Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow GUAN ENG: Anwar a threat only to BN

GUAN ENG: Anwar a threat only to BN PDF Print
Friday, 19 September 2008 11:19

(NST) GEORGE TOWN: DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said yesterday Malaysians generally did not think that Pakatan Raykat de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was a threat to the nation.

He said the people of Permatang Pauh especially liked Anwar and that was why they elected him in the by-election on Aug 26.

"Of course, Anwar is a threat but only to Barisan Nasional and Umno. He is also a threat to the position of the prime minister."

Lim, the Penang chief minister, was asked to comment on Prime Minister Da-tuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's statement that Anwar was creating a negative effect on the government and the economy.

Lim congratulated Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak for being appointed as the finance minister and Abdullah for taking over the Defence Ministry.
"I look forward to a constructive working relationship with him (Najib)."

He added that he would seek an appointment with Najib to brief the latter on areas in which the Federal and state governments could work together.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by binarytan, September 19, 2008 11:21:34
Correct statement LGE, to be more precise, DSAI is a threat to UMNO. UMNO has lost their confident to win rakyat, so now only using all dirty tricks. What racial act, my foot. UMNO thinks Malaysian is still kindergarten kid, even the kids are now-a-days very smart. And PR also a definite threat to UMNO.
agree 245
written by clarity, September 19, 2008 11:29:54
The people are the threat to BN. They are using PR to pose this threat. It is absurd to make people think that after 51 years of corruption, inefficiencies, locking up away innocent citizens while the guilty gets away with it and manipulation of judiciary that this is good for everybody and everyone should support these actions for another 50 years. Governing a country is not about tradition that every thing must be the same forever.
written by cubi76, September 19, 2008 11:36:52
Anwar is a threat to BN. RPK is a threat to BN. Teresa is a threat to BN. USA is a threat to BN. Mongolia is a threat to BN. Everything is a threat to BN. Even Rakyat is a threat to BN!

I think the reality is the other way round - BN is a threat to Malaysia!
agree 221
written by indianputra, September 19, 2008 11:37:32
Anwar must be seen as a true patriot for the nation. He has sacrificed his health, family and comfort to bring justice to the country. Every statement being made by Anwar is for the well being of the nation. He is fighting injustice by the current Government and that does not make him a threat to the nation.

Intelligent and patriotic BN parlimentarians must see the good of Anwar and support his move to take Malaysia to the glory it was. By continuing your stay with the BN, you all are a real threat to the nation. BN is doing nothing. BN is not governing the country. BN is just firefighting. BN does not know how to stop the fire from starting.... you the BN MP's should start realizing that BN is a real sinking ship. Bail out, join PR and restart your enthusiasm to rebuild the country.

If you don't do this, crossing over, you all are a REAL threat for the nation. NOT Anwar!!
written by ctchoolaw, September 19, 2008 11:40:08
Guan Eng's statement shows that Pakatan is moving from an alliance towards a stronger coalition footing. This augurs well for the Pakatan. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by cheekhiaw, September 19, 2008 11:56:19
Anwar is only a threat to those thieves, liars and murderers in power...

written by sjs, September 19, 2008 11:57:20
JOKE OF THE DAY

You do not need a sophisticated weapon to destroy the dreams of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi!

Abdullah is a well known Polyphasic Sleeper, known to follow a rigid schedule of sleeping through Cabinet meetings, important briefings, assemblies and ritually before and after meals. Badawi has honed the art of Polyphasic sleeping, enabling him to extend this state of mind and body for several hours during each session.

All you need to destroy Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s dreams is just an alarm clock!
So let the alarm bells ring at Putrajaya!

written by Jeffrey, September 19, 2008 12:06:47
hey, Dear GE, you are only half right here. You see, UMNO/BN is just a name, a concept, much like PR or whatever coalition that will soon form the new government. TO be precise in putting where the real threat is, DSAI is a threat to their pockets and bank accounts!!!!! I rest my case.
written by Jack Sparrow, September 19, 2008 12:07:17
A threat to the Nation and her rakyat is the current ruling coalition and the incompetent ministers led by the greatest threat .... the great BUFFON who does not want to let go when everybody (the rakyat) wants him to go.

