Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Teresa Kok released from ISA detention (Update 6)

Teresa Kok released from ISA detention (Update 6) PDF Print
Friday, 19 September 2008 17:40

KUALA LUMPUR: Seputeh MP Teresa Kok was released from detention under the Internal Security Act at about 1pm on Friday.

Her father Kok Kim Tong and mother Poh Seh Kwon were at the Jalan Travers police station here when she was released.

“I am happy that I have been released and I’m okay,” she told reporters gathered at the police station.

“I do not know why I was released today, just as I do not know why I was detained,” she added.

Deputy Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar said that Kok had been released at 1.30pm after investigations showed there was no reason to detain her any further.

"She has released unconditionally," he added.

Kok, 44, later Friday told a press conference at the DAP headquarters in Petaling Jaya that she would sue Utusan Malaysia and its columnist Zaini Hassan over articles written about her.

She also said she would sue former Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo over his statements about her, and the Government for unlawful detention (see full statement below).

Kok said that throughout her detention, she was repeatedly asked three questions:

1) Whether she had mobilised a group of residents at Bandar Kinrara to present a petition to oppose the Azan at the Bandar Kinrara mosque;

2) Whether she had made a statement that 30% of the allocation for the Selangor Religious Department should be given to other non-religious bodies; and

3) Whether she was opposed to Jawi wordings in road signages in Kuala Lumpur.

Kok also said that the police never explained to her why she had been detained.

"I kept asking why I had been detained but the police never told me why,” she added, saying that she gave her full co-operation to the police during her eight-day detention.

Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and DAP leaders showed up in full force for the press confenrence.

The Kinrara assemblyman and senior Selangor state executive councillor was detained one week ago, together with Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin and Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng.

Tan was released after 18 hours.

Kok was detained because she was considered a potential threat to national security for "racial incitement" after she was accused of petitioning a mosque to reduce the volume for azan (the call to prayer), something which she had vehemently denied.

The accusation surfaced in a Sept 10 article in Utusan Malaysia quoting former Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo.

The accusation was refuted by the Kinrara mosque committee chairman and Kota Raja MP Dr Siti Mariah had lodged a police report against Dr Mohd Khir on this issue.

Kok also lodged a police report against the Malay daily, its columnist Zaini Hassan and Dr Mohd Khir.

“I believe one of the excuses for my ISA detention is in relation to that article and I place Utusan Malaysia, Zaini Hassan and Dr Mohd Khir Toyo responsible for my arrest,” she had stated in her police report.

On Monday, Kok filed a habeas corpus application in the High Court for her release citing that her arrest and detention under the Internal Security Act was unlawful.

Sankara said then that the court had fixed Sept 23 for hearing but said they would apply for Sept 22 instead as he had another case and Karpal Singh would be in East Malaysia on that date.

Seputeh MP Teresa Kok’s full statement
My ISA detention is without any legal or moral basis. It is a clear abuse of detention without trial.

I have been released after being detained in solitary confinement in a 6ft by 8ft holding cell for seven days under the Internal Security Act. I was informed by the police that they detained me under Section 73(1) of Internal Security Act 1960, which means I have incited racial and religious tension and conflict.

After being detained for seven days under the guise of so-called investigations, the police failed to produce any evidence or proof of me being involved in the activities of causing racial and religious tension.

They were only able to ask me few questions based entirely on the false and malicious article written by Zaini Hassan under the topic “Azan, jawi, JAIS, Uitm dan ba-alif-ba-ya” that was published in Utusan Malaysia on Sept 10, 2008.

The three main questions that the investigation officers asked me were:

1) Whether I had mobilised a group of residents at Bandar Kinrara to present a petition to oppose to the azan at the Bandar Kinrara mosque;

2) Whether I had made a statement that 30% of the Selangor Islamic Department (JAIS) allocation is to be given to other non-Islam religious bodies; and

3) Whether I had opposed the Jawi wording in road signages in Kuala Lumpur.

I denied the first two accusations as I did not do any such things as accused. I also told them that the issue of opposing Jawi road signages in Kuala Lumpur was done in January/ February 2008 at the request and following the pressure of resident associations. The resident associations, particularly in Taman Seputeh, were most unhappy because many of the road signages were changed arbitrarily by DBKL a few months before and changed again soon after this time with Jawi wordings. They were strongly opposed to this kind of wastage of public funds by DBKL.

