Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Show-cause letters: Suara Keadilan yet to respond

Show-cause letters: Suara Keadilan yet to respond PDF Print
Friday, 19 September 2008 21:42

PUTRAJAYA: The Home Ministry has yet to receive a reply from the Suara Keadilan newspaper to its show-cause letter issued last Friday for breaching publication guidelines.

The ministry’s secretary-general Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof said the two other newspapers, Sin Chew Daily and theSun, which were also issued with show-cause letters, had responded.

“Until this (Friday) afternoon, Suara Keadilan had still not replied to us. Perhaps their letter will reach us later, failing which, we will take the necessary action,” he told reporters after handing over charity contributions to 289 low-income staff of the ministry by its minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, here.

Last Friday, in issuing the show-cause letters to the three publications, the ministry gave them one week to respond.

Suara Keadilan received the letter over an article, quoting sources, which alleged that Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan had become paralysed after his bypass surgery.

Meanwhile theSun was issued a show-cause letter for allegedly manipulating and highlighting sensitive issues, and Sin Chew Daily for highlighting the controversy over the alleged racist statement by former Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail against the Chinese.

Under the law, the Home Minister has the discretion to suspend or cancel their publication permits if the newspapers fail to give a satisfactory explanation.

Meanwhile, Syed Hamid said he had not gone through the reply letters of two of the publications.

“But at the end of the day, I think the most important thing is for everyone to behave responsibly. All of us need to contribute to the well-being of our society in exercising our freedom,” he said.

- Bernama

written by ahmadneil, September 19, 2008 21:53:17
What about Utusan! It's is not fair that they are not been issue with a show-cause letter.
written by avj, September 19, 2008 22:14:44
Syed Hamid said, I think the most important thing is for everyone to behave responsibly. Why don't you walk your talk Syed Hamid? Or is there one set of rules for you and your buddys,and another for the rest of us?
written by jgerard, September 19, 2008 23:36:05
“But at the end of the day, I think the most important thing is for everyone to behave responsibly. All of us need to contribute to the well-being of our society in exercising our freedom,” he said.

Hello Botak. Why don't you tell that to your umno goons and Utusan Malaysia reporters. The more you open your bad mouth, the more stupid and idiotic you look. Oh my... Can someone get me the potty? I need to... urgh...
written by thumb, September 19, 2008 23:52:26
The number one racial problem causer is utusan malaysia, what are you doing about it. You talk as if you are fairest and nicest guy around. If you need any credit to all ready bullshit character do something about you umno paper utusan,otherwise shut up.
written by arazak, September 20, 2008 00:31:55
"Boh layan. . .,lah". Just turn it to electronic newspaper. Even if they block/ban you. . ., we can still reach you with the mirror sites.

Just like what RPK did with MT.

So. . . , tell them go "fly kites"!
written by johanssm, September 20, 2008 02:56:31
PKR will not respond to any of the bn government on this issue.
This is the stance taken as PKR and PR will be the government.
Shit alblur can kiss my ass if he don't like my tone.
written by talk2stop, September 20, 2008 09:02:44
Utusan, the Star & NST is so fortunate not only they have the big brother backing they don't need to worry about profit and loss.
Utusan, The Star & NST are not newspaper rather a newsletter distributed by the goverment. There should come free including delivery of course.
I will only read them if someone turn the pages for me.
written by willwin, September 20, 2008 09:24:59
i can't believe why M'sia has all such stupid minister... everytime he open his mouth, shits comes out... he think he is very smart & rakyat is very stupid....
come on lah....we so fed up with u lawless fella...double standard...one set of rules & laws for amino, another set for others...sickening...
written by Concerned_Citizen, September 20, 2008 09:36:25
Okay, now why don't you have your show-cause letter sent to Utusan and Malay Mail??

This is not fair and truly undemocratic! smilies/angry.gif
written by Concerned_Citizen, September 20, 2008 09:39:06
If the silly goons want to cancel the permit, never mind made it an online version. Most are okay with it. If the Makcik and Pakcik beside your house don't know how to online, print it out and give it to them. Now printing is very cheap with the CIS system. You can get it around RM 160 , depends on your model. smilies/cry.gif smilies/angry.gif