Please-lah go go go away we have had enough of comical shows that has made us the laughing stock instead of being an Asian tiger, indecisions, lies, flips and flops and every stupid has been the order of the day. This is simply not the time for charades.
written by ahmadneil, September 19, 2008 12:11:01
Anwar isn't a treat to anybody.It's just those who are scare and have something to hide that feels Anwar is a treat to them.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 19, 2008 12:21:26
Anwar is a threat to Pak Lah and UMNO. To the Nation, Anwar is the next Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Is MCA, GERAKAN, and MIC playing possum by not leaving the BN now?
written by PRman, September 19, 2008 12:33:28
Anwar is a threat to the people in power, same as RPK. Malaysians should stand united to against the evil!
written by wongnoball, September 19, 2008 12:44:53
Don't be idiot, that is exactly the reason lah !!!!!
That was also how come he got 2 big panda-eyes from the instruction of TDM lah.
written by temenggong, September 19, 2008 13:11:03
Whether it is now or Oct 13, or Nov 13, Badawi will be removed. Badawi is not fighting Anwar, but he is fighting his own umno warlords who are waiting to remove him. Let umno remove Badawi by Oct 13th. Anwar will have his chance to move the motion of no confidence on Oct 13.
written by panca, September 19, 2008 13:17:03
Missing Balls, Clueless Leadership, Aimless governance, Brainless Head.

There is an advertisement by Tilam Manufacturer looking for sleeping model, right vacancy for this very eligible one. Don't Deny this last rite!
written by NSTPravda, September 19, 2008 13:18:40
GUAN ENG: Anwar a threat only to BN
Is that how you think all this would end?
We still have not unleashed our secret weapon yet
So why do you think Anwar is such a credible threat?

Note that the IGP and AG are totally on our payroll
Judges, ACA, EC and the police are under our control
We can always call on our new and improved ISA Hadhariâ„¢
We can also protect Anwar by declaring an Emergency

With all this power divinely ordained for us to abuse
Your pitiful pining for democracy serves only to amuse
Executive powers are bestowed on us to exercise
Against anyone who dares even to suggest otherwise

Please kowtow to congratulate Najib Razak, the Datuk Seri of C4
He will be good an honest Finance Minister as the Qu’ran he swore
He has such good performance and such impeccable integrity
Wouldn’t you like to be his close friend and buddy crony?

Wanting to work together with us is extremely wise
This means you may have to accept all our lies
It’s good that you make the right noise to-day
Else we sabotage your state and make it bukan Semua-nya ok!
written by Iliyas, September 19, 2008 13:29:16
Spot on statement.UMNO/BN position is being threaten,simply because of their accountability,credibility,non-transparency,greed and abuse usage of the laws.They have been exposed,and their fear is mounting by the hour.The thought of loosing power,has not only put them in a state of denial but their desperation is already known by all.

We will no longer condone,the incompetency of this Government,and shall accelerate at high gear to ensure that Malaysia is put back on track as a force to be reckon with nationally and internationally.

Anwar has brought hopes and aspirations,restoration of a better country.We shall support these efforts in ensuring that this does not only become a dream but a reality.Should he fail,then be assured,the Rakyat will boot him out.

Just receive an email,that Teresa Kok was release from ISA,can someone please confirm this unconfirmed news.

Cheers...
written by nowinnofee, September 19, 2008 13:38:21
I believe that the reason, Badawi changed his portfolio, could be due to the fact that the previous Minister of Defence ( or it could be Mrs C4 after all being the queen in control) may have ordered the arrest under ISA. Therefore to ensure that there are no further abuses of power with regards to ISA which is why he changed the portfolio in short of stripping it away from Mr and Mrs MoD
written by RBJ, September 19, 2008 13:39:23
1.30pm got newsteresa kok released...from isa
written by denkoh, September 19, 2008 13:52:36
LGE does not always make statements...
but when he does, it is always spot on smilies/cool.gif
written by ez24get, September 19, 2008 14:10:43
Badawi and UMNO are the real threat to the economy and national security, not Anwar! Here are the reasons why:

1. rampant corruption - UMNO and its various Minsters and UMNO Backed institutions including PDRM, Immigration, Tentera, Judges, Land Office, JPJ, Puspakom and most government departments

2. abuse of power - UMNO and its ministers, judiciary, PDRM, Attorney General imposing ISA, Sedition acts, police state and other repressive and draconian laws/actions at their will on civilians. Lack of free media, playing racial cards to divide Malaysians, calling other races "pendatangs", etc

3. incompetence of administration - Badawi and his ministers allowing corruption and wastages as pointed out year after year by Auditor General, white elephant and over costed projects, using expensive Mercedes where cheaper cars available, jacked up cost of purchases, no transparencies in Government institutions, etc

4. lack of foreign direct investment - UMNO corrupt and racial policies put investors off by rampant corruption, 30% bumiputra equity, corrupt judiciary, red tapes, flip-flop policies, fumbled discussions on a free trade agreements, protectionism policies, etc. Instead of money coming in the reverse happened - the capital flight of corruption money out of malaysia by corrupt UMNO individuals!

