Anwar Ibrahim Press Conference on 18 September 2008 PDF Print
Thursday, 18 September 2008 23:03

PETALING JAYA, MALAYSIA, SEPTEMBER 18, 2008

Today Pakatan Rakyat leaders have submitted a letter to the Prime Minister requesting him to call an emergency session of Parliament to deliberate a motion of censure against the leadership of YAB Dato’ Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi no later than Tuesday 23 September 2008.

This is in accordance with Order 11(3) of the Standing Orders of Parliament and warrants an immediate response given the gravity of today’s political impasse. A delay in his response would be interpreted as nothing short of a further sabotage of the democratic process and abuse of Executive Power.

The Prime Minister’s haggling on the syntax of our first letter is puerile at best. The intent of our meeting as described in that letter was clearly to discuss the future course of the nation’s leadership – though in deference to his position and in accordance with acceptable norms we remain considerate and polite in our approach.

I find the Prime Minister’s comment about me in his press conference yesterday to be reckless and irresponsible in light of the disastrous outcome of last Friday’s ISA raids.

He has conflated what is essentially an issue of democracy, freedom and the rule of law with national security. The use of the ISA to harass and detain duly elected political opponents is a grave transgression of the law and its continued use would further erode confidence in the current government and exacerbate political instability.

As the incumbent Prime Minister actively holding office and exercising all Executive powers, and as the outgoing Finance Minister, we hold him fully accountable for the current political turmoil and mismanagement of the nation’s economy. His accusation that I have had an adverse impact on the nation’s economy is entirely without basis.

I have met with the key fund managers in the region, representing over USD 1 trillion in assets, and on multiple occasions they were unanimously in support of comprehensive reforms in Malaysia including judicial independence, a free media, a more professional police force and anti-corruption agency, investor friendly laws and assurances on the non-interference of politicians in the governance of Bank Negara. These are policies Pakatan Rakyat has promised to implement– and initiatives that the current administration has done virtually nothing to advance since March 8th.

ANWAR IBRAHIM
Leader of Opposition
De-facto leader, Keadilan

written by onnetline, September 18, 2008 23:15:24
Pak Lah,

The goodness of your name in Malaysian history lies in your wisdom to meet or not to discuss a ' win win ' situation.

You really think that your party members will cheer your name in UMNO history ??

Let us, the rakyat of Malaysia remember you well on a GOOD note !!!
written by thewayicit, September 18, 2008 23:16:20
It is these people who are threatening the rakyat. The uneasiness is caused by them. The public unrest, if there, is caused by invoking the ISA. So they are the culprits causing unessiness to public. Now who is going to take action for their misdeeds?
written by sufc, September 18, 2008 23:55:04
mr dollah, you are one funny bloke and seems to have lost your mind. I was laughing after hearing what you said about the letter you received. You complained that the letter should not be called a letter because it did not contain the addressee. the letter was not address to you. In your
word, DSAI did not know the 'procedure' when writing a letter!!. who were you addressing your message to mr dollah? school children??? i m damn sick of you!!! in this critical moment, still have the time to teach people to write a letter??

written by NSTPravda, September 19, 2008 06:17:54
I, Dollar the Grate, the Divine Caliph of UMNOsia
Reject renegade Anwar’s request as a case of dementia
Me and my sidekick Najis is as powerful, popular as before
Anyone not convinced of our power, we always have our C4

The IGP and the AG are under our payroll
Judges, ACA and the police are under our control
We can always use the ISA to protect all who disagree
Threaten our lucrative livelihood - we'll rule by decree

With all this power divinely ordained for us to abuse
Your pitiful pining for democracy serves only to amuse
Executive powers are bestowed on us to exercise
Against anyone who dare disagree with our sacred lies

We care not about the rakyat’s confidence
Threats, intimidations will ensure their silence
For those who don’t see things our way
We will protect any recalcitrant with ISA

… U Must Not Object that all we do are semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Malay Ultraman, September 19, 2008 08:12:29
Pak Lah bukan BODOH sebarangan. Apabila dia jadi PM, Portfolio Kementerian Kewangan Umpama Lubuk Emas harta karun buat anak menantu termasuk Kera Jantan.
Dalam masa empat tahun SCOMI untung berlipat2. Tetiba SCOMI pikir nak buat bas , kepala keretapi la... mmm apsal tak buat kapal terbang??

Tragedi 308, memalukan BN dan Pak Lah tahu, apa yg dia perlu buat. Bagi kementerian dalam negeri kepada botak Albab. Albab di tukar jadi baruah Pak Lah gunakan ISA. Semua orang bakal nampak kebodohan Albab yg sebenarnya datang dari kebijaksanaan Pak Lah.

DAn Pak Lah memang Bijak. Saham KLSE jatuh teruk dan hutang negara meningkat berbilion bilion. Pak Lah belanja abih untuk kipas Pencen2 KERAjaan dan anak menantu. Saham scomi jatuh teruk. Maka, Pak Lah serahkan pulak Potfolio kewangan pada Najib yang SYOK sendiri. Kes Mongolian pasti menjerat dia. DAn portfolio kewangan adalah yg paling semak dan penuh dgn taik2 dan najis dari zaman pak lah. Najib munkin Kempunan makan besar seperti Pak Lah yg dah sapu kering akaun jadi negative.

Pah Lah dah puas berbelanja sakan dan simpan harta untuk 70 keturunan gunakan wang cukai rakyat.

Akhir sekali , Pak Lah bukan bodoh. Dia pegang Kementerian Pertahanan sebagai Final Defense. JIka Pakatan Rakyat menang, pak lah mungkin gunakan Kerajaan Tentera.

Pak Lah bukan Bodoh. Dan Pak Lah bukanlah Ulamak. Dia hanyalah MUNAFIK DURJANA!!!! Pak Lah , Najib dan BN perlu dijadikan WARISAN MUZIUM NASIONAL.
written by asguard, September 19, 2008 08:35:35
I think the Bodowi willing to let go the post so easy just like that... just watch next few days sandiwara...by UMNO top brass...in response to Anwar claimed.... watch and see...
written by SocratesI, September 19, 2008 10:38:04

While the chief monkeys in Barisan NAJIS are denying and pooh poohing DSAI's request for a meeting and a parliamentary session, they are also feverishly trying to find out who are on the list of defectors, as well as busy busy enticing Pakatan RAKYAT reps to defect !

They know they are a minority Govt. at this stage and an UNDEMOCRATIC one by refusing to hand over the reins of Govt. to the party that commands the most seats in Parliament.

These Barisan NAJIS Pariahs are trying to survive one day at a time. DESPICABLE DESPOTS ! UNDUR-lah, Barisan NAJIS ! UNDUR-lah, Bodohwi Moron !

written by zhugeliang, September 20, 2008 00:43:03
Long Live Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat!!! Anwar Forward CHARGE!!! TO VICTORY!!!!
TO FREEDOM!!!! (a.k.a William Wallace - Braveheart...)

Pak Lah and Najib, please, do us Malaysians a big favour and let go of your madness for power and money. Malaysians never wanted you, never voted for you and UMNO to rule the country anymore. Please go and make yourselves irrelevant and disappear into thin air. We will be very happy! The fact you still hold on to power means you are violating the fabrics of democracy system, going against the wish of Malaysians in this country even though UMNO devils are voted out last Mar 8. UMNO, Please STEP DOWN NOW!!!!
written by Aragon, September 23, 2008 20:11:09
I will not pay to the government a single cent until Badawi steps down..

I dont trust him or najib with my money..