I was quite surprised that there were no other questions posed to me besides these few main questions.

The Internal Security Act is meant to detain people who threaten national security. The three issues stated above have nothing to do with national security. If the police wanted to carry out investigations on me, they can always ask me to give statements in any police station and there was absolutely no need to detain me under the ISA for seven days. This is a phenomenal abuse of the power of police under the ISA.

Besides, it is nonsensical for the police to detain me under the ISA merely based on the unsubstantiated article written by an irresponsible columnist in Utusan Malaysia. How can they regard that article as the gospel truth without investigating the writer in the first place? How can Utusan Malaysia publish it without verifying the facts?

I wish to ask the police whether they have called Zaini Hassan and Utusan Malaysia’s editors for questioning before and after my detention.

I know that the imam of Bandar Kinrara mosque has publicly denied that I got involved in the Puchong residents petition against the azan of his mosque on Sept 13. I am also quite surprised to read in the New Straits Times dated Sept 19 that the official of the Bandar Kinrara mosque was called by the Dang Wangi police for statement recording only yesterday afternoon. Why did the police do it so late, one week after I was arrested? Why didn’t they check their facts first before they arrested me and put me behind bars?

I have been made scapegoat in the internal squabbles of Umno.

I see my detention as a ploy by Umno to try to cover up the embarrassment and the outrage of the racist statements made by Ahmad Ismail in Penang. I wonder why did they choose an innocent person like me as I have never made any racist statements or racist speeches in the past?

I lodged a police report on Sept 17 against Utusan Malaysia, Zaini Hassan and Dr Khir Toyo for criminal defamation. I would therefore urge the police to investigate Utusan Malaysia’s editors, those racist bloggers and Dr Khir Toyo under the Penal Code.

As I have mentioned in my previous lawyer’s visit, I will sue Utusan Malaysia, Zaini Hassan and Dr Khir Toyo. I have also instructed my lawyers to sue the Malaysian government for my unlawful arrest and detention.

Raja Petra should be released.

As I am free from ISA detention today, I also call for the release of Raja Petra, the Hindraf Five and all other 60 over detainees under the draconian ISA.

I would also like to thank all politicians in the ruling parties as well as in the Pakatan Rakyat, NGOs, churches and all social organisations who have campaigned and prayed for my release.

- The Star

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 19, 2008 17:46:44
Yes Teresa everyone knows you are been make a scrapegoat.What we all don't know is, are you going to sue these corrupted guys.These people must be make to answer to this stupid detention.
agree 130
written by binarytan, September 19, 2008 17:47:04
Cheers, Teresa.

Two gone, but many more under ISA especially RPK and Hindraf.

Since when the gomen is going to wake up? May be still in sandiwara?

Our economy is not moving, our country is under serious problems with jobless and criminal and investors are running away.

Only when PR takes over the gomen, the situation will become better. Right now, UMNO just bloody pain in arse.

written by NickChan, September 19, 2008 17:47:22
i am utterly disgusted by khir toyo and utusan!
agree 123
written by kaizer, September 19, 2008 17:49:34
Sue Syed Hamid as well.
written by CM Lam, September 19, 2008 17:50:07
The authorities now must show the consistency in the investigation of this case and owe us , the rakyat an explaination on why no investigations are done on Utusan,Zaini, Khir and Ahmad ?
written by johanssm, September 19, 2008 17:52:26
Those who made 'repot polis" on Teresa should withdraw their "repot" and issue out public apology .
The current gov and the deputy PIG must do the same.
All ISA detainees must be release immediately .
It is high time to kick out such an incompetent gov.
written by R Hum, September 19, 2008 17:57:07
Khir Toyo, Ahmad UMNO Bendera Chief, Utusan Melayu Chief Editor ( whatever his fuc*** name is) should be arrested under ISA.
written by SocratesI, September 19, 2008 18:01:40

"I would also like to thank all politicians in the ruling parties as well as in the Pakatan Rakyat, NGOs, churches and all social organisations who have campaigned and prayed for my release."

In the excitement and relief after the release, she must have missed us out ... never forget that it is the RAKYAT who voted you in, and the RAKYAT who will also stand by you at all times, as we have chosen you to represent us !