5. rising inflation - UMNO and Shahrir increasing petrol and diesel prices by over 40% and 60% respectively without studying its impact on the whole economy

6. unemployment - UMNO and Hishammuddin with over 30 years of racial education policies, lack of meritocracy in promotions and university entrance, neglect of English, low standards of lecturers and examinations, universities comprised entirely of one race, etc

7. the rise in the crime rate - PDRM more interested to serve UMNO than taking care of public, diverting of limited police personnel to political rather than civilian usage

8. lacklustre performance of the Kuala Lumpur stock exchange - poor performance of the Government-Linked Companies, poor investment policies, non-competitive NEP, instability of Government, etc

Looking at the above reasons, is it not that the real threat to our economy is the incompetent Badawi led Government? Therefore, we should detain Badawi under the ISA for the threat to our economy and also Syed Hamid Albar for the threat to national security by imposing repressive laws against democracy and freedom.

Not only Malaysians agree that the Badawi led government is the source of the threat to the nation's economy, even foreigners like the influential business community, Wall Street Journal Asia, seem to have the same opinion:

WALL STREET JOURNAL ASIA

Abdullah's stewardship has had a real impact on the economy. Capital flight has risen sharply; Malaysian investment abroad now exceeds inward foreign investment. The Kuala Lumpur stock exchange has lost almost one-fifth of its value this year to date. Malaysia's currency, the ringgit, saw its biggest one-month loss last month since the end of the dollar peg in 2005. Although GDP growth has averaged a robust 5% annual growth under Abdullah, that record is now under threat. Inflation reached a record 8.5% this summer. Job creation has reached record lows, as unemployment, particularly among young majority Malays, remains high. Ironically, only the opposition-led state governments are attracting new foreign investment — and without the federal government's help, no less.

Much of the Government adminstration funding has been channelled to elites in the majority Malay community, under the country's pro-Malay affirmation action programme. That has created discontent with many Malay who don't see the full benefits of the programme, and among the minority Chinese and Indians, who are excluded from it altogether.

So, how can Anwar be responsible for the decades of bad adminstration, corruption, bad racial and non-competitive national policies, dictatorial and repressive of the UMNO Government?
written by Rozlan, September 19, 2008 14:41:31
UMNO assume that a threat to them is athreat to the nation.They always look themselves as a nation.YOU see rebel against them equal to rebelling against the nation...ughhh
written by budakindia, September 19, 2008 14:41:42
Abdullah is a threat to the nation! His "overly elegant" brought the economy down! smilies/angry.gif
written by atsanee, September 19, 2008 14:42:22
Yes, and our RPK is definitely guilty of being a threat to ALL politicians who contemplate a life of crime in high office and think they can get away with it.

Better think again.
written by Ben, September 19, 2008 15:20:02
Certainly DSAI is a threat to bn and gomen. It is stating the obvious but are they a threat to Malaysia and the rakyat? Of course not, to 70% of us anyway, we voted them in. We want them to form the next government. So move over and take a back seat, the one eye moon rocket is blasting off whether you like it or not, pm or should it be ex-pm since you are now the minority.
written by takbolehtahan, September 19, 2008 15:57:27
Yes, it is very very clear that AAB and his admin are the threats to national security and economy of this country.

Also, AAB is behaving like a stubborn house tenant, despite the 'eviction' notice, he refuses to move out. Such shame!!
written by Engineer, September 19, 2008 15:57:36
How can a person who has the support of more than 50% of the parliaments representative be a threat to the nation compared to a person who has not ?

How can a person who is deemed a savior by more than 50% of the Rakyat be a threat to the country compared to a person deemed as ruining the country ?

How can a person with an ambition to be prime minister of the country thru legal means be a threat to the country compared to a person still clinging to power ?

How can a person with great international relationship be a threat to the country compared to a person who stays at home ?
written by Firaza, September 19, 2008 16:06:35
Anwar is our Saviour and will lead us to salvation. We have enough of the BN regime and we have nothing to lose if we have PR running the administration.

Abdullah just got screwed by his own men and he should now be awaken from his LONg sleep, since 2004. Be a man with balls and call for the emergency seating next week.

written by bn haramjadah, September 19, 2008 17:32:20
hello admin i am finding it very difficult to comment, very rarly do i get the comment box and when i do, i get a box saying i have to sign in eventhough i am signed in?????
written by bn haramjadah, September 19, 2008 17:33:18
anwar is a threat to crooks,,,,,period.... wonder whether they are getting period pains smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif