutamanya) pemimpin ada buat pengampunan banduan beramai-ramai bilamana Ramadhan tiba.

Baca d sini: http://www.dperantauan.typepad...bumip.html
written by Taiping60, September 27, 2008 22:05:41
You nail it right, Encik Bakri Musa.

The transition is about the LIMP replacing the LAME.

Surely there are more qualified people to run the country than these two. Maybe I am wrong so the best way is to go through the demoncratic process. Let the people decide who is best to run the country.

Abdullah, this country and UMNO party is not inheritance. You can't just pass on to whoever you wish. Those who have to lead this country but have the following qualities;

1) Integrity
2) Honest
3) Have leadership quality
4) Intelligent
5) Dedicated
6) Experience
7) Put country above him and his family
smilies/cool.gif Love the country and the people
9) Not Racist
10) Fear in God
11) Accountable
12) No criminal record
13) Impeccable record
14) Not corrupted
15) Kind

and most important of all...commited and desire to make Malaysia a better country.