Now for Raja Petra's release, and then the others ...

written by AuntyG, September 19, 2008 18:04:05
So, Teresa was wrongly detained for 7 days. Who is the idiot who ordered the detention? Who is the evil mischief maker who stirred the shitstick in making false accusations? Will they be hauled up to face the music??
You mean you invoke ISA to suka-suka detain someone you tak-suka aah?? No wonder ISA stands for "I Simply Arrest" !!
Much as I am in favour of the draconian ISA being repealed, I also like to see it used on these arrogant bustards just to let them have a taste their own medicine.
written by Kyle, September 19, 2008 18:05:45
Make sure the whole world read your story, the injustice done to you and others under ISA.
The stupid, stupid, stupid BN govt must be brought down.
And with it, the corrupted in the judicial system and police force.

FREE RPK !
HIDUP ANWAR !
HIDUP PR !
written by arazak, September 19, 2008 18:06:14
I am surprised one of the reasons for detaining Miss Teresa is because of the Jawi signage. This is really strange . . ., isn’t it UMNO itself in the 1960s and 70s through the education system designed by them phased out and killed Jawi? Really hypocrite of the highest order. . ., now they want to show they are championing Jawi.

Furthermore. . . Jawi is just an Arabic lettering. It does not mean anything written in Jawi is religious stuff. Another words, not everything you see in Jawi has anything to do with religion. Hey. . . , I am watching the sitcom “Friends” in Dubai. They have Arabic subtitles down the screen!!!

UMNO. . ., championing Jawi? . . . My foot!!!

written by alberttan, September 19, 2008 18:07:29
Dear Teresa;
This applies to Tan Hoon Cheng and YM RPK too.

Sue Toyol, the reporter and Utusan for whatever you can so that Malaysians can see the last of these unethical lying people and unethical newspaper.

Sue the Prime Minister, Home Minister, the DIGP and the PRDM for wrongful arrest, intimidation and harrasment so that Malaysians can be safe from further abuse of their civil right to dissent peacefully.
written by michaelT, September 19, 2008 18:09:28
What a joke!! How can the police detain anybody for no real security reson. YB Teresa case and the Sin Chew reporter case is a fine example of victimisation. The release of Teresa is because DIGP found no reason to detain her. They should investigate first then detain her without proper investigation. They should now put Toyo in cell for wrongly defame Teresa. The constituency rakyat demand that police take some action on the Utusan editor and khir Toyo because they cause some security pressure on the rakyat. If BN keep doing this unjusttified detention they will be wipe out next GE. The Rakyat condemn the arrest and they must release all the ISA detainess immediately.
written by KKchan, September 19, 2008 18:11:20
AAB said the Government does not use the ISA lightly and use the Act only when the Police have concrete grounds. Now I am thoroughly confused. 2 out. 1 more to be released. Where are the concrete grounds?
written by batsman, September 19, 2008 18:11:27
Good news, but don't make it personal. Just because Teresa is released, the lobbying stops. This means the ISA should not be used only for Teresa's case. Many more languish under ISA detention including our beloved RPK. The ISA must never be used on anyone - even BN scoundrels. Abolish the ISA!
written by batsman, September 19, 2008 18:13:16
The ISA is evil. It gives someone the power to detain another human being without trial. This is one of the greatest evils to democracy. Abolish the ISA!
written by Biztrack, September 19, 2008 18:18:29

Now that police investigations have completed and concluded that there is no basis to detain her because she is NOT the cause of the racial tension (and there must be racial tension in the first place for the police to detain her), will the police now take action against the real cause of the (alleged) racial tension, namely, the shit-stirrers called "Tempe" Toyol and the UMNO-owned Utusan ???

PDRM .... can you justify not taking action against the liars and rumour mongers?? No need ISA (we dont believe in ISA, remember?). Just charge them under the Sedition Act.
written by MalaysiaBaru, September 19, 2008 18:20:24
They were strongly opposed to this kind of wastage of public funds by DBKL.

Dearest Teresa,

Welcome back!

The wastage of public funds from handing out inflated contracts to cronies is the hallmark of Barisan Najis. These scumbags has no qualms about spending on unnecessary projects because it is not their money in the first place. On the contrary, the more they spend, the more kickbacks they receive. And sadly, that's the truth not only in Taman Seputeh but all over the country. UMNO's system to rob the rakyat of patronage!
written by Limang, September 19, 2008 18:23:11
Dear Teresa,

I thank the Lord Almighty that you are released unharmed. I have prayed so hard that you will not be harmed and will remain strong despite the injustice done to you. I know that the police can do to a female prisoner, given the sligtest opportunity.

