DPM delays Mid-East trip amid uncertainty PDF Print
Friday, 19 September 2008 16:57

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 19 — Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak abruptly scrapped a trip to the Middle East today amid deepening political uncertainty sparked by opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's attempt to seize power.

Also today, police released an opposition lawmaker who was detained last week along with two other people under a law allowing indefinite detention. The arrests had intensified the climate of political restlessness in the country.

An aide to Najib denied he was postponing his overseas tour because of politics, saying Najib wants to remain in Malaysia over the next week to tackle his new job as finance minister.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi relinquished his finance ministry portfolio to Najib on Wednesday as part of a protracted power hand-over. Abdullah has promised to step down before 2010 amid escalating demands from his ruling party for his swift retirement.

Najib had been slated to leave Malaysia today to visit Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and New York, but he cancelled the Middle East leg and will only head for New York on Sept 24 for the UN General Assembly meeting, said an aide who spoke on condition of anonymity because he was not authorised to make public statements.

"There are no political ramifications," the aide said. "He just felt that because of the current (global) economic climate, he should hit the ground running since he has just been appointed as the finance minister."

Najib's decision came a day after the ruling party's top officials held a meeting in which Abdullah was apparently urged to speed up his exit.

International Trade Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the officials gave "no specific date" for Abdullah to hand over power, but presented "our views and that of the grassroots who want it to be done as soon as possible."

Abdullah's support has slumped since he led the Barisan Nasional governing coalition to its worst electoral results ever in March national polls, when Anwar's opposition alliance captured one-third of Parliament and took control of five of Malaysia's 13 states.

Anwar's Pakatan Rakyat now has 82 seats in the 222-member Parliament, compared to the BN’s 138. Anwar claims he has pledges of loyalty from enough government lawmakers to topple the coalition that has led Malaysia since 1957.

Anwar has called for an emergency Parliament session on Tuesday to hold a vote of no confidence in the government. Abdullah has rejected the call saying Anwar can wait until Oct 13 when Parliament ends its recess.

Meanwhile, police released DAP MP Teresa Kok after one week in detention without charges, said lawyer Sankara Nair. — AP

written by ahmadneil, September 19, 2008 17:04:01
He is scare that if he goes there he may never return if Anwar takes over.
written by cheemengwong, September 19, 2008 17:05:57
Makes no difference!

He can stay in the Finance Department whole year without going back and it would not make any difference. Why? When the global financial market collapses, who is Najib to stop it? Every financial instituition not worth its salt will perish.

What to do? Fiat Money without gold backing!

Park Lah
written by Dominic, September 19, 2008 17:08:25
How to go when the golden opportunity as eventual PM may be snatched while abroad ? Again,he would not want to be besiged with reporters asking things which he had no answers . So best option is to stay put in own soil !
written by Flex65, September 19, 2008 17:09:28
Actually he is scared to face the reporters overseas as he might open his mouth and say more wrong things. He might get himself into shits and can never pull out. Maybe he is afraid that he might be C4ed.
written by SocratesI, September 19, 2008 17:19:34

It is UNCONSTITUTIONAL for the Head of the Executive to turn down a call from the Head of the Opposition to convene Parliament !!

DSAI ! Wait no longer ! Go to the Istana and have the AGONG appoint you the PM of Malaysia, and convene Parliament as the Head of the newly installed Govt. and have the Barisan NAJIS MPs sit across the hall from now on !!

There is nothing more to discuss with that IMBECILIC NINCOMPOOP, Bodohwi !! Dump him and his coalition Govt.!!

written by sjs, September 19, 2008 17:29:15
Goodbye Najib,

Mongolia is waiting for you!

Do not play your monkey tricks there! Sorry, I have already informed all the mosques not to allow you inside! They are on the guard! Do not leave Rosmah behind! She may run away to Bollywood!

written by hace, September 19, 2008 17:34:05
Get him fired! How can he postpone a working trip without any valid reason. Nothing is more important than to go out and get investors in. I think he will only go if got shopping carnival there. Useless bugger, get him out of here!
written by bn haramjadah, September 19, 2008 17:39:20
Can DSAI AND pakatan file a case with the high court to force the PM TO HOLD A SPECIAL SESSION OF PARLIMENT?
written by Abajawi, September 19, 2008 18:01:16
I think Malaysia is the only country in the whole-wide-world (WWW)that has 2 (TWO) finance ministers AND whose economy is in the gutter. Yes, what the hell did the PM appoint himself and another joker as finance ministers, when one would have sufficed? Now Najib has taken over the finance portfolio from PakLah--who now looks after submarines (hmmm!) and the like. And Najib says he's postponing his trip to the desert countries becoz he is the new Finance Minister, and has to familiarize himself with the job.

So, what the heck is the second financ minister for? Can't he be trusted to look after the economy for a week?

My, my? What a waste of national resources to pay two goons to do one goon's job!! This is the greatest scandal of all times in cabinet appointements--wasting money paying the salaries of two men for the job of one man!!!!
written by Democrats, September 19, 2008 18:40:35
Say pak lah stoopid also cannot.....

He's clever enough to let Najib eat dead cat with the Finance portfolio with the weakening economic sentiment and with Petronas looking weaker without the high oil prices.

Then he takes on the Mindef role so he can control the military....

First smart move he made in 4 years. Sly and cunning. Seems Najib like dead cats...
written by lunas oh lunaih, September 19, 2008 19:51:14

papa...come visit me and my "wifey".if u need one,i'll get one...hehe...high five...papa
written by lunas oh lunaih, September 19, 2008 19:51:58
written by merchant222, September 19, 2008 21:27:10
Najis, why need to scrape your trip??? I tell you why.

You are afraid that when you are not here, Badawi will hand over the Premiership to DSAI in a peaceful manner, where you can try create another May 13 like your Father.

Your Father's blue-eye-boy at that time was Michael Chen and my father was his NO.1 supporter. But what is MCA, the RUNNING DOGS of UMNO in betrayal of the community?

The past Presidents of MCA has been taken for a ride in the last 51 years since Independence. TKS with KSM and what nots is 10 times worts than MAICA under MIC.
WHO is LSC, WHO is Ling Long SICK?, with a son who at the age of 25??? buys Berjaya Land for 270million??? Did IRD/Hasil question him on his income, and where did it come from?

Shit-lah, all CORRUPTION money lah!
written by merchant222, September 19, 2008 21:32:14
So Najis, don't talk about your Father in your new blog-lah, disgusting you know?
Ask your Father's blue-eye-boy Tan Sri Michael to come out and say he is sorry for betraying his community and my FATHER!

Our community has been betrayed for the last 51 years, so has Samy been betraying his community. THE RUNNING DOGS of BN.
written by belljar, September 19, 2008 21:42:02
The SHIT is going to Holy Land? Where can!!