By Allah and His Prophet, this is not only gross abuse, but untold injustice of the highest order. Prophet Muhammad weeps at the schism and dastardly and evil acts of His followers, those who claim to be the champion of Islam Hadhari, when actually when they meant was Islam tyranny!

Sue them to Kingdom come! Bastards, I have never been so pissed off in my life!
written by johntyc, September 19, 2008 18:23:31
Thank God you’re released. We’re so glad.

BEBASKAN P. UTHAYAKUMAR M. MANOHARAN R. KENGHADHARAN V. GANABATIRAU
T. VASANTHAKUMAR

BEBASKAN SEMUA TAHANAN ISA ! MANSUHKAN ISA !
written by Wisdom above, September 19, 2008 18:26:31
The "Habeas corpus" application in the High Court should proceed as scheduled on 23 or 22-9-2008.

You need the judicial decision on the word 'terrorist' to sue the BeeAnt Govt for unlawful detention.

Syabas & my salute to all Peacemakers.
written by smeagrooo, September 19, 2008 18:27:05
looks like a the time is ripe for the overhaul of the ruling govt and also the police force. Are they stupid to think that we are stupid?
written by Jack Sparrow, September 19, 2008 18:29:56
The Flip Flop virus seem to be spreading and we actually do spend a lot of public funds and end up with nothing actually being done .... what a stupid bunch of clowns.

Dig up then cover then the next day dig up again, it is such a common occurrence here; luckily we do not do that to airports .... wow that's gonna cost a lot of public funds. .... Build one airport then close down then build another one and tomorrow open up the first one again and close the one just built ..... Hahahaha!!!! But the guys that do that are really clever guys, each time a new contract ...... a new Bangalow and Mercedes to go with it. Crooks, liars and thieves, where is Sinbad????
written by sjs, September 19, 2008 18:34:38
US STATE DEPARTMENT FULL TEXT ON RELEASE OF ALL ISA DETAINEES 19TH. SEPT 2008

"The United States views with grave concern recent use by the Government of Malaysia of the Internal Security Act (ISA) and the possibility that it might be used again to detain opposition political figures. The statement by a government figure that a leading member of the opposition had become "a threat to the economy and national security" is extremely troubling.

The United States firmly believes that national security laws, such as the ISA, must not be used to curtail or inhibit the exercise of universal democratic liberties or the peaceful expression of political views. The detention of opposition leaders under the ISA would be viewed by the United States and the international community as a fundamental infringement of democratic rights and values."

Theresa , I hope now you know why you are released!

Posted by Overseas ex-Malaysians
written by truthbespoken, September 19, 2008 18:44:07
Welcome back Teresa,

The situation is clear. It was the puffed-faced Toyol and the bloody people from the Utusan paper who were the trouble-makers in this case. They thought they can continue to walk sideways and say or do whatever they like, like the old days with the support of UMNO.

What these burgers still don't admit or refused to understand is that it is no more about UMNO telling the Rakyat what to do or when to do something with their mere presence.

NOW it is about all Malaysians, about the Rakyat irrespective of race, telling UMNO not to be biased, arrogant and racist when handling Malaysian affairs! It is about the Rakyat's current determined interest to recapture the country's soul and moved as one nation of true Malaysians!

I pray that one day those racist blocked-heads will be made to understand that the Malaysian way is the best way to move forward for all Malaysians!

Nothwithstanding the above, puffed-faced Toyol and Utusan ought to be sued till-it-hurts for creating unecessary tension for all Malaysians!
written by bn haramjadah, September 19, 2008 18:46:09
for far too long have we allowed thugs to rule our life this has to end now. go to any 1 st world country, people don't fear their police, they find the police to be helpfull unlike here in malaysia, where we have to fear the POLICE?
written by Kopi37, September 19, 2008 18:55:34
Congratulation to Teresa for her release from the unlawful blitz and detention with ISA by the plagued Government Umno led! Teresa was more or less being shot by the stray bullets and now that she is released, she should take her rights to the court to call back her justice, and suing the concerned parties of wrongdoings and abuse of laws is the appropriate channel. Teresa should act without fear or favour relevant to what she has been postured all these while, a die-hard iron lady !

Our next concern is RPK, he was the first to be arrested and the last to be released! And when is he going to be released is our main concerns other than his deteriorating health condition. Despite he's strong in mind, his physical health might be beyond his control if he were to be continued mentally tortured by those goons act under the directives of their political master/s!

WE urge all the concerning organizations to pursue with their strenuous efforts to protest and to continue applying due pressures on the Government to have repentance and release RPK immediately before irretrievable damages are caused! RELEASE RPK and let him to have a fair trial in Court please, if ever, he has committed any offense!
written by Democrats, September 19, 2008 18:57:49
Why put under ISA?

SHouldn't the police just call her to show up at a police headquarters for questioning? It would take just 15minutes rather than put the whole country in shame! Botak people generally quite clever....think too much, but in this case, hmmm.....well, i guess there are exceptions.
written by Concerned_Citizen, September 19, 2008 18:59:58
Good to have Teresa back. BTW, be aware of the crazy dog that lingering around Selangor. It likes to bites people particularly from the PR.

PS. It is as nasty as The Muhammad with two muhammads in his name.
written by JUST, September 19, 2008 19:14:31
It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!

GOD Bless All!
written by PAKRAK, September 19, 2008 19:18:50
Good to see you again. Welcome HOME.
Put aside all the unwarranted sufferings you have gone through and move on with a new phase of life. Have a happy and pleasant life once again with your loving parents who were unduly worried 'during your short stay' away from them.
written by Malaysiaku, September 19, 2008 19:28:01
Now why isnt Khir Toyo and the likes of Ahmad Ismail detain under the ISA? They are the true culprits that cause racial disharmony. Seems like the Malaysian Polis is working hand-in-glove with the corrupted Govt.
written by JJFoo, September 19, 2008 19:37:39
Teresa, good to have you back. Time your time, have a good rest and go all out for Khir Toyo’s _________ .

written by mikewang, September 19, 2008 19:38:07
What is objectionable, what is dangerous about extremists is not that they are extreme, but that they are intolerant. The evil is not what they say about their cause, but what they say about their opponents. − Robert F. Kennedy.

----------------------------
Apply the above to Toyo and Ahmad.
So true......
written by born2reign, September 19, 2008 20:04:25
Yes sue the IG Police, Toyol, Utusan, Syed Botak personally and individually for this crap. In fact why they are still not in ISA is so obvious, and should also be taken as circumstantial evidence that the government only use ISA on the opposition. Those who should be detained under ISA should also incl Najis and Kerismuddin for their desire to dip their keris in Chinese blood.

Yes sue their pants off for abuse of power!
written by marcusg, September 19, 2008 20:34:21

I wonder what tempe-face is doing now? Sending all his riches back to Indon-land or Swiss bank account...
written by fireduck, September 19, 2008 21:04:13
Welcome back, Teresa. We're so happy that you have been released.

And YES, you must sue that Toyo bugger, sue that Zaini, and sue Utusan. And when you sue the govt, make sure Syed Hamid is named in it. He must meet you in court. Let's then hear what his sorry azz can come up with then.

They MUST be made accountable for their biased actions. You three were very obviuosly made the scapegoats, while the guilty parties are still roaming 'dangerously' in the streets.
written by belljar, September 19, 2008 21:37:59
Thank god you're out Teresa. Don't get mad, get even. Sue them until tinggal underwear!
written by dassky2000, September 19, 2008 22:19:27
Why the government own police so stupid just like bodowi and najib and his gangs. How could just one woman be a threat to the national security? And how could RPK single handedly bring down the countrys present government?

Don't you think it's just a little bit weired weirdos.
written by benny loh, September 20, 2008 01:01:58
Uncle Lim sure was surprised..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...freed.html
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 20, 2008 08:07:10
She also said she would sue former Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo over his statements about her, and the Government for unlawful detention (see full statement below).

SUE THE B**ST**D TOYOL FOR ALL HE IS WORTH. HE IS HOPING TO BECOME THE NEXT AMENO YOUTH CHIEF AND WE CAN IMAGINE WHAT HE WILL DO. BEFORE U REPLY TO AMENO MOUTHPIECE UTUSAN ON TAKING THE LIE DETECTOR TEST, ASK THEM TO PUBLISH FIRST THE FOLLOWING BLOKES TOO MUST DO SO: TOYOL, NAJIB, AAB, SAIFUL, SYED FOR A START. LETS SEE WHO ARE THE BIGGEST LIARS.
written by soonlow, September 20, 2008 12:56:27
POLIS! ARREST Khir Toyol!!!!!!!!!!